Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Come Enjoy The Buffalo River In Our Cozy Quiet House.

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Newly Renovated Two Bedroom Historic Home In Gilbert AR.

Enjoy a laid back vacation on the Buffalo National River. The Gilbert House has been recently renovated and tastefully decorated for you and your guests. Perfect get away for families with children, on the quiet street in Gilbert (there are only two streets) 😀for riding bikes etc. The house sleeps 6 to 7 comfortably. Enjoy a large outdoor deck for grilling when you get off the river. Large double lot affords plenty of room for fun in the sun!

Ashley Leahy
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 25, 2017

About Ashley Leahy

Gabe and I live in Eureka Springs AR, we grew up on the river and after college both decided to become whitewater rafting guides up in Maine. We spent our early twenties running rivers in Maine, Vermont and Connecticut. When we married and started having children we knew we wanted to raise our kids near the water. In 2007 Gabe had just finished a float trip on the lower Buffalo and drove the loop around Gilbert, 53 Church street was for sale and the owner of the property which live next door was outside, they started talking and Gabe made an offer on the house that day. All the homes in Gilbert are at least a hundred years old so we knew we were in for a project, but since Gabe is a contractor and quite a handyman himself he knew he was up for the challenge. We made a few necessary updates to the old yellow house and have been enjoying it on weekends and in summers since. In 2011 or so the house across the street came up for sale and since we just love the town so much we decided to buy it and fix it up for friends, family and out of town guests. We hope you find the tranquility we do when we come down here to visit.

Ashley Leahy purchased this house in 2012

Why Ashley Leahy chose Buffalo National River N P

Like I mentioned above we have been bringing our boys here since 2007. We love that we can let them ride there bikes and play outside without having to worry too much about traffic etc. WE love our leisurely walks down to the general store or the rv park. And of course the beautiful National River right down the road . It is the simple life in Gilbert that keeps us coming back. WE hope you enjoy and find the beauty in the simplicity of this historic town.

What makes this house unique

Quiet road for children at play, large double lot for all kinds of activities for you and your family. Walking distance to outfitters who can take you on the petfect canoeing adventure for your family.


Gilbert House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed
  • Master queen bedroom downstairs, upstairs bedroom has double bed, single and bunkbed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • spelunking
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Come Enjoy The Buffalo River In Our Cozy Quiet House.
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 13 reviews
Fayetteville, AR

Clean and charming

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed our stay. Great, private back deck. Main bedroom not private as stairs to upper floor are in main bedroom but great living space.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Beautiful place, great location, Ashley is super accommodating.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Let down

  • 2 of 5

I wouldn't ever book a stay here again. The pictures are deceiving, there is poison ivy growing all around the deck, the mattress was bad, and no TV. The river is a fifteen minute walk--not five. Lastly, there were not even chairs at the kitchen table along with no sugar for coffee. There just wasn't attention to detail and we didn't feel welcome. The outdoor cushions on the front porch were dirty and mildewed. She offered to give us a free day but then backtracked and only gave half while still charging for the day we weren't even there. Dishonest and deceptive. I also own rental property and would never do business like that. I'd bend over backwards and would never hang up on a customer.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay in Gilbert. The reason I only gave you a partial refund is because it was 6pm on your second night. We love Gilbert very much and work very hard to keep the home cozy, cool, and comfortable. Next time you should rent from Gilbert Store Canoe and Cabins they are a little closer to the river.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Eureka Springs, AR

Perfect buffalo river weekend!

  • 5 of 5

Quaint!! Great location!

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Return to the Buffalo

  • 5 of 5

We used to live in AR and wanted to return to float the Buffalo. The closer you get to the River, the more crowded and loud it is. This house was up the road and provided the tranquility and peacefulness we were seeking. House has a well stocked kitchen, it is very clean, lovely deck in the back. The bonus was having AC, especially when we arrived, the house was cool. The bedroom downstairs contains the stairs that lead to the upstairs sleeping quarters, which wasn't very private, but was fine.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family Time on the Buffalo!

  • 5 of 5

Cozy little house in a cozy little town. My husband and I and our 3 teenagers loved the house at Gilbert. Ashley left bikes for us to ride and was very friendly and accommodating. The house was a 5 minute walk to the river. Gilbert has a cafe that serves wonderful food and maintains a friendly staff. We can't wait to plan another trip!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Ferguson's Country Store and Restautrant
Car: recommended

Branson MO. Is an hour north if you and your family want to visit the many attractions there for the day!


Rates & Availability

Gilbert House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Tax Rate 6.5%

We have a canoe available for your use!! Inquire upon check in.��
Early check in and late check out possible if needed. Please inquire upon making reservation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner