Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A Beautiful Cabin on a Nice Wide Creek! WiFi

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

If you need a place to get away from all the stress, look no further 'Laurel Creek' is where you want to rest! This cabin is new and has a great view of the creek.

The smoke-free cabin has all new furniture and is decorated very tastefully with country charm. You can sit back on one of the rockers and take in a nice book, or just take a swing on the porch with a loved one with a nice cold glass of lemonade, while listening to the rippling creek.

There is a wrap-around porch with a private porch off the master bedroom, a great view of the creek! The kids will love the creek, just look under a few rocks and discover all sorts of critters. You might even see a beaver or two playing in the creek or passing by. Leave some corn for deers to feed on in the back yard.

In the fall hear the wild turkeys and spot a deer in the meadow a short walk away. End you day by relaxing in the jacuzzi on our deck, while doing some stargazing!

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Owner
Tim & Kathy Shearer
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

About Tim & Kathy Shearer

Hello, we are Tim and Kathy Shearer and are the owners of Laurel Creek Cabin. We live in sunny south Florida with our three beautiful daughters. We love the warm weather and beach here, but we also love to get away and go to the mountains and stay at Laurel Creek. We decided to let others stay at our lovely cabin in 2004. Of course many of our close friends and family jumped into the offers we gave to them. They all loved it and that's when we opened it to all to enjoy. We hope you will be our next satisfied guest....God Bless....Tim & Kathy

Tim & Kathy Shearer purchased this cabin in 2003

Why Tim & Kathy Shearer chose Smoky Mountains

We decided to buy in this location because of it being in the tri-state area, meaning within minutes to TN, NC, and GA. We also liked the peacefulness and all the many places to see and do in the area. We had been coming to this area for five years and decided just to buy since we loved it so much.

What makes this cabin unique

On site fishing, tubing, and wading in the creek along with the campfires at night roasting marshmellows.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Rick and I had a wonderful time at your cabin. The cabin had all we needed and more. It was so peaceful and relaxing, which is what we both needed. The hot tub was perfect for the cooler nights with a small glass of wine. We wished we could of stayed longer, maybe next time we will. Was not able to see everything in the area, but got a chance to go to the Ocoee River, what a sight! Loved every minute of our stay. Would recommend it to any family small or large.
May 2010
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Murphy Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Full baths
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (3), Baby Cribs (1),
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

56% Complete
36% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
A Beautiful Cabin on a Nice Wide Creek! WiFi
average rating of 4.4666667 based on 32 reviews
5

Spacious Cabin with nice yard and creek

  • 5 of 5

We stayed August 6 -10, 2017. 2 adults, 2 teens and our dog . Cabin was clean, spacious, comfortable. Kitchen, TV, Wi-Fi, Jacuzzi, all worked. Deer, hummingbirds, and lightening bugs visited every day. Nice wrap-around porch. Relaxing small creek to listen to and play in. Roasted marshmallows in the fire pit and played horseshoes in the back yard. We rafted the Ocoee in Tennessee, Tubed the Toccoa and rode horses in Georgia, caught trout in North Carolina. All within 20 minutes of the cabin. Entire family thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sounds as though your family really enjoyed your stay at the cabin. One of the reasons we bought there was because of the many things to do within a short drive. Glad that you and the family found evert hinges to your liking. Come back and see us again and tell your friends all about your stay at Laurel Creek. God Bless...Tim & Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing Stay Near Murphy

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I, along with two of our grandchildren and two dogs, just finished staying a week at Laurel Creek Cabin. The cabin is nicely laid out on what looked to be well over an acre of land, which was plenty of room for the kids to play and dogs to roam. The cabin is in a great location for the area, with Murphy less than 10 miles away and Blue Ridge, GA about 15 miles away. The creek in the back was a bonus and the boys enjoyed playing in the cool water. The creek has a nice flow to it, although the water level went down a little each day. We did not receive any rain while we were there, which probably added to the drop. The tire swing in the back kept the boys busy for short intervals. There was a good selection of channels to watch on TV, and there is Wi-Fi at the cabin. The hot tub was a relaxing way to end the day, and the hummingbirds kept us entertained at the feeder on the back porch. There are a few things that could use some maintenance, as most cabins do, but nothing that kept us from enjoying our stay, or from coming back in the future! Overall we had a great, relaxing stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at the our cabin. We will be traveling up there soon to see what changes need to be made or if any repairs are needed. Please let others know about Laurel Creek so they too can enjoy it!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

The cabin itself is nice. Hot tub and fire pit were great. My issue was the dirty condition on our arrival. Floors needed sweeping, dirty refrigerator and silver ware drawer. Dirty outside table and so dusty we could write on the mirror in the bedroom. You pay for cleaning and whoever does their housekeeping needs to do their job. I did text Tim the owner and sent pictures of what we experienced he didn't seem to care. He was however busy getting ready for the hurricane. I also found it was strange your responsible for removing and taking your garbage with you or they charge you a fee.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you had a bad experience at the cabin. Upon your arrival you called me and told me your concerns and I responded right away to my housekeeper, who was willing to come over and address the situation. In fact, she was on her way, when you called me back and told me not to bother, you would clean it yourself. I am sorry you felt I did not care, but I did what any other owner would of done. Yes, I was preparing for catagory 4 hurricane, so my time was limited. As for the trash removal, it is written in our contract that you can take the trash to the disposal center to avoid our removal fee of 15.00. Tim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

The house is beautiful and very well maintained. It was even more kid-friendly than I originally thought, including a pack and play crib and a baby gate to keep little ones off the stairs. The kids enjoyed the creek and the tire swing, and we all enjoyed watching the all the wildlife, including deer, rabbits, hummingbirds and butterflies. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable cabin w/ a good location.

  • 4 of 5

The location was perfect for us, and other than the hot tub needing a bit of cleaning, the cabin was very clean & well kept, and very comfortable.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you loved your stay at Laurel Creek, the location is one of the top reasons we invested in the cabin. I will make sure the housekeeper is aware of the hot tub. Hope to see you again ....Tim & Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cabin in the Mountains

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed Laurel Creek Cabin during the period of July 22 - 29 , 2017 and enjoyed our stay immensely. We saw two (2) fawns every evening coming into to the community and saw a large deer one morning coming down for a drink at the nice creek that runs directly behind the cabin. The cabin was just perfect for us and was ideally located for the activities we did. It only about 15 minutes from the center of Murphy and about 20 minutes for the town of Blue Ridge , Ga. The cabin is very easy to get too as well. We had fun and will certainly be back in the future.

Laurie & Glenn

Boynton Beach, Fl.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you really enjoyed your stay at the cabin and was able to see the deer each evening. The cabin is in a great location, as you said, very convenient to get to many attractions in both towns as well as Tennessee. We look forward to your return, have a bless day...Tim & Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $75
Pet Fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties