Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

1BD Boutique Studio, Unique Historical Farm with Charm, Sleeps 2

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 400 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Studio, 1 Bath, Sleeps 2

Austin is rich in history and so is our studio, which sits on the old Bouldin family farm. The Mill house is in its original condition and has a historical marker. The Bouldins were one of the first families to settle in the Austin area in the early 1850s and they acquired a considerable amount of property. Our property is one of the original buildings built by the Bouldins. The property is located just steps away from South Lamar but when on our property it is almost like you stepped back in time to a different era. Our distinctive studio, which we call the Carriage House, faces out into a little creek bed surrounded by trees and greenery.

When you walk in the front door you will be amazed by the beautiful original stone walls and vintage decor. Our comfortable queen sized antique bed is highlighted by a rustic chandelier. The distinctive bathroom is decorated with old-fashioned fixtures from the claw foot bath tub to the Victorian pull chain toilet. While staying at the Carriage House you will have access to our large flat screen TV with Direct TV (we are currently working on getting Wi-Fi into the home). We have a kitchenette complete with a mini-fridge, Keurig coffee maker, microwave and dishware.

When out in the garden don't miss an opportunity to follow the short path to our pet donkeys, they love attention. The boy's name is Bang and the little girl's name is Ruth. They love to nibble on grass or leaves, feel free to rub their heads. We should mention that part of the charm of our property is being downtown and we do have a train that runs past the property at different times; I don't mind the train but not everyone will find it as charming as I do.

Our property sits on 1.5 acres with a wet weather creek, gas grill, fire pit, hammock, miniature donkeys and relaxed seating/dining areas from which to enjoy the spirit of another time and place. If you ever actually want to leave our amazing retreat you will find you are only steps away from South Lamar and a short 3 minute drive from downtown Austin. South Lamar is the epitome of ‘Keep Austin Weird’ with its affordable, low-key lifestyle which is exemplified by its cheap eateries, cool thrift shops and dive bars. We are minutes from downtown, Zilker Park and South Congress. We are surrounded by local music, amazing eateries, and trendy sights. Take a quick trip over to South Congress for some unique shopping and food. Don’t miss an opportunity to stand on South Congress Bridge at dusk (in the summer months) to see the world’s largest urban bat colony emerge. With up to 1.5 million bats spiraling into the summer skies Austin now has one of the most unusual and fascinating tourist attractions anywhere.

OL # 2014-106750 OL

All leases require a 30 day minimum term

Our property is TurnKey Rental Certified. All photos and amenities are verified by TurnKey Staff. We strive to make it as easy as possible to stay at our property - you just drive right up and enter via our secure electronic lock. No more keys and no more security concerns with a unique code that works for your reservation only. When you make your booking we send you our mobile app with directions, booking details and the unlock code with instructions.

We accommodate early check-in and late check-out requests whenever possible. On arrival you will find all the comforts of home, including a starter supply of shampoo, soaps, paper products and hotel-quality towels and linens. If you need us, we are available 24 hours, 7 days a week with live telephonic help. TurnKey Vacation Rentals uses the industry's most trusted brand of software, HomeAway Software for Professionals, to securely store all guest data.

More Details

Property Manager
TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
July 21, 2017

Amenities

Zilker Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • 1 Queen bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
16% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
1BD Boutique Studio, Unique Historical Farm with Charm, Sleeps 2
average rating of 4.7222223 based on 36 reviews
5

Fairy tale location in the heart of the city.

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We couldn't have asked for a location with more character and charm. It was amazing to see the mini donkeys every time we left and returned. The bed was comfy and the room stayed nice and cool. Everything was clean and the one issue we had was resolved quickly by the team at turnkey. The location was amazing for everything we love to do in Austin. A hidden gem.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Rolf, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Frisco, TX
5

Charming and Unique in a Perfect Location!

  • 5 of 5

My fiancé (now husband) and I eloped to Austin and we wanted to stay in a unique, charming and romantic place in a location near S. Lamar and SoCo. This lovely rental was beyond what we wished for and in the perfect location for us! Just driving into the driveway was welcoming and picturesque. The room is gorgeous. The stone walls are so beautiful and charming. There are plenty of windows that have blinds that can be opened if you wish to look out at the stunning landscape and let in some sunlight. It is very private and feels as though you are out in the country alone. You will hear the train go by but that certainly never bothered us once. The bed is very comfortable but it is high off the ground! It is great that a step is offered on both sides of the bed!

The kitchenette area had a small refrigerator and a coffee maker along with many coffee and tea options. There are a few plates and cups and a wine bottle opener. Unfortunately there was only one wine glass so we had to share! The kitchenette did provide all we needed for a four night stay.

We appreciate the historic significance of the rental. The claw foot tub was beautiful. If you enjoy a soothing bath then this is the place for you! However, if you like a shower that is more than a trickle be aware and plan accordingly. Make sure you add about 20 to 30 minutes to your shower time as there is absolutely NO pressure and a showerhead that should be replaced. This is the ONLY flaw to the rental. It is definitely something that should be upgraded – otherwise, this rental is exquisite! We are very happy to have spent our honeymoon there!

  • Submitted: May 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Angela, Thank you so much for the review and helpful feedback! We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Please let us assure you that we are currently addressing that water pressure problem, and will get some more wine glasses, too. Also, our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up, so just let us know next time if you need anything. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we are hopeful you will come stay again for your 1st Anniversary! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Litchfield Park
5

Little Green Oasis

  • 5 of 5

Our stay here was perfect. Yes, the train runs just a few yards away behind a thick screen of trees, but it just became white noise and never really woke us up. There were soft earplugs available as well but we didn't need them. The property is incredible and the carriage house was so quaint and special. The owner was very friendly, though we only saw her in passing. It felt very secluded. All I can say is that it really does look like the photos. If you don't mind some antique plumbing (shower had very little water pressure and toilet flush was a bit weak) it's perfect for a romantic getaway or just a quiet weekend alone. We would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jill, Thank you so much for the review and kind words about our property! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing mini-vacation

  • 5 of 5

Loved this place! We spent 4 nights here. The garden and buildings were pretty and you felt like you were quite secluded. We found the location to be very convenient though. There were a few good eating spots in easy walking distance on S Lamar (Snooze and a good ramen place), and we even strolled over to the South Congress neighborhood (more like 30 min), and up to see the bats (40 min). A few others had mentioned the train noise at night: my husband slept right through it and it kind of half woke me up since I'm a lighter sleeper. I tried out the provided ear plugs the next night--perfect! We loved saying hi to the donkeys every day. We saw the woman who owns the place in passing on our first day and mentioned they seemed a bit shy. She left some carrots for them at our door and problem solved, we had two new buddies!

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Leanna, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Birthday weekend

  • 5 of 5

Perfect weekend getaway for my husband and I! We loved this little carriage house which was cozy and inviting.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Jacksonville, Florida
5

Surprise Birthday Vacation

  • 5 of 5

I took my wife on a surprise vacation to Austin, Tx and we stayed at this beautiful home. It is a georgous place and great romantic get away. We stayed two nights here as we did some awesome activities. We went to the Hamilton Pool Perserve spring near by. It was absolutely beatiful and a must to go see if you stay. Also if you have never played the Escape Game there is a location about 10 minutes away. My wife and I went and had such a blast. Also the best breakfast in the world is down the road and it's called Snooze. The food prepared is emaculant as it is tasty. Overall this place is a 10 out of 10. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. City and state taxes will be added to all reservation rates. Each reservation also requires a cleaning fee, and the standard Property Damage Protection policy.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties