Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Designer's Charming Cottage, 4 houses to So. bay beach, lg. front patio, BBQ

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 1 & 1/2 Ba steps to South Bay Front

Designer's beautifully furnished, Yale built cottage in the 100 block of Apolena is just steps from the beach. This historic home with white washed wood walls and 10' LR ceiling is spotless & well maintained with 1 car garage parking, BBQ, washer dryer and all of the amenities a family needs to enjoy an Island vacation. The Living Room with two sofas and a pair of chairs is equipped with a flat screen TV, DVD & Sound, the Dining Room seats 6, the Kitchen has dishwasher and double ovens, the Den is furnished with a twin day bed, and desk area with internet connection. A powder room is also on the ground level. Upstairs the two front bedrooms are furnished with queen size beds. The small 3rd bedroom has a double bed. The bath has recently been renovated with white marble & tile. The house sleeps a maximum of six (6). The front garden patio has table and chairs for 6 with a decorative umbrella. Come enjoy Island living with the darling shops & restaurants a few blocks away and the main Newport Beach fun zone and pier a short fun ferry ride away. Easy access to Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm and all that the OC has to offer


Owner
Veronica
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 1, 2018

About Veronica

I am originally from MN, but was raised in Ventura County and lived in Los Angeles before moving to the Newport area in 1974. I am an interior designer and have lived in this house off and on since it was purchased. We did move to NYC and LA for some periods of time over the years, but this has always been 'home'. I mostly raised my daughter from the age of 5 here. Now she and my grandchildren enjoy all of the same beach and 'Island' activities that have remained so much fun.

Veronica purchased this cottage in 1979

Why Veronica chose Balboa Island

From the time my aunt brought me to Balboa Island when I was in junior high, I have had an affinity for 'The Island'. This house has great bones and amazing, charming detail. It was designed by a gentleman named Yale who favored the English Cotswolds style, though mine is more of a New England Salt Box He built seven houses on my block, on Coral and Turquoise in the 1930's. Everything, including doors, were hand built at that time when the wood had to be brought by barge and labor was very affordable.

What makes this cottage unique

It is wonderful to be so close to the South bay front beach and just 3 blocks from the market and Marine Avenue shops and restaurants. The interior of this home has wonderful knotty pine which was dark - like a mountain cabin - when I purchased the house. We had to have the wood sandblasted in order to put a white wash on it, which is unique and more appropriate at the beach. The floors in the LR/DR are brick, set in a herringbone pattern. Unique and easy peasy.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We are so excited to be renting your beautiful Apolena home again!
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Balboa Island Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • We want you to enjoy your vacation & respect for our neighbors is a priority. Kindly bring your parties inside by 9pm and quiet down inside by 11pm.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Village ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , 1st floor - Powder Room
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , 2nd Floor - Towels are provided
  • 1 full bath upstairs/ powder room downstairs. It would be of great assistance if you would please begin a load of wash with 2 bath rugs and bath towels on the day you depart.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , We provide bed linens/Please strip beds on last day
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , We provide bed linens. Please strip beds on last day.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , We provide bed linens. Please strip beds on last day.
    Family Room - 2 twin/ single , We provide bed linens. Please strip beds on last day.
  • As a convenience, so our guests do not have to transport bed linens, we provide them. We ask that you place all used linens in the Family Room at the end of your stay.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach towels are provided

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Designer's Charming Cottage, 4 houses to So. bay beach, lg. front patio, BBQ
average rating of 4.7 based on 12 reviews
5

Great cozy cottage

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week in this charming cottage. The location can’t be beat. We were able to walk anywhere on the island and didn’t even need our car. The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed for the week. It was more like staying at a friend’s house than in a rental - the owner even had it beautifully decorated for the holidays!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

good location, nice patio with garage not worth the hassle

  • 2 of 5

It's a good place if you are looking for a centrally located vacation spot. It's missing amenities that make it a good place to hangout. The fireplace wasn't working and the owner was able to schedule the repair man on the last full day of our vacation which we opted out. The electric stove dial numbers are worn down and difficult to manage the temperature. Even though we had purchased groceries we ate out or ordered take out. The owner left items at the house and stopped by on the 2nd day to pick up then a day later sent me a text with a list of items for me to look for around the house so she could pick them up on the 4th day. The owner also sent me texts to retrieve her mail and packages out for delivery and where to store them so she could then pick them up. It seemed like we were paying a family friend at a discounted rate to use the house rather than a rental property. The owner also claimed a mirror was broken which didn't occur while we were staying on the property. I would not recommend this property to a friend.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a mismatch from the beginning. Less than one week prior to their lease, these tenants emailed and called to ask what compensation would be offered if they chose not to take their week. Though the rental agreement states no arrival before 3:00 pm, this family arrived at noon asking to use the toilet. Unfortunately, because the weather had been so warm, the fireplace repair needed was not discovered in time for the repair part to arrive for this 1930's fireplace, and be installed prior to this tenant's occupancy. However, it was not required for heat, and was repaired immediately after their departure. The cooktop does have worn numerals, but there are also useful arrows. Replacement knobs are no longer available. Prior tenants were able to produce a full Thanksgiving dinner, and no other tenant has indicated they could not use the cooktop. While the tenants are asked to place mail and packages in the garage, so I may pick them up without disturbing the tenants, this was not done. I did request an item from the upstairs bath, and an unexpected delivery of Christmas flowers from Hawaii be left out for me to pick up. This party refuses to take responsibility for a custom mirror that was cracked during their occupancy. They state that it was not cracked up until the evening prior to their departure. However, it was cracked when I arrived the morning of their departure, with items placed tightly in front of the cracks. They suggest that it was done by the cleaning ladies, but they were unable to access the house prior to my arrival as all of the tenant keys had been locked inside the house. This is only the third time in over 20 years of short term rentals that a portion of the security deposit has been required for repairs. It is the only time that a tenant has not reported the damage and taken responsibility for it. I would not recommend this family as tenants.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Orange
5

Lovely Historic Cottage

  • 5 of 5

The cottage has a homey, not rental, feel. The furnishings and decor are high end but yet keep to the cottage feel. The house is situated on a very well preserved historic block on the island and is located close to a nice sandy beach. The kitchen is fully furnished with everything you could possibly need. We had a wonderful stay with our daughter and grandchildren. There is an alley to cross to get to the sandy beach so little children must be chaperoned. Neighbors are great; upon arrival, a nearby homeowner offered to parallel park our vehicle. TVs are on the small side for today's standards which did not bother us. If you're looking for a big screen type of house, this may not be for you. Located just blocks from shops and eateries. Great place to kayak and use SUP boards. We had a fabulous time and would go back again.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Made our trip!

  • 5 of 5

Staying here was such a treat! We felt so at home and enjoyed lingering at the cottage, as did our friends, on the patio and by the fire. This place made our trip so relaxing and we would for sure come again. Thank you, Veronica, for a spring break to remember!

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin, Texas
5

Beautiful and very charming Balboa Island home. Perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

We spent a fabulous Christmas week in this wonderful Balboa Island home. First of all, Balboa Island is simply magical at Christmas time and being able to enjoy the holiday and relax in this gorgeous beach cottage was heavenly. The house is beautifully decorated and well appointed. The living and dining rooms are spacious and very welcoming. There is a back den area if more space is needed. The kitchen has everything you would need. The bedrooms are darling with beautiful linens and plenty of closet and drawer space. I think our favorite feature of this home however was the beautiful front porch area. It is very large with a table and chairs, lounge and surrounded by lush plants, fragrant flowers and a lemon tree loaded with lemons. It was simply wonderful to sit out on the front porch with our morning coffee or an evening glass of wine and watch the world go by! The location of this home is perfect. It is very close to the water in the harbor but off the main Balboa Island promenade so it is quite quiet and private. You can easily walk to restaurants, shops and the Balboa ferry which takes you to the Newport peninsula and more restaurants, shops and of course the ocean. The owner Veronica was available and very easy to work with. We would definitely recommend this home and can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very cozy

  • 5 of 5

Great cottage ! Everything is in perfect order.

I am sure an interior designer put the cottage together because it looked cozy and perfect !

Very inviting !

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Wilma's Patio Restaurant
Family Restaurant
Crocker's
American Restaurant
Basilic
French Restaurant
Ciao
Italian Restaurant
Trattoria Restaurant
Italian Restaurant
Juice Crafters - Balboa Island / Newport Beach
Juice Shop
Mr G's Bistro - Balboa Island
American Restaurant
Shanghai Pine Gardens Restaurant
Chinese Restaurant
Royal Hen
Sugar 'n Spice
Picante Martin's
Mexican Restaurant
Free Range Cafe
American Restaurant
Galley Cafe
Breakfast Restaurant
Balboa Pavilion
Sapori
Italian Restaurant
Harborside Restaurant and Grand Ballroom
Seafood Restaurant
Java Bakery Cafe Bayside
Cafe
Balboa Beach Treats
Pizza Pete's
Pizza Restaurant
San Shi Go Sushi & Asian
Sushi Restaurant
Balboa Yacht Club
Balboa Fun Zone
Balboa Barbie Q
Barbecue Restaurant
Mint Leaf Thai Cuisine
Thai Restaurant
Public Restrooms
Jane's Corndogs
Hot Dog Restaurant
La French Touch
French Restaurant
Balboa Lily's
Cafe
New York Style Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
The Mermaid Coffee Bar
Coffee Shop
Newport Landing Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Azar's Gourmet Pizza
Italian Restaurant
Orange Blossom Cafe
Breakfast Restaurant
Patty Macs
New American Restaurant
Balboa Pier
Newport Beach Country Club
My Galley
Breakfast Restaurant
3 Thirty 3 Waterfront
American Restaurant
SHOR American Seafood Grill
SOL Mexican Cocina | Newport Beach
Mexican Restaurant
Peet's Coffee
Coffee Shop
Ruby's Diner
Diner
Back Bay Bistro
Bistro
Panini Kabob Grill - Corona Del Mar
Cafe
Gulfstream
Seafood Restaurant
The Wedge
CUCINA enoteca Newport Beach
Italian Restaurant
CUCINA enoteca Newport Beach
Italian Restaurant
The Cheesecake Factory
California Pizza Kitchen at Newport Beach
Pizza Restaurant
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
SNA
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Village Inn
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
To the Ocean Beach and Pier
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
San Joaquine, Irvine
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Irvine
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Coast Hwy
Nearest Restaurant
120 Metres
Basilic
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
4 houses from Bay
Car: not necessary

Disneyland is less than 30 min. drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Insurance $79

Rates are subject to change until lease is negotiated. Cancellations made 60 days before booking start date will be refunded. Any cancelations made later than 60 day booking start date may be 90% refunded only if the property is rebooked for the same dates by another party. Cancellation Insurance is advised.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties