Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

New Vintage Kelowna Home...Spa Tub, Patios, Fruit Trees, Waterfront,RV/Boat Park

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms1
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

In the heart of Kelowna's Cultural District, the lake, beach, boat launch...

Fully renovated May 2014, this vintage, cozy charmer has over 1600 square feet of indoor space with and a large outdoor space for fun, a patio with hot tub and garden shower, fruit trees and gardens and secure RV/boat parking. A 5 minute walk to downtown shopping and restaurants, 2 minute walk to the waterfront.

The property features:

*4 bedrooms - 2 queen, double, sleeper sofa and a queen convertible sofa in living room

* 400 thread counts sheets, duvet covers, towels for 6

* Free Internet throughout; stereo

* 2 - 40' plasma televisions with cable and Netflix

• Blu-Ray player with Wi-Fi for internet TV

* Hot Tub for 6

* Secure parking for Boat or RV up to 40'

* Private garden yards with patio chairs and tables

* Fully stocked kitchen

* Vintage claw foot tub and updated washroom

* Washer and dryer

• Personal Safe

Close by...

1/2 block - Station Pub Kelowna's best, Prosperous Arena

1 block - Summerhill, Colona Winery, Distillery Tree Brewing Tours, Playhouse and centers

2 blocks - Casino, shops & boutiques, restaurants, waterfront, boat launch, bird sanctuary, VQA Wine Museum, Sunripe Growers fruits outlet, mini market, coffee shops.

4 blocks - Downtown Kelowna shops, restaurants, groceries.

Visit our other vacations properties Downtown Vancouver Townhouse (VRBO #386185); Shuswap Lake Cabin Outlook (VRBO #508139); Whistler, BC Canada

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2017

About The Owner

We love to travel and have been to every continent. The two things that are a must for us are safety and cleanliness. We enjoy opening our doors to new friends hoping to provide a unique memorable experience for years to come.

The Owner purchased this house in 2014

Why The Owner chose Kelowna

This property is in the center of it all in Kelowna yet has a nice big yard, modern open design in a vintage home feeling while being brand new.

What makes this house unique

Built in 1942, the home was build post-war era. In May we completed a full transformation of the property into a modern open concept with brand new kitchen, bathroom, hard wood floors heated tiles, heavenly beds, hot tubs and a yard for entertaining as well as securely storing RV or a boat.

Guestbook comments from the owner

...we had an awesome weekend thank you so much! Everything was great
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Central City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • smoking allowed ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Vintage claw foot tub, large vanity sink, heated floors
    Bathroom 2 - outdoor shower , New deck has a garden spring hot/cold shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Queen Bedroom with 400 thread-count duvet, bedding and luxur
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Heavenly bed in Parisian room with duvet, bedding and towels
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Vintage Loft room with duvet, bedding and luxury towels
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sofa bed in living room, bedding provided upon request
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Vintage Loft bedroom with pull-out leather sofa bed, bedding
  • Rooms include 400 thread-count duvet, bedding and luxury towels, clock radio, lamp and tables.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

New Vintage Kelowna Home...Spa Tub, Patios, Fruit Trees, Waterfront,RV/Boat Park
average rating of 4.0 based on 20 reviews
5

Awesome loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Very private little home. Very cute 7 girls stayed here and had plenty of room and space to roam in the house. Would absolutely stay here again if I return to Kelowna. Had everything we needed there and ready. The 2 air conditioner units were very nice to have concidering the okanogan heat. Thanks

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Quirky property 10 minutes from waterfront.

  • 3 of 5

Meredith was very prompt in answering questions and generally helpful. As a group of 5 we felt that the property was large enough for us and was also within walking distance to the waterfront and shops which was the main reason for booking. The lounge area and kitchen were spacious and although the dining table has only 4 chairs this was not a problem as we found another from elsewhere in the house.

The reason for giving only 3 stars is because of the following;

The property is advertised as 4 bedrooms. 3 bedrooms were fine with comfortable mattresses but the 4th contained an old bed settee which was very uncomfortable to sleep on. It sagged badly in the middle and was therefore unsuitable for 2 people. The person who slept here did so badly. A dishwasher instead of a wine fridge would be more useful. There were only 4 cereal bowls which did not match, one of which was cracked.

Generally we felt that the house was tired and in need of some money spending on it. To sleep 10 comfortable ( as advertised) would be a struggle because of the bedroom situation and only one bathroom.

For us it was just about fine.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kay, thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I will be ensuring that these matters are given attention before next summer. It is important to us of course, to be sure the kitchen is well supplied. We had given consideration to a dishwasher instead of the wine fridge, however as it is wine country we have left it as is. Something to consider however! Thank you again, I am glad that you did enjoy your time in the house and Kelowna for your visit. All the best!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great location neglected property

  • 2 of 5

Beautiful location! Home has been neglected poor yard maintenance and cleanliness of home. The pictures online were much different than we experienced.

The grass and weeds had not been attended too, the hot tub was not working (a lady did come and add more water, got jets going, but not cleaned or heated)

The bikes and yard games were either not provided or in bad need of replacement.

-the outside shower has a broken glass lamp cover as well as some dog poop around it.

-the bathroom tub was dirty with 3 leftover bars of used soap.

- the coffee pot leaks constantly

- the A/C should probably be checked out... It ran off and on upstairs but worked good downstairs.

- the upstairs rug is dirty

- we wish we would have known to bring extra toilet paper, garbage bags, paper towel etc...as there was not enough for the stay period.

- there were 7 bath towels but not enough face or hand towels (we did get more towels delivered) If this property was better maintained it could be a really nice place. The management did try to help with issues but basically some time just needs to be spent on upkeep.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Shauna, thank you for your review. I am glad that as you were in town for concerts, that the 2 blocks to your site was convenient and trust you enjoyed the many benefits of the location and house overall. We do recognize that remedial action is required for the yard and have contractors in place to spend time over the fall and spring working on bringing it back to a good place, and to give it a chance next year. With the last couple of years being extremely dry and hot, the yard has been a recognized challenge. Though, happily thriving fruit trees becoming more and more abundant with each passing year will continue to change the overall picture of the yard and space. The bikes do have to be requested ahead of time. Thank you for letting us know about the games and we will be sure to re-stock those for next season. The coffee maker has been replaced and the cleaner has been made aware to be extra careful with the details when cleaning to be sure to dispose of soap, etc. We do try and provide adequate supplies for our guests, however at times do run short and as with most vacation properties as opposed to a hotel, guests do often have to get extras as we cannot always estimate a group's use etc. I am glad that our cleaner was able to come to the house and help as she could with supplies and getting the hot tub back up and running. Thank you again for your input. Each comment is heard, and will be addressed. It is always our goal to ensure our guests enjoy their stay to the best of our ability. Enjoy the long weekend ahead!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely house with a really great location. A group of ten is was a bit of a squeeze, but doable.

  • 4 of 5

Our group of ten were in Kelowna for a wedding. We had a lovely stay at this house, though we found that a group that size was a bit of a squeeze (mainly with one bathroom) but doable. The host is very responsive and reliable. The location is wonderful. An overall positive experience.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review Lindy! I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the house, and in Kelowna. We do agree that the house is best suited for a maximum of 8, to ensure comforts but I am happy that you still enjoyed the space. Should you be back our way for future vacations, please keep us in mind! Enjoy the rest of your summer up there!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
1

I experienced an overpriced, neglected, dirty , unsafe property - July 2016

  • 1 of 5

This by far is the worst VRBO/HomeAway property we have ever rented. It is a dirty, neglected, unsafe property located in an industrial area on a busy, noisy street and is misrepresented by the online photos and description. A miscommunicated door entry code, incorrect telephone contact # left me unable to access the house in time to get ready for a function. I attempted to contact the owners via phone, email & VRBO message board. Almost an hour after arrival the owners called with a working code; by this time I was en route to my event. The yard looks completely neglected with weeds growing everywhere, some as high as the roof, cigarette butts littered the so-called patio area & a junk pile near the gate. Once we had the correct code we found as much dirt and neglect inside. The wine glasses were dirty, not a dish cloth to clean them on the property. The kitchen utensils, glasses, plates and cook ware, although well appointed, were dirty & dish soap almost empty. The cleaning staff dropped some off the next day. In our search for dish cloths we came across a large size, used bong & filters (there is no place in a rental for drug paraphernalia, EVER). As the stay unfolded we discovered the following: black mould on interior windows; broken exterior windows; inaccessible safe; used soap in shower with hair imbedded; scum on inside cover and rim of hot tub thwarting any interest in using it. The owner later commented the water tested fine, however, it was extremely uninviting and unhealthy looking. In search for advertised BBQ, I found a rusted BBQ with empty beer cans inside, (based on the owner's response) this was abandoned by previous guests in the junk pile. The owner later told me the BBQ was removed some time ago as it “caused problems”. However all communication received, even after checking out, referred to the use & care of said BBQ. I turned to the oven to cook, only to discover it was dirty as well. The current state of the property is greatly misrepresented on VRBO. I shared pictured with owners, who interpreted my concerns primarily as a "cleaning issue". They acknowledged many of the issues & refunded the cleaning charge; rebutted some very important safety concerns shared, and offered 2 nights free future rental. However, based on experience with the property and owners, I don't feel safe or comfortable staying here again and I would never recommend this property regardless of the cost. Traveller, look elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You had mentioned two areas of concern, as with me when traveling that I hold paramount as well. Some areas of cleanliness and safety concerns weren't to your standards and I thank you for your comments as always trying to improve upon. I did do the inspection of the property and found some deficiencies as you noted, however, the house was up to the high standards as other guest reviews have stated. The door code was given to you was working even with the neighbours help, you were able to get in before calling me. I called you immediately to help and you immediately before seeing the place wanted compensation. The pictures online accurately describe the house and the location is withing two blocks of the Marriott Grand Hotel, the landmark of Kelowna in a very safe location. I regret that the house and all it provides was not up to your standards. As the caretaker and not owner, I did a personal offer and gesture as feel responsible to provide each guest a memorable experience. Unfortunately, very occasionally this is not able to be provided.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice property. Great location

  • 4 of 5

There were 8 of us staying here for a golf trip. Our flight had arrived early (before check in time) and Meredith was very accommodating and let us drop off our luggage at the house before they finished up cleaning. The house itself was seemed small at first but after settling in it was more than adequate enough for us. The only downside of the house was the one bathroom but it is manageable especially with the outdoor shower (great on hot days).

The location of the house is easily the best quality. It is 5-10 minute walk from the beach, pubs, restaurants, casino and liquor stores so everything you need is in close proximity for walking. We utilized the beach almost every day after golf.

The only unpleasant part of our stay was when the security company stopped by on Saturday night. I felt the employee was a little abrasive and even shined a flashlight into the house several times over a period of about half an hour. When I stepped outside to ask if there was an issue he only said "go back inside" and just repeated that over and over. I appreciate the service that the security provides and understand why they may be required for a rental property but I feel they were a little intrusive in this particular instance.

All in all our trip was great. The house was perfect for our needs, Meredith was very accommodating and prompt when answering emails/phone calls and golfing in Kelowna is always a blast. I will definitely look into renting this property again if I am in the Kelowna area.

-Thomas Allison

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Thomas, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the property. It is always helpful to hear back from guests about their experiences! I am of course, very happy you enjoyed the house, it's location and all the wonderful nearby amenities, especially the wonderful beach! Thank you as well for providing the feedback on the security staff. I hear so little about their presence, and will be following up with the owner to be sure that in the future, this scenario is not repeated. While it is important to have checks complete, the intention is not to make our guests feel uncomfortable. Appreciate that feedback. I do hope that you will stay with us again, as you and your group were most respectful of the house and neighbors which is always appreciated as well. Enjoy the rest of the summer and I hope you have more golfing adventures planned! All the best, Meredith
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Kelowna
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Station Pub
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Glenmore
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 97
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Grand
Nearest Ski
60 Kilometres
Big White / Silver Star
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Waterfront

Everything Kelowna has to offer is close by...

Photos

Rates & Availability

Central City House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring Season
Apr 1 2017 - Jun 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$165
From
$183
Fri,Sat
$1,021
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $18 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall Season
Sep 20 2017 - Dec 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$165
From
$183
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,021
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $18 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 19 2017 - Jan 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
$183
From
$216
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,153
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $18 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$201
From
$238
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,753
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $18 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $54.89 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Signed agreement is required

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties