Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Serene Setting Lakefront Home

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

A Serene setting Lakefront home in Popular Proctor Cove at the 55mm, on 100' of lakefront. Its a 3 bedrooms, 2 bath, with central heat/air, sleeps up to 10 people. The main level consists of Master bedroom with a king bed, bath, kitchen, dining/ great room with vaulted ceilings. Great room consists of a soaring rock fireplace, Sofa sleeper couch, loveseat, chair, Flat screen, fiber optic cable TV, and Wi-Fi, DVD player. The kitchen is open to the great room with a curve around counter top that doubles as a bar/sitting area. There is also a dining room table and chairs. Kitchen has stove, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker/filters, toaster, dishwasher, and all the utensils, dishes, pots and pans. There is also a laundry room with washer & dryer. There is a huge patio door walking out of the living room onto the deck that stretches the length of the home and wraps around both sides that overlooks the lake, with a grille and seating. There is also a lower deck that stretches the length of the home and overlooks the lake. The upstairs has 2 Queen bedrooms, large closets, one bedroom also has a separate twin bed in it, bath, and the loft overlooking the great room also consists of a twin bed and a sitting chair, there is also free WiFi. Super easy level commute to the large dock, with seating, swim platform, ladder, and a slip for your boat. There is excellent fishing from dock and good deep water. We stock the home with propane for the grill, coffee & filters, dishwasher tablets, toilet paper, some paper towels, however most ppl do bring toilet paper and paper towels to replenish what they've used. This property sits in a interior cove off the larger 1.5 mile long Proctor cove that comes off the almost 100 mile long main channel of Lake of the Ozarks. Our cove location makes for calm water and a pleasurable experience to fish, or for your kids to swim off the dock. There are 9 bars/restaurants within 8 miles by water, along with gas/marinas, along with caves, a winery, shopping and many other things to do. There is a nice concrete ramp in the rear of our cove to launch your boat, its 1/2 mile by water or 8 minutes by land. I also send out a map to the guests that have all of this marked on it for your convenience.


Stover House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
19% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Serene Setting Lakefront Home
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 21 reviews

A Hidden Gem!

  • 5 of 5

I have taken my family to the lake for summer vacations for years. We have always stayed down the lake (lower mile markers), but could never really enjoy the lake because of the big boats and rough water. We contacted Kris this year and stayed in his beautiful home. The lake is AWESOME in his area. We were able to tube, ski, fish anytime we wanted during the day in the peak of the season, as it was never rough. We took our boat and kept it in the large dock, caught many fish from the dock and cleaned them in the dock sink, hung out and swam on the large swim platform. The home itself is very beautiful, large kitchen, large living room with plenty of seating, large bedrooms, laundry facilities, and plenty of options of sitting outside on the upper and lower decks. The home was stocked with all the dishes, utensils, we needed. We have stayed in many places at the lake and overall we thought this was the nicest, best kept home we have ever stayed. We had the pleasure of meeting the neighbors that clean and take care of the property, (which I might add they do a wonderful job), they filled us in on some info about the area, and property, this along with the detailed email that Kris sends out with all the bars/restaurants by water, little convenience store 10 minutes away, etc in the area was very beneficial. Definitely be back next year, maybe sooner!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. That is the same reason we chose this cove, because of the calm waters. My opinion is its the best part of the entire lake. Very appreciative of all the other positives you stated for this property too, and that is exactly what we strive for.Glad you had a good time, and You and your family are welcome back at any time... Thanks Kris
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Family Trip to the Ozarks

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time! What a beautiful place to spend time with family! The kitchen could be a little better supplied with pots pans utensils as we do cook a lot. And the upstairs beds were rough downstairs bed was great! We would come back for sure

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always looking to improve to home in any way we can, this is why I ask for your suggestions/feedback in the email that I sent you to contact me personally if there is anything the home is in need of or if you have any suggestions on how to make it better. There are also times when something comes up missing, gets broke, etc and we don't know about it, again this is why we rely on you to let us know if something is missing or needed. Most of the family's that come to the lake do cook most of there meals in, so it is important that the kitchen be fully equiped. The kitchen is fully stocked with pots, pans, utensils, etc, enough plates, silverware for 10 ppl all the common things you would need in a kitchen, unless its a specialty item of some sort your looking for, and we would be happy to add that too if we only knew what it was. I had sent you 3 emails asking you to explain what it is that we could add to the kitchen to make it better and never got a response, so im in the dark on that still. Beds are a personal preference, I never seem to sleep as good on someone else's bed, or in a hotel as I do mine, but if I were reading your review, I would think you had to sleep on a piece of plywood. Again, I asked you what it is we might be able to do to improve them and received no feedback. When ppl have made suggestions to me in the past, I have always added it to the home whether I thought it needed it or not, because I want everyone's experience to be the best, and for those ppl to come back and see that we went full circle to try to meet there needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The entire family thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • 5 of 5

The home was very clean, we'll maintained, and had everything we needed. A beautiful setting; the lake location is absolutely ideal for a family. The cove is quiet and the water is calm, deep and ideal for swimming. Bring or rent a boat and you can enjoy everything else that the Lake of the Ozarks has to offer.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a great time and enjoyed your vacation. We would love have you back!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Was great. The house is so well kept up and neighbors we're so friendly

  • 4 of 5

The house was great and well kept. The lake was so serene. If you ask the neighbors for fishing tips they will tell you. Most friendly neighbors.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, Sounds like you had a 5 star time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Property, Superior Customer Experience

  • 5 of 5

The property, although slightly smaller than it appeared in the photos, was clean and very comfortable. The neighborhood was quiet, and provided a serene experience. The property is remote, meaning you have to travel on some interesting roads to get to it, but once there, the area is very relaxing. Kris Renner's customer service was by far and away some of the best I've encountered. Kris was extraordinarily helpful and supportive throughout our stay. He responds very quickly to any message sent to him. Overall I would certainly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Family Stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time here. The house was really nice with lots of room. It was plenty big for our group of 4 adults and 4 kids. It was clean and had all the stuff we needed...we grilled, we used the kitchen. We brought our boat and the boat ramp wasn't far or hard to find. And, we easily found the dock from the ramp. Really no issues with finding things. My husband was afraid he'd miss where to leave the boat trailer, but he said it was clearly marked. We were also a little concerned about parking since we had 3 vehicles, none that were small... fit no problem! We had so much fun! Ages ranged from 2 to 70 and all enjoyed it! We were either fishing, swimming, or boating. The kids had a blast swimming off the dock. Our dog enjoyed it very much, too! We fished off the dock as well. We took the boat out to tube, wakeboard, and fish and this area of the lake was very nice. We've stayed at the party end before and didn't like all the big boats with the waves and traffic. This area was perfect for families to play, swim, or relax. Highly recommend staying here for a family vacation!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the great review. Its nice to hear that you and your family had a great time at the lake house, and enjoyed your time at the lake. We would love to have you back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Kris Renner
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 22, 2018

About Kris Renner

We are from Nebraska, but purchased our first property in this same cove over 13 years ago. Its well worth the drive for us to Lake of the Ozarks, for what it offers.

Kris Renner purchased this house in 2014

Why Kris Renner chose Stover

We chose this part of the lake because my first experience of going to Lake of The Ozarks was a stay on the 20mm and it was ROUGH, couldn't even go boating on the weekend, I swore I would never come back. Then I found there was a calm side to the lake, which is why we chose were we did to purchase. We have the same lake with good deep water without all the rough water. Perfect for fishing, and families that like to participate in watersports, swimming or just a nice boat ride. We chose a cove location vs. a main channel location to be away from all the main channel boat traffic, and rougher waters.

What makes this house unique

Calm Water, and its geographical location.

We chose this area because of its northern location. It is only 2 hours from the Southeast edge of the Kansas City Metropolitan area, (Lees Summit) making it about the closest location on the lake (time wise) to the Metro area. It makes out drive 1/2 hour to a hour shorter than most locations farther down the lake.



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $105 + Tax
Cleaning $140 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.72%

-Pet fee is based per weeks stay, can be adjusted for shorter stays. One pet only under 25lbs.
-Rates are based on 7 ppl in the summer month rates, 6ppl the rest of year, $15 per person, per night above that.
-Check-in is 4pm, check-out is 10:30am.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties