About the property
- Villa2400 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay2 - 7 nights
Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 7-8)
Our, three-bedroom penthouse villa is “THE” place to be on Hilton Head Island. We are situated on the top two floors (4th and 5th) of Harbourside II, boasting over 2500 square feet of living space! Directly below us in Shelter Cove Marina is wonderful shopping, gourmet restaurants, bars with live music, the Shannon Tanner Pavilion (offering 2 shows nightly in the summer), dolphin tours, kayaking, paddle boarding, boat rentals and even a pirate ship excursion for your little ones to partake in. Our villa is one of the few exclusive, three bedroom units on the property which includes an oversized balcony where you can experience a breathtaking sunset overlooking Broad Creek and the Intercostal Waterway or view the Harbourfest fireworks while relaxing at night! Within walking and biking distance is the newly built Shelter Cove Town Center which is a unique lifestyle village featuring 290,000 square feet of retail, restaurant and entertainment space surrounded by natural amenities and luxury residences. Enjoy one of the many festivals or take your children to the playground, there is something for everyone here.
Within our villa you will find a full kitchen, 3 bedrooms/3 full baths with flat screen TV's DVD players, family room, and dining room. Bedroom #1 is located on the first floor of the villa (double bed), while the Master Bedroom (king size bed) located on the second level features a fireplace and Jacuzzi. Bedroom #2, also located on the second level of the villa, has a double and a twin bed. An elevator is located within Harbourside II for your added convenience. On-site amenities include a private swimming pool and children's playground. Shannon Tanner's Pavilion is located steps away from our villa!
Hilton Head Beaches are considered some of the most spectacular beaches in the world! There are many ways to access our private beaches. The Dune Buggy Shuttle, which stops in front of our building, runs from 8 AM to 9 PM, March 21 to September 10. If you prefer you can take a lovely ten-minute bike ride on a family-friendly bike trail or a five-minute car ride with free parking for Shelter Cove guests. Each beach access point includes, outdoor showers, public restrooms and a snack bar/restaurant.
Keywords: Penthouse Villa
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few days
- Calendar last updated:
- May 19, 2018
About Mark McCarthy
Welcome to our villa and thank-you for taking the time to read about us! We are the McCarthy's. As a family we have been vacationing on Hilton Head Island for the last 20 years and in 2002 we made the leap, we bought a villa!! To say that it was one of the best things we ever did is an understatement. This is our home away from home and you'll know that the moment you enter the front door. One of our most favorite things to do is to grab a cup of coffee first thing in the morning, relax on the balcony while we take in the comings and goings of the boaters and kayakers in the marina or out on Broad Creek. In the evening, the same holds true with a glass of wine and a spectacular sunset! The view is one in a million. Need we say any more?
Mark McCarthy purchased this Villa in 2002
Why Mark McCarthy chose Shelter Cove
When we first vacationed on HHI we rented on the beach..always! However, when we started looking for property our realtor suggested that we look at waterfront marina property. At first we were hesitant but the moment we walked into our villa we knew we were going to buy it. The view was/is a show stopper! What we didn't know was how convenient to everything it was. Walk out the door and you have a choice of wonderful restaurants and bars. The grocery store is easily accessable by bike if you wish to get in some exercise. Boat and kayak rentals are all located within the marina as well. The beach? We have access to 2 spectacular beaches, Dunes Beach House and Disney both of which are within biking distance or what we do is load up the car and drive there (roughly 2 minutes!). Never once have we regretted not buying on the beach!
What makes this Villa unique
If you have little ones and have vacationed on HHI before you've probably seen Shannon Tanner. He plays nightly during the summer months right below our villa. While you can't actually see the show from our balcony, you can see the top of the pavillion he plays in! So we are very close.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Property needed a deep cleaning. Many areas had not been looked after for some time and carpets had many stains. We don't mind dated decor but there is no excuse for not being maintained. There was no welcome package or parking passes on our arrival and only got them the next day after contacting property manager. 2 weeks later the same thing - we had to request parking passes and got them 2 days after we should have. garbage disposal broken, screen doors were broken and none were fixed after several requests. dining chairs had loose arms and we were told "not to worry about it." I had to ask four times to get an ironing board cover - not an unreasonable request considering we were staying a month. We have been renting for 14 years and have never had issues as we had with this rental. It's a shame because view is fabulous . Our holiday should not have to be spent chasing an indifferent property manager.
Thank you so much for writing a review. We always welcome both positive and negative reviews, as this is our only way of evaluating how to better our guest’s stay.
First of let me apologize for the lack of responsiveness of our Property Manager. He is usually Johnny on the Spot and has served us well for many years. I wish you had called my husband or myself, as I am certain we could have rectified the parking pass and ironing board issues. In the end I think you did receive both, but I can understand your frustration in not receiving them in a timely manner.
Like most stories there are 2 sides. The previous renter broke the garbage disposal on their last day of renting. There wasn't enough time between your arrival to order and replace the disposal. You were informed of this and told not to use it. When the serviceman did show up a few days later, he was turned away by you and told you didn't want to have anyone in the villa during your vacation. I certainly can understand this, but it very irresponsible of you to then write a negative review with only your side of the story being told.
As far as the screens on the sliders are concerned, you were also told that they could not be repaired and were taken off. Again it was not an issue of neglect, but rather one of impossibility. Short of replacing 2 over sized sliding glass doors there was nothing that could be done and you knew this too. Once again, 2 sides to every story.
Mark and I are at the villa now and yes there was one arm on 1 dining room chair that was a bit wobbly, .not falling off, just a tad wobbly.
On the flip side when we entered the villa after your stay, we found a broken picture and when I questioned the cleaning crew I was informed that they found it that way upon your departure. I’m not pointing a finger I’m just saying there are always 2 sides to a story. The picture may have fallen when you closed the door upon your departure. We could have charged you for the broken picture, but I always like to give our renters the benefit of the doubt.
As you stated, the view from the balcony and master bedroom is spectacular. I am very sorry that you were inconvenienced during your stay in our home. We try our best to make our renters as confortable as possible and it saddens me when a review such as yours is posted on VRBO. Certainly as renters ourselves, we know what is expected in a property and we strive to meet our own high standards.
Mark & Mary Beth McCarthy, Owners
Location location location!!!
Our stay in this beautiful villa was only surpassed by the excellent location in Shelter Cove. Minutes to shops, and grocery store. Entertainment right below in a variety of different bars and restaurants although being in the villa you never hear a peep... it's so quiet and spacious. My family and I agreed this was our best vacation and we will return next year for sure. Loved every second ! Million dollar view!
Shelter cove harbour - number 1 on the island
The villa is located in Shelter Cove Marina on Hilton Head Island. The shelter cove harbor is THE place to be: great dining, live music every evening, beaches nearby (Palmetto Dunes) are easy accessible. Bike trails all around.
The villa is located on the 4th floor with a stunning overview of the harbor. Fully equipped kitchen, clean facilities, jacuzzi. What more can you get??
We had a perfect stay!
We all had a wonderful time. Beautiful setting for a vacation. Too many great restaurants to get to in one week! Definitely need to go back!
Excellent location and views!
My dad, brothers and I stayed here for a long golf weekend in August. The place is fantastic. We had gated parking and lots to do within walking distance. Great golf right across the street. Would highly recommend and will definitely be staying here again.
Harbourside II Penthouse
We stayed at the Harbourside II Penthouse for three nights. The view is the saving grace for this property, probably one of the best in the area. Having said that, the unit is very dated (we knew this when we rented based on the pictures), and was also in need of a deep clean. I contacted the owners (Mary Beth) who was more than accommodating and tried to do everything she could to help our stay. It does need to be noted that she does not live in the area, and is relying on a property manager to oversee and fix any issues. A cleaning crew did get sent over on day 2 of our stay to touch up some problem areas, but I feel a deeper clean and basic maintenance issues (several burned out light bulbs...we ended up digging around and replaced the ones we needed) should be addressed and should have been fixed before we arrived. Mary Beth did contact the property manager and again, I felt as though she did everything she could to help from afar. I didn't want to waste my entire time worrying about the issues, so we didn't contact the owner again. Based on our conversations, I'm sure she would have fixed the problems, but we wanted to enjoy our time on the Island and not spend our days in the house.
Hi Kari and thank you for your review of our home.
I'm so happy that I was able to help you with the few small areas in the villa you had problems with such as light bulb replacement (we have no control over when a light bulb may burn out, so that is why we leave lots of extras for our guests, just in case! We really don't want you to be in the dark!).
The cleaning crew does an amazing job for us and as you witnessed they are more than willing to accommodate our guests. My family and myself were actually in the villa right after you left and I was really worried about the cleanliness but was very happy to find everything just as I would have expected... immaculate.
As for the condo being dated, our pictures as you state, are representative of what the villa looks like. With that being said, all of the TV's are brand new, along with the matresses, washer, dryer, dishwasher, refrigerator microwave and stove. We also replace pots and pans annually.
Yes we are not local. In fact, 90% of the property owners on HHI are not local and rely on a property manager to oversee their units. We happen to have a super person whom I trust implicitly and as you stated was "Johnny on the Spot" when called upon.
I am so happy though that you enjoyed the spectacular view from our oversized balcony. It is so relaxing to watch the boats come in and out of the marina and I daresay we have the best sunset and fireworks show on the island!
In the future, I hope you will consider renting with us again as we'd love to have you back!
Mary Beth McCarthy, Owner
Shelter Cove is part of the of prestigious Palmetto Dunes Plantation Resort which occupies 1800 acres on Hilton Head Island. The grounds of this plantation are immaculately landscaped and include three miles of glorious wide white sandy Atlantic Ocean Beach. You can kayak or canoe the resorts 11 miles of navigable lagoon system and enjoy miles of bike paths. Savannah Ga is a 30 min. drive (boat rides also available) that boasts beautiful city squares and Riverstreet dining. Take a carriage ride through the city or a 2 hour guided walking tour to embrace the historic south! Our On-Site Activities include, Kayaking, Arts Center (Live Theatre), Playground, Dolphin Watch Tours, Dinner and Sailing Cruises. Summer: Nightly Shannon Tannor concerts and Tues nite Harbourfest Fireworks (no need to leave the balcony!)
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Check-In time is @ 4:00 p.m. Check-Out time is @ 10.00 a.m.