Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

4th Floor Harbourside II Penthouse with Outstanding Views!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 7-8)

Our, three-bedroom penthouse villa is “THE” place to be on Hilton Head Island. We are situated on the top two floors (4th and 5th) of Harbourside II, boasting over 2500 square feet of living space! Directly below us in Shelter Cove Marina is wonderful shopping, gourmet restaurants, bars with live music, the Shannon Tanner Pavilion (offering 2 shows nightly in the summer), dolphin tours, kayaking, paddle boarding, boat rentals and even a pirate ship excursion for your little ones to partake in. Our villa is one of the few exclusive, three bedroom units on the property which includes an oversized balcony where you can experience a breathtaking sunset overlooking Broad Creek and the Intercostal Waterway or view the Harbourfest fireworks while relaxing at night! Within walking and biking distance is the newly built Shelter Cove Town Center which is a unique lifestyle village featuring 290,000 square feet of retail, restaurant and entertainment space surrounded by natural amenities and luxury residences. Enjoy one of the many festivals or take your children to the playground, there is something for everyone here.

Within our villa you will find a full kitchen, 3 bedrooms/3 full baths with flat screen TV's DVD players, family room, and dining room. Bedroom #1 is located on the first floor of the villa (double bed), while the Master Bedroom (king size bed) located on the second level features a fireplace and Jacuzzi. Bedroom #2, also located on the second level of the villa, has a double and a twin bed. An elevator is located within Harbourside II for your added convenience. On-site amenities include a private swimming pool and children's playground. Shannon Tanner's Pavilion is located steps away from our villa!

Hilton Head Beaches are considered some of the most spectacular beaches in the world! There are many ways to access our private beaches. The Dune Buggy Shuttle, which stops in front of our building, runs from 8 AM to 9 PM, March 21 to September 10. If you prefer you can take a lovely ten-minute bike ride on a family-friendly bike trail or a five-minute car ride with free parking for Shelter Cove guests. Each beach access point includes, outdoor showers, public restrooms and a snack bar/restaurant.

Keywords: Penthouse Villa

More Details

Property Manager
Mark McCarthy
Member since: 2005
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 14, 2017

About Mark McCarthy

Welcome to our villa and thank-you for taking the time to read about us! We are the McCarthy's. As a family we have been vacationing on Hilton Head Island for the last 20 years and in 2002 we made the leap, we bought a villa!! To say that it was one of the best things we ever did is an understatement. This is our home away from home and you'll know that the moment you enter the front door. One of our most favorite things to do is to grab a cup of coffee first thing in the morning, relax on the balcony while we take in the comings and goings of the boaters and kayakers in the marina or out on Broad Creek. In the evening, the same holds true with a glass of wine and a spectacular sunset! The view is one in a million. Need we say any more?

Mark McCarthy purchased this villa in 2002

Why Mark McCarthy chose Hilton Head Island

When we first vacationed on HHI we rented on the beach..always! However, when we started looking for property our realtor suggested that we look at waterfront marina property. At first we were hesitant but the moment we walked into our villa we knew we were going to buy it. The view was/is a show stopper! What we didn't know was how convenient to everything it was. Walk out the door and you have a choice of wonderful restaurants and bars. The grocery store is easily accessable by bike if you wish to get in some exercise. Boat and kayak rentals are all located within the marina as well. The beach? We have access to 2 spectacular beaches, Dunes Beach House and Disney both of which are within biking distance or what we do is load up the car and drive there (roughly 2 minutes!). Never once have we regretted not buying on the beach!

What makes this villa unique

If you have little ones and have vacationed on HHI before you've probably seen Shannon Tanner. He plays nightly during the summer months right below our villa. While you can't actually see the show from our balcony, you can see the top of the pavillion he plays in! So we are very close.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Hello Renter's and Welcome to our Guestbook area! Please feel free to comment on everything and anything...restaurants, golf courses etc. We sincerely hope you enjoy your stay in our villa and fall in love with the island..as we have! We also have a guest book in our villa and I am going to transfer all of last years comments to here for everyone to read.....Enjoy!
Apr 2005
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Hilton Head Island Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) Located in the Master Bedroom, Queen size Beds (1) Located in Bedroom 1, Double Beds (1) Located in Bedroom 2, Twin or Single Beds (1) Located in Bedroom 1
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach Chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards and sand toys are available to all of our guests. Wet Bar, adjacent to living area

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
22% Complete
12% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
4th Floor Harbourside II Penthouse with Outstanding Views!
average rating of 4.419355 based on 38 reviews
5

Location location location!!!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay in this beautiful villa was only surpassed by the excellent location in Shelter Cove. Minutes to shops, and grocery store. Entertainment right below in a variety of different bars and restaurants although being in the villa you never hear a peep... it's so quiet and spacious. My family and I agreed this was our best vacation and we will return next year for sure. Loved every second ! Million dollar view!

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Shelter cove harbour - number 1 on the island

  • 5 of 5

The villa is located in Shelter Cove Marina on Hilton Head Island. The shelter cove harbor is THE place to be: great dining, live music every evening, beaches nearby (Palmetto Dunes) are easy accessible. Bike trails all around.

The villa is located on the 4th floor with a stunning overview of the harbor. Fully equipped kitchen, clean facilities, jacuzzi. What more can you get??

We had a perfect stay!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Phenomenal

  • 5 of 5

We all had a wonderful time. Beautiful setting for a vacation. Too many great restaurants to get to in one week! Definitely need to go back!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent location and views!

  • 5 of 5

My dad, brothers and I stayed here for a long golf weekend in August. The place is fantastic. We had gated parking and lots to do within walking distance. Great golf right across the street. Would highly recommend and will definitely be staying here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Harbourside II Penthouse

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at the Harbourside II Penthouse for three nights. The view is the saving grace for this property, probably one of the best in the area. Having said that, the unit is very dated (we knew this when we rented based on the pictures), and was also in need of a deep clean. I contacted the owners (Mary Beth) who was more than accommodating and tried to do everything she could to help our stay. It does need to be noted that she does not live in the area, and is relying on a property manager to oversee and fix any issues. A cleaning crew did get sent over on day 2 of our stay to touch up some problem areas, but I feel a deeper clean and basic maintenance issues (several burned out light bulbs...we ended up digging around and replaced the ones we needed) should be addressed and should have been fixed before we arrived. Mary Beth did contact the property manager and again, I felt as though she did everything she could to help from afar. I didn't want to waste my entire time worrying about the issues, so we didn't contact the owner again. Based on our conversations, I'm sure she would have fixed the problems, but we wanted to enjoy our time on the Island and not spend our days in the house.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kari and thank you for your review of our home. I'm so happy that I was able to help you with the few small areas in the villa you had problems with such as light bulb replacement (we have no control over when a light bulb may burn out, so that is why we leave lots of extras for our guests, just in case! We really don't want you to be in the dark!). The cleaning crew does an amazing job for us and as you witnessed they are more than willing to accommodate our guests. My family and myself were actually in the villa right after you left and I was really worried about the cleanliness but was very happy to find everything just as I would have expected... immaculate. As for the condo being dated, our pictures as you state, are representative of what the villa looks like. With that being said, all of the TV's are brand new, along with the matresses, washer, dryer, dishwasher, refrigerator microwave and stove. We also replace pots and pans annually. Yes we are not local. In fact, 90% of the property owners on HHI are not local and rely on a property manager to oversee their units. We happen to have a super person whom I trust implicitly and as you stated was "Johnny on the Spot" when called upon. I am so happy though that you enjoyed the spectacular view from our oversized balcony. It is so relaxing to watch the boats come in and out of the marina and I daresay we have the best sunset and fireworks show on the island! In the future, I hope you will consider renting with us again as we'd love to have you back! Mary Beth McCarthy, Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Nashville, Tn
5

Beautiful and so conveinent!

  • 5 of 5

My family loved everything about this beautiful condo. So very convenient to shopping, beach, restaurants and beautiful area to walk of just sit on balcony and enjoy the views of the harbor!

Would definitely book again.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Shelter Cove is part of the of prestigious Palmetto Dunes Plantation Resort which occupies 1800 acres on Hilton Head Island. The grounds of this plantation are immaculately landscaped and include three miles of glorious wide white sandy Atlantic Ocean Beach. You can kayak or canoe the resorts 11 miles of navigable lagoon system and enjoy miles of bike paths. Savannah Ga is a 30 min. drive (boat rides also available) that boasts beautiful city squares and Riverstreet dining. Take a carriage ride through the city or a 2 hour guided walking tour to embrace the historic south! Our On-Site Activities include, Kayaking, Arts Center (Live Theatre), Playground, Dolphin Watch Tours, Dinner and Sailing Cruises. Summer: Nightly Shannon Tannor concerts and Tues nite Harbourfest Fireworks (no need to leave the balcony!)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $170

Check-In time is @ 4:00 p.m.
Check-Out time is @ 10.00 a.m.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.