Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

4th Floor Harbourside II Penthouse with Outstanding Views!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 7-8)

This designer decorated, non-smoking, three bedroom penthouse villa is situated on the top two floors of Harbourside II, boasting over 2500 square feet of living space! Our Villa is one of the few exclusive, three bedroom units on the property which includes an oversized balcony overlooking beautiful Shelter Cove Marina. While lounging on the porch you can experience a breathtaking sunset overlooking Broad Creek and the Intercoastal Waterway or view the Harbourfest fireworks while relaxing at night!

Our Villa also includes a washer and dryer, full kitchen, and dining room. One bedroom is located on the first floor of the Villa (double bed), while the Master Bedroom (king size bed) located on the second level features a fireplace and jacuzzi. The 2nd bedroom has a double and a twin bed. All BR's have flatscreen TV's with a DVD player. The unit occupies the top 4th and 5th floors. An elevator is located in the building for your added convenience. On-site amenities include a private swimming pool and children's playground. Shannon Tanner's Pavillion is located steps away from our villa!

Shelter Cove Harbour, where the Harbourside II complex is located, is a delightful, lively area which was modeled after a mediterranean village. Just a few feet from our Villa are some of the island's best and more diverse restaurants - Ela's Blue Water Grill and Bistro 17 (Gourmet Dining), Little Venice (Italian), Scott's (Seafood), and San Miguel's (Mexican). Enjoy a romantic dinner for two or bring the children and let them experience Shannon Tanner's free nightly entertainment shows (seasonal) under the pavilion, located directly below our Villa. Relax and enjoy Tuesday evening fireworks which can been seen directly from our balcony during the summer months!

While strolling through the Shelter Cove Village one can enjoy the many different kinds of boats and yachts ranging in price from $30,000 to several million dollars or enjoy the many unique boutiques, and galleries.

Hilton Head Beaches are considered some of the most spectacular beaches in the world! There are many ways to access our private beaches. The Dune Buggy Shuttle, which stops in front of our building, runs from 8 AM to 9 PM, March 21 to September 10. If you prefer you can take a lovely ten minute bike ride on a family-friendly bike trail or a five minute car ride with free parking for Shelter Cove guests. Beach access also includes, outdoor showers, public restrooms and a snack bar.

Please inquire about discount golf packages.

Keywords: Penthouse Villa

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 26, 2017

About The Owner

Welcome to our villa and thank-you for taking the time to read about us! We are the McCarthy's. As a family we have been vacationing on Hilton Head Island for the last 10 years and in 2002 we made the leap, we bought a villa!! To say that it was one of the best things we ever did is an understatement. This is our home away from home and you'll know that the moment you enter the front door. One of our most favorite things to do is to grab a cup of coffee first thing in the morning, relax on the balcony while we take in the comings and goings of the boaters and kayakers in the marina or out on Broad Creek. In the evening, the same holds true with a glass of wine and a spectacular sunset! The view is one in a million. Need we say any more?

The Owner purchased this villa in 2002

Why The Owner chose South Carolina

When we first vacationed on HHI we rented on the beach..always! However, when we started looking for property our realtor suggested that we look at waterfront marina property. At first we were hesitant but the moment we walked into our villa we knew we were going to buy it. The view was/is a show stopper! What we didn't know was how convenient to everything it was. Walk out the door and you have a choice of wonderful restaurants and bars. The grocery store is easily accessable by bike if you wish to get in some exercise. Boat and kayak rentals are all located within the marina as well. The beach? We have access to 2 spectacular beaches, Dunes Beach House and Disney both of which are within biking distance or what we do is load up the car and drive there (roughly 2 minutes!). Never once have we regretted not buying on the beach!

What makes this villa unique

If you have little ones and have vacationed on HHI before you've probably seen Shannon Tanner. He plays nightly during the summer months right below our villa. While you can't actually see the show from our balcony, you can see the top of the pavillion he plays in! So we are very close.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Hello Renter's and Welcome to our Guestbook area! Please feel free to comment on everything and anything...restaurants, golf courses etc. We sincerely hope you enjoy your stay in our villa and fall in love with the island..as we have! We also have a guest book in our villa and I am going to transfer all of last years comments to here for everyone to read.....Enjoy!
Apr 2005
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Hilton Head Island Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) Located in the Master Bedroom, Queen size Beds (1) Located in Bedroom 1, Double Beds (1) Located in Bedroom 2, Twin or Single Beds (1) Located in Bedroom 1
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach Chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards and sand toys are available to all of our guests. Wet Bar, adjacent to Living Area

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
25% Complete
14% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
4th Floor Harbourside II Penthouse with Outstanding Views!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 34 reviews
3

Harbourside II Penthouse

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at the Harbourside II Penthouse for three nights. The view is the saving grace for this property, probably one of the best in the area. Having said that, the unit is very dated (we knew this when we rented based on the pictures), and was also in need of a deep clean. I contacted the owners (Mary Beth) who was more than accommodating and tried to do everything she could to help our stay. It does need to be noted that she does not live in the area, and is relying on a property manager to oversee and fix any issues. A cleaning crew did get sent over on day 2 of our stay to touch up some problem areas, but I feel a deeper clean and basic maintenance issues (several burned out light bulbs...we ended up digging around and replaced the ones we needed) should be addressed and should have been fixed before we arrived. Mary Beth did contact the property manager and again, I felt as though she did everything she could to help from afar. I didn't want to waste my entire time worrying about the issues, so we didn't contact the owner again. Based on our conversations, I'm sure she would have fixed the problems, but we wanted to enjoy our time on the Island and not spend our days in the house.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kari and thank you for your review of our home. I'm so happy that I was able to help you with the few small areas in the villa you had problems with such as light bulb replacement (we have no control over when a light bulb may burn out, so that is why we leave lots of extras for our guests, just in case! We really don't want you to be in the dark!). The cleaning crew does an amazing job for us and as you witnessed they are more than willing to accommodate our guests. My family and myself were actually in the villa right after you left and I was really worried about the cleanliness but was very happy to find everything just as I would have expected... immaculate. As for the condo being dated, our pictures as you state, are representative of what the villa looks like. With that being said, all of the TV's are brand new, along with the matresses, washer, dryer, dishwasher, refrigerator microwave and stove. We also replace pots and pans annually. Yes we are not local. In fact, 90% of the property owners on HHI are not local and rely on a property manager to oversee their units. We happen to have a super person whom I trust implicitly and as you stated was "Johnny on the Spot" when called upon. I am so happy though that you enjoyed the spectacular view from our oversized balcony. It is so relaxing to watch the boats come in and out of the marina and I daresay we have the best sunset and fireworks show on the island! In the future, I hope you will consider renting with us again as we'd love to have you back! Mary Beth McCarthy, Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Nashville, Tn
5

Beautiful and so conveinent!

  • 5 of 5

My family loved everything about this beautiful condo. So very convenient to shopping, beach, restaurants and beautiful area to walk of just sit on balcony and enjoy the views of the harbor!

Would definitely book again.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful view and relaxing.

  • 4 of 5

The villa was very comfortable. Everything my family and I needed was provided. The area had alot shopping and activities. The only inconvenience was having to walk next door to our pool access for the kids but other than that everything was perfect. We will defiantly like to stay again.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cleveland
5

Stunning property to stay at

  • 5 of 5

This is a long overdue review of this wonderful property. We had the opportunity to stay at this property for 2 weeks in August of 2016 with our 2 adult children and their husbands. The pictures on VRBO do not do this villa justice in terms of it's size. The 2 bedrooms and oversized master bedroom each have attached full sized bathrooms. This was such a plus for us because it allowed each couple to have privacy and their own space. TV's in each room a plus. Drinks on the balcony each night while enjoying the amazing view was great. This condo is so convenient to shopping and restaurants. One day we rented a pontoon boat right out of Shelter Cove and enjoyed a top 10 day. We most certainly will be back next year. Loved everything about the condo.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

December stay at Shelter Cove

  • 3 of 5

The location was wonderful - walking distance to restaurants, shops and grocery stores.

The condo is quite spacious and comfortable. However, as mentioned in previous reviews, it could use some updating. Carpet stains, peeling paint etc. make it feel a little run down. My husband seemed to be allergic to something on the first floor, which we never figured out - (possibly a cleaning fluid or something in the upholstery?) Nonetheless, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Maryanne, Thank you so much for your review of our villa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our home. As you said, the location is wonderful (so close to everything) and the villa is so spacious and airy you never feel like you are on top of one another even when you have a full house! I'm so sorry your husband was allergic to something on the first floor. Prior to your arrival we underwent a deep clean (I'm a clean freak) so that perplexes me and as you said maybe he was allergic to a cleaning reagent that was used. We'll look into the peeling paint (?) and have that corrected immediately. The carpets are routinely cleaned. Thank-you again for your positive feedback and once again we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Sincerely, Mary Beth and Mark McCarthy, Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Great people to deal with

  • 4 of 5

Great people to deal with. The location was great. Some repairs and updates needed to the property.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Shelter Cove is part of the of prestigious Palmetto Dunes Plantation Resort which occupies 1800 acres on Hilton Head Island. The grounds of this plantation are immaculately landscaped and include three miles of glorious wide white sandy Atlantic Ocean Beach. You can kayak or canoe the resorts 11 miles of navigable lagoon system and enjoy miles of bike paths. Savannah Ga is a 30 min. drive (boat rides also available)and boasts beautiful city squares and Riverstreet dining. Take a carriage ride through the city or a 2 hour guided walking tour to embrace the historic south! Our On-Site Activities include, Kayaking, Arts (Live Theatre) Center, Playground, Dolphin Watch Tours, Dinner and Sailing Cruises. Summer: Nightly Shannon Tannor concerts and Tues nite Harbourfest Fireworks (no need to leave the balcony!)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hilton Head Island Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,470
$3,450
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Insurance $59

Check-In time is @ 4:00 p.m.
Check-Out time is @ 10.00 a.m.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties