Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A Sustainable Modern Beach Villa

Bedrooms 2
Space 3,497 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

Unique 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, ocean front beach villa with lap pool

This Modern off-grid beach house in Plantation/Maya Beach harnesses nature and the landscape and provides a stunning backdrop for a dream beach side retreat.

High ceilings, large light-filled spaces, polished concrete floors, wooden windows, white walls, sublime views and sea breezes are just some of the features of this gorgeous home.

The experience of this solar powered home begins the minute you arrive and step into the private front inner courtyard. The house includes a fully equipped kitchen with expansive concrete island, industrial gas stove, dishwasher, coffee maker, orange juice squeezer, stainless steel fridge/freezer with ice-maker.

A large and bright dining and living area with built-in sofas face the exquisite ocean front setting. 3 garage-style windows with additional screens open up to a stunning hardwood deck and lap pool running the entire length of the house.

The style of living in this house is easy and relaxed as the outdoors and indoors become one with each other. The house sits on a beautiful white beach with clear blue water and invites you to take a dip or go for an ocean kayak. After time outside, take a freshwater outdoor beach shower and relax under the pool pallapa or one of the beach lounges.

The main floor contains 1 bedroom with a king size bed, private courtyard and outdoor shower plus a guest bathroom for the main house use. Heading upstairs you find a large studio/sleeping area with a double pullout sleeper couch. This space has 2 glass garage doors and a set of French doors leading to a wraparound balcony. Hammocks and benches await as you doze off or keep a watch out for early morning Dolphins, Manatees or Pelicans diving for fish.

The main bedroom also has the same incredible view and a king size dreamy bed to retire to at night. Use the AC or ceiling fan for comfortable cool sleeping or open the garage doors and listen to the waves. This room has a wall of cabinets plus open shelves for storage. The bathroom on this floor is quite unique with an inner 2 piece and a private outdoor shower with a breathtaking framed view of the Maya Mountains and Lagoon.

This solar powered home includes has 2 bedroom-only air conditioners, ceiling fans and washer and dryer. A solar hot water tank provides the supply of hot water and 5 rain barrels store rain water collected from the roof.


Free wifi, Sonos Music System, BBQ, filtered water for drinking, kayak and a safe.


Balcony and stair railings are not child proof and therefore not suitable for unattended small children.


The caretaker will greet you upon arrival and show you the workings of the house. He also maintains the property and the pool, the landscaping and will provide optional services like housekeeping, provisions and tour organization for an additional fee.

More Details

Property Manager
Derek Novak
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 11, 2018

About Derek Novak

Carolyn and I have been to traveling to Placencia, Belize for over 20 years and have a deep connection with the people and the village. In 1997, we were married at the Dockside Bar surrounded by locals, friends and family.

We've spent many incredible winter vacations on the peninsula. It has always been our dream to one day build a fabulous, modern beach home, and one that had as little impact on the environment as possible.

Over the last three years we have researched, designed and incorporated solar and wind power to run our home, with the hopes of encouraging and promoting clean re-usable power as an alternative.

Our home combines comfort and easy beach side living with a feeling of environmental awareness. Our hopes are that our guests will appreciate this concept the way we have envisioned.

Derek Novak purchased this villa in 2012

Why Derek Novak chose Plantation

Beautiful views of the ocean and the Maya Mountains


Plantation Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3497 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Open studio sleeping area - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • AC, ceiling fans, built-in closets, lots of storage. 1 safe.
  • Games
  • Stereo ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
For a further information about the property management company, Anchor Realty Management Ltd, please cut and paste the link in your browser to go to our website.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
A Sustainable Modern Beach Villa
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews

Fall in love with this vacation paradise

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at this marvelous house last january. My husband, daughter, a friend of the family and I stayed together at Shebeen for the entire time. The energy of the surroundings will intoxicate your senses. The space is so clean, open and airy. We were 4 people and could have easily been more. The space is well layed out and the cool factor was off the charts for me.

Staying in an off the grid home was great. We made trips to Placencia for supplies and cooked in the open kitchen. We swam in the pool and in the ocean- hard to pick which one!! We ate out at two different restaurants but mostly relaxed in the house because it is so pleasant to be there. It was not my first time in Belize so I have travelled around somewhat. This was BY FAR the best place I have stayed in the 20 odd years I have vacationed there.

I am a little reluctant to tell you all how wonderful Shebeen in since you will have booked your visit when I want to go back. A MUST.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2015
  • Stayed: January 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 5 of 5

Awesome property with the best sea view. Very nice pool. Comfortable house decorated with taste. All commodities you can ask for. I strongly recommend it. Best Gelato in Belize in Placentia closeby !

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Second time staying

  • 5 of 5

This is my second stay and review for this vacation property. I enjoy the privacy and having the ocean at the front of the building. There is quite a lot of sea grass so bring sea shoes to go in the ocean. The pool was perfect. I swam everyday. The kitchen is well equipped and since I love to cook that is important for me. The house is about three miles from a large grocery store. I do prefer to go into the village of Placencia for fresh fruits and vegtables and that is about 10 miles.

The plants on the property give you the feeling of being in a real paradise. Geraniums, Hibiscus, Aloes, Palm trees, and many others surround the house. This attracts birds and butterflies so nature is all around.

This is the tropics so nature is plentiful !

Loved the visit. Thanks Shebeen.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

You Don't Always Get What is Advertised

  • 2 of 5

This home is beautiful and it is right on the beach! The showers are really neat because you are outdoors. It is advertised as a three bedroom so it will come up in a search for a three bedroom when it only has two and a loft. We got duped into booking it because of this.

It was sort of like indoor camping due to the excessive amount of bugs. I am not sure if the house is not insulated properly due to being "green" but the house was FULL of bugs. We had trails of ants everywhere. There was also no place to put the trash. There is also only one lounge chair so don't believe the photos. If you want a beach to lounge on, this is not the place. If you want shade, this is the place.

Since we didn't have a phone we were unable to contact the property manager and he did not show up when he said he would. If you don't expect much this is the place for you. If you expect a bug-free, three bedroom place this is not the place for you.

I also had a bad experience with the owner after. My aunt came last minute and I didn't even think to let him know. The owner attempted to charge us more money and told me "Do not come back to Belize. We do not want you here," when I told him about the problems we had (bugs, trash, not a three bedroom) and told him I rented a house and would not be paying him more. Since he also said "honesty is the best policy" I am going to be completely honest about the interaction we had. I hadn't planned on complaining but when he asked for more money I did.

Overall it is a nice place like I said, but it is not three bedrooms and that is the most frustrating part. I do worry though that once the addition is finished you will be able to see into the showers, so you might want to inquire about that.

I will go back to Belize but I will not stay here.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We feel as owner's of Shebeen we need to respond to this outlandish review. In the description of the house, it clearly states in the title that it is "a unique 2 bedroom, ocean front villa" and describes perfectly the open concept, 3rd studio sleeping area, with pullout couch. The reason why this guest complained is because we found out that she had arrived with an extra family member who she did disclose to us in the initial rental agreement and subsequently did not pay for. We have a standard extra guest fee above 4 people. This is the perfect example of a traveller not reading the description provided and not asking the pertinent questions. All the issues she had "so called" problems with were unfounded to try and deflect from the real issue which was absolute dishonesty on her part, and the fact that she just loves to complain. If WE had read the review she gave on her previous rental, we would never have let her stay at Shebeen
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
Chicago, Illinois

Off the grid

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at the Seebeen house was an awesome experience. The beautifully designed home enhanced our post Christmas vacation in Belize. The house is off the grid with views of the ocean and lagoon. Showering in the inside/outside shower was an unbelievable experience especially in the rain. The modern design of the home was comfortable as well as functional. The private beach allowed us to have total privacy both day and night. I would love to return to this home and to the country of Belize...loved it!

Only negative were the vicious bugs...bring bug spray!!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Amazing home for your Belize vacation!

  • 4 of 5

Our family of 5 (my husband & me and three daughters), along with my sister and her husband, had a wonderful time at Shebeen for a family get-together and birthday celebration. The minute we walked through the courtyard, we knew we were in a special place and ready to enjoy our week! This beach villa is a great combination of indoor and outdoor space...On our first full day, we kayaked with the glass-bottom kayak, jogged down to nearby Maya Beach, and then hung out by our pool. We watched pelicans flying by and swooping down to catch fish, as well as colorful birds and hummingbirds flying about. We then celebrated with amazing Margaritas, made from fresh squeezed limes using the juicer on the counter. We were in paradise and was exactly what we needed! Such a great start to the vacation!

We really enjoyed our week in Placencia area and this beach villa. We all loved the pool, which is spacious enough to enjoy, as well as swim laps in. The villa was well stocked with everything we needed! We slept with the doors rolled up (screens down) and were lulled to sleep with the ocean sounds. From the gorgeous deck/pool to the hammocks on the 2nd floor, the house is very well suited for relaxation, entertaining, and hanging out with family and friends.

As first time visitors to Belize, we all had a memorable time and definitely would come back again. Placencia is about 20 minutes from the villa, so we had a great time exploring the town and restaurants every night. We loved Tipsy Tuna for music, drinks and appetizers, Detach for lunch right on the beach, Rum y Vino for small bites. Turtle Inn was also a fun place for cocktails. We did the Monkey River tour with Percy and snorkeling out to Laughing Bird Caye with Splash. Both really fun and interesting excursions, particularly memorable were seeing the Howler Monkeys in the jungle and the coral reefs & colorful fish when we went snorkeling.

The people in Belize are so friendly! Elvis, the on-site manager, was extremely helpful and responsive. Derek, the owner, was also great to work with for this rental. The listing description is accurate and as a new home, property was very clean and well-maintained, and we would definitely come back. Since we love lots of sun and heat, we'll plan to go between Jan - April next time. And...definitely bring bug spray!

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2014
  • Stayed: November 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Placencia Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Maya beach Hotel
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Maya Beach Hotel
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 9.0%

Please ask for a child rate. Age 10 or younger.

If written cancellation/amendment is received 60 days prior to arrival, a full refund less non-refundable deposit & 40.00 USD processing fee will be made. If it is received less than 60 to 45 days in advance a 50% refund will be made. There will be no refund for reservations cancelled/amended less than 45 days before scheduled arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties