check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

OCEAN DUNE - Oceanview with Hot Tub - Pet Friendly

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
2
Minimum Stay
4 - 7 nights

Description

Corolla House Rental Photos and Description

Four to Five Bedroom House, Ocean View, short walk to beach

Saturday to Saturday

Pet Friendly with Fee

Four wheel drive required

Seven miles from end of paved road

This home is located in the 4 wheel drive area of Corolla. Drive past the shopping areas, restaurants, Golf Course, and Currituck Beach lighthouse until you get to the end of the 'hard road'. This is where your adventure begins. Put your vehicle in four wheel drive and head onto the sand for a seven mile ride up the beach. You will pass sea birds, wild horses, and watch the waves crash against the shore as you drive to Ocean Dune. As you drive up the beach take note of the Currituck National Wildlife Refuge and the pristine beaches and undisturbed sand dunes. Don't forget to bring your surfboards, fishing poles, sand buckets and your camera and prepare to have the most relaxing vacation you have ever experienced.

The upper level of this house is the main living area with great room, huge kitchen, dining, half bath and screen porch. On this level is a King Master bedroom with bathroom ensuite.

The mid-level has a Queen Master Suite with bathroom and sitting room with futon and plenty of room for a pack n' play. A bedroom with a Double Bed shares a hall bath with the bunk room that has two pyramid bunks. Also on this level is a gameroom with a second refrigerator, a foosball table, and a futon.

The oceanview hot tub in on the mid-level deck.

This property is managed by Carova Rentals which serves the 4WD area exclusively. We are a small local vacation rental company able to provide personalized concierge service, including a beach escort to your house if you are unfamiliar with driving on the beach and the off-road area. Bed and bath linens area provided in season, and you will find sufficient toilet paper, paper towels, soap, and drinking water to get you started.

Carova Beach is convenient for families with children and older folks because it is not necessary to walk to the beach. You can load up beach chairs, coolers, and beach toys into your truck or SUV and drive to the beach. You will set up right next to your vehicle and enjoy the day!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Karen Gregory
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
December 1, 2016
Call Manager

Reviews

2 traveler reviews

OCEAN DUNE - Oceanview with Hot Tub - Pet Friendly
average rating of 3.0 based on 2 reviews
2

Not what we expected

  • 2 of 5

When we arrived at the house we were a little taken back by how much we were told that we were going to receive versus how much we actually received. As advertised, the house was to have a gas stovetop, laundry detergent provided, presumably a working oven, etc. When we got there, we quickly realized that the oven did not work properly (and would only heat to 500 degrees or nothing), it was not a gas stove top, there was no laundry detergent provided, the grill was almost rusted completely through, there was severe water damage to the lower portion of the house, mold along baseboards in bedrooms from said water damage, musty, mildew smells throughout lower part of house, unclean bathrooms and poor cleaning job everywhere else in the house. Our sheets were on inside out as well in the room I stayed in. The tub in one of the downstairs bathrooms has peeling stickers on the bottom of it which is really not something I like to step on while showering. So much hair clogging the drains, too, that the water would pool around your ankles. Gross stains on all of the carpets that they did offer to come clean during our stay, but to be honest, we didn't want to have to deal with that while on vacation so we decided to let it pass. Additionally, we were really pleased with the pet policy and found that, besides the pet hair that was already on the floor swept to the corners from previous guests, we couldn't tell that dogs had stayed there before. No pet odor or pet damage anywhere in the house, which was nice. It was so nice to be able to take our furry family members with us on vacation! Other than the poor state of the house (I'd seriously consider hiring a new cleaning crew), the location was amazing and it was only a short one minute drive to the beach. We saw a lot of the wild horses right by the house and the ocean view from the living room was beautiful. The beaches and nature in this area are truly breathtaking. The house has a lot of potential, it just needs a good upgrade, a few renovations, and a good cleaning to be back up to standard for the price that you'll pay to stay here for a week.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Meghan, I very much wish you had let me know of any deficiencies while you were here. I wasn't aware there was a problem with the oven. And we are ALWAYS willing to send someone back over if the house is not immaculate! We pride ourselves on a quick response to any problems!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Stay

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our time at this house. The location was great, we liked being a little further up the beach as some of the areas close to the entrance tend to get a little crowded. Nice ocean views from the upper deck if you are planning to get up early to catch the sunrise, plus the evening breeze up there was a bonus. Only con I could give is the table needs to be refinished, not a big deal at all, there were plenty of placemats, but it was like it was cleaned with some industrial type cleaner the made it sticky.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay Frank. I will have to see what we are using on that table!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Ocean Dune is in the off-road area where the Corolla Wild Horses roam.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Corolla House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Holiday (TG, Xmas, NY)
Nov 19 2016 - Dec 31 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
$1,550
 
 
Early Spring
Apr 1 2017 - May 12 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
$1,375
 
 
Spring
May 13 2017 - Jun 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
$1,475
 
 
Early Summer
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 23 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,025
 
 
Summer
Jun 24 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,800
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 8 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
Fall
Sep 9 2017 - Oct 13 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
$1,375
 
 
Winter
Oct 14 2017 - Dec 31 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
$1,275
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 12.75%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Corolla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Upper Level King Master - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Attached to Upper Level King bedroom
    Upper Level Half Bath - toilet
    Mid Level Queen Master - toilet , combination tub/shower , Attached to Mid Level Queen Bedroom
    Mid Level Hall Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Lower Level Bathroom - toilet , Accessible from outside
    Outdoor Shower - shower
  • Bathroom Towels Provided April - October
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Upper Level King Master - 1 king , Bathroom ensuite
    Mid Level Queen Master Suite - 1 queen , Bathroom and Sitting Room Ensuite
    Mid Level Bunk Room - 2 bunk bed , Pyramid Bunks - Double on bottom, Twin on top.
    Mid Level Game Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Foosball table and Futon for sleeping
    Mid Level Double - 1 double
  • Bed linens provide April thru October
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • shelling
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers