Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Fabulous ocean views from the deck of this Seaside Apartment

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom ( Sleeps 3-4 )

"The Seaward" is located in a spectacular setting, (known by some as "the golden road of Rockport") and boasts 5 charming cottage style accommodations.

Loblolly Cove offers accommodations for up to 4 people comfortably. One bedroom has a queen sized bed, while the rather spacious living room has accommodations for two more (a pull out couch and twin daybed). At Loblolly Cove , you will enjoy a fabulous view of the ocean, not only from inside your seaside apartment, but also from your deck.

Our adjacent unit, Gully Point (which has a similar layout), shares the semi private deck and can be rented together with Loblolly Cove if desired for larger parties.

LOBLOLLY COVE FEATURES:

- Ocean View

- Second floor unit

- Sleeps up to 4 guests

- 1 Bedroom (Queen Bed)

- Separate living room with sleep sofa and twin daybed

- 1 Bathroom with hairdryer and tub/shower

- Linens, blankets and bath towels provided

- Kitchenette equipped with microwave, toaster oven, two burner cooktop, refrigerator and coffee maker. Dishes, eating utensils, drinking glasses, wine opener, can opener, pots, pans, and cooking utensils are also provided.

- shared laundry room with washer and dryer

- Air conditioning and heat

- DirectTV

- Free wireless internet

- Dining area

- Bikes

- Gas grill (shared)

- Picnic table

- Ping pong (shared)

OTHER SEAWARD ACCOMMODATIONS:

Also view our listings for Gully Point (VRBO 606535), Lover's Cove (VRBO #631459) and Spruce Cottage (VRBO 680653). Each of our units has a private bathroom, hairdryer, Direct TV, free wireless internet, air conditioning, kitchenette (with coffee maker, microwave, toaster oven, refrigerator, cooktop), ocean views and plenty of free parking for you and your visitors. We also offer bicycles to enjoy the winding rocky coastal roads and pathways with stunning vistas and breathtaking sunrises and sunsets.

IMPORTANT BOOKING AND RENTAL INFORMATION:

During the peak season RENTALS RUN WEEKLY, SUNDAY TO SUNDAY. Last minute, shorter nightly rentals are possible. Please contact us for more details.

Please don't delay in booking your stay with us to ensure you receive the dates you desire.

AREA INFORMATION:

"The Seaward" is located on Marmion Way, a quiet residential street, known for its lovely homes, gardens and views. We are a short & scenic mile to downtown Rockport which can be accessed along a seaside path. Along the way you’ll pass Old Garden Beach; a good spot for a dip, and 'Headlands' for an outstanding view of Sandy Bay Harbor. If you prefer, take the car or borrow one of our beach cruiser bikes and explore the art galleries, shops and restaurants of downtown Rockport. In town, one can also rent sea kayaks or bikes with gears to tour the magnificent Cape Ann coast.

Rockport is rich with history, art and culture. Dogtown, considered a ghost town, is a large wooded area between Rockport and Gloucester. Most suitable for the adventurous, it affords rich recreation opportunities to hikers and mountain bikers, dog-walkers, nature lovers, geologists and historians.

Halibut Point State Park, and the Atlantic Path are two other treasures which will delight the outdoor enthusiast. Whether you prefer the rocky coastline, a quiet beach, reading a good book, artistic endeavors, biking, birding, kayaking, ocean front dining, theater or music at the renowned Shalin liu, Cape Ann has it more.

NEARBY ATTRACTIONS:

- Rockport beaches

- Golf

- Shalin Liu Performance Center (concerts and shows)

- Art galleries, theaters, museums

- Kayaking and sailing

- Snorkeling and scuba diving

- Whale watching

- Hiking

- Fishing

- Cycling

- Tennis

TRANSPORTATION:

We are about 1.25 miles to Rockport Train Station, by which one can conveniently get to historic Salem or Boston. Trolleys and buses are also available in Rockport as well as a Gloucester Taxi company. Want to come to Rockport by train? Let us know, we might be able to pick you up at the station.

More Details

Owner
Nancy Cameron-Gilsey
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 13, 2017

About Nancy Cameron-Gilsey

I'm a licences independent clinical social worker. In 2003, I took a respite from working with troubled children and families. With a leap of faith and a sizable mortgage, I took over my families Inn business. Until the main inn and restaurant sold in Dec. 2013, I ran this 24 unit bed and breakfast, hosting weddings/events and, as some of you may remember, our Sunday Morning Live Brunches.

Since the sale I have refurbishing rooms in the building known as GullsNest for weekly rentals.

I have a husband, Peter, two grown children (Kai and Maya), and Little Dipper, my canine side kick

Nancy Cameron-Gilsey purchased this apartment in 2003

Why Nancy Cameron-Gilsey chose Rockport

I purchased the property from my sisters after my parents passed away (2003 – 2013). They started the Seaward Inn in 1945 when it was only considered a cottage. They built and added until it became a 36 unit, highly acclaimed resort.

Although sad to sell “the heart” of Seaward Inn (my childhood home), a new beginning, The Seaward, has emerged.

"Drop a pebble in the water:

Just a splash, and it is gone;

But there’s half-a-hundred ripples

circling on and on and on,

Spreading, spreading from the center

flowing out to the sea.

And there is no way of telling

where the end is going to be".

By James W. Foley

What makes this apartment unique

Both young and older guests love the peace, solitude and high standard of cleanliness (not to mention the ocean views) that is The Seaward.

Map

Amenities

Rockport Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Features: toilet, tub/shower and sink
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • One private queen bedded room as well as a sleeper coach (full size) and twin daybed in the living room
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Reviews

5/5 -
(2 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Fabulous ocean views from the deck of this Seaside Apartment
average rating of 5.0 based on 2 reviews
Boston, MA
5

Lovely night on the Rockport coast

  • 5 of 5

Loved our stay over at the Seaward. The hotel was in a residential neighborhood right on the ocean so didn't feel crowded by any tourists staying in town. Even so it was a quick walk to town along a really gorgeous coastal path. There's lots of access to the coast and, for scuba divers, a beach with a dive site right down the street!

Room was very cozy and homey, with lots of room for sleeping and a nice little kitchenette. Manager even brought us a pan and muffin tins to make banana muffins for breakfast, and we loved eating breakfast and drinking coffee out on the porch with views of the sea!

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, Claudia. Your comment about Old Garden Beach (the dive beach) was important. It's actually another amenity for the Seaward since it is so close. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I hope we'll see you again soon. There is so much to see and do in and around Rockport and many more underwater vistas :) Did you hear a whale washed up on Front Beach the other day?!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location , beautiful view, accomodating Inn Keeper- Nancy

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at The Seaward Inn. I loved the view of the ocean and the walk on the coastline to town was beautiful!!!! I was so impressed that the coastline was reserved for everyone (unlike Long Island where the wealthy take the coastline) We could learn something from cozy Rockport!!

Our room was lovely and old fashioned with cute trinkets to give it a homey feel. If you are looking for chrome and Formica this is not the room for you. The kitchen although was completely updated with all brand new pots , pans , etc. for your convenience. A big coffee maker made me happy and Nancy supplied the coffee with other snacks .

Come stay for a week or more to really get to know the area. I wish we had more time and will be sure come again! Cathy

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, again, Cathy, for your review. I think it will be a helpful one for future travelers. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we'll see you again in the not too distant future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
extra person(s) over two $10 + Tax
Housekeeping fee $50
Pet Fee $30
Tax Rate 11.7%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties