Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront Puako Cottage - Perfect for a quiet getaway

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Hale Aloha Cottage is an oceanfront guest house located in the magical neighborhood of Puako on the Big island of Hawaii. The Main house is also available for rental at VRBO674382.

Puako is one of the sunniest destinations in Hawaii with a unique blend of old Hawaii charm and one of the most pristine coastlines in the islands. Each day is filled with the sound of the sea, coconut trees swaying in the tropical breeze and the beauty of Hawaii. You share the ocean with sea turtles and play on an oceanfront rich with sea life. Your day ends with one of the most stunning sunsets in the world

Typical of the beachfront homes that have made Puako so beloved, Hale Aloha is ideal for a couple who appreciates a sense of place in a perfectly maintained Hawaiian-style beach house. This property is perfect for lounging and enjoying the sunshine and ocean air. Ocean access is adjacent to the Hale Aloha which offers an ideal location to go fishing, snorkeling, diving, surfing, kayaking, and stand-up paddling.

Hale Aloha was built in the 1950's, but was completely renovated without losing its Old Hawaiian charm in 2014. This colorful and exceptionally clean cottage has been expertly renovated and restored with fun and playful decor. Everything is new, cabinets, plantation doors, stainless steel appliances, wood louver windows, bedding, towels, kitchen accessories and utensils, plumbing fixtures, tile in bath and kitchen area, right down to new paint inside and out.

The warm ocean is your swimming pool. Protected and only 2-5 feet deep with a mostly sandy bottom, it is home to green sea turtles and colorful fish. Just beyond the reef-protected lagoon is the best snorkeling, scuba diving and kayaking in Hawaii. In low tide the tidal pools will inspire, and in January through May, you can watch the 45 foot humpback whales play and breach. Morning walks along the two-lane Puako Beach Drive will find you at Puako's famous ancient Hawaiian rock carvings, the largest example of Petroglyphs in the world. There is also a grocery store in walking

distance.

More Details

Owner
Mike & Diane Prohoroff
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 16, 2018

About Mike & Diane Prohoroff

We are residents of the Big Island living in Waimea. There is something magical about The Big Island and when you spend some time in Puako you will understand. We have many friends who have homes at Puako and have enjoyed spending time there over the years. We purchased Hale Aloha for a family retreat to be shared with our children, grandchildren and guests. The community retains its laid-back friendly atmosphere. Puako is a short drive to the world class amenities and resorts of the Kohala Coast, but offers a unique Hawaiian vacation. Our goal is to keep our rates reasonable and encourage our guests to return on a regular basis.

Owner has a Hawaii State Real Estate license. Excise #W01915314-01, TA#009-610-4448-01

Mike & Diane Prohoroff purchased this cottage in 2013

Amenities

Puako Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Temper-Pedic California King
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Additional amenities provided: snorkel & fins, beach chairs, beach toys

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Oceanfront Puako Cottage - Perfect for a quiet getaway
average rating of 4.827586 based on 29 reviews
1

Such a beautiful setting...

  • 1 of 5

Such a very disappointing stay. I hope ours was an isolated instance. The property owners and/or property manager need to stay on their game to keep this little gem comfortable for all visitors.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bewildered. We have 29 reviews, , twenty-seven five star and one four star. Our guestbook in the Cottage has even more great reviews. Most of our guests are return visitors. Sorry we did not meet this guests expectations. Mike and Diane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfy digs on the shores of the beautiful Pacific

  • 5 of 5

This listing is a delight to stay in. We enjoyed nearly every sunset and twilight on the spacious deck overlooking the tide pools and the surf in the distance. We would readily stay here again and recommend it to friends. We were disappointed upon our arrival due to not having read the listing's fine print closely enough. First, the washer/dryer belong to the other listing on the property and are available for use only with those guests' permission. I our case, the guest (a wizened crone) agreed very begrudgingly. Second, the unit has a kitchenette, not a kitchen. Although the refrigerator and dishwasher are in good shape, not much else is. There is no stove/oven. Instead, two single-burner hot plates are provided. Both are on their last legs and barely worked. Do not plan on cooking any big meals here, unless most of the prep is on the barbecue, which is in good shape. I expect the host will freshen up the kitchenette in light of this review, but consider checking with him first if it's important to you.

Communications with Mike, the host, went very smoothly. He seems like a very nice guy, although we never met him due to the use of a lock box for the key.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Ft Worth, TX
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

I admit that I had unrealistic expectations of the cottage and had set myself for a huge disappointment. I mean, who hasn't seen pictures of something, taken from the most flattering view, and then when you see it in person it looks nothing like the pictures? Well - Hale Aloha was even better in person! Pictures simply can't do it justice. The location is perfect for a relaxing getaway - beautiful beaches and excellent snorkeling are just minutes away, or you can just laze away the day on the lanai counting the turtles (we saw 7 one evening!). The kitchen is tiny but well equipped with everything you need to prepare your meals, or there are plenty of good restaurants within a 15 min drive. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit the Big Island!

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Otter Rock, Oregon
5

Peaceful retreat!

  • 5 of 5

Our only complaint is that it is booked solid for a long time which will make it difficult to return.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

It was like living in Hawaii we felt apart of the Pauko community! Would recommend to anyone who wants to get away from the same old Hawaiin vacation and enjoy the true spirit of hawaii

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Slice of Kohala Heaven

  • 5 of 5

The photos don't do this listing justice. You really need the sound track and feel of the ocean breeze and the smell of the flowers and the warmth of the sun to get a sense of what you're in for. Being lulled to sleep by the ocean waves is AMAZING.

This cottage is plenty big for two. We stayed for five nights and spent about half the days just hanging around, with morning and late afternoon trips up the road to Waialea Beach for snorkeling or a quick swim. We grilled fish for dinner or went to one of the local restaurants. The malasada truck parks at the turnoff from the highway, and is well worth a stop. The Puako General Store is also a great place to stop and pick up snacks or beverages and just say hello...we picked up perfectly ripe local avocados for our salads there.

Everything you need except for snorkel gear (Snorkel Bob's is just up the road) is there, including beach towels and chairs, a nice grill, and the sun. Just bring your suit, a hat, and your coral-safe sunblock and enjoy.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Keahole-Kona Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Kawaihae Seafood Bar, Blue Dragon, Cafe Pesto
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Mauna Lani Resort, Hapuna Beach, Mauna Kea Resort
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Queen Kaahumanu Hwy (Hwy 19)
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Ruth Chris, Tommy Bahamas, Monstera, Napua
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Hapuna Beach State Park
Car: necessary

This Property is Located on Puako Beach Drive Which Intersects the Bike Portion of the Kona Ironman Race Course Held Each October. This Property is Near Quality Yoga and Pilates Classes and Private Instruction. Puako is an Excellent Location for Morning and Evening Fitness Walks/Runs.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $130
Damage Insurance $59

OCCUPANCY: Please note additional charges may apply for more than 2 Guests.

PAYMENT POLICY: Payment by check, echeck and credit card.

SPECIAL HOLIDAY POLICY: Reservations for Christmas through New Years, December 15th - January 10th. At the time of confirmation 25% of the rental amount is due, balance due 120 days prior to arrival. Cancellation policy is 120 days prior to arrival.

Rental rates and tax are subject to change.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties