Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

LAKE FRONT LIVING AT RED ROOF COTTAGE, SLEEPS 11

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

FISH, SWIM, BOATING, JETSKI, WATER SKING, TUBING, OR JUST RELAX from this home!

Front Cottage has 2 bedrooms (full/ bunk beds), 1 full bath, kitchen, bar, dining room, liv room, front porch, outdoor cooking area (Charcoal Grill, Lowcountry Pots, Fire pit for Oyster Roasts/ Smores) , handicap accessible. Upstairs lake view loft has 1 queen bed, fouton, siting room, 1/2 bath, front deck. Downstairs apartment has full size bed, efficiency kitchen, full bath and laundry room.

TV's in all living areas with Cable.

Yard is fenced making it PET FRIENDLY.

THIS HOME IS SET UP TO MAKE IT FAMILY FRIENDLY, BRING THE KIDS, BRING THE ELDERLY....they all have their living area.

FRIENDS RETREAT....yes by all means. Do you need your space and they need theirs...then this is the home as 3 set/groups of friends could have there space.

BRING THE BOATS...JETSKIS, plenty of PARKING!

DO you like to hike? The Palmetto Trail is 15 minutes away. Nature...Cypress Gardens. Waterpark for kids.

Do you like to shop? CHARLESTON!!

How about FESTIVALS or EVENTS? CHARLESTON!!

More Details

Owner
Nancy Bishop Hughes
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 6, 2017

About Nancy Bishop Hughes

Hello! Welcome to my 'charming southern lake home'.

I grew up on Tybee Island, Ga and have lived in Charleston for 28 years. I have been married for 30 years and have two son's, Charlie & Chase. We hope you enjoy your vacation at Red Roof Cottage....it's a little piece of heaven on earth.

Nancy Bishop Hughes purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Nancy Bishop Hughes chose Bonneau

Because it's just fun....it will make you smile when you wake up for a day filled with activities and make you in awe at the sunsets.

If you love the water...this is the spot.

What makes this cottage unique

Amazing sunsets......a must see.

Amenities

Bonneau Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , Upstairs loft, toilet and sink.
    Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower , Enclosed outdoor shower....hot/cold water.
    Cottage Bathroom - toilet , tub , outdoor shower , OUTDOOR shower with hot water. Rince off after your swim.
    Down Stairs Apartment Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • 2 Full Baths 1 Half Bath Outside Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Cottage Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Cottage Bedroom 2 - 1 bunk bed
    Upstairs loft Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Down Stairs Apt/ Bedroom 4 - 1 double
  • 4 Total Bedrooms
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
KEEP THE NOISE DOWN.... We have a 10:00pm noise ordinance....so PLEASE be kind to the neighbors and avoid a ticket from Berkeley County. Thank you. Nancy

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
LAKE FRONT LIVING AT RED ROOF COTTAGE, SLEEPS 11
average rating of 4.470588 based on 17 reviews
Savannah
4

Very relaxing

  • 4 of 5

Great location for some R & R. Plenty of room for the family. Nice yard for some cornhole. Swimming, boating, grilling and just relaxing! It is a place I would come back to!!

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Awesome! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come again. Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This was set up perfectly!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time staying here, and both times we had an outstanding time.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You! Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great stay at the Red Roof Cottage!

  • 4 of 5

My Family and I stayed at the Red Roof Cottage and had a great time! Although the fishing was a little unsettled because of the storms that came through, we managed to catch a few. Great neighbors that were very friendly and welcoming! Home was well stocked with anything you could possibly need. If not, stores were not that long of a drive. Plenty of room for you to stay together as a group or to split off for privacy.

Thank you Nancy for letting us stay in your home!

  • Submitted: May 8, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Pam. Please come again. Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Absolutely beautiful!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at "Red Roof Cottage". We traveled with 4 adults and 1 teenager. We all enjoyed spending our days in the yard, on the dock and in the cottage, then we would retire to our respective sleeping areas. All were quite nice. Our teenager loved having her own area, the upstairs loft.

While my husband and I, and our in-laws would have preferred king sized beds, that's just a personal preference......we all figured out a way to sleep comfortably and enjoy our stay. The conveniences of bathrooms, a kitchen with appliances and a large kitchen table, a covered back patio, laundry facilities, clean linens and towels, the fenced yard for our dogs........we truly enjoyed every minute!

We met a few neighbors, all very nice. Shopping when needed was convenient. We will definitely go back! Thank you Nancy!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the nice comments. I am so glad u enjoyed your stay...that's what its all about. Please come again!! Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

Our vacation was wonderful and the accommodations were perfect for our large family get together. The kitchen was the best and it was large enough that 4 of us were working and never ran into each other. There are plenty of dishes and cook ware for everything we had planned. I had brought a couple of items I knew we wound need and opened the drawer and there they were. Nancy was very accommodating to my pets. This was the first time we had taken them on vacation with us and I enjoyed our time even more knowing they were safe with us. The sunsets were breath taking!! It is truly a little slice of heaven. Thank you for allowing us to enjoy it!!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Off the grid / Missing basic ammenities

  • 2 of 5

This property is very remote and does not have WiFi or cell service for most carriers. It is an approximate 10 minute drive from the house to receive cell service in you use TMobile. My niece has AT&T and was able to get very limited cell service. There is only basic cable to there are few TV channels to choose from.

My husband and son enjoyed fishing (you will need a boat to go to deep water as there are too many turtles near the dock to fish successfully from the dock). They chartered a night fishing trouble and caught several large catfish, which they were very pleased about.

It is an approximate 45 drive to Charleston for shopping and good restaurants. There are fast food places and a Wal-Mart in Monck's Corner, which is approximately a 15 drive from the house, but there is no fine dining or shopping.

The property does not have central AC or heat and window AC units provided are not capable of cooling the residence in extreme summer heat (anything over 90 degrees).

There is no shower in the main house (i.e. cottage). There is a shower in the bedroom that was added to the garage so to shower you must leave the main house and go to the garage bedroom. This is inconvenient if a member of your party is using this bedroom.

The house is clean and the fenced yard is great for dogs, but owner kept my pet deposit because my dog shed on her couch so if you have pets who get on furniture you will not receive a pet deposit refund.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: 2 bad reviews in the past 2 years, they were both from guests that did not receive there $ damage dep back. This guest allowed her dog to have full use of the sofa, recliners, beds. There was white dog hair on the furniture as well as a tear in the recliner. Dog mess throughout the yard. No refund for extra hours of clean up and repair. This is a PET FRIENDLY home, because I have pets and I like them to travel with me and not stay at a boarding facility. Its comments like this that make me want to NOT make my home pet friendly. But that takes away from the guests that have treated my home with care. To address the issues presented: NO WIFI at this lake home, it is noted in vrbo.com, so if your coming to the lake to work on a computer or stay on your phone this is NOT the place for you. Unless you have Verizon! Great reception, or you have a Verizon Hot Spot devise which will also give excellent reception. Several guests, one that was an author stayed for a month had no problem with reception with his wireless device. Basic Cable is provided as stated on vrbo.com Great fishing from dock, as you will see in comments from other guests, your limited to just the dock if you don't have a boat. Bonneau Beach is a small village town, with 1 gas station, 1 lake front restaurant on Lake Moultrie "The Water Mark" and 1 breakfast restaurant, Evelyn's. The closest town is Moncks Corner, 15 minutes away. Walmart, fast food, many restaurant's. There is no MOVIE theatre, closest one is Summerville, 40 minutes away. Charleston, which is the #1 vacation spot in the US is 60 minutes from the home. Many guests have commented on there short day trips to Charleston for shopping. AC units, I have not had ONE negative comment regarding the cooling of the Cottage, apartment, or loft. AC units are in every room, and based the square footage of each area we well exceed what is required for BTU cooling. I have never had a complaint, and we as owners have never experienced any time that the property was not cold in the summer and warm in the winter. Please understand, when it's 110 degrees in the South, and your at a Lake House where folks are constantly coming in and out of the home going from dock, boats, water to house its hard to keep any home cold. We actually just used the property the weekend of July 16th and had no problems. Its hard to please all guests, but I do try..... Please, take the time to review ALL post reviews. This particular guest is not welcome back.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Charleston Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Watermark Bar an Grill/ Front Lake
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Berkeley Country Club
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Hwy 52
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Watermark Bar an Grill
Nearest Beach
60 Miles
Folly Beach, Sullivans Isle, Isle of Palms
Car: necessary

Red Roof Cottage is within 15 minutes from site seeing at Cypress Gardens, hiking the Palmetto Trail or visiting Mepkin Abbey.

Historic CHARLESTON is 50 minutes away and their are just too many things to do....shopping, golf, theatre, festivals, events...

February is the 'SEWE' event, South Eastern Wildlife Expo, April is the big Summerville FLOWERTOWN festival and the Cooper River Bridge Run.

Google festival's and events in Charleston, SC to see more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $125
Cleaning Fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $100

Rates are subject to change. SUMMER HOLIDAY WEEKS/WEEKENDS AKA (MEMORIAL DAY, JULY 4TH, LABOR DAY, COON FEST) ARE HIGHER QUOTES. Call or email owner for MONTHLY rental rates. 50% refund on MONTHLY rental if cancellation is within 30 days of reservation. Weekly and weekend rentals NO REFUND if cancellation is within 30 days of reservation. Non smoking home. ($100 fee) Handicap accessible at front cottage (ramp). Family Pets are welcome (fenced yard) $125 non refundable pet fee, per pet.
Additional Fees will be applied for the following:
Excessive Trash Haul Away: $25 fee (Allowed is = Dumpster Full and two 30 Gallon Trash Bags is Standard)
Furniture Moved and Repositioning of Furniture: $75 fee
Additional Pet Clean up from yard: $25 Fee
Additional Clean up due to Excessive use of property: $35 per hour (4 hours is standard) and collected in reservation.


This is a Lake Front Home with large dock, steps down for swimming, easy step down for boat access, concrete boat ramp and large covered boat building for dry storage. Their is power and lights on the dock for night fishing.
10pm Noise ordinance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties