check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

LAKE FRONT LIVING AT RED ROOF COTTAGE, SLEEPS 11

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
11
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

FISH, SWIM, BOATING, JETSKI, WATER SKING, TUBING, OR JUST RELAX from this home!

Front Cottage has 2 bedrooms (full/ bunk beds), 1 full bath, kitchen, bar, dining room, liv room, front porch, outdoor cooking area (Charcoal Grill, Lowcountry Pots, Fire pit for Oyster Roasts/ Smores) , handicap accessible. Upstairs lake view loft has 1 queen bed, fouton, siting room, 1/2 bath, front deck. Downstairs apartment has full size bed, efficiency kitchen, full bath and laundry room.

TV's in all living areas with Cable.

Yard is fenced making it PET FRIENDLY.

THIS HOME IS SET UP TO MAKE IT FAMILY FRIENDLY, BRING THE KIDS, BRING THE ELDERLY....they all have their living area.

FRIENDS RETREAT....yes by all means. Do you need your space and they need theirs...then this is the home as 3 set/groups of friends could have there space.

BRING THE BOATS...JETSKIS, plenty of PARKING!

DO you like to hike? The Palmetto Trail is 15 minutes away. Nature...Cypress Gardens. Waterpark for kids.

Do you like to shop? CHARLESTON!!

How about FESTIVALS or EVENTS? CHARLESTON!!

More Details

Owner
Nancy Bishop Hughes
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 12, 2017

About Nancy Bishop Hughes

Hello! Welcome to my 'charming southern lake home'.

I grew up on Tybee Island, Ga and have lived in Charleston for 28 years. I have been married for 30 years and have two son's, Charlie & Chase. We hope you enjoy your vacation at Red Roof Cottage....it's a little piece of heaven on earth.

Nancy Bishop Hughes purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Nancy Bishop Hughes chose Lake Moultrie

Because it's just fun....it will make you smile when you wake up for a day filled with activities and make you in awe at the sunsets.

If you love the water...this is the spot.

What makes this cottage unique

Amazing sunsets......a must see.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

LAKE FRONT LIVING AT RED ROOF COTTAGE, SLEEPS 11
average rating of 4.4615383 based on 13 reviews
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

Our vacation was wonderful and the accommodations were perfect for our large family get together. The kitchen was the best and it was large enough that 4 of us were working and never ran into each other. There are plenty of dishes and cook ware for everything we had planned. I had brought a couple of items I knew we wound need and opened the drawer and there they were. Nancy was very accommodating to my pets. This was the first time we had taken them on vacation with us and I enjoyed our time even more knowing they were safe with us. The sunsets were breath taking!! It is truly a little slice of heaven. Thank you for allowing us to enjoy it!!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Off the grid / Missing basic ammenities

  • 2 of 5

This property is very remote and does not have WiFi or cell service for most carriers. It is an approximate 10 minute drive from the house to receive cell service in you use TMobile. My niece has AT&T and was able to get very limited cell service. There is only basic cable to there are few TV channels to choose from.

My husband and son enjoyed fishing (you will need a boat to go to deep water as there are too many turtles near the dock to fish successfully from the dock). They chartered a night fishing trouble and caught several large catfish, which they were very pleased about.

It is an approximate 45 drive to Charleston for shopping and good restaurants. There are fast food places and a Wal-Mart in Monck's Corner, which is approximately a 15 drive from the house, but there is no fine dining or shopping.

The property does not have central AC or heat and window AC units provided are not capable of cooling the residence in extreme summer heat (anything over 90 degrees).

There is no shower in the main house (i.e. cottage). There is a shower in the bedroom that was added to the garage so to shower you must leave the main house and go to the garage bedroom. This is inconvenient if a member of your party is using this bedroom.

The house is clean and the fenced yard is great for dogs, but owner kept my pet deposit because my dog shed on her couch so if you have pets who get on furniture you will not receive a pet deposit refund.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: 2 bad reviews in the past 2 years, they were both from guests that did not receive there $ damage dep back. This guest allowed her dog to have full use of the sofa, recliners, beds. There was white dog hair on the furniture as well as a tear in the recliner. Dog mess throughout the yard. No refund for extra hours of clean up and repair. This is a PET FRIENDLY home, because I have pets and I like them to travel with me and not stay at a boarding facility. Its comments like this that make me want to NOT make my home pet friendly. But that takes away from the guests that have treated my home with care. To address the issues presented: NO WIFI at this lake home, it is noted in vrbo.com, so if your coming to the lake to work on a computer or stay on your phone this is NOT the place for you. Unless you have Verizon! Great reception, or you have a Verizon Hot Spot devise which will also give excellent reception. Several guests, one that was an author stayed for a month had no problem with reception with his wireless device. Basic Cable is provided as stated on vrbo.com Great fishing from dock, as you will see in comments from other guests, your limited to just the dock if you don't have a boat. Bonneau Beach is a small village town, with 1 gas station, 1 lake front restaurant on Lake Moultrie "The Water Mark" and 1 breakfast restaurant, Evelyn's. The closest town is Moncks Corner, 15 minutes away. Walmart, fast food, many restaurant's. There is no MOVIE theatre, closest one is Summerville, 40 minutes away. Charleston, which is the #1 vacation spot in the US is 60 minutes from the home. Many guests have commented on there short day trips to Charleston for shopping. AC units, I have not had ONE negative comment regarding the cooling of the Cottage, apartment, or loft. AC units are in every room, and based the square footage of each area we well exceed what is required for BTU cooling. I have never had a complaint, and we as owners have never experienced any time that the property was not cold in the summer and warm in the winter. Please understand, when it's 110 degrees in the South, and your at a Lake House where folks are constantly coming in and out of the home going from dock, boats, water to house its hard to keep any home cold. We actually just used the property the weekend of July 16th and had no problems. Its hard to please all guests, but I do try..... Please, take the time to review ALL post reviews. This particular guest is not welcome back.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Red Roof Cottage the middle of November 2015. It was more lovely than the pics. My husband and I are retired and we brought a fellow retiree for a fishing trip on the lake. The accommodations at the Cottage were perfect! My husband and I took the main house and our buddy had his pic of two beautiful cottage apartments. All areas were furnish with everything that you could need or want. The main house had lots of room for many visitors, a large tv area with awesome views of the lake. We all had our own private space, what a wonderful vacation we had. The dock was perfect for fishing in the evening with beautiful views that would take your breath away.

We also took our boat as the boat ramp is right in the front yard with a huge covered area for the boat when it was not in the water. The wind did not cooperate a few days while we were there, the lake waves were very high at times due to a cold front that was passing through...but that did not stop the fishermen...as they moved to the large, fully equipped dock complete with plenty of seating and rod holders! We saw the stripers come up about 50 ft. from the dock at one point. Caught a couple of cat fish, but the Cottage was so peaceful and relaxing, that we didn't mind the fish not biting a couple of days. The lake calmed just before we left and was wonderful.

I always look for a Walmart when we travel (they have everything in one stop) and I was not at all disappointed with the additional shopping that is just a short drive away. Many wonderful places to dine in as well as drive through.

The weather and temps were wonderful. I asked Nancy for nice weather and she filled that request as well (lol), Nancy is awesome to work with.

Yes, I also had fresh flowers waiting when we arrived.

If you travel with family or friends...don't pass up this wonderful property as you search and scroll...you must stay at the Red Roof Cottage at some point in your travels. The most peaceful property that I've ever vacationed, with lots of room and privacy for everyone, great front porch overlooking the lake (where we spent most of our time), nice breezes, nice helpful fishing neighbors...everything you could want or need...Nancy provided!

We travel a lot with our family and to find a place were we all have our own peace and privacy is almost impossible. Can't wait to return with the grand kids (both are avid fishermen), everyone will have their own space! Thanks Nancy!

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your sweet remarks. I truly try to make your stay as I would want it. Every one works so hard...so when vacation time comes it should be relaxing. I hope you will come back in the Summer. Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Red Roof Cottage was a very good experience and the owner was very helpful.

  • 5 of 5

We had 4 guys in our party to meet a guide for fishing. The guide met us at the dock and we had both a beautiful day on the lake and a good day catching stripers. The Red Roof Cottage with back apartments allowed each guy to have a private bedroom. The owner (Nancy) was very attentive to our questions reference the accommodations and area. We would rent the Red Roof Cottage again.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Martin. Please come back....Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hanahan, South Carolina
5

Perfect get away!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a wonderful time. Couldn't have been more perfect. We had more people than we thought and the accommodations for a large family were comfortable for us all. Our dogs were welcomed and they had a safe large yard to explore. The breeze off the lake kept the large porch cool, which is where we stayed if we were not in the water. Loved the kitchen with all the counter space and it's stocked with everything you need, even a waffle iron, which prompted my daughter to make us waffles one morning. The kids loved the ramp as they would ride their tricycles down and perfect for my dad who is in a wheelchair.

Thank you Nancy for allowing us to stay there and make memories. I will definitely come back and hopefully can start a family tradition.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

The place is okay.

  • 1 of 5

There is expose wire in the upstairs bedroom. She knew we were going to have children there for a week. The downstairs bathroom doesn't have any electrical outlet that works. Also the backyard flood lights don't work. I fell one night walking to the dock. There isn't any WiFi. She keep sending me emails about what we needed to do before we left. She couldn't understand why I wasn't answering. She also said there would be a notebook with information about our stay. There wasn't. I would rate this cottage a negative star.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This BAD review was actually expected as I had to Bill these folks extra for damages...broken items...pet damages....4 additional hours of clean up. They didn't pay what they were billed for...so this as u can see is MY ONLY BAD REVIEW. As for the wires upstairs in the ceiling....they are speaker wires. They are not "live wires". The plug downstairs works but you have to flip up the switch on the wall. My apologies for the flood lamp bulb as it did burn out. It's been replaced. I will not rent to these guests again. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Charleston Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Watermark Bar an Grill/ Front Lake
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Berkeley Country Club
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Hwy 52
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Watermark Bar an Grill
Nearest Beach
60 Miles
Folly Beach, Sullivans Isle, Isle of Palms
Car: necessary

Red Roof Cottage is within 15 minutes from site seeing at Cypress Gardens, hiking the Palmetto Trail or visiting Mepkin Abbey.

Historic CHARLESTON is 50 minutes away and their are just too many things to do....shopping, golf, theatre, festivals, events...

February is the 'SEWE' event, South Eastern Wildlife Expo, April is the big Summerville FLOWERTOWN festival and the Cooper River Bridge Run.

Google festival's and events in Charleston, SC to see more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bonneau Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Snowbirds/Off Season Rate
Oct 1 2016 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Pet Fee $125
Cleaning Fee $140

Rates are subject to change. SUMMER HOLIDAY WEEKS/WEEKENDS AKA (MEMORIAL DAY, JULY 4TH, LABOR DAY, COON FEST) ARE HIGHER QUOTES. Call or email owner for MONTHLY rental rates. 50% refund on MONTHLY rental if cancellation is within 30 days of reservation. Weekly and weekend rentals NO REFUND if cancellation is within 30 days of reservation. Non smoking home. ($100 fee) Handicap accessible at front cottage (ramp). Family Pets are welcome (fenced yard) $125 non refundable pet fee, per pet.
Additional Fees will be applied for the following:
Excessive Trash Haul Away: $25 fee (Allowed is = Dumpster Full and two 30 Gallon Trash Bags is Standard)
Furniture Moved and Repositioning of Furniture: $75 fee
Additional Pet Clean up from yard: $25 Fee
Additional Clean up due to Excessive use of property: $35 per hour (4 hours is standard) and collected in reservation.


This is a Lake Front Home with large dock, steps down for swimming, easy step down for boat access, concrete boat ramp and large covered boat building for dry storage. Their is power and lights on the dock for night fishing.
10pm Noise ordinance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bonneau Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , Upstairs loft, toilet and sink.
    Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower , Enclosed outdoor shower....hot/cold water.
    Cottage Bathroom - toilet , tub , outdoor shower , OUTDOOR shower with hot water. Rince off after your swim.
    Down Stairs Apartment Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • 2 Full Baths 1 Half Bath Outside Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Cottage Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Cottage Bedroom 2 - 1 bunk bed
    Upstairs loft Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Down Stairs Apt/ Bedroom 4 - 1 double
  • 4 Total Bedrooms
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
KEEP THE NOISE DOWN.... We have a 10:00pm noise ordinance....so PLEASE be kind to the neighbors and avoid a ticket from Berkeley County. Thank you. Nancy

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties