Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

UPDATED, FANTASTIC VIEWS, QUIET MOUNTAIN 2 BEDROOM COTTAGE

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

If Mt. Mitchell 1 is reserved, we own another cottage. Please inquire!

Book a week and get a huge discount !!! Millions Dollar Views!!! Elevation is 3250'. Our AIR CONDITIONED cottage, called Mt. Mitchell I, has been completely upgraded with hardwood floors and beautiful furnishings. The kitchen has new cabinets, granite counter tops and stainless appliances. Each bedroom with private baths with access to the huge deck where you can watch for deer, bears, turkeys, birds and other wildlife. The cottage is located in beautiful Alpine Village Resort - a Gold Crown Resort with RCI, where you can enjoy convenient access to the Clubhouse, swimming pool, fire pit and shuffle board court. The heated swimming pool is open between Memorial Day and Labor Day. You will enjoy the quiet solitude of our chalet which is surrounded by the Pisgah National Forest. Visit Asheville and surrounding mountain towns. Mt. Mitchell State Park is 30 minutes away and you are only 3 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway.

The Mt. Mitchell hiking trail head starts behind the Clubhouse and goes to the top of Mt. Mitchell a 3400 elevation change. There are many hiking trails in the area, some including waterfalls.

This vacation home is located on a steep mountain ridge and there are hazards relative to staying in a mountain property. By the very booking of this listing, you acknowledge and agree to hold harmless the property owner, property representative or property owner's heirs in perpetuity from the result of any injury, death or incident of any kind by an fault, act or behavior of person or persons and guests thereof lodging or non-guest(s) at this property as a result of this offering or not a result of this offering, including but not limited to acts of God and/or nature.

Check in time is 4 pm. Check out time is 10 am 3 night minimum

The Access information will be provided 3 days prior to your reservation date.

CLOSED IN THE WINTER:

The cottage is not available November, December, January, February or March. We will accept reservations prior to the first available date which is the first Saturday of April.

More Details

Owner
Brenda Brooks or Dave Guilbeault
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2017

About Brenda Brooks or Dave Guilbeault

Dave is a professional and Christa is a retired teacher. We have three children who keep us on our toes. We all have busy lives and live in a small college town in South Western Illinois.

Brenda Brooks or Dave Guilbeault purchased this cottage in 2004

Why Brenda Brooks or Dave Guilbeault chose Burnsville

We purchased this property because we really enjoy the solitude and beauty of the mountains. Our family has had property at Alpine Village since the late 1980's and we want to continue this family tradition. Our children are the 4th generation to enjoy Alpine Village and all the area has to offer.

What makes this cottage unique

We also own the cottage next door called Mt. Mitchell 2 if you are looking to have a family reunion or need to accommodate more in your party. Mt. Mitchell 2 has been renovated also. It is similar to Mt. Mitchell 1 in appearance. Please inquire.

Amenities

Burnsville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 23
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No loud parties. Courtesy to all other guests on property expected.
  • Leave property in the way you found it other than washing of linens or vacuuming. Remove trash, close windows and lock doors, turn AC/Heat off.
  • ENJOY yourself...... relax, have fun, visit the area and watch the awesome mountain sunrise and sunsets!
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Completely upgraded with walk in tiled shower and glass door
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Completely upgraded with tiled walk-in shower and glass door
  • Both bathrooms have been updated with new tile flooring, vanities and walk-in tiled showers with glass doors.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleep sofa in living room
  • Each bed has luxurious duvet covers and linens. Both bedrooms have a mountain view and access to the awesome over sized deck. Each bedroom has beautiful updated bathrooms with tiled walk in showers and glass doors.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
One hour to The Biltmore in Asheville, three miles to the Blue Ridge Parkway, adjacent to the Pisgah National Forest and 1.8 miles from the Mt. Mitchell Golf Club - rated one of the best courses in the Western NC mountains.

Reviews

5/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
UPDATED, FANTASTIC VIEWS, QUIET MOUNTAIN 2 BEDROOM COTTAGE
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
5

Great visit

  • 5 of 5

Very nice cabin and great location, right by the club house and pool.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was very nice meeting you and your family. We are happy you chose Mt. Mitchell 1 for your vacation. Hope to see you here again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved the stay!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. The back deck is amazing! We enjoyed the shuffle board, pool and clubhouse being so close. The pool was chilly, not heated, but the kiddos were able to play in the water for a bit. Bring EVERYTHING you need for your stay...food, medicines,etc....because you are secluded from a town near by.....about 30-45 mins.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review! We try to please. Sorry the pool was a bit chilly, the temp is set at 82, but cool nights can make a difference. We are remote, but that is part of our charm being on top of a mountain with beautiful views and solitude. Most guests are out and about daily and if they did forget something can pick it up while they are exploring the area. We certainly hope you plan another trip here in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Florida
5

Great, comfy home

  • 5 of 5

It helped us relax as much as possible for the hurricane Irma. Thank you so much

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were happy to accommodate you during Hurricane Irma and glad you and your girls were in a secure sanctuary here in the mountains.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cant wait to go back

  • 5 of 5

Can not express how happy we were with our stay. We stayed in Mt Mitchell 2 and the house and view were both beautiful. We were looking for somewhere quiet with easy access to the parkway for hiking and site seeing. The resort is only about 15 minutes away from the parkway so this was the perfect location for us. The resort is about 30-40 minutes from any major stores so bring what you need with you. We are planning on returning next year, and will be staying here again if at all possible. Brenda is great and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. If you want to get away from it all at a beautiful location in the mountains you will not be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. So happy you and your family had such a nice time in our cottage. Glad everything was as you expected. Please let us know when you are ready to come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding mountain retreat

  • 5 of 5

Very well maintained property that had everything we needed. All the amenities and the deck was outstanding. Great view and lots of humming birds. Drive to Asheville was about an hour and closest grocery store was about 20 minutes away. Just need to plan for this. Had internet but no cell service which should be expected in the mountains. Property managers were very accessible and quick to respond. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. So glad to know you had such a great time and enjoyed the Blue Ridge Mountains and our cottage. We try our best to make you feel at home and to be available if you have any needs. We certainly hope you will visit us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Asheville
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Hawtree at Mt. Mitchell Golf Course or On The Gree
Nearest Golf
1.8 Miles
Mt. Mitchell Golf Club
Nearest Train
50 Miles
Asheville
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
Interstate 40
Nearest Restaurant
1.8 Miles
Hawtree Pub & Grill or JJs On The Green
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Sugar Mountain
Nearest Beach
300 Miles
Carolina Coastline
Car: necessary

Enjoy the local small towns, gem mining, hiking, horseback riding, golf, trout fishing, area festivals, wineries pottery shops, antiquing and great local restaurants. Visit Mt. Mitchell, the highest point East of the Mississippi, drive the Blue Ridge Parkway, visit craft shops, golf the beautiful mountain courses, fishing in the area streams or white water rafting. Visit Asheville's Biltmore Estate, craft beer places, Aboritum, area wineries and enjoy the hiking trails off the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee/departure $75
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 9.75%

The maximum occupancy of this chalet is six persons, day or night . You may not exceed that number unless written permission has been granted from the owner in advance. A $200.00 fee will be charged to your credit card immediately for unapproved guests and they must vacate the premises immediately. We strongly suggest you take out Damage Protection or any damage or missing items from the cottage will be charged to your credit card.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties