Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Get It All! Stunning Ocean Views, Jungle Views, Wildlife, Fantastic Restaurants!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Fully Stocked 3Br/3Ba Ocean and Jungle Views, Very Private, Only 5 min off Hwy!

OVERVIEW: Ojochal is one of the most stunning areas of Costa Rica, and you can enjoy it all during your stay at Casa Buena Vida! Whether you come to relax, enjoy the wildlife, dip your toes into the warm Pacific waters from any of the spectacular Costa Ballena beaches, hike in the world renowned rain forest, surf the waves of Domincal, or delight yourself with the exquisite restaurants of Ojochal, Casa Buena Vida is the perfect landing spot for all your Costa Rican adventures.

THE PROPERTY: Casa Buena Vida (Good Life!) offers some of the most beautiful ocean and jungle views from every room in the house. But you're certain to spend the majority of your time in the outdoor living areas where you'll enjoy lounging under the covered pool veranda, sunning on the adjoining sun patio, or grilling in the garden cabana - all these areas offer breathtaking views and very comfortable seating/lounging for all. All while experiencing the sounds of the howler monkeys and toucans, and viewing dozens of colorful jungle birds!

The 3br/3ba house will comfortably sleep 6 - Two of the bedrooms (each with en suite bathrooms) have separate entrances, allowing privacy for all of the guests, and the main bedroom is conveniently located adjacent to the main living areas with no additional steps to negotiate. The kitchen is fully equipped and recently remodeled with beautiful granite counter tops, a 6 burner gas cook top with warming drawer, all stainless steel appliances, and stunning wood ceiling fans to enhance your kitchen experience. Tune in to the flat screen TVs to get your fill of local or international news, sports, or entertainment. Wifi is also available for those of you can't quite "unplug!" (Don't worry, we understand completely!)

THE AREA: Casa Buena Vida is one of the few homes that does not require four wheel drive. Having said that, I highly recommend renting a vehicle that does have four wheel drive to ensure you are able to fully enjoy the entire southern coastal area. Some of the best experiences are up in the mountains of the jungle rain forest! Some of the area's best restaurants are within walking distance (the trek back up the hill will be sure to work off all that great food), and a spectacular, tree-filled, sandy beach is only a five minute drive away. Local corner markets and fish mongers have tons of fresh food for you to bring back to the wonderful kitchen if you prefer a relaxing evening cooking at home.

Wherever you decide to stay, you will be delighted to have chosen the Ojochal area. It embodies everything Costa Rica! You will not be disappointed. And I hope you choose to experience it from Casa Buena Vida.

More Details

Owner
Heather Schlueter
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, Some Spanish and will use Google Translate
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 26, 2017

Amenities

Ojochal House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Main Bathroom in house - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - Master En Suite - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 En Suite - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 queen
    En Suite Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 with En Suite Bath - 2 twin/ single
  • Master Bedroom adjacent to the kitchen and entryway within house. Queen bed with luxury bedding. En Suite Master has a separate entry off the pool with its own en suite bathroom. View of the ocean and jungle and King bed. Bedroom 3 with en suite bath has two twin beds and a separate entrance.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Get It All! Stunning Ocean Views, Jungle Views, Wildlife, Fantastic Restaurants!
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
3

We were robbed while staying here.

  • 3 of 5

This is a gorgeous property with spectacular views. Kevin and Ann Marie the caretakers couldn't have been more accommodating. Unfortunately the area is frequently targeted by thieves. A good safe and perhaps some sort of alarm or motion sensor camera would definitely be an asset. The thieves just used a pry bar to bust the locks on the windows and jumped through. Otherwise the house was wonderfully equipped. An air conditioner in the main living area would be nice though. And the bathrooms need some updating. The water supply was iffy. I'm not sure what was happening there as sometimes it was fine while other times the taps would only dribble.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Angela. I am very sorry that you had property stolen while you were away from the home. As spectacular as Costa Rica is, it is unfortunately true that petty theft can occasionally be an issue. We have been fortunate that we have never had a guest robbed in the past, and I am very sorry you were the first. I know that our property management team had made you aware that we do have a room (the laundry room) that acts as a "safe" room. It has a steel door and a deadbolt, to which you were given the key. As she instructed, it is always good practice to lock up valuables in that room that is safe from thievery when you leave the home. Again, I am very sorry this happened. And I am very happy that our team handled the situation so professionally. I am glad that you appreciated the beauty of our home and the area. As you know, we do have wonderful air conditioners in each of the bedrooms for your comfort. I'm not sure how often you've been to Costa Rica, but it is customary to not have air conditioners in the main living areas. These areas are primarily for indoor-outdoor living. I hope that this incident of petty theft does not prevent you from visiting beautiful Costa Rica in the future. It truly is a spectacular country and area. Please accept my sincere apologies.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great secure location with fantastic views close to paved road, restaurants and grocery store.

  • 4 of 5

We loved the large covered pool and ability to set the water temperature! The sliding screens were excellent and kept out the bugs. Bathrooms and hot water were also very good. The AC worked great and was needed for sleeping due to the low elevation. Beds, chairs and kitchen stuff we're all "tired" and could use upgrading. We missed having lay-down patio loungers. Noise from the coast highway was sometimes annoying but it was mostly quiet. We spent a total of three months there over two winters and we had a great time! Don't miss the entertainment and food at the nearby Bamboo Room, owned by John and Janet Chantry. It was a highlight and one of the main reasons we returned to the Ojochal area. Ylang Ylang, an Indonesian restaurant and Citrus, another restaurant, have amazing food and are both very close. They shouldn't be missed! There is a market every Friday in downtown Ojochal, starting at 9:00 a.m. where you can get fresh seafood, veggies, holistic edibles and let's not forget Sharon's amazing preserves and banana bread!

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Always great to get repeat guests! Thanks for coming back! Like you, the covered pool (including being able to set it to any temp because of the new solar heating system) is one of our favorite features of the home.) I'll look into whether the cleaners may have put an older set of sheets on the bed (we brought all new bed linens down there fairly recently). Want to make sure they're using all of the newer stuff! Thanks again for coming back. Hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Jungle Views, Lovely Beaches, and World Class Dining Minutes Away

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay in Heather's home! The property is beautiful and well maintained - you can't beat the views from the private pool and deck. We saw several toucans and other birds and heard monkeys during our entire stay, it was luxury in the jungle. Heather was incredibly helpful during our planning process and very quick to respond to any questions via email. Her tips and suggestions helped us to make the most of our visit. We highly recommend a 4x4 vehicle to fully enjoy your stay in Ojochal (although you do not need it to get to the property!). There is world class dining minutes away from Heather's home - seriously just MINUTES away. Check out Exotica, Citrus, Azul, Ylang Ylang, The Bamboo Room, Jolly Rodger - there are so many options! We also booked a masseuse and private chef to come to the home during our stay, both were incredible. We were looking for a relaxing adventure and Heather's home and the town of Ojochal were so much better than we could have hoped for. Book this home - you will not regret it!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great stay!! We love all of the things you mentioned, as well. And thanks for your kind comments! :) We certainly hope you come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Pura Vida!

  • 5 of 5

Wow where do I start?! Our family of 4 stayed in this very lovely home. The kitchen was very accessible with and the private rooms were very nice. There's everything you need to feel comfortable here. We just loved swimming in the beautiful covered pool while grilling out, listnening to music on the stereo and enjoying incredible views all around us! We stayed in this home for 1.5 months. We originally had booked for a month and our other rental fell through and the owners were gracious enough to allow us to Extend our stay on short notice. There are local bakeries as well as a local bar, restaurants and a mini mart right close by for all of your needs. The management company was great to deal with! They had us follow them up to the house on our arrival and the house is nice and close off the main highway. You won't be disappointed in your stay here! We can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Take me back!!

  • 5 of 5

Warning- coming back to "the real world" after spending a week at Casa Buena Vida is not easy! I can still hear the sounds of the jungle, and the waves crashing against the shore. To anyone considering a trip to Costa Rica, I highly recommend this home. Whether you choose to relax by the pool and watch the hummingbirds at the feeder, or go out paddle boarding and horseback riding, you will not be disappointed. All you have to do is show up and everything is ready to go! Already planning my next stay at Casa Buena Vida! As they say in Costa Rica, "Pura Vida!"

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Casa Buena Vida!!!

  • 5 of 5

Wow- what an amazing trip!! This inviting, well-kept home provides topnotch views of the ocean and jungle. We had a group of five and had a perfect balance of relaxation time at the house and going out to explore the area. The beaches, local restaurants, waterfall/horseback riding tours, surf/SUP lessons were incredible! I highly recommend this home when you take a trip to Costa Rica. The owners provide excellent customer service.

Pura Vida :)

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Quepos
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Costal Highway 34
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Ylang Ylang
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Playa Ventana
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Insurance $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties