Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Southern Canada's Hidden Gem - Pelee Island, Ontario Paradise!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, 6 Sleeps Maximum

2017 DATES ARE FILLING UP FAST - GET YOUR REQUESTS IN NOW IN ORDER TO SECURE YOUR FAVOURITE DATES!!

Please Note: There is a maximum occupancy of 6 and no pets - no exceptions

Our paradise is a 100 year old home. This cottage is a comfortable, spacious and somewhat rustic experience. As you can see in the Owner description area - I personally love it beyond love. It's for this reason that I want to share it with people. We cannot be there all the time (yet), so we are offering it to rent.

We have all the basic conveniences of home including appliances, cookware, pots, pans, dishes, glasses - etc. Please see the amenities list for full list.

IMPORTANT TO NOTE: The water on the majority of the island is not potable. Our water comes from a well, however we do not recommend drinking from the tap especially during seasons where there are blue algae blooms. We provide a water cooler with at least two jugs of water per week for drinking and cooking.

Understand that this is an island in the middle of lake Erie that is largely made up of natural habitat. That means gnats in May, fish flies in June, mosquitoes, spiders, snakes bees etc. in addition to the beautiful butterflies, birds, foxes, dragonflies and other more palatable creatures. If you are an experienced camper you will now that the nightly sweep for spiders and mosquitoes that came in during the day or that emerge at dusk is something that is a part of cottage life.

Am I trying to scare you away? Not at all! However, it will break my heart to hear that you were disappointed in some fashion because your expectations were not aligned with the realities of island life.

The number of renters who enjoy and rave about their experience far outweigh those whose expectations fall short, but I would like to see 100% satisfaction for all who stay with us.

Thanks for looking us up and here's to wishing you a wonderful vacation!

Sincerely

Lisa

More Details

Owner
Lisa Nantais
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 25, 2017

About Lisa Nantais

In August of 2014 we visited Pelee Island for the first time and it was a bonafide case of love at first sight! Fair warning to anyone who's never been there before - you may fall under this magic spell that makes you never want to leave! Two months later we were the proud new owners of what I call our "little slice of heaven". We can't be there every moment, and a place like this needs to be enjoyed, so we decided to share our blessings with others by offering it to rent for your next family vacation!

I'm guessing that we're not much different than most people. We work hard, raise our children, have bills, love our family time and simply want to make good things happen in the world. We love to have a nice vacation that can include our almost grown offspring, but the logistics become a bit tricky when working around those late teen, early 20's work, school, social and travel schedules! If we booked a tropical vacation, they couldn't come at all and YOWZA what a bill that would be! Not to mention the hassle of flights, luggage, transit - makes me want to break out in hives!

So here's this island with sandy beaches, sunshine, waves crashing into the shore, a spacious, comfy space to relax in, a nice ferry ride that will have you relaxed and ready to vacation when you arrive, little to no traffic once you do arrive and some of the friendliest, welcoming people on the planet!!

This is a place to be savoured and enjoyed - much like the world class wines that you will find at the winery if you so choose. If you are quiet and take your time, you might even be lucky enough to spot some of the many rare flora and fauna - some of which exist only on Pelee Island.

Truly a place to be once experienced - loved! You may end up becoming a neighbour if you are as lucky as we are!!

Lisa Nantais purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Lisa Nantais chose Ontario

Our location on the island is perfect for us! It's far enough away from the main dock so that it's quiet and peaceful, but it is close to many of the conveniences such as the Co-op, marina, Scudders Tavern and bakery. Our beaches are sandy, shallow and the North Shore has been the calmest shore in our experience.

What makes this cottage unique

We love the big front porch with all the windows, the gorgeous sunsets, the beautiful breeze that seems to always be coming through the kitchen window, the blue "breakfast room" which I use for doing crafts when I am there, or playing board games.

Amenities

Pelee Island Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - Main Floor - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - Upstairs Rear - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 2nd Floor Front - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib
  • Crib is available. You will set it up and return it before departing.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
Attractions:
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Southern Canada's Hidden Gem - Pelee Island, Ontario Paradise!
average rating of 3.7777777 based on 9 reviews
Waterloo Ontario
5

Great for the family - exactly as described

  • 5 of 5

Really nice vacation rental that gives you the genuine "cottage experience". The firepit in the back yard was a highlight for all of us, as was the pristine beach near the lighthouse. The owner's description and information provided were completely on the mark - so make sure you read them carefully before deciding. Yes there are bugs - but not as bad as some people have mentioned - and certainly we had none inside the house. Lisa was great to work with and communicated very well. We'd definitely go again if we have the chance!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great Value, Beautiful Location

  • 4 of 5

My family stayed here for 2 nights so that I could run the Pelee Island Half Marathon. The house is old, with all of the usual old house charms. But none of those bothered us.

When we arrived, there was more than enough fresh water and the house was reasonably clean. We did not have a huge bug problem. Just flies, thankfully of the non-biting variety. My kids (4 and 7) did not mind sleeping in their own rooms upstairs. My husband and I slept comfortably in the king bed downstairs - a must the night before a half marathon.

The house is located right on the road that travels around the perimeter of the Island. And because of the curve of the North shore where it is located, the sun sets directly across the street! Unobstructed sunset views from the front of the house! And the sunset was breathtaking.

The race route passed right in front of the house. I loved seeing my family cheering my on as I ran past. We were also very close to a beach by the marina, another feature my kids loved.

It did rain while we were there (with thunder, lightning and hail), but the house came stocked with games, cards, and coloring supplies to keep all of us entertained and happy.

Lisa, the owner, was very responsive to questions I had before we arrived. I had enough pre-race stress going on, but questions about the house were not part of it.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

North Shore Nest, Pelee Island Ontario

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful family vacation we experienced at North Shore Nest cottage. There was a lovely view of Lake Erie from our cottage and the biking trails were amazing. The cottage had all the emenities that one would need. My only wish would be that we had a few more days to explore the island. We were given much information for activities on the island and information regarding the ferry.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great accomodations

  • 4 of 5

Went with a group of friends--what a spacious home! Took bicycles and pedaled everywhere. The air conditioning and ceiling fans were a welcome respite from the summer sun and heat. I loved the privacy of the house and the large rooms for gatherings. Took advantage of the cabinet full of board games, and enjoyed the numerous Pelee Island historical pamphlets and booklets that were handily on display. Wouldn't hesitate to enjoy this relaxed island get-away again!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Comfy, Homey

  • 3 of 5

What a large, spacious comfy home! Plenty of room for a family or a group of friends to come & relax in the slowed-down atmosphere of this laid-back community. Cool old antique kitchen with all necessaries. Bring a bicycle and enjoy the entire island from this handy location right near the marina and a short bicycle ride from the old light house and beach. Owner was easily reachable for any questions (what to do with the trash? where do we put our bottle empties...). Remember, this is a rural, farming community--be prepared to find there are very few shops open on Sundays, and places close up early (4-5pm).

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
London, Ontario
3

Vintage cottage stay on Pelee Island - not fancy but a good homebase for our weekend getaway

  • 3 of 5

We arrived on Thursday after the Pelee ferry ride. The cottage is vintage for sure, but had the basic essentials in kitchen and bathroom. Plenty of room for our group to spread out, working window air conditioners and BBQ. Beds were comfortable. Current set up relies on previous renter to ensure everything is laundered, cleaned and re-stocked in between guests vs a service or owner maintaining which was a drawback for our stay. We arrived and previous renter left us with an almost empty BBQ tank and 5 empty water jugs. If that routine were updated we would rent this cottage again as the owner Lisa was easy to deal with and responsive to our issues. Also suggested a guidebook for guests with handy contact numbers and hours of co-op and garbage disposal due to having organize things around ferry times, as this was not available during our stay, owner was receptive to this feedback. Timely refund of security deposit and helpful tips prior to arrival made the experience a good one overall. There are LOTS of bugs and spiders...inside and outside...it is an island so be prepared :). Location is in a nice spot and quiet area. Would be nice if there was an outdoor dining or picnic table ...but we brought out own campchairs and worked fine. With a few minor changes we would definitely stay at this cottage again, and felt the owner was responsive during rental process.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for you helpful feedback! I love the guidebook idea and have already started putting it together. This is our first year renting out our newly purchased cottage and I had thought that the "leave it as good/better than you found it" approach would work well. I had rented from others who did this in the past and I thought it was great to save up to $200 on additional cleaning fees. However, it has left some of the people renting my place frustrated when previous occupants fell short of expectations. All current island residents who offer cleaning services are booked for this year, but I will definitely change up the format and have that in place for next year in order to ensure consistently higher satisfaction. I would love to see you back to enjoy my favourite place on earth next year! Sincerely, Lisa
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Kilometres
Pelee Island Airport
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Scudders Grill & Tavern
Nearest Ferry
10 Kilometres
Pelee Island Ferry
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Scudders Grill & Tavern
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
North Shore - across front yard
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pelee Island Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
SUMMER 2017
Jun 12 2017 - Sep 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$135
From
$143
Fri,Sat
$805
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$135
From
$143
Fri,Sat
$805
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $182.95

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. No smoking, no pets.

You are responsible for leaving the entire cottage as clean (or better) than you found it. Deductions will be made from security deposit if trash is left behind or cleaning person has to be called in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties