Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Our NEW Mid Week & 7 night rate makes it too expensive to stay home

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

HAVE YOU SEEN OUR MIDWEEK AND 7 NIGHT RATES~you can't afford to stay home!!

FREE night (select times) further reduces cost per CPN when comparing




Our already low cost per night is even lower with a FREE night.

go on to this web site:

~"things to do around canaan"

~"local attractions and helpful links"

~if you haven't already, log onto the interactive floor plan and investigate the house (floor plan)

and PANORAMA and SLIDESHOW~ be sure to click on arrows off the deck

**2 night special during select times...2N rate is in RATES NOTES

Our COST PER NIGHT posted here DO NOT reflect the FREE night (select times). We want you to be pleasantly surprised when we send that info :-)

Read our description below; then communicate directly with the Owner. Ask what specials apply to the nights you want to come. We have different specials all year depending on dates!!

WE HAVE NO EXTRA tub, admin etc etc

ASPENWOODS offers peaceful short and long views. Stand on the front deck, and notice Timberline resort/Cabin mountain, on the other side of the valley. Or focus on our natural mountain Lake right across the street. This will become your favorite spot to star gaze. You are only minutes from the downhill slopes, the mountain, Whitegrass X-country, 2 state parks, Dolly Sods, a wildlife refuge. in the hot tub or in front of a fire. Ski, swim,downhill or X-country, sit in the hot tub, horseback ride, snow tube, snowboard, fish, hike,bike,

SIT BACK AND RELAX…we want you to unwind even when you are just reading about us. It will give you a flavor of how nice and exhilarating your vacation is going to be.

We will send you a quote and arrange payments…we think you deserve that communication.

first, look at our interactive floor plan…then read our description here, and we think you will find you are already on vacation…

One of the best locations in Canaan: NORTH LAKE at Canaan Mountain Resort

*a home for ALL seasons~the BEST of All worlds

*across from a 25 acre private lake, with other outdoor amenities~totlot

with a fishing pond, and picnic pavilion.

*a path around the lake gives you a place for scenic exercise

*under 10 minutes to 2 downhill ski resorts, and perhaps

the BEST X-country area in the Mid-Atlantic!

*2 State Parks act as natural bookends, with a Wildlife Refuge and Natl

Forest AND ASPENWOODS in between

* since Canaan has 65-70% of the land owned by Government contolled

natural resources, buildable land is growing scarce

*West Virginia aggressive and ambitious road addition will enhance property values

as more lucrative markets gain easy access to Canaan.


*3 bedroom, 2 full baths

0ne king bed

1 queen bed

3 twins in the back bedroom

* furniture conveys with the house

*Combine it with the lot next door, and it is a 1 1/2 acre lot

*all the stone work was hand cut by a local craftsman.

Exterior pillars and the floor to ceiling fireplace

*2 decks~the back deck has an oversized Picnic table.

and the VERY popular HOT TUB

the FRONT deck looks out at the Lake (short view) and the

Mountain/ski slopes (long view)

*Private Master bedroom suite, upstairs with a super-sized

bath tub

*Large full sized kitchen

*Large Great Room with a hand cut floor to ceiling Fireplace

*A den which could be used as a formal dining room

*Ceiling fans through out~eliminating any need for AC

*baseboard heating eliminates the maintenance of a furnace

*the carpeting through out is Berber, for long lasting wear & Tear

and low maintenance

*Anderson windows to keep out the cold winter air

*The maintenance man who is still with us, helped build the house

*it is a modular house~built in a factory, trucked and assembled

on site~mold free, and air tight

*the full basement is ready to be finished in whatever way the new owner desires.

It may be the only (?) dry basement in Canaan.

Go home more rested and energized than any other vacation of your life. Then use our Frequent Guest discount and 0% pay plan to do it

*We wish you the most exhilerating vacation of your life… CANAAN IS A 4 SEASON VACATION PLACE

Our Guests have described us as

~Quiet and relaxing; we really enjoyed the atmosphere.

~Left all our problems in the hot tub!

~a PERFECT distance from the slopes (mountain)


~perfect location for hiking, biking, jogging, horseback riding, etc

~GREAT layout

Read our description below; then communicate directly with the Owner.

~We will customize your quote to your exact nights.

~And we will do it without adding any of those pesky fees.

~AND be sure to see our Frequent Guest Discount combined with

*our 'at the house ' key system, we can book you and have you on your way in an hour.

*BUT it is smart to book early to avoid disappointment and last minute 'scurrying' around

*When you rent 3 or more nights with us and can take the time, we will offer a FREE night~

*when you factor that into your cost per night, it will lower it significantly


Ask owner how you qualify for a FREQUENT GUEST DISCOUNT & the 0% pay plan?

~ you don't go on vacation that often, we think it might be easier to spread it out.

~We will customize your quote to your exact nights.

~And we will do it without adding any of those pesky fees.

~AND be sure to see our Frequent Guest Discount combined with our Getaway plan makes coming to our home, just that much more cost-effective.

More Details

Bob Moore
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 6, 2017

About Bob Moore

~~Trust me when owners who have been Renters are arranging your vacation, it makes a difference!

Read our description below; then communicate directly with the Owner. WE THINK YOU DESERVE DIRECT COMMUNICATION

We have been either a Renter or a Rentee since 1992. Consequently we have lots of referrals, and come-backs, because of things we do that cant be expressed on a web site or in a price; in addition to a clean, orderly well-maintained home ~we give you our cell phone; to make sure you don't get lost, if the home isn't as you expected it or just have questions ~ check with you when you first arrive; find a fishing spot; a hike or the best restaurant.Or just answer questions. ~ we have an exclusive FREQUENT GUEST DISCOUNT at your choice of home; ~ we have a key safe at our homes for leisurely arrival. Our Guests like to come after work or school Sit in the hot tub, and be there the next morning, ready to enjoy your vacation beginning with breakfast. The key is AT THE HOUSE, SECURELY, WAITING FOR YOU, And no big discussions on who is carrying the key, during your stay! ~we have an after renting feedback, for your comments on how to improve for the next visit...

Bob Moore purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Bob Moore chose Davis

Our already low Cost per night doesn't include our FREE nights!!

**contact owner for final details

go on to this web site:

~"things to do around canaan"

~"local attractions and helpful links"

~if you haven't already, log onto the interactive floor plan and investigate the house (floor plan)

and PANORAMA and SLIDESHOW~ be sure to click on arrows off the deck

What makes this cabin unique

When you rent our home~YOU RENT THE WHOLE VALLEY. That is why it is best to rent from an owner that will work with you to ensure you are fully informed about WHERE YOU ARE. We are located just 4.5 miles from Davis, across from a private , natural mountain lake. Fishing, swimming, jog, walks around the lake are right at your finger tips. a short DRIVE to ski, snowboard, tube, hike, bike mountain climb or horseback into the mountains. You are surrounded by the Natl. Wildlife Refuge, Dolly sods, and our home is right in the middle of it all! Yet, close to shopping, stores and the quaint towns of Davis &Thomas. Challenge us on things to see and do, and we will show you how to have the most restful, exhilerating vacation of your life. Spending quality time with family & friends.

Canaan Valley is the best 'OUTDOOR RECREATION' area I know of. It is a 4 season paradise.Both our homes are next to, or just minutes from all of them, we will help you find any one of them. We give you our cell phones to help you navigate a new place. We never leave you hanging~just call our cell phone. Check out the 500+ activities thru out the state, but you can search on CANAAN VALLEY or POTOMAC HIGHLANDS in that list. You can also take along this site for a virtual tour guide when you go. Search on Google:


Guestbook comments from the owner

Just wanted to let you know that we all had a wonderful time staying at Aspenwoods, and we are already working on a possible vacation there for next year. (We are hoping that an early start on planning will help get everyone set up on a date for vacation, which is quite a difficult job.) We really had a great vacation! Thank you for working with the kids on the internet problem also. I do have a question regarding the security deposit though. Is that something that we can have returned? If so, how do we go about that? Thanks again, and I will definitely put in a review soon as time permits.
May 2016
  • 1 of 33


Davis Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • bath tub in both. Mstr bdrm bath is a 2 person tub
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (1) Master bedroom, Queen size Beds (1) Front first floor; bedroom3= 2 TWINS W/POP UP TRUNDLE offers lots of options; features a same level,downstairs bedroom,bathroom, kichen, great room, den and both decks, Twin or Single Beds (3) 2 twins+ trundle in rear bedroom.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
**Cost per night does NOT include FREE nights. (Come stay an extra night and lower your cost per night) **HOLIDAYS ARE PRICED SEPARATELY EVERY SEASON. **Our pet policy will be sent if you will "contact the owner" We will add $20/pet/night to any VRBO quote when you Travel with a pet. We also have a$500 Pet security deposit INSTEAD of the $300 you may see in a VRBO quote **WE WILL ACCEPT TRAVEL PROTECTION instead of or in addition to a security deposit **Be sure to ask owner for a quote. SOOoo many specials, that this chart can't handle them Free nights Pets acceptable 2 night specials Frequent Guest Discount MyWVvacation GETAWAY PLAN


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
30% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
15% Complete
Our NEW Mid Week & 7 night rate makes it too expensive to stay home
average rating of 4.1 based on 53 reviews

A very nice stay

  • 5 of 5

The location is great and the house was more than adequate. It had everything we needed and we would go back.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You folks were great Guests. Easy to work with. Please read Frequent Guest Discount. Come back~hopefully with a discount. You are the type of Folks we enjoy renting our home to.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful area and comfortable lodge

  • 4 of 5

We came from Indiana and this was a family reunion with others that joined us from NY NJ area. As expected the area is gorgeous with lot of outdoor activities. The ski slopes were closed unexpectedly but there was plenty of hiking and other outdoor activities. The cabin was adequately stocked with pots, pans and dishes. Though for some reason each pile of plates had a top plate that was greasy and dirty but the rest of the plates were fine. Few supplies were missing very low on dishwasher soap, detergent which was not there at all. Not a big deal the grocery store is not too far. Beds were fine but the sofas are quite worn out and upholstery very old and threadbare on a few sofas. The internet connection did not work for half our stay. Other than few minor inconveniences our guests were comfortable, the bathrooms were fine and it was a cozy cabin with a large dining table that accommodated our guests well. We all spent quality time here and all went home with happy memories of the Canaan valley.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Mouse poop, many tiles cracked, house needs deep c

  • 1 of 5

After reading the reviews we decided to take our chances. I thought the bad reviews were from people with unreasonable expectations, but I was wrong. First night we notice half the missing smoke detectors and the rest not working. We notified him about it, and several hours later he responded that he would send the maintenance man out to fix it. I told him which wire to disconnect since they were going to chirp because one detector is missing. Problem solved. Then i found mouse poop in the drawers, in the pots and pans, in the kitchen towels, in the pantry, and under the sink. So I had to wash every item I used in the kitchen before hand. My husband told me that the shower curtain had its own ecosystem so I took it down and threw it away. I called Bob, sent a text, and emailed with pictures, but he remained silent. He didn't apologize at all. I was really disappointed in the lack of communication with Bob. If you don't complain, then your good. But if you have more than one complaint he will view you as a problem. No refunds unless you notify 30 days in advance. I tried to cancel a couple weeks before due to half of our people cancelling. He offered to re rent the house, and encouraged me to come anyway and bring the kids, which I did. A few days later I got the emails with all the info about the area and the house, which I did appreciate. But was getting apprehensive when reading the attachments. He thanks us in advance for washing dirty dishes because the cleaning staff doesn't always have time to check all of them, same with dirty linens, and of course the cracked tiles. I already knew a refund wasn't an option, so we were going to make the best of it. The smoke detectors and mouse poop really pissed me off because they are major health and safety code violations. He sent me over the edge when he refused to communicate with me, he didn't thank me for bringing it to his attention (because he knew already) and he didn't apologize because to him I am problem. the reason people leave bad reviews is because Bob knows nothing about customer service. I guess he figures once your pissed, your a lost cause, your not gonna rent again so why bother trying. So I hope if you take a chance on the house that the floor is fixed, the mice are gone, and he hires someone who can actually clean. We are leaving tomorrow and I am honestly worn out. The area is north lake and there is another house you can rent and enjoy the awesome lake and private community.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The first question we always ask, if our home is so terrible and I'm so difficult to reach, HOW COME IT IS ONLY YOU? We encourage anyone reading this review, you not only read our response but all the others below. We anticipated a problem when you called THE WEEK BEFORE and wanted to cancel, because the "other couple" backed out, and you were afraid your Son would be bored!. That close to check in we generously offer to try to re-rent and to reimburse if we re-rent the house!! As our other reviews indicate, I respond quickly, and are happy to help you. At your request, our Maintenance person was there the next day, to help you with your concerns. Our Guests love Canaan, the Lake etc. And when we talk to them they are nice and happy and generally professional folks. a text every day that is condescending about our Housekeeper, is a bit much.. We're sorry your friends backed out on you at the last minute, and you didn't enjoy coming. Considering you are a short distance from a huge wilderness area, we're glad that was the only critter you encountered :-) We are so sorry you had an unpleasant experience at our home, as most experience the exact opposite. THANK YOU
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Moundsville, WV

Our Canaan Valley Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We arrived at Aspenwoods to find a clean, roomy, and very nicely furnished cabin/house. For a family who likes to cook we were quite pleased with the amenities of the kitchen. Crockpot, toaster oven coffee pot, microwave and so on. The view from the front deck was lovely, as we were able to view the lake. Not far from the cabin was the playground, which was utilized quite often. There was a pavilion with tables, bathroom and even a fireplace. A little pond with ducks and two little streams littered with wild flowers provided another relaxing atmosphere while the little ones were playing. Several day trips were made too. Senecca Rocks and Cavern, Dolly Sods, Blackwater Falls, The quaint towns of Thomas and Davis was appealing as well. Several local breweries, good pizza, ice cream and many other places to eat. There was even a fully equipped grocery store just a couple of miles down the road. The hot tub was a nice way to end the day. We, as a family, couldn't have asked for a better place to stay while we had our family vacation. WE ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO ANOTHER AWESOME FAMILY VACATION THERE NEXT YEAR!!! Thank you Bob for a wonderful place to vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm a FT Realtor in Maryland, so I truly appreciate someone like you that is professional, and EASY to work with. AND, it appeared you really studied the information on the area and all the things to do in and around Canaan. Makes for a better vacation, doesn't it? What better idea than to plan your next vacation right now, get a FREQUENT GUEST DISCOUNT, and use Paypal credit. Spread the payment over 6 months with NO INTEREST!! Imagine having your vacation paid for BEFORE you go, spread out over 6 low payments? And then the FREQUENT GUEST DISCOUNT kicks in! :-) COME BACK SOON~Fall is just around the corner! and thank you for taking such good care of our house. Best wishes to your family
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

We can't wait to come back!

  • 5 of 5

Some friends and I went up to Aspenwoods for a relaxing yet adventurous Spring Break. We absolutely LOVED it! The cabin itself was very homey and cozy. They had anything you might need and grocery store was only about 5 minutes away. All other fun activities such as skiing, mountain bike riding, Horseback riding, canoeing, paddle boats, and more were nearby. More Ski slopes, white water rafting, and caves were about an hour drive away.

We had plenty of fun, we were able to adventure out during the day and then relax in the hot tub in the evening or sit by the fireplace and watch movies. We enjoyed Aspenwoods so much that we tried to book an extra night or 2 but it was already reserved. We can not wait to return!!!

  • Submitted: May 15, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: When you have been doing this as long as we have you can tell nice people by the way they handle themselves even on the phone...THANK YOU for being so easy to work with. Sorry we couldn't accomodate you with the xtra night:-( BUT, we do have a FREQUENT GUEST DISCOUNT, for folks like you that we want back. Check out the attachment I sent, and come back soon!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Late October Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I made some last minute plans to get away for a few days. Aspenwoods at North Lake was a great place to stay and close to everything yet felt very cozy and to ourselves. We really appreciate how pleasant it was to get a good run down of the process in booking the house and things to do. We visited the Resorts, Great places to eat, Great Views and Blackwater Falls was a beautiful must see. Bob was genuinely interested in making our stay what we expected. Thank you for everything!! We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is easy to help pleasant and nice people. THANK YOU. you are now part of the "MyWVvacation family" We have a discount for most repeat trips, and Paypal has a program to spread the cost out over 6 months~o% interest COME BACK OFTEN
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Sirianni's Cafe
"great pizza"
Blackwater Falls
"Wait until you see the Falls...any season AWESOME"
White Grass Touring Center
Timberline Four Seasons Resort
Canaan Valley State Park
Seneca Caverns
Blackwater Bikes
"very helpful staff"
White Grass Cafe
"outstanding food"
Smoke Hole Caverns
Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Canaan Valley State Park
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Timberline Resort
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Car: necessary

Vacation in West Virginia, West Virginia Rental Cabin, Honeymoon in a West Virginia, Romantic getaway, Family Vacatin West Virginia, beats a Family Beach Vacation, Ski West Virginia, Snowboard West Virginia, WhiteWater Raft West Virginia, mountainbike West Virginia, Hike West Virginia ~~we do it all, Just a Couple Minutes to the Slopes--Timberline Ski Resort, Whitegrass Touring Center, and Canaan Valley Resort/State Park, For a More Cost Effective Ski Vacation, Outstanding Family Vacation Spot for Swimming, fishing, boating, jogging~Downhill Skiing, or Sledding and Tobogganing, Running, Canoeing, Trekking, Caving, White Water Rafting


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 12.0%

We don't do Saturday checkin/out
2 night minimum applies to WEEKDAYS ONLY. WE DO HAVE A 2 NIGHT MINIMUM (select times)= $399+TAX...CONTACT OWNER
if you rent 3 nights...Friday, Saturday Sunday...we offer to come in early on Thurs night or leave late on
Monday FREE!!(select times) Not all the time tho' so book early!!

Our owner will customize a quote for you. We believe you deserve that!!
Our already low Cost per night doesn't include our FREE nights!!

Pet fee will be added to our normal rate~$20 PER NIGHT TO A MAX OF $100. DOGS ONLY
**contact owner for final details
HOLIDAYS PRICED SEPARATELY.e-mail owner for accurate quote for holidays.

FREQUENT GUEST DISCOUNT~ ask owner how to qualify for 10% off your next visit.
MyWVvacation GETAWAY PLAN~ ask owner how you qualify for 6 month payment plan with 0% interest!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties