About the property
- Cottage900 sq. ft.
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay2 nights
Gorgeous sunsets, while sipping wine 30 steps above 2.5 mile stretch of beach.
1 Queen in the loft providing you with privacy in the downstairs Master Queen bedroom. You have an easy path down to the beach frequently strewn with drift wood for limitless bonfires! Wake up to waves crashing beneath you.Brew a strong cup and start your morning back in the Jacuzzi or looking out from the cozy sun room as the sun begins its illumination of the breaking waves underneath you! Stroll the beach with your doggy, explore the tide pools or fly a kite. Got a surf board? Join a few locals just 600 ft up the beach to a hollow wave break. Keep walking the long beach accross the OR border to the fascinating river mouth. Look for the seal pups. Your cabin is fully equipped for this owner who enjoys cooking and the cottage whenever possible! It is small but amazingly efficient to maximize your connection to its environment while being cozy.
Remember to turn off the living room large screen TV for magnificent sunsets. You won't regret it.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within two days
- Calendar last updated:
- May 27, 2018
About Gary Acheatel
I bought this location because I loved staying in this exact same unit. Great stuff, leather couch, down comforter, flat screen TV. WIFI. Sometimes you'll close glass doors because the waves are too loud! I live in Ashland, a gorgeous drive inland following the amazing Smith River, past the Redwoods and Cave Junction. Grew up surfing in CA and now got the best of both! Surfing, and no crowds!
Gary Acheatel purchased this Cottage in 2015
Why Gary Acheatel chose White Rock Resort
It doesn't get better than this!. Few neighbors. Beach is underutilized. There have been times when the surf got so big and tide so high almost felt like we had to evacuate. If you get sea sick but love being on the water this is your place! If you like comforts of home including flat screens, Jacuzzi, internet leather sofa, but also love a bonfire, look no further. Get discounts for longer stays!
What makes this Cottage unique
Views, views, views!!! Jacuzzi deck. Well appointed furnishings and kitchen. Private loft area. Safe off the hwy, private areas, don't have to worry about kids running into street. Send them down the private path to the beach and watch them from the deck! Good dogs probably ok but extra cleaning cost. Worth it to have a real clean stay.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
I can't begin to describe the amazing time my fiance and I had during our stay. We had so many plans to hike and explore and just ended up spending most our time in the hot tub listening to the ocean crash on the rocks below. We will definitely be staying here again.
Amazing views- cozy feel!
You couldn't ask for better views and access to a miles long beach. Sitting in the hot tub overlooking the ocean was a highlight as was running on the beach. We would definitely come again!
Cozy, private, relaxing
We loved the cabin, could have srayed there longer, cozy, private and an amazing view!! We will be back for sure next year.
nice and relaxing
We had a nice queit and relaxing time. My only complaint is the lack of bath towels only 2, normally it would bother me but the only way to get cleans towels was to go to laundromat.
So sorry for that mistake. We always have 2 per guest. I wish you would have called or emailed per my request in your instructions if anything at all is wrong. 2 per guest is important because of frequent hot tub useage. I wonder if they were in one of the many small cabinets? Anyway next time i will give you a nice discount for the discomfort.
Came over to the coast for New Year's with kiddos and the doggies. White Rock never disappoints! Big crashing waves, got some sunshine even. The place is tiny but super cute and comfy. Had everything we needed. Thank you!!!
Glad you enjoyed the cabin. We try for cozy. There is a lot there considering its square footage, just about every creature comfort including two queen size beds and two den-like spaces plus a full kitchen. I was a bit concerned given the size of your family plus two labs and am pleased you had a great time.
Poor maintenance. Super loud heater. No chemicals or filter in hot tub
The setting was beautiful (although embellished on the listing). Cute. Comfortable couch. 0nly 1of 4 light bulbs worked in living room. No light on desk. Very dark. Heater super loud. Had to sleep with it off and freeze. Toilet runs. Only 15” around bed and the wall. Had to POUND key into door knob. Wife couldn’t open door with key. Hot tub had no filter or chemicals so could only use it once. Asked for it to be fixed but didn’t get done. Loose outlets in the kitchen. Smelled musty. Very disappointed. We request a $300 refund.
I am sorry for your disappointment with our cabin. I will be glad to arrange compensation for your discomfort. No doubt, almost every issue you mention besides one could have been rectified if you had notified me of your difficulties while there.
It is important to understand an unfortunate issue that occured during your stay.
1. The ownership of White Rock Resort underwent an ownership change. The new owners fired the previous property manager 5 days prior to your arrival and the new owner took over its management and never managed a resort before.
2. Of course we could not adjust the cabin size but please note we have listed the square footage and describe it as a 'cottage'. We love the cozy comfort of the cottage, and so much enjoy both Queen size bed sleeping areas, 2 seperate den areas, full kitchen and bath, so yes the bedroom space is tight given you have a complete mirrored closet and night stand in the bedroom.
3. We constantly are repairing moving parts and most recently switched the door locks because of their sticking. We sometimes have maintanance problems because you literally can't get any closer to the ocean than this cabin/cottage and still be dry. Yes we struggle with the salt air maybe even more than most coastal properties since we are directly over the white water at high tides and only 30 shallow steps down to the sandy beach.
4. I was at the cabin immediately before you and enjoyed both the silent oil based portable heater as well as the nosier 'gas based' blasting type heater used typically after an outing and the cabin was cool. It heats the entire cabin back up after 15 minutes. Not sure why you had trouble using the silent oil based one that maintains the temperture at any temperture you set the thermostat. I turn down the thermostat when I leave and crank it back upon return. I wish you had notified me of this problem or any others during your stay. You might recall I emphasize in my welcome letter to call me since this is a house not a hotel and problems can arise from time to time. If done so, of course I could have directed you to the spare light bulbs in the cuphard.
5. The spa works quite well and once again is
treated after every stay. Very sorry if there was a lapse, due to the onsite manager change over as the spa/deck is my favorite feature besides the floor to ceiling windows looking out over the sea. Again I am sorry you were disappointed. I will be in touch regarding a refund.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Low season rates do not apply to Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years and Valentines Day.