Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Charming Beach House with beautiful Front and Back Porch views

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom, 2 Bath Comfortable 2nd Row Home With Covered Porches

This charming and spacious 2nd row home offers all the comforts of home and views to match. The covered front porch with rockers offer excellent ocean views and the covered back porch has an eating and seating area with canal and waterway views. (Please note that there is no direct access to the canal from our lot) The kitchen is well equipped with refrigerator, stove, microwave, toaster, dishwasher, blender, etc. There is central air conditioning and ceiling fans in all the bedrooms. Also there are 3 TV's, DVD/VCR, washer and dryer, grill, paved parking, enclosed outside hot water shower, covered entranceways and WI-FI. The bedroom set up is as follows:

Bedroom 1: 2 Twins, Bedroom 2: 1 Queen and 1 Twin, Bedroom 3: 1 Double and 1 Twin Bedroom 4: 1 Queen. The beach access is located about a block and a half from the house and the fishing pier is about 2 blocks away.

More Details

Owner
Susy Wrenn
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2018

About Susy Wrenn

We live in a 90 year old home Greensboro, NC and love to travel and have actually used VRBO ourselves several times!

Susy Wrenn purchased this cottage in 1999

Why Susy Wrenn chose Holden Beach

We bought "Gimme Shelter" in 1999 because we both love the beach and grew up spending summers on the coast. It has become our perfect sanctuary for getting away from it all and totally relaxing. During the difficult times of our life it has provided just the therapy we needed and in good times it has and continues to be the most wonderful place to bond with family and entertain friends.

What makes this cottage unique

We chose this house because of its easy floor plan and of course its Porches! No matter the season or the weather, we spend a lot of time enjoying the front and back porches. Our house is the basic "H" plan which is 2 bedrooms on each side with bathrooms between and a big open common area. It offers great times all together but also privacy when needed. The front area is paved as is underneath the house which provides good parking as well as another area to hang out. We love our outside shower with paintings done by a family member. We decided we wanted the décor of our house to be geared more towards comfort and an "older" beach house feel so we have enjoyed decorating it that way. So if you are looking for shiny, new beachy furnishings, this is not the house for you, but if you are looking for a quaint, interesting, relaxing house, it is for you!

Amenities

Holden Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Washer and Dryer are in this large bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Twins Room - 2 twin/ single , Great for kids of all ages - 2 bright windows!
    Entertainment Bedroom - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , TV/DVD/VCR in this bedroom
    Couples Haven - 1 queen , Comfortable room for a couple
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 Queen bed and daybed with 2 windows and view of canal. TV
  • All bedrooms have 2 large windows and ceiling fans.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
"Gimme Shelter" is a great place to relax at the beach with family and or friends!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Beach House with beautiful Front and Back Porch views
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
Dallas, United States
5

The house was spacious and clean.

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable for our family of 5 and could easily have shared it with another (perhaps smaller) family. The beach chairs and cart were a nice addition with lots of puzzles and books to entertain the kids. The Wifi worked great even on the rainy day when my son and I played on the Xbox (which we brought) and two others were watching Netflix on different devices.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our beach cottage and hope you will come back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
-
2

Good location, air conditioner very inefficient, got up to 80 plus degrees in afternoon and evening.

  • 2 of 5

Good location, poor air condition got up to 80 plus degrees in afternoon and evening, some beds very uncomfortable, too many “whicky wacks” everywhere.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We feel this guest's bad review was posted because they did not get their security deposit returned because of breaking the house rules, damaging property and misrepresenting who was renting our home. As far as the ac, they never reported any issues to us. Holden Beach is a quiet, family beach and these guests had large house parties with no regard for neighbors or our house. We are extremely sorry we ever rented to them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great beach getaway!

  • 4 of 5

Convenient location, easy access to the beach. A short drive to restaurants and local shops.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Fe
5

Lovely get away, great location!

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying here for a family reunion -- great location, well-equipped house, clean, up to date, nicely laid out and furnished. Great porches and easy, comfortable home. Hosts are very friendly and easy to work with! Holden Beach is a wonderful place, lots of great beach and some good restaurants, wonderful waterway, beautiful setting. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Relaxing and Great Views

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a fantastic stay at Gimme Shelter. The house was plenty big and had fantastic views from the front and back porches. Lucky for us the lot across the street has not been developed so for the second row price you get a front row view. I may have brought my whole kitchen down with me, but I did not need to because the kitchen was well stocked. I grew up coming to Holden Beach to visit my grandparents who lived there full time and this house gave me that comfortable and nostalgic feeling I was looking for. Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jennifer! We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation at Gimme Shelter! Would love for you to return in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St Albans WV
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Brought my parents and other family members to Holden beach for the first time. This property was perfect. Within walking distance of beach access, ice cream parlor, general store, peir, diner and souvenir shop.

More than enough dishes and cooking utensils. A Weber grill which we used to cook steak, chicken and hot dogs all in one evening. An outdoor hot/cold shower which makes it sooooo nice after coming back from the beach.

I had a few questions upon arrival which the owner answered promptly and was very helpful.

Spent every morning drinking coffe on the back deck which overlooks the inner coastal water.

Hoping to visit again next summer.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Holden Beach has been named "Best family beach in the United States". It's the perfect place to relax on the beach, beachcomb, dolphin watch, walk, bike... The intracoastal waterway, beautiful sunsets, fresh seafood, great restaurants make it a special place to enjoy a vacation. In addition the historic, quaint town of Southport is only 27 miles away. The beautiful port city of Wilmington is only 37 miles north and Myrtle Beach SC is 52 miles south.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Refundable damage deposit $300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.