Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront, Simple Rural Home

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, Sleeps 6 people

Hale Makani Kai, 'Home of the Gentle Ocean Breeze', is located 45 minutes from the airport, away from the busy city of Honolulu. This comfortable upstairs rural home offers you the simplicity of island living. Surrounded by the crystal blue Pacific Ocean and the majestic Ko'olau Mountains, the tranquility removes you from the busy world that will seem far away. In the morning, enjoy the ocean sunrise from the deck. The gentle ocean breeze and the rhythm of the dancing waves will renew your spirit. This home is managed by ourselves, local folks that live on the island. At Hale Makani Kai, we are available to introduce you to our unique island lifestyle. We are committed to sharing the true meaning of Aloha with you so that your Hawaiian vacation will be an unforgettable experience!

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2018

About The Owner

I am an owner manager and have lived on the island for over 40 years. Providing personal care to my guests to make sure they have a memorable Hawaiian vacation is my top priority. My two grown children grew up, spending their childhood experience along the ocean at the back yard of this property.

The Owner purchased this house in 1987

Why The Owner chose Hauula

We are right on the ocean, nothing between the property and the water. There is a reef two hundred yards away, creating a safe spot for swimming & snorkeling. Turtles are seen swimming at the backyard. The mountains in this area are especially lush. My children grew up in this home, thus it means a lot to us. My wish is to extend the aloha to all of my guests who stay at Hale Makani Kai so that their vacation will be full.

Guestbook comments from the manager

The weather was great, the hike was wonderful. Best of all was your hospitality.

Thanks for everything. Mahalo.



Aloha, I had a really fun time. Wish to come back soon!! Best wishes to all of

you! Thank you. Loved it! From Shea
Feb 2006
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Hauula House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No additional guests. Any additional guest has to be approved by owner and charge will be $25 per night.
  • No partying, loud noises as we are in a residential area.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Air-conditioned bedrooms. Private entrance to home which is 20 steps upstairs. Tides and currents bring and take away sand. This can affect the beach at the back yard, meaning it can come and go. There is a beach one minute walking distance.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(99 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
7% Complete
2% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Oceanfront, Simple Rural Home
average rating of 4.818182 based on 100 reviews
5

Clean property. Great view of ocean. Spacious and comfy.

  • 5 of 5

4 adults, 2 teens and a toddler. Had enough room and beds for all of us. Very clean. Away from busy tourist side of island. Located on NW side of island. 40 mins from North Shore, 1 hour from Sandy Beach, 25 mins from Sunset beach, 30 mins from Waimea Falls, 15 mins from Poly Cultural Center, 15 mins from Kualoa Ranch, 1 hour from Waikiki and Peral Harbor. If you want space and don’t mind driving, I recommend staying here. Hot water was excellent in showers even after 6 people and washer and dryer was nice to have. Thanks Tish!

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice clean home. Owner was great!

  • 4 of 5

We would come again

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank the Ballesteros for having stayed with us. Hope to have you all come back again soon. Tish
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Honeymoon in Hawaii

  • 5 of 5

Loved staying here. Owners were very nice and helpful. Perfect location for exploring the island. Loved hanging out and eating breakfast on the deck every morning. Close to beaches for swimming/snorkeling. Close to good food. My favorite was the Food trucks. They are just down the road from the house. The only complaints I would have are. The bed wasnt the most comfortable and the a/c didn't work very well at night. But I would definitely stay here again. 6 of us stayed here and we had plenty of room.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Much aloha and mahalo for having stayed with us. Wish you all a Happy New Year! Tish
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Comfortable and great location!

  • 5 of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed our 5 day’s stay. Five of us were very comfortably accommodated in the 3 bedrooms! Glad there were two bathrooms. We had two cars and both could park easily by the side of the Gallery ( beautiful paintings by Lance) in front of the house We were able to quickly access both North, East and South of Oahu. Place had a lovely deck and also yard next to seashore . Did not go swimming although it was right at our doorsteps as waves were choppy due to strong winds and the water was right up to the steps, during our entire stay (winter in Oahu?). Kitchen was well equipped and we enjoyed eating breakfast in before heading out each day. We even made a crockpot stew one day - nice to come back to already cooked meal at end of day for dinner. Close by Tamura (local supermarket - better prices/they have beers and wines, and selections than Foodland). Was perfect for our visit and highly recommended away from the crowded touristic Waikiki.

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the Ingrams for having stayed with us. Mona, it was a pleasure to have met your brother and his family visiting all the way from Singapore. I am happy to know that you all had a good time! Aloha & mahalo from Tish
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous View!

  • 5 of 5

Loved listening to the ocean as we relaxed in our home away from home. It's a bit of a drive to Pearl Harbor and Waikiki, but not unmanageable. The home is located between the Polynesian Cultural Center and Kualoa Ranch, both of which we took advantage of.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We want to thank the Gibbons and their friends Guy & Phylis for having stayed with us. Much aloha and mahalo from Tish.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
El Cajon, California USA
5

Oceanfront. Great For Families. Great Value.

  • 5 of 5

We come to the North Shore every year. This time we brought extended family and chose this place because it had all the amenities we were looking for 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, air conditioning in the bedrooms, washer and dryer, ocean front all at an affordable price for the average family - PRICELESS!

We were four adults and had plenty of room to spread out. The house is spotless, the beds are comfy, linens soft and towels fluffy. It is well equipped and had all we needed to prepare our own meals. We barbequed and had many memorable meals on the deck overlooking the beautiful ocean view.

We especially appreciated the air conditioning in the bedrooms. October can still be warm and it was nice to sleep at a comfortable temperature. During the day we opened the doors and let the trade winds cool down the house, very relaxing, very Hawaiian.

The location of this rental is away from all the hustle and bustle of the normal touristy places. Here you can make yourself at home and pretend to be a “local”. Tamura’s Market and Longs Drugs is just a few minutes away and have everything you need to stock up for your stay. If you don’t feel like cooking, Papa Oles and Domino Pizza are in the same strip center as Tamura’s. Papa Oles’s has good traditional Hawaiian cuisine and Dominos has yummy sandwiches you can take out for a day at the beach. Tamura’s poke is some of the best on the Island. Pounders Restaurant at the Polynesian Center is excellent if you feel like sit down restaurant.

We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this rental to people looking for all the amenities it has to offer. That said potential renters should know this house is not close to Waikiki, Honolulu or most tourist attractions except the Polynesian Center. Depending on the time of day, plan on an hour drive to Honolulu or Waikiki. We enjoy driving around the island and visited different places of interest each day with no problem, Haleiwa, Dole Plantation, Aloha Stadium Swap meet, Waikiki, lolani Palace, Pearl Harbor and more. Regarding the traffic noise, it was not an issue for us. The air conditioning drowns out the noise at night.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Much mahalo to the Borkerts for having stayed with us. I am so glad that you all had a good stay and enjoyed your vacation in Hawaii. I hope you can come back to visit with your children next time. Aloha from Tish
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: recommended

Hauula was a small fishing village on the northeastern coast of Oahu, with most homes designed and used as beach houses. Today, it is known as a weekend hideaway for city folks as well as a local artists' community. Since we are located at the coastal area, all sorts of ocean activities such as swimming, diving, snorkeling, fishing and surfing make your stay filled with fun. You may also want to take a scenic drive up the North along Kamehameha Hwy. The Polynesian Cultural Center, Turtle Bay Resort and Golf Course, Sunset Beach, Waimea Beach, and historic Haleiwa Town are within 5 to 30 minutes drive. Grocery stores are 2-4 miles away. Hauula Loop Trail is a little known yet excellent hiking spot nearby.

Other Activities: hiking

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $185
Tax Rate 15.5%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties