Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Upscale house on the bay w/ Private Pool & Beautiful Sunset Views !!

Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 0 - 6 nights


About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 13-17)

COMPLETELY PRIVATE two acre Fort Morgan, AL estate on one of the most beautiful waterfront lots you'll experience on the Alabama Gulf Coast, including 200 year old oak trees covered in Spanish moss, your own private swimming pool, open pier and screened in room over the water for watching the sunsets over the bay at Fort Morgan and our colony of pelicans who roost all day on nearby posts.

The warmth of this 3500 square foot Mediterranean style property is achieved with the use of Spanish tile, Douglas fir custom cabinets and trim, soaring bead board ceilings, sky lights, nine sets of wood and glass french doors, plastered faux finished walls, and Italian kitchen (complete with granite, custom tile and copper sink) and high end designer furnishings and antiques. All of this on ONE level. NO STAIRS TO CLIMB! A real rarity in the Fort Morgan, Gulf Shores area. And easy access to the beautiful grounds because of the large number of French doors through out the house.

The master bedroom features floor to ceiling custom built bookshelves loaded with great books to enjoy, premium king bed, TV, DVD, and VCR and six floor to ceiling windows to enjoy the INCREDIBLE view. Master bath features a huge garden tub and Italian Garden wall mural. There are three other indoor bedrooms and one carriage house complete with two queen beds, air conditioner, TV, VCR, and satellite. There are 2 bathrooms within the house and one additional 'rustic' bathroom located in separate building just off the courtyard making it convenient to the main house and carriage house.

Enjoy the Fort Morgan sunsets from the 600 sq ft screened-in-porch which sits directly over the water- complete w living area, dining area, and bar. There's also a pier for swimming, fishing, crabbing and just sittin'!

The coastal grounds are beautifully landscaped with a lush lawn and tropical plants.

Additional 600 sq. ft. cottage on this Fort Morgan, AL property can also be rented. It sleeps 4 and boast queen bedroom, separate living area w/sofa sleeper, full kitchen, and bathroom w/shower. We call it 'Kay's Cottage'

This was the builder and designers primary home - and now, it's your opportunity to enjoy a million plus Fort Morgan estate for one perfect week!


Come Have a Ball at the Beach!

*Rates subject to change up until time of booking*

More Details

Beachball Properties
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2018

Why Beachball Properties chose Gulf Shores

We fell in love with Fort Morgan. Its seems like the last place left where condo development has not been allowed to take over. Driving down Fort Morgan, you get to experience lagoons and the Gulf of Mexico on the south side, and beautiful Mobile Bay on the Right. Some of the bay front homes have been owned by the same family for generations and the families have been able to retain their very large and private lots. We bought Wendy's Way 10 years ago. It was a simple fishing cottage on the most gorgeous lot, filled with 200 year old oak trees, coastal grasses and of course the bay.

What makes this house unique

Favorites while staying at Wendy's Way. Catching crabs and making my famous crab cakes. Playing cards with family on bay porch. Curling up on chaise lounger or hammock with good book and observing shrimp boats or large vessels in the distance. Watching the pelicans just 100 feet away who enjoy this place as much as I. The sunsets, the sunsets, the sunset. Diving into the swimming pool on a warm summer day. Walking the grounds to enjoy the vegetation and our magnificent trees! Cooking INCREDIBLE meals with our very large family in our VERY LARGE Mediterranean style kitchen. Curling up in front of our magnificent wood burning fireplace on a cool day. It has the best draw of any fireplace I've used and starting a fire is never a problem. Curling up in the comfy king bed in the master bedroom, trying to select which book to read next from the built in bookcases or staring out the 6 windows to the water beyond. Soaking in the HUGE garden tub in the master bath.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful time together with parts of our family. The house is so inviting and homey with all the trimmings. The kitchen is awesome- as are the pool, boathouse, den, fireplace, etc. We are already planning our next visit!

Merry Christmas, and Happy New Year!

God Bless You!

The Revetts, the Edwards, the Rochures and Talbots
Dec 2008
  • 1 of 6


Gulf Shores House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 3
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • King size beds (1) In Master bedroom, Queen size Beds (5) 3 Bedrooms with Queen beds, 1 room also has Twin Daybed. 2 Queen beds are in the Carriage House that comes with Wendy's Way. Kay's Cottage is a separate rental and will sleep 4 with Queen bed and Sofa Sleeper, Twin or Single Beds (1) There is 1 twin daybed in a room with a queen bed.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • swimming
Main House has 2 Living Areas, 4 TVs including 40' flat screen HDTV with VCRs & DVD players, 4 bedrooms inside, 1 carriage house w/ 2 queen beds located close to house. outdoor Bose speaker system, 8' privacy fences running lenth of property, large front porch, screened in porch for dining on back of house, Huge screened in deck over water, w/ living and dining areas and bar, pier, swim platform. Prices shown include main house and carriage house. OPTIONAL COTTAGE ON PROPERTY AVAILABLE FOR ADDITIONAL $800 or less/WEEK, 600 SQ FOOT COTTAGE HAS QUEEN BEDROOM, LIVING AREA W/ SOFA SLEEPER, FULL KITCHEN, BATHROOM W/SHOWER PLEASE NOTE- COTTAGE IS NOT THE SAME AS THE CARRIAGE HOUSE LISTED ABOVE BUT A TOTALLY SEPARATE LIVING QUARTER THAT IS OPTIONAL. SORRY BUT WE DO NOT ALLOW WEDDINGS, RECEPTIONS, LARGE FAMILY REUNIONS OR ANY TYPE OF GATHERING THAT INCLUDES MORE THAN THE MAXIMUM AMOUNT OF PEOPLE ALLOWED TO SLEEP ON THE PROPERTY.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
3% Complete
10% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Upscale house on the bay w/ Private Pool & Beautiful Sunset Views !!
average rating of 4.25 based on 34 reviews
Conyers, Georgia

A quiet retreat on the bay - 20 minute drive to the beach and restaurants

  • 3 of 5

The property is lovely with majestic oak trees adorning the property. The view of the bay right in your backyard is peaceful and relaxing, especially the sunset. The interior of the house is well decorated and spacious with a very large kitchen and 4 large bedrooms. There are two additional queen beds in a carriage house on the property. We loved sitting in the dock house and relaxing while watching the birds or watching the sunset. We rented this house instead of staying on the beach because the description said that there was a pool and hot tub. Unfortunately, the hot tub was not functional and the pool was a bit too cold to use. Beachball management did come out and cleaned the pool, but the pool really needs a renovation. The hot tub needs to be repaired, and management said they were waiting on a part. If I return to visit the Gulf Shores, I would consider staying closer to the beach and restaurants.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

lower your expectations

  • 2 of 5

The property is not "upscale". It is in need of maintenance and a thorough cleaning. The hot tub is not working and suspect it hasn't for some time. The pool was filthy, as were the screened in porch on the back of the house and the deck house. There were no chairs for the dining table or bar stools in the deck house. It is adequate for a large group or family gathering. This property is located between a vacant garbage filled lot and an RV park. There is a privacy fence. but it's an RV park and there is noise. The property management company was timely in their responses but blamed uncooperative owners. Regardless of fault, the property is not as advertised.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sad to hear that this house did not meet your expectations. This home changed ownership in the middle of March '18 and the new home owners have made a commitment to improve many of the issues you described. After you told us about the hot tub we had it serviced and found that it has officially run its course. We have shut down the hot tub and all marketing for it. We have also notified future guests of its demise. We hope that you will give this home a second chance next year after all the wonderful improvements are made.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Less Than I Expected, Really Disappointed!

  • 2 of 5

I delayed giving my review on my family's Thanksgiving on this property because I wanted to be fair and not write during the heat of my disappointment. Overall, we made the best of a less than satisfactory stay here. We checked in around 4:00 Tuesday and was not aware that the rental office would be closed the next day, Wednesday before Thanksgiving. Unable to reach anyone to voice concerns about malfunction of a door lock, no heat or hot water in carriage house, no hot water or shower in Master bedroom bath (leaving the seven of us with use to one shower with hot water), no towel rack in the one bathroom with hot water, instructions not to wash towels - they would be taken care of professionally, we had to purchase more towels, left voicemail when it was possible (but no resolve), outside washer & dryer (not so good during cold weather). The main house was very roomy, the kitchen and dining area were my favorite. Kitchen was well equipped & spacious, loved that. The dining area suited us well. Beautiful home (upkeep issues, however). First time dealing with a rental agency for my rental of a VRBO and didn't receive the same personable treatment I've received in the past as I had with owners. The owners alway responded quickly to any issues I encountered. Sad to say this didn't happen with the rental agency.

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Nawetta, We are very disappointed as well to see this review. We strive to be professional and take care of our guests concerns. During holidays we have emergency numbers listed but can find no voicemail on our main line or emergency line with your concerns. We’ve have guest stay at this home since your reservation and have not had any complaints about the hot water. We just checked in with them, to make sure these issues were not on going but they said everything was working properly. There is also a space heater kept in the main house in the closet for cold water in the carriage house. We’re sorry you didn’t have a more than adequate stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Wonderful week

  • 5 of 5

This is such a beautiful place! There was plenty of room for our big family. I adore the kitchen and spent way to much time cooking while on vacation because it was just so much fun! All of the beds were comfortable especially the master bed. We spent a lot of time crabbing off the properties pier and caught plenty for a great meal! The only thing I would change is the pier really needs rails for added safety. Our family will for sure be back to enjoy Wendy’s Way again!

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect for a large party

  • 4 of 5

We loved the use of Wendy's Way and Kay's Cottage for a multi-family, multi generational vacation. It was very private, well equipped (in fact the kitchen could have been lesser equipped). The screened porch on the water was a lovely get away from all the clamor we brought with us. The furnishings are comfortable, and the beds luxurious. Ample linens were left in the bathrooms for our use. If we had a complaint it would be that it needed a thorough cleaning and check out, as there were some cobwebs and light bulbs out (which we just lived with) and the kitchen could have stood some organizing. We wished the weather had been warm enough to use the lovely pool. But these things did not make us know that we'd use it away in the future. The owners were great to work with and seemed receptive to our suggestion for a deep cleaning and some organizing. Overall, I would not let this stop you from using this amazing property.

  • Submitted: May 12, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Demopolis, Al

Not what I expected

  • 3 of 5

Very beautiful home! But, it appeared that there was lack of cleaning and maintenance. Several things were broken, pool lights, door knobs, screen door, gate that leads to pier, a board on pier was not nailed at all, almost causing an accident. Lack of rails on pier, left a lot of concern with having small children. Bathroom in guesthouse is not finished, sheetrock left unpainted. One of the bedrooms did not have air circulating properly, as it was throughout the rest of the house. As seen in pictures, there is NO diving board. The laundry room was was very dirty. As side from the negative, outside screened in room is very nice and relaxing, it was by far my favorite!. As far as the house, it is beautiful, other than lack of cleanliness and few things broken. The shaded pool was amazing. This place is perfect for a large family! Railing on the pier was my biggest concern, and maintaining a safe environment for any and every individual!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 1


Fort Morgan Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Pines Pizzeria
Pizza Restaurant
Behind the Pines Restaurant - Fort Morgan 'Roundback
Seafood Restaurant
The Village Lawn at The Beach Club
Live Music Venue
The Village Hideaway
Coast Restaurant at The Beach Club
Sushi Restaurant
Sassy Bass Island Grill
Kiva Grill
Bar & Grill
Peninsula Restaurant & Grill
Bar & Grill
Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club
Sassy Bass Amazin' Grill
Oyster Bay
Bar & Grill
The Beach House Kitchen and Cocktails
American Restaurant
Janino's Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Safe Harbour Seafood
Seafood Restaurant
The Tin Top Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Oyster Bar Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant
Gulf Shores Golf Club
Bahama Bob's Beach Side Cafe
Seafood Restaurant
Flip Flop Deli Shop - Gulf Shores
Tacky Jacks Fort Morgan
Seafood Restaurant
Bill’s By the Beach
Seafood Restaurant
DeSoto's Seafood Kitchen
Seafood Restaurant
Sassy Bass Crazy Donuts
Donut Shop
Gulf Shores Public Beach
The Steamer Baked Oyster Bar
Seafood Restaurant
Yabba's Wacky Snack Shack
Ice Cream Shop
Gulf Shores Dog Park
The Flying Harpoon - Kitchen 11-1 Bar 11-2
Seafood Restaurant
JOHN GYRO mediterranean 2
Mediterranean Restaurant
Crico's Pizza & Subs
Pizza Restaurant
Gulf Shores Tennis Complex
Shrimp Basket Gulf Shores
Seafood Restaurant
Original Oyster House Seafood Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Snappy's Snowcones
Papa Rocco's
Pizza Restaurant
The Hangout
Seafood Restaurant
David L. Bodenhamer Center
Rita's Frozen Custard
Matt's Homemade Alabama Icecream
Ice Cream Shop
Cafe Beignets of Alabama
The Royal Oyster
Oyster Bar Restaurant
Chocolate corner
Chocolate Shop
Ribs & Reds
Barbecue Restaurant
Tequilas Mexican Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant
Hog Wild BBQ
Barbecue Restaurant
The Cove Bar and Grill
Bar & Grill
King Neptune's Seafood Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Duck's Coastal Kitchen
Breakfast Restaurant
Mikee's Seafood
Seafood Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Mobile Street

BEACHBALL PROPERTIES offers vacation accommodations including Gulf front beach homes, condominiums, and Gulf view homes with private pools within several unique beach communities. We are a small and locally owned company with intimate knowledge of our area, and we can provide professional, friendly advice to create the perfect beach vacation to fit your needs. Give us a call today at 1-251-968-8896 to get your next vacation started. We look forward to working with you!

Come Have a Ball at the Beach!

-Beachball Properties


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • .
  • US Dollars
  • .

You might like these similar properties