Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Spectacular view over San Diego County to Mt. Laguna, downtown, Catalina Island.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Private cabin in the trees built in the early 1900s has been upgraded but retains all its original charm. Watch eagles fly at eye level, clouds roll in, sunsets and moonsets in the ocean. Bobcats, wild turkeys, and deer regularly walk through the property. Decorated by owner with antiques and comfortable furniture, large view deck for grilling and sitting in the sun, sauna. Fully equipped kitchen, charcoal grill, tv, dvd player. Three bedrooms each with a queen or full bed, two couches could accommodate kids. Short drive from hiking, the Palomar Observatory, fishing at Lake Henshaw, entertainment at Harrah's Rincon Casino. Wonderful place to spend a snowy weekend, but 4 wheel drive and chains are needed on the few occasions when snow is deep.


Owner
Chuck Black
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About Chuck Black

Biologist in San Diego.

Chuck Black purchased this house in 1995

Why Chuck Black chose Palomar Mountain

Poor old cabin was falling down.... but with incredible view, nestled in big green trees. See the scrapbook of the 2+ years it took to bring back from near-death. Upgraded, but kept as much of the old feel and charm as possible.

What makes this house unique

Clouds and view are always changing. Santa Ana nights after storms, you can see the waves breaking on Catalina Island in the full moon. Moonless nights, you can see the Milky Way even with all the city lights below. Great place to take kids for their first snow.

Amenities

Palomar Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Short clawfoot tub by window, -watch the sunset!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master bedroom upstairs, cathedral ceiling, ceiling fan
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • One large couch in living room and extra fold out bed in utility room.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • museums
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
28% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spectacular view over San Diego County to Mt. Laguna, downtown, Catalina Island.
average rating of 4.64 based on 25 reviews
5

Can’t wait to go back!

  • 5 of 5

Chuck was a great offsite host! We did not lack for anything! The place was clean, well stocked and comfortable. The view was spectacular 24/7. Telescopes worked great and provided incredible opportunity to check out a full moon. The variety of early morning birds off the deck was lovely to experience. We drove to the Observatory and went to Julian but mostly enjoyed playing games, listening to music and eating! The cabin has great character and offers places to be close to enjoy each other as well as opportunities to sit quietly. We came to reflect, rejuvenate and welcome the new year with hope. It was the best place to do it!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cindy and family were the perfect guests- good communication, a true appreciation of the good qualities of the place, not afraid to ask questions, and able to make constructive suggestions without offending (working on that bumpy drive!). Folks that enjoy spending Xmas there so much were almost as nice as being able to be there with family/friends myself (someday self, I promise you). Looking forward to many future visits.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful views, very relaxing and cozy

  • 5 of 5

Palomar Mountain is super quiet, and relaxing. If you want to connect with your family, watch movies together & play board games, this is the perfect place. Bring lots of groceries and be ready to cook since the only restaurant close by is pretty pricy. We baked every day and loved it! The cabin is perfect and can really sleep 6 but the living area is so open you can add 2 or 3 more for sure on sleeping bags. We got a kick out of the 2nd bedroom downstairs but I won’t spoil it for you, just go and check it out! Don’t forget to enjoy the views st night!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You guys have the perfect philosophy and strategies for enjoying this place- please come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto, ON, Canada
4

Great place with peaceful mountain top view.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay up on the top of the mountain, Chuck is easy to communicate with. The house is in great location, a bit tough to get to if it recently snowed.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The website mentions that 4 wheel drive and chains are recommended when there's a good amount of snow, and these folks were told that repeatedly and given the chance to cancel last minute because of weather...so no excuse for complaining that the place is 'tough to get to' because of recent snow!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing view!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I very much enjoyed our stay here. The view was absolutely stunning! A great way to spend a nice relaxing weekend away from the stress of city life. Thank you for letting us experience the cabin life!

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very fine guests, please come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Very Good Value for Peaceful Surroundings

  • 5 of 5

This mountain cabin is roomy and sunlit, with lots of interesting artifacts and memorabilia to enjoy. Everything works, there are plenty of kitchen tools, pots and pans, and dishes/flatware, paper towels and tp, soap and other cleaning supplies, bath towels, sheets and blankets. It is a bit dusty (asthmatics, bring your puffer) but hugely pleasant to house a family get-together.

Plenty of room to sit and read, watch a DVD, or play games (we did it all). Your host will warn you that the wifi is spotty, and he is right, so come prepared with alternate activities and settle into the blissful quiet of Palomar Mountain. We loved watching the birds and squirrels from the deck, and enjoyed the fresh, cool air and evergreen trees.

Host Chuck Black is very personable and helpful, and the cabin reflects his personality and interests.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful Sunrise & Sunset

  • 4 of 5

My family stayed here for Thanksgiving this year. We enjoyed the deck with its beautiful views. The beds were comfortable and the home was accommodating. My only complaint would be the kitchen sink, inasmuch as I love antiques, the sink was a bit much for doing dishes for a party of 8 on a daily basis. Overall was an enjoyable experience

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yeah, that is an old 1929 dated sink, and there's no dishwasher- that's what kids are for? [haha]. It seems like quite a party - 5 large contractor bags, mostly full of beer cans and cigarette butts. The last time I had to haul this much trash, the folks felt guilty and left me a $50 tip. Lots of cigarette butts around the cabin in the dry leaves too- a MAJOR NO-NO! A nice walnut corner chair was left out in the rain- so I'm afraid I didn't give you as good a rating as you gave me.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Mother's Vegetarian

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $300

Cabin has a very private and secluded feel, but neighbors and insurance prohibit hosting parties for more than the booked number of persons without written consent of the owner.
This site does not always calculate rental fees correctly. Contact me if your quote doesn't seem right from listed rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties