Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Spectacular view over San Diego County to Mt. Laguna, downtown, Catalina Island.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Private cabin in the trees built in the early 1900s has been upgraded but retains all its original charm. Watch eagles fly at eye level, clouds roll in, sunsets and moonsets in the ocean. Bobcats, wild turkeys, and deer regularly walk through the property. Decorated by owner with antiques and comfortable furniture, large view deck for grilling and sitting in the sun, sauna. Fully equipped kitchen, charcoal grill, tv, dvd player. Three bedrooms each with a queen or full bed, two couches could accommodate kids. Short drive from hiking, the Palomar Observatory, fishing at Lake Henshaw, entertainment at Harrah's Rincon Casino. Wonderful place to spend a snowy weekend, but 4 wheel drive and chains are needed on the few occasions when snow is deep.


Owner
Chuck Black
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 11, 2017

About Chuck Black

Biologist in San Diego.

Chuck Black purchased this house in 1995

Why Chuck Black chose Palomar Mountain

Poor old cabin was falling down.... but with incredible view, nestled in big green trees. See the scrapbook of the 2+ years it took to bring back from near-death. Upgraded, but kept as much of the old feel and charm as possible.

What makes this house unique

Clouds and view are always changing. Santa Ana nights after storms, you can see the waves breaking on Catalina Island in the full moon. Moonless nights, you can see the Milky Way even with all the city lights below. Great place to take kids for their first snow.

Map

Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Mother's Vegetarian

Amenities

Palomar Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Short clawfoot tub by window, -watch the sunset!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master bedroom upstairs, cathedral ceiling, ceiling fan
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • One large couch in living room and extra fold out bed in utility room.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • museums
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

65% Complete
30% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spectacular view over San Diego County to Mt. Laguna, downtown, Catalina Island.
average rating of 4.6 based on 20 reviews
5

Superb cabin on a beautiful mountain.

  • 5 of 5

I stayed up at this great cabin for a week in summer and it was the highlight of my eight week holiday in California from Australia. I like homes that have a sense of history and character and this place had both plus a special charm factor. The location was super with privacy, quietude and good views. It was an excellent spot for star gazing with decks wrapping around three sides. I was up there during a couple of days of summer heat wave but at about 5000 feet elevation it was maybe 10F cooler then the valley below and downstairs stayed really cool. Going down the steps was like walking into air conditioning due to excellent passive cooling from the floor circulated by ceiling fans combined with no direct hot sun coming in despite being well lit by all the windows. The nights cooled off enough later to use the sauna which is great. All three bedrooms had comfy beds and newish clean sheets and towels.

Chuck was easy to book with communicating with quick and pleasant messages.

On the critical side there was a shortage of wild life for an Aussie with no snakes, no mountain lions, no bears and no big foots to be found anywhere around the cabin or on the numerous forest hikes I did around Palomar Mountain The cabin may not be the best spot for someone with severe OCD and a fetish for sterile modern architecture and minimalist decor but someone like that surely wouldnt book into a charming wooden mountain cabin anyway.

Overall this was a five star stay for me and I left rejuvenated in body, mind and spirit.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Hugh. I'll see what I can do about lions and tigers and bears (oh my!) next time. Chuck
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
4

Beautiful Sunrise & Sunset

  • 4 of 5

My family stayed here for Thanksgiving this year. We enjoyed the deck with its beautiful views. The beds were comfortable and the home was accommodating. My only complaint would be the kitchen sink, inasmuch as I love antiques, the sink was a bit much for doing dishes for a party of 8 on a daily basis. Overall was an enjoyable experience

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yeah, that is an old 1929 dated sink, and there's no dishwasher- that's what kids are for? [haha]. It seems like quite a party - 5 large contractor bags, mostly full of beer cans and cigarette butts. The last time I had to haul this much trash, the folks felt guilty and left me a $50 tip. Lots of cigarette butts around the cabin in the dry leaves too- a MAJOR NO-NO! A nice walnut corner chair was left out in the rain- so I'm afraid I didn't give you as good a rating as you gave me.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Breathtaking views!

  • 4 of 5

​The views from up there are just unbelievable! Chuck was very responsive and ​hospitable. We went up there for a women's retreat, and loved sitting around that big fireplace. This place is rustic, but it had everything we needed. I will say that it could use a good deep spring cleaning. It was very dusty, but maybe he's done a deep cleaning since we've been there.

Also, the dirt road isn't great to get up there. The last 100 yards could use grading, and our tires spun out a lot trying to make it up there. If there is snow on the ground, you would likely need chains.

I hope this was helpful!

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yep, if there is snow, you will need a 4 wheel drive and chains, or possibly park near the road and walk 400 yards or so. Dusty? It passes the white glove test every time I leave. It is a cabin on the top of a windy mountain, after all. I can't understand why you need to rearrange the furniture yet again (see earlier review), and why you left so much good food in the fridge. I scarfed down the arugula, but what's vegan split pea soup without a hambone? And those nice personal items you left, that I offered to send back free? No response? Out with the trash now, I'm afraid.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Views. Cozy cabin.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our weekend stay the cabin has tremendous views and it was a surprise to see that there were telescopes provided that was a very big plus. The only complaint would be that the cabin could have been a little cleaner. Many small spider webs but overall a great experience.

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh, I should have warned you that I encourage the spiders- they don't take up much space, and they catch the odd fly that gets in when the doors are open. They have pleasant songs in the morning too, if you listen very very very closely. Arachnophobes beware!!! Arachniphiles, rejoice!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United States
5

Gorgeous views - peaceful and quiet retreat

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay in this rustic mountain cabin! There are incredible views from the deck and it was great to be able to bring our dogs and have a fully fenced deck for them to enjoy the outdoors with us. The cabin itself is cozy and rustic with comfortable beds and seating. We enjoyed local hikes on the Pacific Crest Trail as well as touring the Palomar Hale Observatory.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks much folks, for the nice review and for the 'understanding' circumstances beyond my control. Hope to see you back sometime. Chuck
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Stunning

  • 5 of 5

My family and I spent an amazing weekend at this wonderful property. The views are spectacular, as advertised. The air up on the mountain is clean and quiet. The accommodations were exactly what we were looking for in a cabin stay. My two children loved looking at the variety of birds from the deck. Chuck was very friendly and welcoming to communicate with. My next trip to San Diego will include another trip to this spot!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Don. I feel there's no better compliment than guests who look forward to a return. Thanks for leaving the place in such good shape.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $300

Cabin has a very private and secluded feel, but neighbors and insurance prohibit hosting parties for more than the booked number of persons without written consent of the owner.
This site does not always calculate rental fees correctly. Contact me if your quote doesn't seem right from listed rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties