Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Updated home with 24 hr security in private Villa. Located near beach & pools

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,152 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 3 full baths, sleeps 6 adults

Located inside the plush Rock Garden community of Klaeng, in the Rayong Province of Thailand, this remodeled home is only minutes away from swimming pools, beaches that are nearly empty on weekdays and a large selection of restaurants. If you are looking for a serene atmosphere far from the bar scene and disco's that Thailand is known for, look no further.

Only 5 minutes away by motorbike or car is Laem Mae Phim, a small beach town known historically as a weekend getaway for Thai's looking for a budget escape. Laem Mae Phim beach is 4km long and boasts several restaurants (such as Italian, American, and European cuisine) overlooking the beach. There are also dive shops, souvenir shops, massage and facial amenities, a nearby fishing park, jet ski's, banana boat rides, food vendors, a gym with sauna and motorbike rentals. If you are looking for a casual place to hang out and have a beer, you will find a few of these establishments as well.

The Property: Our home was remodeled in April 2010 with all new air conditioning units, new ceramic floors, a remodeled kitchen with gas stove and new cabinets, new electrical wiring (all grounded) making it safe for your loved ones, water filter system, pump and tank, expanded master bedroom and bathroom, new flat screen TV's and furniture throughout and an added outside patio area to enjoy outdoor entertainment.

Rock Garden Beach community consists of over 200 homes, some privately owned and some used as guesthouses for rent through Rock Garden. Being within the grounds of Rock Garden Resort, privately owned homes such as this one, benefit from 24 hour gated security, 2 swimming pools (one with a children's slide), a basketball court and lush manicured grounds with trails for walking or jogging. Just outside the grounds is a new bike path for anyone interested in exercise or site seeing. You can also rent bicycles from Rock Garden at a mere 20 baht/day.

Also, enjoy free wifi, DVD players, Apple TV (if you have iTunes and want to download movies to play on the TV), and xBox with limited games.

Surroundings: Rock Garden Resort is only 3 km to Laem Mae Phim Beach and only 15km east of Ban Phe where you can take a 20 minute ferry to the local island of Koh Samet. There are also nearby waterfalls, caves and a fishing park for your enjoyment. If you like to golf, there are several locations in Rayong about 45 minutes away by car.

Rock Garden does not, however, have on site grocery stores or motorbike rentals. These amenities can be found 3km away at nearby Laem Mae Phim beach.

Please Google™ Laem Mae Phim and Ban Phe for more information on local activities and a map of the area.

*This property is in a gated community with over 200+ houses. Many of these houses are vacant due to non-sale or seasonal owners. This particular property does not currently have live-in neighbors on any side of this address. Across the street is a full-time house owner and more neighbors can be seen within a 1 block radius.

More Details

Amenities

Kram House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2152 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 12:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No Smoking
  • Pay electric bill to Property Managers before departing
  • Notify Property managers of your estimated departure time. They must come and check you out and collect electric payment.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Printer
  • Scanner
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Vacuum System
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Water Tank
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Double Sink
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Wet/dry bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Wet/dry bathroom
  • All remodeled in 2011 complete with rainshower shower heads, new sinks, new toilets, new ceramic tile.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
  • Expanded Master bedroom with enough space to place a yoga mat on the floor and stretch or use one of the many exercise video's to get a workout in. Or just enjoy the space! This room also has a small couch which transforms into an extra single bed if needed for children or a small adult. All bedrooms also have a separate exit/entrance for privacy. Each bedroom has a full bathroom and air con.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Porch Furniture
  • Shed
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Yard
  • 1 bicycles
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Renters must provide their own transportation to Rock Garden. Buses leave from Suvarnabhumi Airport to Klaeng which is 15 minutes by car to Rock Garden or buses go to Rayong and transfer to Laem Mae Phim which is 5 minute by car to Rock Garden. Renting a car at the airport is highly recommended, especially in the wet months or a taxi can be taken to Rock Garden for about 3000 baht or $100 USD. It is 2 hours to Rock Garden from Bangkok Int'l Airport. Buying bottled water is recommended. There is a hot/cold water dispenser with 3 large bottles. Bottles will be filled prior to arival but refills are up to the renters to handle. Free Wi-Fi *Utilities must be paid in cash directly to Rental Manager Anna &/or Mark prior to your departure based on meter reading. This ensures that each renter is responsible for use of air conditioning units and electricty for lights, etc. The more wasteful you are...the more you pay. **Housekeeping fee is for the clean-up after your departure.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Updated home with 24 hr security in private Villa. Located near beach & pools
average rating of 4.5 based on 9 reviews
3

Not as expected

  • 3 of 5

The house is located in a 200+ house subdivision located outside of the town of Mae Phim. While the house is updated and comfortable, we were totally unprepared for the isolation and the number of abandoned properties is kind of creepy - we barely saw a person in a week. You absolutely NEED transportation to rent this place. There is NO access to stores so no food in house, for example, when we arrived. The person that met us arranged a rental of a scooter and sidecar which we rented for the whole week we stayed at the house. We moved into Mae Phim for our second week so we could access restaurants, night life and ...people.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry that you were unhappy with your accommodations. I try very hard to be as honest as possible about my listing. I posted the distance to the nearest store, restaurant, beach, town, etc... This home is in a gated community and many of those homes are owned by vacation rental owners who aren't occupying their residence for a good part of the year. Some owners have simply let their homes go and unfortunately their properties look abandoned. I personally like the quiet of not having neighbors right on top of me but some people like the convenience of having everything within walking distance. My house is not that close to amenities but it offers solitude, quiet, a large house for much less money which does have everything you would need such as TV's, a full kitchen, laundry indoors, private bedrooms each with their own bathrooms, wifi, etc. The house is clean, the grounds are taken care of and I have neighbors nearby to assist with any needs. What you won't get is a store within a short walking distance so yes, I am afraid you will need transportation which was also arranged for you if you ask...but everything in town is only 3km away. In the future, please help yourself from being disappointed and ask more questions if you are unsure of anything. I freely advise people to arrange transportation when they book so they are not caught off-guard. I am not trying to hide anything from anyone.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoy our 10 days in your lovely house. Wonderfull stay!

We have allready recommended it to several friends.

Most gratefull that it was so equipment.

We usede your information folder a lot.

Would love to stay at your house again sometime.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay! You are more than welcome to come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great week in a quiet location

  • 4 of 5

We had a great week staying in Klaeng.

It's very quiet, very beautiful and there's heaps to do. A week wasn't enough.

The property was ideal for our needs - well equipped kitchen, good size rooms, outside space, lots of clean towels and bedding and space to park on the driveway. Electric is extra and you have to pay before you leave so check out is essential.

I don't think anyone had been there anytime recently so it was all a bit dusty but the bathrooms and kitchen were clean. There's no gate on the property so dogs walk in and out of the garden, but none are intimidating by our experience.

The moo baan's very quiet with quite a lot of empty houses and some abandoned. There was minimal occupancy in the houses near us. The immediate houses were completely empty, great if you like quiet but looked messy.

We would definitely visit the area again.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Definitely a keeper

  • 5 of 5

I had a repeat vacation to Thailand and ended up renting this lovely home twice in two months.

The second time I returned with an additional four people for a total of six adults. The house accommodated us very well. Comfortable beds, plenty of room, and a well equipped kitchen allowed us to enjoy our stay in the home as well as the local town and community. Just as before I am looking forward to coming to the Rock Garden and this home...there really isn't a need to look anywhere else.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you continue to enjoy the house and Rock Garden community! Please keep returning and bringing more friends! I'm glad you appreciate all that it has to offer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolute gem

  • 5 of 5

Finding this home and the area has been like discovering a gem.

The house is roomy, modern, with granite and tile throughout. Its located in an exclusive development that is well maintained with a pool, trails, beach front...great place to exercise, meditate, chill, whatever you want. I slept better there than at home! It is also roomy enough for large groups if desired.

Mae Phim beach is just a few minutes scooter ride away. A beautiful beach with restaurants, shops and friendly people.

Doing business with Homeaway and the management staff was smooth and always appropriate.

I'm thinking of when I can book the place again as I type.

Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review Jim. I am so glad you saw and appreciated so many things about the area that I find so wonderful and that make the area so nice to visit. I do my best to make the house comfortable and filled with everything one can think of for a pleasant vacation. I'm so happy it suited your needs. Please tell your friends and come back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful getaway!!

  • 5 of 5

This house was just perfect for our family! We had a great time and thank you for allowing us to enjoy your home. The beds were super comfortable and we just loved our stay so much we didn't want it to end! We HIGHLY recommend this rental property....

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2014
  • Stayed: March 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing our house and we are so glad you liked it. Please come again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Owner

Brie Mathews, Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 5, 2018

About Brie Mathews, Owner

I am pictured here with my brother at a local pier near my Thailand home. I work as a firefighter in America, in a major US city. When I am not working fighting fires, I like to retreat to my vacation home in Thailand to de-stress with my partner, family and friends.

Brie Mathews, Owner purchased this house in 2009

Why Brie Mathews, Owner chose Kram

Thailand is a wonderful place to live/visit. The people are friendly, the food is fantastic, the culture is interesting and the price is right! This particular area is void of go-go bars and tourism. It's a 'locals' hang-out and the people are incredibly welcoming to visitors. There are plenty of English speaking people around though, so not to worry. This location is a nice hidden gem.

What makes this house unique

Close proximity to beaches and not too far from the airport. 2 hours to paradise. It is not overwrought with tourists. There are really good people here. It is a safe, pleasant community with lots to do.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We rented the villa Brie Mathews for two weeks in December 2012. We wanted the comfort of three bedrooms, each with its own bathroom to accommodate my husband's family. Even at 6 or 7 people, each in its freedom and independence. We also chose the villa for its style and decoration, illustrations loyal to the site home away: layout, materials, equipment meet the expectations of Western travelers. The house is tastefully furnished and we realize that the owner has an eye for detail. Everything is well thought out. It is a house that lives and has everything you need: equipment and utensils, tools, consumables ... You feel immediately as well as at home. Under the coffee table, magazines and local tourist a record made by the owner provide all necessary information & guidance about the house, the site of Rock Garden, shops and activities around ... The house is tastefully furnished and we realize that the owner has an eye for detail. Everything is well thought out. It is a house that lives & has everything you need: equipment & utensils, tools, consumables ... You feel immediately as well as at home. The house has a home theater with a connector provided to connect its own sources. We have wifi available during the fortnight operation and seamless flow. The three bedrooms are independent and communicate with the living center. This provision is that the room does not have a lot of light. This is the only condition that we can [?] about the villa The patio adjoining the kitchen table is nice and can accommodate up to 8 people. The surroundings of the house are regularly maintained and the whole area. Two neighboring houses are unoccupied. Disconcerting at first, but eventually an additional guarantee of peace. The house is part of a private and secure area, crossed by canals leading to the sea The site is beautiful despite differences between the houses newly renovated (like the one we rented) and other renovation. Two swimming pools are available in the area, perfect for adults & children. Good to know it is easy but essential to hire a means of transport, motorbike or drive to the shops, restaurants and the beach, a few kilometers away. To summarize, a destination and a home where we want to return.
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 1

Map

Rayong Surf School
Laem Mae Phim Beach
Ban Phe
Nearest Airport
110 Miles
Suvarnabhumi, Bangkok
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Laem Mae Phim
Nearest Ferry
23 Miles
Ban Phe
Nearest Golf
28 Miles
Wangjuntr Golf Park, Rayong
Nearest Train
65 Miles
Pattaya
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
Klaeng
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Laem Mae Phim
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Laem Mae Phim Beach
Car: recommended

This house is located inside the ROCK GARDEN BEACH Resort.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Damage Deposit $100

*Utilities (electric for air conditioners and lights) are paid on site to the rental managers based on meter usage. Damage deposits are not required up front but should damage occur payment will be made on site to the property managers based on damage which has occurred.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties