Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sunrise Lookout ~ Peaceful Mountain Top Home With Amazing Views ~

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 6

Sunrise Lookout is a truly unique mountain top vacation rental in the heart of Pisgah National Forest and the Blue Ridge Mountains. Come enjoy the peace of the cabin and amazing views of the Spring Creek area.

Our home is private, yet accessible, and situated atop a mountain on 4 acres. We modeled our home after the Duckett Top fire lookout tower, which is visible across the Spring Creek valley. Inside, you will find a simple, modern design with a bright living area, 2 bedrooms (plus a futon in the living area), and lots of windows to enjoy the views. The cabin is stocked with games (for adults and children) and books and toys for kids. There is cozy in-floor radiant heat (and A/C for those rare days when it is needed) to keep you comfortable. We have wireless broadband internet and a WiFi radio (listen to stations and podcasts from around the world).

Outside, help yourself to seasonal offerings in our gardens...blueberries, raspberries (golden and red!), blackberries, and a variety of vegetables and herbs. Enjoy the views and peace on the hammock chairs, the porch swing, or the outdoor dining set. There is a charcoal grill for cooking and a fire pit (wood supplied) for relaxing. The hot tub is also a favorite feature -- we clean and refill the hot tub for each set of guests. The hot tub is located on the deck which surrounds the second floor.

Your four legged friends are welcome at Sunrise Lookout. You may also encounter wildlife during your stay as we share the mountains with bears, bobcats, turkeys, coyotes, and other animals.

We are located about 45 minutes from Asheville and 20 minutes from Hot Springs in the friendly and scenic community of Spring Creek. We are 7 miles from Max Patch (and the Appalachian Trail) and the same distance from Harmon Den Recreation Area. You can fly fish in the area creeks or fish in the pond at Max Patch. Rafting/tubing are available in Hot Springs, and there are local opportunities for horse back riding and llama trekking. Also, ask us for directions to the secret swimming hole when you book!

Feel free to contact us with any questions about our home or the area.

More Details

Karen Ostergaard
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, danish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018


Hot Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Living Area - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Books for Kids
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Toys
  • Binoculars
  • Child's Swing
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(78 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Sunrise Lookout ~ Peaceful Mountain Top Home With Amazing Views ~
average rating of 4.9102564 based on 78 reviews

Amazing get away- you'll be a repeat vacationer

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I LOVE this place. The cabin itself is very nice. It feels very new and is always very clean. We love the views, and we particularly love the solitude and peace and quiet. Yet, it is a short-ish drive to Hot Springs if we want to go out to dinner. The main reason we first stayed here is because it is pet friendly. It is so hard to find a truly nice place to stay with your pets, and this is one of them. We have stayed here many times over the years, and will continue to do so. We have visited during all seasons, and love visiting any time of the year. The hot tub is nice- I only wish that the temperature could be made warmer, it always feels on the lukewarm (vs. hot) end to my husband and I, but that is my only complaint. The owners are very fast with communication, which I appreciate.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone. You will love it.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: November 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you have enjoyed your visits to Sunrise Lookout! Thanks for the note about the hot tub. We will increase the temperature and hope that you find it more comfortable next time.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Such a lovely place

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time staying in this cabin. The mountain view from the deck was fabulous and our stay was very peaceful and relaxing.

Thanks, Scott, Jamie and Woodstock

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying here. The view is excellent, and the temperature was just right yo enjoy the porch. The photos here really don't do the awesome view justice. We also enjoyed the sound system in the upstairs area, and dancing to Gordon Lightfoot while soaking up that wonderful scenery.

The only minor issue we had was getting stuck trying to get up the drive. We have a rather low to the ground front wheel drive SUV, and it got stuck with both front wheels burning rubber. I got it out, but it took a try or two to figure out how to cut the one sharp turn in the drive to avoid getting stuck.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing and Beautiful View

  • 5 of 5

My girlfriend and I visited the Sunrise Lookout for our anniversary. It was everything that we could have asked for. There were no other distractions in the area so it was truly peace and quiet. I especially enjoyed being able to easily see the stars on a clear night. The view out the front of the house into the mountains is breathtaking and relaxing, even when it was raining. The house had everything that we could have needed to enjoy ourselves, especially the hot tub which was perfect for the chilly nights. I would definitely recommend this house for anyone looking to get away from the noise and lights of the city.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This place is so cool

  • 5 of 5

This place is the best. Wrap around porch, amazing view, no neighbors within earshot, great sound system for music (there's a sub-woofer hidden in the cabinets!), hot-tub in the back with an outdoor speaker hooked in to the indoor system, well-stocked kitchen (in terms of pots and pans and utensils), internet that works, tons of space for activities, very nice fire pit. Went up for a few nights for my wife's birthday expecting to spend time in Hot Springs and explore Max Patch. We didn't even make it into town, it was too nice to leave. If you stay here, try to make a point to catch the early morning sun from the front porch, it's beautiful watching the fog burn off of the mountains as the sun gets higher. If I could give one nit-picky complaint its that I was expecting a drip coffee maker but what they have is a very tiny (10oz) french-press and a slightly larger percolator kettle, so if you don't know how to use those you better read up or bring your own. Also be informed that there is no TV - which I gathered from the property description but I could see some people missing that detail. Not that we missed having a TV for the weekend. Can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Near Lake Erie

Private Mountain Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

You can feel your stress blow away with the breeze at this private cabin. The mountain view was better than expected! We walked up the steps and stopped in our tracks; it was gorgeous. The furniture has been upgraded since the pictures. It's now a matching upholstered pull-out sofa and chair; comfortable and attractive. The only 'neighbors' we heard were a distant rooster, donkey and cows! Occasionally, some brief baying from dogs. Nothing close enough to be annoying. My dogs enjoyed running the property, while we enjoyed the firepit and watching the sun set. Small hot tub to warm your bones! Really close to Max Patch, if you don't get lost! We did! Our trip had 2 days of rain and the first snow, but we enjoyed one of the provided puzzles, while watching the weather change out the many windows! We didn't miss a TV and didn't feel cheated by the weather! The back windows bring the hillside, including rhododendrons, in at ground level. The other 3 walls have different mountain views. Gorgeous. Our stay was the last week of October and the leaves were still in color. The kitchen is well organized space, but really only enough for one person to work. However, the cook has a great view. We had everything we needed. Things to consider: We were up and down the steps a lot. Rt. 209 is known as The Rattler, consider that if you're planning to go to Hot Springs or towards I-40 multiple times. It is an adventure of slaloms! The bedrooms have good sized closets, but we struggled for places to put our stuff. Some hooks would have helped. We had to put our dog's soft sided xpen half in the closet/half in the walkway around the bed, tho there was plenty of floor space upstairs. We had a small invasion of lady bugs trying to come in before winter. But we had access to the vac and sucked them up several times a day. Carry a flashlight and reading glasses in the car to open the combination lock at the gate. SMALL things and well worth the solitude and beauty. We enjoyed the clever design elements; like the airline wire to keep your view open and great photography by the owner decorating the cabin. We appreciated paved roads to the cabin driveway and the little general store just 2 miles away. Karen was always quick to respond, open and friendly. THANK YOU for sharing your cabin and allowing our dogs!!

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
44 Miles
Asheville Regional Airport
Nearest Restaurant
3.2 Miles
Spring Creek Cafe
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Cataloochee Ski Area
Car: necessary

Sunrise Lookout is situated atop a mountain 45 minutes northwest of Asheville and 20 minutes south of Hot Springs in the community of Spring Creek.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.