Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Walk to Good Harbor Beach

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 650 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1 BR lower apt. in a 2-family home, 1/2 mile to Good Harbor Beach

This is a lovely one bedroom apt. that sleeps 4 comfortably. The bedroom has a queen size bed while the living room has sleeping for 2 more. It has a full kitchen, a nice back deck w/ bbq grill and picnic table for outside dining. The yard has a volleyball/bad mitten net and outside shower to rinse off after the beach. We have a few beach chairs for use at the beach and some beach toys as well. It is an easy walk to the beach but if you have a lot of gear, someone could drop off the family and then walk down to meet up at the beach. We do also have an older baby jogger available to use. It is in good working condition, just a little older model.


Owner
Carol Allen
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

About Carol Allen

We both grew up in NY state and visited this area after my sister and her husband moved here, we loved the beautiful scenery of the area and decided to move here to be near family.

Carol Allen purchased this apartment in 1999

Why Carol Allen chose North of Boston & Greater Merrimack Valley

We chose this property because of the location. It is only 1/2 mile to Good Harbor Beach, we can go out the door and have a beautiful walk/jog, bike ride, fish,swim, etc. without having to get in the car.

Map

Zeke's Place
Eastern Point Lighthouse
Rocky Neck
Sailor Stan's
"great location and food."
Franklin Cafe Cape Ann
"excellent food!"
Cape Ann Coffees
Stage Fort Park
Good Harbor Beach
Niles Beach
Alexandra's Bread
Common Crow Natural Market
Sugar Magnolias
The Studio Resaurant
Rudder Restaurant
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Boston, Logan Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
several
Nearest Train
1.5 Miles
Train Station, Gloucester
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Route 128
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
several
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Good Harbor
Car: recommended

The location is terrific, walk/jog the back shore, dine out at a variety of eating establishments, visit Rocky Neck Art Colony for local art as well as entertainment, and as mentioned previously, Good Harbor Beach is 1/2 mile away. There are several restaurants in Rocky Neck which offer live music and outside dining just over a mile from the house. There is a local farmers market and band concert one night a week, usually Thursdays at Stage Fort Park about 2 miles from house. Whale watch tours, sailboat charters, etc. located within a mile. There are also several other beaches in Gloucester, within a short drive.(Wingersheek, Niles Beach, Long Beach, etc) Our neighboring town of Rockport, MA is only 5 miles away with many shops, galleries and restaurants as well. Explore the entire North Shore and it's many quaint towns and villages such as, Marblehead, Salem, Manchester, Beverly, all an hour or less away with train stops in all of them.

For lobster lover's you can also buy fresh lobster right off the boat, down the hill from the house at Captain Joe's Lobster.

Amenities

Gloucester Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , outdoor shower , outside shower is best for rinsing off/not fully enclosed
  • The bath has ceramic tile flooring and a washer/dryer in bath.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • seperate bedroom located off living room
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This rental is great for couple or two, or a small family that wants to get away and enjoy what the area has to offer without breaking the budget. It is clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The rate is much better than a hotel room with more than double the space. We have a couple beach chairs for use at the beach. It is a family neighborhood so please be considerate after 10 pm. I have a 15 yr old niece that is sometimes available to babysit and has taken a babysitting course,but will need some notice to ensure availability.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Walk to Good Harbor Beach
average rating of 4.6 based on 15 reviews
Longueuil
5

It's always marvelous!

  • 5 of 5

It's always wouderful to be at your place! The apartement is just perfect for our family!

Walking to the beach, 5 minutes from everything, the terrasse and the bbq... the children still talk about Charlie's visits!

Thanks for everything!

See you next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is so nice seeing you guys every summer. So glad you had another great week! I really like it when families come back and are able to make nice memories here. Glad Charlie is able to be part of them. He loves to visit and entertain. Take care and see ya next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Saint-Jean-sur-richelieu, qc, canada
5

Awesome Vacation

  • 5 of 5

It was a magnific vacation in Gloucester. Very Quiet place nice peoples.

We eat a lot of lobster, clams,

The studio was very clean and operationnal. We only miss television to get news of the world and the weather

It was a pleasure!

JC Vairy

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We enjoyed our stay at Carol's bright and and sunny place.

  • 4 of 5

It was just as described. It had all that we needed for beach excursions and easy dinners outside. The kids loved playing in the back yard and on the patio.

We'd happily come back here the next time we're in Gloucester. Carol even kindly mailed us a toy that we had left behind. Thank you for the lovely visit.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Amazing place

  • 4 of 5

This is my third time in Carol ' s property to show how much I love her house so cozy and quiet surrounded by nature, is a great pleasure coming back every year. Carol is a very friendly owner and I Like so much her nice and sweet dog Charlie...Big hug!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
2

Just not quite.......

  • 2 of 5

The accommodations were pleasant enough, just not quite what we expected. We had visited the place before we committed, but just didn't realize the extent of the shortcomings.

Only the bedroom is air-conditioned, which really limits your use of the other rooms on a warm evening or afternoon. The window A/C in the bedroom just barely works. It sits right next to your head in the bed, so you may need to wear a hat. The worst part is the bed itself - horrible! The mattress is years past it's better days, and has a serious, and very uncomfortable, pit in the middle. I don't understand why no one else has commented on this. There is no cable, and the TV is hooked up to a mismatched antennae. The TV is really useless without it. The

The kitchen is really good, and the grill and patio are nice features. All in all, it's just not quite the place it could be.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry that you didn't get what you expected even though you were one of the few people to actually see the apt. prior to bookking and the ad clearly states there is no cable. I also recall our discussion while you were here looking into renting and telling you there were limited channels. I believe it was quite clear. Many people seem to be happy to connect to W-fi and watch movies on their laptops if they want, but in general I believe most seem happy to be a bit less connected and able to spend family time together and usually have full days out and about and don't even miss the tv. As for the bed it is about 5 years old. I did recently discover that there was a screw missing in the center bar of the bed frame so the support was messed up, and we fixed that. Unfortunately it wasn't mentioned while you were here so we didn't realize it at the time. It was a quick fix. As for A/C , it has been an unusually hot, humid summer so more A/C units would have been nice. After this hot, hot, summer experience we do hope to ad another unit for the living area but need to replace one of the existing awning window's with a casement window so it will take a window unit. In the past we have had the A/C unit in the other window in the bedroom but I thought it would be better in the window facing the street so on the nights it isn't needed the window to the side by the yard could be open and allow for more privacy when open. Also, the a/c in the bedroom seems to be working fine and if it barley worked I wouldn't think one would need a hat. I see some other tenants turned the vents so that it wasn't blowing directly on them. I will try to keep this in mind for next season though. Again, I am sorry if you don't feel like you got what you expected and that this summer was so hot and humid. I'd be happy to have you back sometime in the Fall or Spring to enjoy a long weekend when it's not so hot, free of charge, since you only live 30 minutes from here. Take care.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Great property

  • 5 of 5

This was our 2nd time staying at this property and it was perfect for our needs. We have 2 small children and our son loved playing on the back deck. Good Harbor Beach is close enough to drop everyone off and walk down so you don't have to worry about parking. The other area beaches we visited were great too. There are restaurants, grocery stores, and fresh seafood markets close to the apartment. The kitchen has everything you need to cook meals in the apartment. We made dinner all but one night while we were visiting. If you're looking to stay in Gloucester with a small family, this is a perfect apartment to rent.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $150
Damage Deposit $250

Damage deposit will be refunded within 2 weeks of departure.Although this has never been an issue, if there is excessive cleaning to be done at the end of your stay, we will deduct a cleaning fee from the damage deposit.
After speaking with you, if we allow a pet, there will be a Pet fee assessed and it is a Non-refundable fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.