Entire home

Ocean Oasis | Historic Oceanfront Home!

Photo gallery for Ocean Oasis | Historic Oceanfront Home!

Ocean Oasis - Historic Oceanfront Tybee Cottage
A wooden staircase with white railings leading to a covered porch area.
A room with a window seat featuring a view of a lush garden and a distant building.
A spacious room with large windows, wicker furniture, and a ceiling fan.
A dining area with a round table, four chairs, a chandelier, and wall art including fish and a landscape painting.

Reviews

8.4 out of 10
Very good

Highlights

  • Arcade/game room
    A rare find - fun for all ages with on-site arcade/game room.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Tybee Island Beach

Popular amenities

  • Barbecue grill
  • Arcade/game room
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Washing machine
  • Internet

Explore the area

View in a map
Tybee Island, GA
  • Place, Tybee Island Beach
    ‪1 min walk‬
  • Place, Mid Beach
    ‪9 min walk‬
  • Place, Tybee Island Fishing Pier and Pavilion
    ‪11 min walk‬
  • Airport, Savannah, GA (SAV-Savannah - Hilton Head Intl.)
    ‪61 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

6 bedrooms (sleeps 13)

Bedroom 1

1 King Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 3

2 Single Beds

Bedroom 4

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 5

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 6

2 Single Beds

4 bathrooms, 1 half bathroom

Bathroom 1

Bathroom 2

Bathroom 3

Bathroom 4

Bathroom 5

Spaces

Porch or lanai
Kitchen

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Tybee Island

Located on the waterfront, this holiday home is in South Beach, a neighbourhood in Tybee Island. Shoppers can check out Coligny Plaza, while everyone can enjoy the natural beauty of Tybee Island Beach and Coligny Beach. Tybee Arts Center and Tybee Island Marine Science Center are also worth visiting. Jet skiing and kayaking offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with hiking/biking trails and cycling nearby.
Map
Tybee Island, GA

What's nearby

  • Tybee Island Beach - 1 min walk - 0.2 km
  • Mid Beach - 9 min walk - 0.8 km
  • Tybee Island Fishing Pier and Pavilion - 11 min walk - 0.9 km
  • South Beach - 14 min walk - 1.2 km
  • North Beach - 3 min drive - 1.7 km

Getting around

  • Savannah Amtrak Station - 32 min drive
  • Hilton Head Island, SC (HHH) - 97 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪The Crab Shack - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪Fannies On The Beach - ‬13 min walk
  • ‪Huc-A-Poos Bites and Booze - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Spanky's Beachside - ‬12 min walk
  • ‪Pier 16 Seafood Restaurant - ‬9 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Ocean Oasis | Historic Oceanfront Home! pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Ocean Oasis | Historic Oceanfront Home!?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Ocean Oasis | Historic Oceanfront Home!?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Ocean Oasis | Historic Oceanfront Home!?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Ocean Oasis | Historic Oceanfront Home! located?

Located in South Beach, this holiday home is within 1 mi (2 km) of Mid Beach and Tybee Island Beach. Tybee Island Fishing Pier and Pavilion and South Beach are also within 15 minutes.

Reviews

8.4

Very good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 10 out of 17 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 3 out of 17 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 17 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 17 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 17 reviews

8.8/10

Cleanliness

8.8/10

Check-in

8.6/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

8.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Archival

10/10 Excellent

Beautiful, Historic Home with plenty of room for a large group!

We had a group of 10 people and we were very comfortable in the house. Located a short walk from downtown Tybee and the house also has a nice private beach access. Definitely a perfect, well accommodating, and relaxing rental
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2017
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Mar, 2020
Thanks for choosing Tybee Vacation Rentals for your recent stay on Tybee. We look forwarding to welcoming you back for a little more Tybee Time!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

A real ocean gem

Beautiful wrap around porch, comfortable beds, and private boardwalk to beach made this a delightful family vacation. IGA grocery is pretty much across the street which was convenient.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2023
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

True Southern Charm

The house was truly beautiful. It really suited our needs. It had enough bedrooms to accommodate all 7 people. It was walking distance to the beach and restaurants. We were able to go to downtown Savannah as well.Most enjoyable experience!
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Jul, 2022
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Oasis. What a great place to make lifelong memories together. Remember to ask about our repeat guest discount when you are ready to return to your private Ocean Oasis on Tybee Island!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Fun, quirky, charming home. Very clean. Even the BBQ grill. Perfect for the whole family to even gather for meals. Wrap around screened in porch was amazing. The walk to beach was too hard for the senior citizens in our group, but a block down was easier access with paid parking.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 9 Aug, 2025
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're delighted to hear that you found our home to be fun, quirky, and charming, with a beautifully clean environment and a lovely wrap-around screened-in porch. It's great that the home was able to accommodate your whole family for meals. We're so glad you had a lovely time and hope you'll consider staying with us again.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

A classic southern island home

Unlike many beach rentals, Ocean Oasis is a beautifully restored and decorated home. The screened porch wraps around much of the house snd is filled with comfy tropical furniture. The home is set well back from the Main Street and the property includes a boardwalk to the beach. Located on Mid-beach, there were never large crowds - and you can easily walk to the pier. It was the perfect location for our family gathering!
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 2 Aug, 2022
Thank you for choosing Tybee Vacation Rentals! We are so glad you enjoyed the charm of Ocean Oasis! This is such an amazing property to spend time at. Reach out to us when you decide to come back for more Tybee Time!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Check-in
The property management company, Tybee Island Vacation Rentals, was not very helpful at check. I called about checking in an hour or two early and was told, "No." During the phone call I asked if I needed to stop by the office before going to the property and was told, "No. You can go straight to the property and use the door code to get in." I said I received an email with a door code field but it was empty. I was told they'd send another email with the door code. I did not receive another email because there is not door code lock at this residence. Instead I needed to go to the office and pick up a key. An annoying and frustrating way to start the vacation.The property was awesome! Great location. Lots of room. Private access to the beach. Short walk to shops and restaurants.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication, listing accuracy
Nice beach, but it is 1000 feet from the house, not 50 as stated in the description. This is an old house, moderately being taken care of. We thought we rented a six-bedroom house, but we could only use five. One couple had to stay in Savannah. The unusable bedroom was moldy and had a wet floor after four days of rain. The refrigerator on the ground floor did not work, only the freezer.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family Get Away

We had a wonderful time at this 100yr old home that has been lovingly restored. Our party of 5 had plenty of room and spent most of our time on the amazing wrap around screened-in porch. We would rent again!
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Amazing house

This place is fantastic. Bring right by the water is so much fun and the house has plenty of space for everyone! Thank you!!!
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 27 May, 2022
Thank you for choosing Tybee Vacation Rentals! We are so happy to hear you loved your experience. Please let us know when you are ready to come back! It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for a little more Tybee Time.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location

Tybee Island Vacation

We did experience the following issues when we were there: Toilet broke in bathroom, palmetto bugs were experienced every day, power went out in one of the bedrooms overnight, dining room chandelier flickered quite a bit if the dimmer switch was used, ping pong table net was broken. One of the downstairs bedrooms was extremely musty (another review had mentioned this. I specifically asked the owner if the issue had been rectified before we rented & we were assured that it had been). One of the upstairs bedrooms was very hot. They did fix the toilet & sprayed for bugs the same day we called. We just dealt with the other issues. The screened in porch area was great. This is just an older home that has some issues although there have been some updates. Maybe summer is not the ideal time of year to rent this property. The consensus of the families was that we wouldn't rent here again.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Jun, 2022
We are sorry that you had this experience. We are happy to inform you that since your stay our maintenance team has addresses your concerns. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Tybee Island!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Butler Avenue Beachfront

This a great historic house in amazing shape! The wrap porch is where we spent all our time! Only one King bed on 2nd floor and it shares a bath with another bedroom. -gorgeous staircase. Not a handicap accessible property. Great wooded, private yard and private beach access. Only issue was the trip across the dunes was a little rough. We ending up using the 12th street boardwalk to the beach about half the time. At Mid beach it was very convenient (we walked to dinner one night) to grocery, etc. - also not too crowded on the beach. All in all a wonderfully updated property that has kept its 100 year oldcharming elements. We would definitely rent again!!
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Jun, 2022
Thank you for your review of Ocean Oasis. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. While the home's beach access is beautiful, the nearby public ramp may be easier to navigate with rolling carts or small children. The charming, historic home still has much to offer a modern-day lifestyle. We can't wait to welcome you back again!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Absolutely magnificent 👌

If this home is available I highly recommend renting it.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Jun, 2022
We are thrilled you enjoyed your time at Ocean Oasis! This beautiful home is well-appointed, with amazing historic value. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Tybee Island again soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful!

Charming 1910 vintage cottage home that has been restored and is very nicely decorated. The kitchen is well stocked with pretty much anything you would ever need. Lots of seating for meals - inside or outside. The screened in wrap around porch was our favorite gathering place. Perfect for our family of 12. There was also a ping pong table in the lower level which made for great entertainment when we weren’t at the beach. There is no view of the ocean except from the upstairs master bedroom, but we were aware of that when we rented the property. I thought I would be disappointed with not having an easily accessible view, but sitting on the porch with the ocean breeze was so nice that I didn’t even miss the view! The walk to the beach is about 5 minutes, so be prepared and gather all of your stuff so you can make one trip. We found using the 12th street boardwalk the easiest route. The house has a storage room with chairs and toys for the beach if you need them. There’s also a great outdoor shower for rinsing the sand off when you return from the beach. We really enjoyed Ocean Oasis - all of us - from 10 months to 66 years old. If you love quiet, slightly secluded, vintage style, lots of amenities, clean, nicely decorated, 5 - 10 minute drive to stores or restaurants and a short walk to the beach, then this is the house for you!
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2020
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

June 2017 Stay

Great family vacation on Tybee - 11 of us stayed quite comfortably. The direct beach access is a huge plus, and the porch is amazing! The property is nicely landscaped, and because the house is set back from the road it feels very private. Tybee is a fun, laid back place... perfect for relaxing! Highly recommended!
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

September 2016 Stay

Thank you. We had a fantastic stay with our kids and grandchildren the home and location are perfect. This will not be an every year adventure but you will hear from us again. We have not noted this information at the house but I wish we were informed of the three (3) thermostats in the house so some guests slept warm half the visit and some all of it
Archival

4/10 Poor

Disappointed in some bedrooms!

Do not rent this property if you need to use the bedrooms on the bottom floor! The bedrooms reeked of mildew/mold. Management was called and replied to open the windows! The middle of the week they sent someone over who sprayed clorox in the room and door! Needless to say the rooms were not habitable. Guests ended up sleeping on couches!
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication, listing accuracy
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2026
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback