Apartment

Cheap & Cheerful 1-2 Bdr roomy Guest-Wing at the 150-yr-old Aratapu School House

Photo gallery for Cheap & Cheerful 1-2 Bdr roomy Guest-Wing at the 150-yr-old Aratapu School House

A house with a covered patio area, a large window with curtains, and a satellite dish.
A two-story white house with a green roof, a driveway, and a white wooden bridge leading to the entrance.
A room with two chairs facing a large window, a small table, and a view of a rural landscape.
Room with Queen bed, 2 x Double-Single bunk-beds & 2 x Single-Single bunk-beds.
Room with Queen bed, 2 x Double-Single bunk-beds & 2 x Single-Single bunk-beds.

Reviews

8.6 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Made for relaxation
    Top-rated for comfort — guests feel right at home here.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Air-conditioning
  • Washing machine
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet
  • Onsite parking available

Explore the area

View in a map
Dargaville, Northland
  • Place, Dargaville Museum
    ‪10 min drive‬
  • Place, The Woodturners Kauri Gallery and Studio
    ‪11 min drive‬
  • Place, Zizania Hand Made Papers
    ‪13 min drive‬
  • Airport, Whangarei (WRE)
    ‪91 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 14)

Huge Upstairs Dorm Bedroom

1 Queen Bed, 2 Double Beds and 6 Single Bunk Beds

Twin Room off Main Bedroom

2 Single Beds

Bathroom-Laundry

Shower only

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Aratapu

Located in Aratapu, this apartment is in a rural area. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Taha Awa Riverside Gardens and The Landing, while Dargaville Museum and The Woodturners Kauri Gallery and Studio are cultural highlights. Discover the area's water adventures with nearby fishing, or enjoy the great outdoors with ecotours and cycling.
Map
Dargaville, Northland

What's nearby

  • Dargaville Museum - 10 min drive - 8.7 km
  • The Woodturners Kauri Gallery and Studio - 11 min drive - 9.1 km
  • Zizania Hand Made Papers - 13 min drive - 9.1 km
  • Taha Awa Riverside Gardens - 13 min drive - 11.3 km
  • Kai Iwi Lakes - 46 min drive - 54.3 km

Restaurants

  • ‪Good Life Stores - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪The Bakehouse Cafe - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Merkabah Cafe Restaurant - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪Blah, Blah, Blah Café - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Shiraz Indian and European Family Restaurant - ‬9 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Cheap & Cheerful 1-2 Bdr roomy Guest-Wing at the 150-yr-old Aratapu School House pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Cheap & Cheerful 1-2 Bdr roomy Guest-Wing at the 150-yr-old Aratapu School House?

As of 26 Oct, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Cheap & Cheerful 1-2 Bdr roomy Guest-Wing at the 150-yr-old Aratapu School House on 27 Oct, 2026 start from S$161, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Cheap & Cheerful 1-2 Bdr roomy Guest-Wing at the 150-yr-old Aratapu School House?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Cheap & Cheerful 1-2 Bdr roomy Guest-Wing at the 150-yr-old Aratapu School House?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Cheap & Cheerful 1-2 Bdr roomy Guest-Wing at the 150-yr-old Aratapu School House?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Cheap & Cheerful 1-2 Bdr roomy Guest-Wing at the 150-yr-old Aratapu School House located?

Situated in a rural location, this apartment building is within 6 miles (10 km) of Zizania Hand Made Papers, Dargaville Museum and The Woodturners Kauri Gallery and Studio. Taha Awa Riverside Gardens is 6.1 mi (9.8 km) away.

Reviews

8.6

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 6 out of 9 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 1 out of 9 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 9 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 9 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 9 reviews

7.6/10

Cleanliness

9.8/10

Check-in

9.0/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

9.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect spot

A truly lovely and cozy house, ideally suited for our family vacation.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 26 Aug, 2024
Thank you for booking to stay at the 150-yr-old WHARE KURA Aratapu School House - one of the oldest functioning buildings in the Kaipara. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in this roomy "cheap & cheerful" Guest-Wing.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Best description on book a bach. And cheap and cheeeful doesnt mean bad! Its a nice homely place and the extra room due to the size means no cabin fever or tripping over each other.
Stayed 18 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 2 Sept, 2025
Thanks Dion for booking so many stays at our roomy "cheap & cheerful" (dated decor) guest-wing - it's been an absolute pleasure to have you as guests.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wharekure Aratapu

Nice area, lots to see. We toured around the north island and visited lots of historic and current events and entertainment. Our hosts were available when we needed help and not in our face when we did not. It was a wonderful time and I recommend the place for a nice stay.
Stayed 91 nights in Nov 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 26 Aug, 2024
We were delighted to host Malcolm for their three-month stay - lovely people.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Our stay during the Northland field days event

She's a little gem. She may have been the oldest place we have ever stayed in but she sure was the cleanest! The linen was fresh and clean. Ample parking space for our food trucks. fast and friendly communication throughout. Thank you for having us. We will back again next year.
Stayed 5 nights in Feb 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Sept, 2025
Thank you so much John for your stay at WHARE KURA - the 150-yr-old Aratapu School House - we're so rapt you loved the Guest-Wing. We look forward to seeing you again.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Serene and peaceful

Thank you for being our first home in New Zealand. The old school house was a perfect fit for my family. Enough space for everyone to have a place to call theirs. And the peaceful location not far from town was welcoming. Not far from TK or Dargaville, made for a nice first home. Thank you for having us.
Stayed 74 nights in Oct 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 5 Jan, 2025
Thank you Sarah and her daughters for choosing our Whare Kura 150-yr-old Aratapu School House "cheap & cheerful" guest-wing as your NZ home for your first four months in Aotearoa! 🇳🇿
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Cheap and cheerful with all the necessities

Exactly as described, this house is somewhere to stay if you're not looking for anything high-end. The beds are comfortable and clean, the kitchen has everything you need to cook (I appreciated the pots and pans without the teflon coating), the washing machine and dryer worked fine and the internet and TV worked fine. There was lots of dust and cobwebs and a few spiders, but that's what you'd expect of an old schoolhouse.The location, 10 minutes drive south of Dargaville suited us well and the property manager was responsive and helpful. Thanks for a great stay!
Stayed 18 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Jul, 2025
Thank you Dhivian for your response to staying in this roomy "cheap & cheerful" unrenovated Guest-Wing. With your long stay, we're guessing your comment about cobwebs/dust/spiders related to during your stay in this 150-yr-old building in a rural location - not what you encountered on arrival as the Cleaner is quite particular that everything is spic and span. :)
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Basic and quaint

As expected and as described. Sheets were clean and accomodation was tidy. Could have been a little cleaner (inside the fridge and the toilet smelt a bit) Gorgeous view to wake up to from the upstairs room! Suited our needs for the weekend
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Mar, 2023
Thank you Jaime - we will advise the cleaner about your comments regarding the fridge and toilet - no-one has made those comments before. But glad you enjoyed this "cheap & cheerful" accommodation.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location

Real potential

The Wharekura “ pre-reno” apartment we stayed at was marred by 3 of the 4 elements of the stove not working properly, the oven wouldn’t go. There appeared to be no smoke detectors although the owners reassured me later that they were there. The shower doors were hard to close. Like much inside the apartment, the wiring looked dodgy and as old as the building. The stairs to the room were uneven. I contacted Kathy after we left. In hind sight, I should have done so sooner and given them the opportunity to remedy the faults as she seemed happy to do. Moral of the story ...you get what you pay for??
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 3 Aug, 2023
Thank you for booking to stay at the iconic 150-yr-old WHARE KURA Old Aratapu School House guest-wing, where you paid $30pp/night for what is advertised as pre-renovation "cheap & cheerful" accom. We are sad you had problems during your stay that you didn't contact us about at the time which we could have remedied for you, like showing you how to use the stove's oven (that works fine) and pointing out the smoke-detectors. Both the electrical wiring and internal stairs are 50 years old, and although not aesthetically pretty, neither are unsafe. And yes, you are right that the shower door can be a little bit sticky sometimes. We absolutely don't market this accommodation as anything other than cheap, and ideally cheerful, so we are very disappointed you were so very disappointed, but we only wish you the very best going forward.
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 19 Sept, 2025
We are genuinely disappointed to receive this 1-star review, particularly after hosting this couple for nearly ten weeks at WHARE KURA 150yr-old Aratapu School House. During their stay, they continually extended their dates, including leaving us three separate 5-star reviews, describing our property as “awesome,” “classy and tasteful,” and “a nice homely place.” It is regrettable that their final feedback does not reflect the very positive experiences they themselves had previously shared. When moving between guest-wings at the property, our lovely cleaner assisted them and later reported being asked to move bedding for their adult son and to prepare a second bedroom, even though their reservation was only for one couple. When our Admin sought clarification, this was denied, which caused some tension. They then overstayed their booking due to their own mix-up with their dates, but despite the disruption our team rapidly worked "a miracle" to rearrange guest schedules to ensure they were still accommodated. On departure, however, the property was left in a condition that required a higher than usual level of cleaning, and the cleaner needed to get in another pair of hands to assist her moving furniture back into its correct positions. After such a long stay, during which time we did our very best to be accommodating and flexible, it saddens us that the experience ended this way. We remain committed to offering welcoming, well-cared-for Guest-Wings for all of our guests.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback