Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spectacular West side views of Strait, Olympics, Victoria, south to Mt Rainier.

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 600 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, full bath, sleeps two

HARO HAIKU is a licensed San Juan County Vacation Rental (#05CU11) located on the West side of beautiful San Juan Island.

The house is nestled just below the ridge line - with 180 degree views of the Olympic mountains, the Strait of Juan de Fuca beyond, and Haro Straits immediately below.

Inside Haro Haiku you'll find a contemporary blend of furnishings. The interior lets the outside in through widow placements and large sliding doors out to a full length deck.

The views are spectacular!!

Across the straits to the Olympic Mountains, Pt Townsend, Mt Rainier, and Whidbey Island it never fails to inspire and delight. Sunrises, sunsets, ship and boat traffic, the lights of Victoria, and the Olympic Peninsula, clear starry nights, cloud formations, combined with the sound of Orca whales and surf below. Truly awesome!!!

Serenity and repose on San Juan Island

Our guest's comments say a lot more about our unique home and property.

HIGH SEASON: If we have a 1 or 2 night opening between reservations we are happy to accept a reservation.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Stephanie
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2018

About Stephanie

We have lived on San Juan Island for 26 years. We owned and operated Lakedale Resort for 18 of those. We are very knowledgeable about what to do, where to eat, and out of the way places to hike, beach or..? We can help you with reservations for activities, dining or self guided tours of the islands. Always available and close by for any assistance necessary.

Stephanie purchased this house in 2005

Why Stephanie chose Friday Harbor

The location of Haro Haiku is the main reason we chose to purchase it; Located on the WEST SIDE of San Juan Island with its spectacular vistas of Haro Straits, the Olympic Mountains, easy access to Lime Kiln State Park (Whale Watch Park), Serenity of the neighborhood (None to close, but not to far), and convenient to Friday Harbor.

Property is 3 acres with lots of privacy and views.

What makes this house unique

The Washington State Ferry from Anacortes to San Juan Island is now accepting vehicle reservations! This means that you will be assured of getting on the boat you would like, provided you arrive 30 minutes prior to arrival. Attached is a link that will explain how the system works and penalty for arriving late, no-show, and changing your reservation. Please read this information carefully.

https://secureapps.wsdot.wa.gov/Ferries/Reservations/Vehicle/default.aspx

Here is some additional information that may help you:

98 miles - Travel time from Sea-Tac airport to the Anacortes ferry is approximately 2 hours or more.

82 miles - Travel time from downtown Seattle to the Anacortes ferry is approximately 1 hr. 25 minutes or more.

Travel time will vary because of construction projects, the day of the week you are traveling, the time you are traveling because of traffic, weather, or other events.

Allow additional time for being in line to go through the toll booth to present your reservation.

Owners are always ready to assist, but discreetly screened and respectful of guest's privacy.

Guestbook comments from the owner

“Great stay and, view. Thank you!”
May 2018
  • 1 of 17

Amenities

Friday Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Max. adults: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
  • Beautiful quartz counters on floating cabinets, tiled tub/shower, excellent lighting.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Master - 1 king , crib available for infant
  • Cal-King bed, new mattress, his and hers closets, view of the water.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
HIGH SEASON: If we have a 1 or 2 night opening between reservations we are happy to accept a reservation. Owner/Caretaker lives on adjacent property The Washington State Ferry is now accepting vehicle reservations! This means that you will be assured of getting on the boat you would like provided you arrive 30 minutes prior to arrival. Attached is a link that will explain how the system works and penalty for arriving late, no-show, and changing your reservation. Please read this information carefully. https://secureapps.wsdot.wa.gov/Ferries/Reservations/Vehicle/default.aspx Here is some additional information that may help you: 98 miles - Travel time from Sea-Tac airport to the Anacortes ferry is approximately 2 hours or more. 82 miles - Travel time from downtown Seattle to the Anacortes ferry is approximately 1 hr. 25 minutes or more. Travel time will vary because of construction projects, the day of the week you are traveling, the time you are traveling because of traffic.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(85 traveler reviews)

97% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Spectacular West side views of Strait, Olympics, Victoria, south to Mt Rainier.
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 102 reviews
5

A beautiful and comfortable rental in a picturesque location

  • 5 of 5

Haro Haiku is located about ten minutes from Friday harbor which is nice. The drive up to the rental is gorgeous. Some of the neighboring properties are so beautiful they make your mind wander. The rental itself is very well kept and equipped with all the dishes you could need a nice comfortable bed and a few fans for the bedside, not to mention the most amazing closet I’ve ever seen which also makes an amazing night light for younger guests. Lol. The only thing it lacks is A/C but every window is screened and opens and the ceiling fan helps a lot All in all it was a great stay. My daughter loved it and that’s truly what matters. Thanks Stephanie and Jack we will have our memories forever!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Aaron, Thank you for writing a review of our property. Potential guests will love the detail that you provided. Glad you enjoyed your stay and that your daughter loved it! This has been our warmest summer on record. I hope you found the two fans, one out and one large one in the closet. Maybe a small air conditioner might be a good idea. We hope you will come back and stay another time. Wishing you and your daughter all the best! Stephanie & Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect spot for our 3 day weekend!

  • 5 of 5

The house is about a 15 minute drive to Friday Harbor town. It feels remote and also close enough to town to go in for a quick dinner. The home interior is exactly as pictured. The views are just as pictured, with the exception there is a large house to the right that is mostly not shown in the photos. Not sure if this place is a guest house for the main house below, but I wasn't expecting to see it when we pulled up. However, it really is not impeding the fantastic view!

Overall I'd say the home was comfortable, modern, great views, remote but not too remote. Would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Madison, WI
4

Fit our desires & needs. It was very hot, so we learned to pull down all shades in the afternoon.

  • 4 of 5

I wish I could give all five stars. This is such a cute little guest house with a lovely view across the Straight of Juan de Fuca. I liked the nautical updated decor. The full kitchen is great, the bed is very comfortable and the privacy & quiet are wonderful. The one broken window shade that is stuck in the down position in front of the picture window was disappointing and the one small leather chair in the living room corner, looks attractive but is so wobbly no one can sit in it. A beautiful mosaic-topped table on the deck has broken legs. These are all minor fixes that could make this place perfect.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Laurie, Thank you for your lovely review. Unfortunately the guest who stayed before you broke the blind by accident. Since we live on an island, access to repair parts for the blind were not available here. We called Smith & Noble for the parts, which are on their way. Wish you had mentioned the chair problem to us we would have been happy to repair it during your stay. It actually just needed the bolts tightened. I emailed the housekeeper to test this chair out each time she cleans. And the little outdoor table, another one of those is on its way! We are very proactive with our rental, always making upgrades and replacing anything that is needed. This July has been the hottest on record for Washington. Fortunately the temperature is a bit cooler now and it sure feels better! Thanks again for staying with us and hope the rest of your summer is wonderful! Best, Stephanie & Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Adorable cottage!

  • 5 of 5

The home is beautifully appointed, it has a wonderful location and it is in great condition!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michelle, Thank you for writing a review for future guests. So happy that you liked our home, decor and location with the great view. We would love to host you again sometime. Have wonderful rest of the summer! Best, Stephanie & Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding -- would happily return

  • 5 of 5

Thanks to our great hosts, we had a terrific 2-week stay. Views were stunning and the rental was just what we expected. Delightful place -- we would happily return for another visit.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Bob & Susan, It was so nice to meet you and chat about the island. Thank you for taking such great care of our home. We would love to host you again sometime. Please keep us posted on your progress! Best, Stephanie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, peaceful

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a peaceful getaway in a beautiful place, this is IT! The view alone is worth the price. Seriously. But more than that, you will enjoy a well-designed, lovely, new, private guest house. It is especially great for singles or couples.The features you will enjoy include a comfy bed, a calming décor, a nice deck, cool breezes, daily deer visits, serenades by the birds -- in short, a great place to relax, read books and take naps. If you can't quite disconnect, then you also have internet access and DirecTV. Located on the lovely west side of San Juan Island, this place is just a short distance from Lime Kiln. If you want to go into town, the drive is easy and pleasant. I am not much of a cook, so was not bothered by the lack of a stovetop or oven. There is a microwave / convection oven and a grill; these worked well for me. I have stayed in several rentals on the island and this is my new favorite. I will be back. Come on; it's your vacation. Treat yourself!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Pam, Thank you for writing a review for our site. We are so pleased that your stay was so great! We are looking forward to meeting you at your next stay. Just curious...did you not see the induction stove top in the drawer? I had mentioned it in our information that I sent you about our home. I always tell guests to look in all draws and closets because many items are stored for use. Sorry if you missed it. Enjoy the rest of your summer and thanks again! Stephanie & Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Friday Harbor
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Friday Harbor
Nearest Ferry
8 Miles
Friday Harbor
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
San Juan Island Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Friday Harbor or Roche Harbor
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Dead Man's Bay
Nearest Point of Interest
Lime Kiln State Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Haro Haiku
Car: recommended

Quiet, peaceful, listen to the sounds of the Salish Sea , whales, gulls, waves.

Whale Watch State Park located conveniently 1 mile away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cc fee $30 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
cleaning fee $85 + Tax

HIGH SEASON: If we have a 1 or 2 night opening between reservations we are happy to accept a reservation.

Pay through VRBO with Visa or MC you will need to add an additional 2.5% to your total payment. There are no additional fees to pay by check.

Cancellation policy: All fees are refunded if your reservation is cancelled 60 days prior to arrival. 59 days or less, all lodging dates that we are able to re-book are refunded along with cleaning fees and refundable damage deposit.

To all of our guests,

The Washington State Ferry is now accepting vehicle reservations! This means that you will be assured of getting on the boat you would like provided you arrive 30 minutes prior to arrival. Attached is a link that will explain how the system works and penalty for arriving late, no-show, and changing your reservation. Please read this information carefully.

https://secureapps.wsdot.wa.gov/Ferries/Reservations/Vehicle/default.aspx

Here is some additional information that may help you:

98 miles - Travel time from Sea-Tac airport to the Anacortes ferry is approximately 2 hours or more.

82 miles - Travel time from downtown Seattle to the Anacortes ferry is approximately 1 hr. 25 minutes or more.

Travel time will vary because of construction projects, the day of the week you are traveling, the time you are traveling because of traffic, weather, or other events.

Allow additional time for being in line to go through the toll booth to present your reservation.

If you have any questions please let me know.

Happy travels,

Stephanie

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties