Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Swim with the Turtles, 2 BR Unit with Wifi, 4 Mi. to Downtown

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 720 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 1 bath, oceanfront

Enjoy the ocean breeze and sounds of the waves lulling you to sleep at our beautiful newly remodeled oceanfront retreat. With views off your lanai and Master bedroom, sleep well and wake up to an invigorating morning swim with the turtles.

This unit is completely furnished with a queen size bed in each bedroom and a complete kitchen. It’s a very convenient location, just 4 miles from the heart of Hilo town, the famous Farmer's Market and water activities on Hilo Bay. Experience a gorgeous view of the whole bay from Coconut Island while splashing and playing in the sandy coves surrounding the small island. Take time to get acquainted with the spirit of Hilo, you'll want to come back again and again. Weather is mild all year long with a range between the lower 70's and the low 80's. The beauty of Hilo would not exist if not for a little rain, usually early mornings and evenings. Enjoy our Rainbows and Waterfalls, but remember we wouldn't have them without the showers. The snow that peaks the mountain in January and February adds to this beautiful town of Hilo. Only 30 minute drive to Volcanoes national park, to enjoy the breathtaking views of the constantly active volcano, Kilauea. Visit the Hilo Coffee Mill and Atkatsuka Orchid Farm on the way. Viewing places give you a chance to see the lava flow, for which you can contact the National park for updates.

Hilo Seaside Restaurant is just across the street, serving all the local fish and freshly farmed trout. Bicycle or walk the ocean stretch and stop at any of the swimming spots or tide pools along the way. Just a short walk from Richardson's Beach, where you'll find some of the best snorkeling around offering plenty of live reefs and interesting reef fish to explore.

This 'Ocean stretch' is perfect for morning walks, jogging or biking. You'll enjoy the exercise available at this condominium location.

Please note: Please call the owner at the contact number below to confirm current information on availability.

If your desired dates are taken; please contact me for other units I have in the building.

Keywords: Condominium, relax, adventure, getaway, swim, beaches, wi fi, viewsm, snorkeling, walking, turtles

More Details

Owner
Donna
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2018

About Donna

I've enjoyed living on the Big Island for over 38 years now. I call it my home and it has been home to my 3 grown children as well. We all love surfing, canoe paddling and swimming. I think you'll see why the town of Hilo has such an allure especially if you enjoy life at a casual pace. I am a licensed Realtor here and constantly stay in touch with the happenings of this island. I hope you'll love it as much as I do!

Donna purchased this condo in 2002

Why Donna chose Hilo

I purchased the unit specifically for a vacation rental. It's a great spot in Hilo; the weather is the very best in this area and you are steps away from the ocean. I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I enjoy living in Hawaii and enjoying the ocean activities. I've recently remodeled the unit and I keep it updated regularly for my guests.

What makes this condo unique

If you've ever wished you could see a Green Sea Turtle right up close; this is your chance. But, please be aware that the turtles are endangered and you can't feed them or touch them. You have a great ocean view right off your lanai where you can enjoy sunrises and lovely evening lights.

Guestbook comments from the owner

My mom and I had a great time relaxing at the lagoon and watching the turtles. Everything about the unit was fantastic, and stocked with everything you'd need on a vacation. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will tell our friends about the place!
Sep 2012
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Hilo Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 720 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Elevator
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Full tub and shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (2) These beds are in good condition, fairly new. Pak n Play available upon request
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach park with swimming and sandy bottom outside your unit.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(64 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
28% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
1% Complete
Swim with the Turtles, 2 BR Unit with Wifi, 4 Mi. to Downtown
average rating of 4.34375 based on 65 reviews
5

Turtles!!!

  • 5 of 5

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at this amazing condo. We arrived late on the first night and were unable to truly appreciate our location until the next morning. The condo is situated in an ideal location with turtles swimming directly behind the condo. Along with the turtles, the condo is located on a much desired beach on the Hilo side. This beach offered both sand beach and lava rock access to the water. Great location to either float or snorkel.

As for the attractions: We visiting the Farmers Market in downtown Hilo that takes place Wednesdays and Saturdays. I highly recommend this market to stalk up on food to prepare in the fully stalked kitchen. We also visited Rainbow Falls, Boiling Pots, along with the Lava hike to watch the flow into the ocean(Sunrise recommended).

Overall we had a very relaxed and comfortable stay here at this Condo. Donna was helpful and accessible to answer any questions we had during our stay.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for a helpful review. Being in Hawaii, the beach access is important and this should help others know what a great location this is! I'm glad you got to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and had an opportunity to view the turtles in the lagoon. As a reminder to others; please don't attempt to "pet" or touch the turtles, even though they are friendly. Donna
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Silver spring, MD
5

Lagoon paradise

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at this condo. Everything you need for a comfortable stay is provided. Donna was very attentive to us during our stay by getting us stuff we need very quickly! The best part of this place is the backyard where you can see sea turtles everyday. Great place to snorkel and explore all the fish in the lagoon. Very peaceful and relaxing to just be at this lagoon every opportunity we have. We travel extensively and there is no other place that we have been that can compare to this lagoon paradise!! You can watch the tide go out and come in from the bedroom window. Do explore this lagoon at various time following high tide and low tide since you will see different sea life at different time of the day. We will definitely return to this Lagoon paradise!!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, Australia
5

Wonderful location- best in Hilo

  • 5 of 5

The condo was very comfortable and had everything we needed to make our holiday in Hilo a great experience. The location and views are amazing!

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to hear from you Lorraine, I'm glad your vacation was a success and you were happy with the unit! I'd love to have you back as a guest anytime! Aloha, Donna
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

really run down condo unit

  • 2 of 5

The apartment building itself is scary - old, gross, and it took us over an hour to figure out how to access the lockbox. The elevator is small and a bit scary, and the unit is just old and creepy. The view is of the swimming pool. We paid for 3 days and left after 1 night. Apparently other units are better, but I wasn't going to ruin a Hawaii vacation by staying here.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, I got your call that you couldn't figure out how to open the lockbox, and you couldn't figure out how to use the internet, and you couldn't find the place. I don't think this was the problem of the place. Others have had no problem. Since you stayed, I have taken efforts to make sure these problems are not experienced by anyone else. The lockbox is better marked, the internet is code is clearly marked as it was before, and all other people with GPS and the directions find it without any problem. There are new blinds, new microwave, all lights are cleaned and checked. The building is not gross or scary as I have another unit there that only gets 5 star reviews. It is unfortunate that you put out such a bad review and have ruined my bookings for future stays. . As a note to future travelers, there should not be any of these problems when renting this unit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not so great.

  • 2 of 5

I booked this condo for my mom and her sister for two weeks for my mother's birthday. They said it was clean, but not as advertised. There was no real beach, and the turtles were in an area that you had to climb over sharp rocks to get to the water. The view of the water was almost non- existent. The pool is now a black bottom pool, so it is also not representative in this photo. My mom and her sister actually paid money leave the island two days early They also had a hard time getting help with the check in process, as the instructions were not accurate. Lastly, they had a hard time getting an adequate response to the cable problems at the condo. Very disappointed that this didn't go well. I spent a lot of money on this trip.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. I understand you are writing for your mom and her sister, and maybe don't know all the interaction that we had. Someone had set a timer, mistakenly I'm sure, on the TV, and I went over to the unit 3 times to make sure it got fixed right. Took a little doing! but, we did get it fixed. I called the ladies several times to make sure everything was OK, and each time they said it was. I did everything I could to make them happy. Their biggest concern was to make sure they could watch Fox news on the TV. I guess that was vacation! Yes, the pool now has a gray bottom to hold heat better and I would think that's a plus for most. I guess there is nothing I can do about the beach area, but everyone seems to love it. Maybe not quite the type of surroundings that these ladies needed. Most who adventure out find it to be a great vacation. I have taken to heart your suggestion of better directions and have marked the lockbox better. Oh yea, Sorry I forgot to tell the turtles to stay in the sandy part of the beach....I’ll try to remember that..
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Des Moines, Iowa
5

Great location!!

  • 5 of 5

We loved it. Grest location and clean, well organized condo. We already miss the turtles!

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
4.5 Miles
Hilo International Airport
Nearest Barpub
Seaside Restaurant (across the street)
Nearest Motorway
3.5 Miles
Hwy 11
Nearest Restaurant
Seaside Rest ,Ponds, Coconut Grill, Thai Rest
Nearest Beach
Carlsmith Beach park, Richardson Beach Park
Car: recommended

Hilo town is the ultimate relaxation and cultural experience, where else can you visit the farmer's market, view an active volcano, climb the summit of 13,000 feet Mauna Kea to the snow and paddle your own canoe? All in a day, well, maybe not, but you can try. It is all here and much, much more. If you want clean air and clean water, you will find it here. Our night life is not booked as you would find in the big city, but then again, do you care? Our day life certainly is active and after years, you still have not done it all. Take a trip to the Onomea Botanical Gardens, the Volcano Winery, the fabulous Akaka Water Falls, or snorkel outside your door, they are all part of what makes the Big Island a special place

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
cleaning fee $85

Transient Accomodations Tax #W502146

Rate for 2 is $109 nightly. Each person over 2 is $20 a night additional.

Cancellation policy: Any cancellation prior to 60 days from the date of reservation shall be refundable minus a processing fee of $75.00 No refund after the 60 days has begun. Check in time is 2:30 PM, check out is 10:30 AM.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties