Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Historic 1850s Home 1 Block from PTown's Art Dist (East End)

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

- 4 BR, 3 BA, sleeps 8

Charming East End home located one block from Provincetown's Art District, and historic bay/harbor. This is an ideal location off of Bradford Street in a quiet residential neighborhood. Step off the front porch and enjoy the many events and happenings that Provincetown has to offer from this convenient location. Our home offers a clean, friendly, comfortable, and spacious environment. Maybe you prefer to enjoy the charm of the house's historic interior, or have breakfast/dinner or just hang out on our spacious front porch, or enjoy a barbecue in the back yard. What ever your preference we can accommodate it.

Gary Call/Scott Mateer
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 30, 2017


Provincetown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , jetted tub
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom - 1 king , 2 queen , 1 double
    Bedroom - 2 queen , 1 double
    Bedroom - 1 queen
  • Child beds available This is a Three (4) Bedroom Home. The home consist of One (1) King Size Bed, Two (2) Queen Sized beds, and One (1) Double bed.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • roller blading
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming


3.4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

14% Complete
42% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
Historic 1850s Home 1 Block from PTown's Art Dist (East End)
average rating of 3.4285715 based on 7 reviews

Clutter, clutter and more clutter.

  • 3 of 5

When we got there after the 4pm check in the owners were still there. It was very obvious that they spent some days there prior to our arrival and had not yet cleaned up after themselves. They said the cleaning folks hadn't showed up yet? Really , it was obvious it was your personal stuff thrown all over the place. Couldn't even sit in livingroom when we arrived. Two hours later, close to 6pm we were able to unpack our cars. Nice folks but must of forgotten they rented the place out to 8 people for Womens Week.

The steps up to 2nd floor very steep (not pictured) and three of the six people sleeping on the floor had knee replacements. It was a challenge. Bathrooms very tiny but we managed.

Porch was a mess and if you wanted to sit outside it was impossible unless you felt like cleaning on your vacation.

Parking was wonderful as we were able to fit two cars and two SUVS on side of house. Parking is a premium in PTOWN so this was fantastic.

On a scale of 1 to 10....10 being the best I would give this house a 5.5.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Karen, I am sorry that you found your stay unpleasant. Yes I was in the house prior to your arrival. There was no clutter in the house. Your check in was on Sunday which was out of normal cycle of Saturday to Saturday. The cleaner could not work on Sunday and I was finishing up and my belongs were by the door. The living room was totally accessible to you which you took advantage of, and the upstairs rooms were finished. You could have unpacked your vehicles and put your belongs upstairs. As for the stairs this home is a two story antique and all the home here have steep stairs, this being one of the less steep compared to other homes. You also had more vehicles than the lease allows which I accommodated.. Additionally, I offer to pay for free drinks at a restaurant of your choice which you declined.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Clean, convenient to Commercial St., Great front porch, good size back yard, easy access to 3 sts,

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful and relaxing, I people can comfortably stay in house without tripping over each other. Clean and Convenient.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cute, but cluttered

  • 3 of 5

This was the very first VRBO I have rented and so here is my review….

Stayed here in July 2016, total of 6 people. The house is cute and older, as many places are in PTown. The linens are clean, kitchen has the utensils needed, BBQ, beds are comfy, internet worked fine, TV, cable TV, and washer/dryer for your use. Location is good, just a 5 minute walk to the center of Commercial street.

The house is really perfect the space is for 6 or 7. The layout is not published online and so here it is…. Upstairs you have 3 rooms and 1 tiny bathroom (sleeping for 6, all bed sharing). Downstairs is the tiny single room and 2 bathrooms. Not saying the layout is bad, just informing of what to expect. My housemates asked me all these questions before we arrived and I had no idea.

The place does not have a coffeemaker, it has a Keurig. While this seems like the same, it is not, we just would have packed differently and so we donated some reusable cups we bought to the house. The house is filled with clutter, every table top, night stand, or dresser has a lamp or knickknack is present. Outside, front and back, clutter and things seem to be everywhere. No room for any of your own things you brought with you or you have to move things around to make room for seating and living. The house was clean, but someone in our party did find a razorblade in the sofa cushions while laying down, luckily not hurt, just brings me back to the clutter. Before arriving I emailed the owner and also commented on the VRBO ad for unlock instructions that I later found online. I was shocked though I did not get one response… This made me nervous traveling 2,500 away and hoping I have a place to stay. When we arrived we found the maid still cleaning from the previous guests. I asked her where I could find the keys and she told me upstairs… I found a basket with many different keys and no labels. I sifted through the keys to find out what key went to each lock (doors are all different keys). This was an hour of trying to figure out what key worked with what door. Since the maid was still there I asked her for more keys and she brought some the following day. I thought it was nice she was there since the owner would not even email me back from my prior request. All and all…. This place gets a 3.25 stars out of 5. Get rid of the clutter and make the keys situation better.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry for delay in responding. I don;t know where the guest found a razor blade as the sofa is leather and does not have removal cushions. Yes all night stands have lamps which most guest appreciate for adequate lighting. They are no other items on the nightstands which I find confusing when you say clutter! The keys are adequately labeled and all doors are key the same. One key works in all doors. However, my new management company has installed a cyber lock system which eliminates the need for keys. VRBO sends a welcome email to the guest giving them them the key code approximately two weeks prior to arrival which you should have recieved.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

I hate to even post such a negative review but I'm afraid I'm left with no choice. This is a cute house with lots of space and I would give it 3 or 4 stars were it not for a serious customer service issue we're facing. The security deposit has yet to be refunded after 45 days (the lease, and the law, say under 30 days) and the owners are not responding to any of our queries at all on the topic at all.

Prior to our stay they were fairly responsive, very cordial, but post-stay, they do not reply to anything (email or voicemail) and now we have to go through the trouble of a 30-day formal demand letter. This has been a huge source of stress to me and a financial burden I wasn't prepared to endure during the holidays.

The location is fantastic, the bedrooms are great, there are ample bathrooms available, the outdoor areas are pretty good, and there's room for 3 cars -- that's the good part. As I said, this could be a four star review, the lack of responsiveness is a serious problem.

There were other little problems that could be overlooked: for example, the key was not being in the lock box when we arrived as promised (an owner came down to let us in after we reached him), the incessant annoying loud beeping sound when the exterior doors were opened, and worst of all, the internet router being unplugged, which sadly we figured out after my spouse booked a ticket home so he could work. The kitchen's a tad small too but we made it work.

My suggestion is keep looking. This place, for all its charms, just isn't worth it if the owners conduct business this way as a matter of course. I suspect most people expect their refundable security deposit to be refunded.

  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is certainly distressing to me that a guest would experience an unpleasant stay in my home. The problem with the security deposit being returned was a result of a death in the family requiring me to be out of town. Upon my return the security deposit was promptly returned explaining this situation. This is certainly an isolated incident and not common occurrence. The beeping sound is from the alarm system and a safety measure which is intended to keep my guest and the property safe. Guest should feel secure when renting if a beep occurs when the exterior door is open alerting them that someone is entering the house. I truly apologize that the Internet Router was unplugged and will put this on the check list for the cleaning personnel to check. Thank-you for alerting me to this issue. The kitchen is a standard size for rental properties here on the Cape. My kitchen is fully stocked with pots pans ample to prepare and serve meals. Additionally I have just installed a new gas range and oven adequate for those who like to cook. I am constantly looking to improve my property and take any and all complaints serious. I will work with any of my guest to mitigate any problems they may encounter. Sincerely, R. Scott Mateer Property Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
12 1
Washington DC

Good Rental

  • 4 of 5

My friends and I were there for a friends birthday weekend. We loved the house. We would like to have had queen beds in each room. Because of the double beds in 2 rooms the house really sleeps 6 people which was great for us. We are planning to rent this house again this year, but will have to leave 2 people at home since we don't think 8 people would fit comfortably.

The person who rented the house said working with the owners were great. Hopefully this will become our Ptown home away from home.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
North of Boston

A comfortable house, close to everything

  • 4 of 5

We just stayed at the house and it was great. More than adequate space for our party of 7. House was cozy and homy and had all the essentials. Great front porch and nice back yard with grill. Parking for 3 cars, which is an important feature in Ptown.

Short walk to downtown, yet quiet at night.

Would stay here again: good value for the price

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Car: not necessary

When you leave this private charming location, you find yourself a matter of blocks from some of the finest dining in Provincetown (Chester's, The Commons). In addition you will be in the heart of the Art District where you can attend gallery openings every Friday evening during the summer months. You'll find some of your best shopping in the East End. A short drive or bike ride away is the Provincetown Beach and Cape Cod National Seashore.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $350
Damage Insurance $79

Check In time is 4:00 P.M. (16:00) on the day of your arrival. Check out is 10:00 A. M.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties