Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Authentic Log Cabin, 21 Acres, Rushing Trout Stream, Hot Tub, Wifi

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

"Trout Retreat" is a real and authentic log cabin that, is located just fifteen minutes outside of Boone (just minutes from the Blue Ridge Pkwy) and is situated in a postcard like setting on 21 beautiful acres with nearly 1/2 mile of class A stocked trout stream that runs directly behind the cabin. The stream, Elk Creek, is rated as the second cleanest stream in all of NC. If you are looking for a streamside cabin you will not find a better location anywhere. there is abundant wildlife including trout, deer, turkey, fox, beavers, and birds.

The Trout Retreat cabin sleeps up to four with a king bed, futon sleeper, two full baths, and a full kitchen and includes all the utensils, linens, and towels necessary to make your stay comfortable. The cabin also has a large screened porch and a deck with private hot tub that overlooks the stream and picnic tables where you can have a unique dining experience or simply sit and relax to the sights and sounds of the stream. There is also a gas fireplace to create a warm and cozy atmosphere on those cool mountain evenings. This cabin offers privacy with easy access in a setting that is unique and picturesque.

There is also an additional cabin on this property that can be rented together or individually which makes this property ideal for anything from a honeymoon or romantic weekend, to a large family or multi family vacation. Please see vrbo listing #221538 for photos and information the additional cabin.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Owner
Jackie Bangos
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 21, 2017

Amenities

Deep Gap Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 3:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

Authentic Log Cabin, 21 Acres, Rushing Trout Stream, Hot Tub, Wifi
average rating of 4.2608695 based on 23 reviews
3

It is all it said it was

  • 3 of 5

It was fun for all...especially the tin roof when it rained one night - zzzzz.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Always nice to hear that our Guest enjoy it. Thank you for your business.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Great property on the stream, although only about 2 acres of 21 are accessible.

  • 3 of 5

This area of the country is beautiful with streams and mountains. Property was nice with stream, hot tub and fire pit. We also enjoyed the back screened in porch very much. The master bed/loft was very comfortable. Disappointments were the limited lighting in the home, the uncomfortable pull out sleeper sofa and that the washing machine was broken with standing water when we arrived. Suggest checking with owner to see if these are addressed. If so, nice place for a rustic get-away.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing and quiet mountain getaway

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I just enjoyed 5 peaceful days at Trout Retreat. The weather was pretty bad, but we made the best of it, and there's nothing better than being trapped indoors under a tin roof in a log cabin if you have to endure 4 days straight of rain! My husband did quite a bit of fishing and once he switched to live bait (you can get it at the hunting store next to the Food Lion up the road), he caught bass, bluegill, chub , but unfortunately no trout).

The road down to the property is not for the faint of heart but we both love driving mountain roads and enjoyed every bit of it. We hiked around the area a bit as well. When there is no one occupying the adjacent property, there is a ton of privacy. Even when someone is there, the owners have done a good job of putting privacy screens in the form of trees between the two cabins.

The cabin has everything you could possibly want, though I suggest bringing a beach towel or two for around the area or if you want to stretch out in the meadow or along the rocky area by the stream. The wifi was a very nice surprise, so thank you for adding it - without it, you are completely cut off from the outside world (I am not sure whether that is a good or a bad thing).

A couple of things to note for others thinking about renting - the cabin sleeps 4, but it would definitely have to be 4 people who really like each other. It's a loft bedroom upstairs so expect to share noise if you have two sleeping below you. It is the perfect size for two people. We didn't bring our dogs, but it is definitely pet friendly and ours would have had a great time there. I had an allergy attack when I used one of the blankets downstairs that was on the couch, so I recommend being aware if you have a lot of pet allergies. The owners keep a separate stash of towels and blankets for pets, so obviously a prior guest didn't pay attention to that and let a dog sleep on a "human" blanket. Like other vacation rentals we've used, there is some element of "housework" that is asked of you, like doing a load of laundry before you leave, taking all trash with you, running the dishwasher and putting them away, etc I prefer not to do any housework on vacation as we have 4 kids and one of the best parts of vacation is no laundry! However, we had an issue with an early morning departure and the manager told us not to worry about it. We managed to get it done anyway. Overall it was a great stay, loved the place, and will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2
4

Relaxing get away!

  • 4 of 5

The cabin is set in a perfect location and has all the amenities needed. We enjoyed fishing, hiking, the outdoor fire, and trips to local fun. This was our second trip and we plan to go back next year as well.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Always great to hear positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks for your business.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Raleigh, NC
1

A BIG let down... Pretty Dissapointed...

  • 1 of 5

I was very disappointed in my stay at the TROUT RETREAT!!! When we arrived to the cabin the upstairs toilet was clogged, and the cabin had not been cleaned. There was laundry sitting in the washer and dryer, dog hair all over the place, was very dusty, and filled with bugs and cobwebs. We were unable to use the fireplace in the cabin since it was not working. Which was a disappointment since that was one of the selling points for us as well as the hot tub which also had numerous "code" issues. We had called the owner and he did have someone come out to check the fire place (which could not be fixed) and we did get the hot tub running correctly. However the maintenance man decided he was going to spend most of the day on Friday 10/16/2015 around our cabin. He was out edging and leaf blowing, while we were trying to enjoy our time there. Then while sitting inside later in the day the maintenance man just knocks on the door and walks straight into the house before anyone could answer his knock. I called the owner who told me the Maintenance man was there to "finish things up before the weekend". The yard work and cleaning should have really been done and completed before the guest arrive; not while the guest are there to enjoy their stay. Even though it was a beautiful setting and was very peaceful (except with the maintenance man part) it did end up to be a big let down and my friends and I were very disappointed that things were not working correctly. Also, the water SMELLS AWFUL!!! It isn't just a slight odor it STINKS BAD!!! So if you decide to go you should take baby whips because the smell is so bad you won't be able to shower with out almost vomiting.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: If you read all of our reviews for this cabin you will see that it is very highly rated with mostly 5 star ratings. I quickly resolved every issue (within an hour) that this guest reported with the exception of the fireplace. I also made every possible effort to fix the fireplace, however, it required an out of stock part which has been ordered. I did offer the guest a partial refund for the inconvenience. The guest comments on the water are simply vastly exaggerated and inaccurate. I have installed an expensive (Rain Soft) filtration system that has nearly eliminated any smell in the water. I checked the water myself immediately after this guest. The water is well water which can be different from city water, but it is nothing as this guest describes. I have been if the vacation rental business for over 15 years and I can say that this guest is the most disingenuous, dishonest, and unreasonable guest I have ever had.
Did you find this review helpful?
18 3
Salisbury
5

The Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful days in this lovely cabin. Couldn't have asked for a more comfortable place or more beautiful surroundings. The cabin itself lacks nothing. The kitchen has every utensil you can think of which will suit the cook in any family. There are two great TVs, one downstairs and one in the upstairs bedroom. I mention this primarily because the NFL draft was going on at the time of our visit and my husband was delighted to find that he wouldn’t have to miss it. The cabin is listed as sleeping 2-4 (king-size bed upstairs and futon downstairs), but there is a wonderful screened-in porch that could easily serve as a great sleeping porch in the spring and early summer months – and I would be leaving our a very important plus here if I didn’t mention the comfortable king-size bed in the upstairs loft - one of the most comfortable beds I’ve ever slept in. This place has its own sleep sound machine as well, in that the sounds of the rushing trout stream just outside the back of the cabin easily drown out any noises that might keep one awake at night. The amenities just go on and on - a deck with gas grill and plenty of seating, plus a HOT TUB! There is a fire pit right next to the trout stream – the perfect place to spend an evening! The grounds are beautiful and the location perfect (close to Boone and Blowing Rock!). Trout Retreat is the perfect getaway! We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
18 0

Map

Sugar Mtn., Beech Mtn., Tweetsie Railroad,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Deep Gap Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 6 2018
4 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
$800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Cleaning fee $65
Tax Rate 13.0%

Summer and holidays may require a longer stay.
Weekly rate $800 plus taxes and cleaning fee

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties