Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Close to lifts! Sleeps 14 luxury home 14 person hot tub!

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Office, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-15)

This luxury ski chalet is perfect for a large family or group of friends Summer or Winter. The 5 bedrooms in this spacious rental include a grand master suite with an extra large bath tub and steam shower, a junior suite on the ground level, perfect for any mobility-impaired guests, a double bedroom, a twin bedroom, a bunk room with three twin beds and a trundle, plus a Queen size pull-out couch in the smaller living room.

The house is on the town's bike path, and a stone's throw from the free bus to the slopes and downtown. It is walking distance to miles of hiking trails. No need to drive to a trailhead! You are minutes from enjoying all Sun Valley has to offer.

After a long day on the slopes come home and relax in the 16-person in-ground hot tub, or the indoor sauna. Play a game of pool in the heated garage, or watch a movie on 2 large screen satellite TVs.

The house has two living rooms with fireplaces, and a chef's kitchen. PLEASE READ THE RATES NOTES BEFORE BOOKING.

Keywords: vacation rental home

More Details

Owner
Susan minford
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2017

About Susan minford

Susan, along with her husband Brad turned their family home into a luxury vacation rental after the kids left the nest. When they are in Sun Valley, they stay in a condominium in town, leaving the Sun Valley Villa strictly as a vacation retreat.

Susan minford purchased this house in 1998

Why Susan minford chose Sun Valley Area

When we're in Sun Valley in the winter, we ski on Baldy, or cross country ski on the Sun Valley lodge golf course - stopping for lunch at the Trail Creek cabin. Or, snowshoe, cross country ski on the hundreds of groomed trails just north of town. We snowmobile at Smiley Creek - just over the Galena summit. And, of course, dine out! Favorites for lunch: Apples at the base of Warm Springs during ski season, The Wine Shop, Perry's, or Cristina's for brunch, and of course the Pioneer Saloon for steak, Il Naso for Italian, Globus for Asian fusion, La Cabanita for authentic Mexican. The Ketchum Grill, The Sawtooth and Village Square Tavern all serve continental/American fare. My most favorite is Enoteca on the corner of Main and Sun Valley Road. They have wood fired pizza, extensive wines, gourmet dinners, friendly waiters and they honor reservations - although hard to get.

In summer, hiking or biking rule! There's a 17 mile gravel bike path between Galena Summit and Ketchum. After that a paved 18 mile path from Ketchum to Bellevue. Or, the paved 10 mile loop through Sun Valley village and Elkhorn. One can also hike up Baldy, have a bite to eat on top and take the chair lift down (free to those who make it to the top on foot). Outside of town, the Sawtooth mountains offer thousands of day hiking trails. Red Fish Lake is a great place to hang for the day, with a beach and paddle boats for hire.

What makes this house unique

Since we've traveled around the world with children, we've always rented houses, rather than stay in hotels, thus we've learned what's good and what's not. Our kitchen is always stocked with staples, so no need to buy that one spice that a recipe calls for; or a pound of sugar for just one cup for baking. Hairdryers are provided in all 5 bathrooms, 14 robes are available for all the guests for the hot tub/sauna use. 600 thread count sheets and fluffy towels are the norm. The beds have top of the line mattresses and there's 2 pillows for every guest (28 in all!) of top quality. There's dinner service for 24, nothing has been short changed at the Sun Valley villa, leaving you to enjoy your vacation to the fullest.

Amenities

Ketchum House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Max. adults: 15
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , bidet , steam shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , dual shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , sauna
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower , 6 spray shower
    Bathroom 6 - shower
  • 5 1/2 bathrooms!
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 4 twin/ single
    den - 1 sleep sofa /futon , queen
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (6) 5 Twin Beds, 1 Trundle, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 16 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Close to lifts! Sleeps 14 luxury home 14 person hot tub!
average rating of 4.5 based on 6 reviews
Boise, ID
5

Relay Weekend

  • 5 of 5

This is the 5th time my Sawtooth Relay team has stayed in this beautiful home, and we absolutely love it. It is well equipped, has an amazing GIANT hot tub, and the rooms are so clean and comfortable. Brad and Susan are extremely easy to work with and very responsive to any and all questions or needs.

Over the years we have seen many improvements including a new kitchen floor, new hot tub tiles and new beds. For us it is like coming home every year and we look forward to bring back next year! I highly recommend this home for all of your friend and family gatherings.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice Home... Needs some updating and maintenance

  • 3 of 5

The house was nice, spacious.. with 10 adults, 2 children.. Had some down falls.. the house needs some maintenance and updating.. the tiles in the hot tub are a safety hazard.. as the tiles are broken and can cause injuries (2 of us left with cuts on our hands or leg).. the down stairs bathroom backs up, the tub upstairs does not hold water, the lights went out in the bathroom upstairs, the queen bedroom bed broke on day one.. was still sleep able.. the house needs a good cleaning.. I would recommend the place... as it was OK.. and we made great memories there.. but not a place we would re-visit.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amanda is right about the hot tub tiles. We had the hot tub completely re--tiled last year with beautiful (and expensive) slate grey tile. I have not replaced the photo on the VRBO listing showing the new tub. However, the tilers used the wrong glue and our harsh winter caused some of the tiles around the outside of the tub to crack and break off. We did not realize this was happening until mid-March. If I did, I would have put the precarious situation in our instructions. The new tiles are now being replaced and I will post a current photo on VRBO. We use the house when it is not rented, and the downstairs toilet has never backed up with us. We do mention in the instructions that we have "sensitive" drains and not to put any sanitary products down them. There's a plunger in the garage supply closet. I don't know what she's talking about with the queen bed being broken. I didn't know the upstairs tub did not hold water, so that is being repaired. Light bulbs burn out. We replace them when they do. And, since Amanda's stay, we have also had all the trim re-painted. She was right, it needed re-freshing. But, I take exception with it needing a good cleaning. I steam clean the rugs and carpets once a month. I scrub the tile grout on the bathroom walls and floors with a toothbrush. I spot clean the walls where suitcases have left marks. I take all the pots and pans out of the kitchen cabinets and clean the inside of the cabinets, ditto the silverware drawer. I think probably the perception that it needs a good cleaning is that the house is not a brand new house with brand sparkling new and shiny everything. But, believe me, it is clean!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Las Vegas
4

Great house for large family gatherings

  • 4 of 5

House worked very well for our large family – everyone had privacy and the size and layout of the bedrooms and bathrooms was great. Large kitchen was great for planning and preparing family meals, big living room area was comfy for those you wanted to watch movies and the smaller living room worked well for the overflow of our “younger” family members. The large hot tub was a hit and we enjoyed sitting out enjoying the cool evenings.

On the down side, the house was only “generally clean / on the surface” . Not up to the standards for a VRBO rental and for the price paid. A little more time and due diligence to “not just surface cleaning” would go a long way to bring the house up to the standards it should be. I would however recommend the home for large family gatherings for sure.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A wonderful place to stay in Ketchum!

  • 5 of 5

Our family recently stayed at this home for a reunion. It truly was a memorable week, a great time for all. There were 16 of us, 10 adults and 6 children (age range of the kids was from 9 months to 13 years). This house worked out perfectly for the whole group, VERY spacious with plenty of storage space including a hallway where we kept odds and ends. Two very comfortable nice-sized living rooms which was wonderful because the kids essentially used one and the adults used the other. Great kitchen, two dining room tables that could easily accommodate 16 adults plus barstools at the kitchen island. Laundry room and separate computer area, both off the kitchen. The layout of the house worked out well as there were essentially 5 families and each family had their own bedroom. In addition, for sleeping space, there's a cozy pull-out sleeper sofa in one of the downstairs living rooms. In the front of the home there's a LARGE master suite upstairs and a junior suite downstairs, each with their own bath plus an additional separate bathroom off the hallway. Towards the middle of the home, there's a stairway leading up to 3 more bedrooms, one room with multiple twin sized beds, a bathroom in the upstairs hallway and the other two bedrooms share a shower (each bedroom has their own sink and toilet but they do share a common shower). The patio was fabulous ... lots of space with tables and chairs, a HUGE hot tub, a BBQ, pretty lawn and stunning flower beds. In the garage there's a pool table and an amazing selection of books to read. Parking was plentiful. Nice location, not far from downtown Ketchum, close to Warm Springs Lodge. Of course, our visit was in the summer but I'd definitely recommend this home year round.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: wow, Kim, just now getting this! Thank you so much for your kind words
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Great Home!

  • 5 of 5

AMAZING!!! With 12 adults I was concerned that we wouldn’t have enough space, but this home proved to be everything we needed it to be and more. Regarding the home, YES, it looks exactly like the pictures. Regarding the owners, Susan and her husband were so kind and prompt in their responses that we had no issues whatsoever. We had a great time at this home and I recommend it to anyone looking to visit Sun Valley. Baldy and Dollar are less than a 5 minute drive away and the hot tube and sauna proved to be perfect night cap to a long day on the mountain.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Manchester, NH
5

Sun Valley Ski Chalet

  • 5 of 5

This house was everything we hoped. Great location, great price, great condition, great amenities, the size to handle the large group of 14 we had skiing, and the owners were easy to work with throughout. If you are going to Sun Valley with a large group of any kind, I suggest you look at this property, you won't be disappointed. I'd give this house a #1 rating in the Sun Valley - Ketchum area!!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
SUN, Hailey Idaho
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Big Wood Golf Course
Nearest Ski
0.2 Miles
warm springs lifts
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Damage Deposit $500

Please contact owner if you're bringing a pet. DOGS ONLY!!! Additional fees apply. Pet fee applies PER PET.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.