Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Close to lifts! Sleeps 14 luxury home 14 person hot tub!

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Office, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-15)

This luxury ski chalet is perfect for a large family or group of friends Summer or Winter. The 5 bedrooms in this spacious rental include a grand master suite with an extra large bath tub and steam shower, a junior suite on the ground level, perfect for any mobility-impaired guests, a double bedroom, a twin bedroom, a bunk room with three twin beds and a trundle, plus a Queen size pull-out couch in the smaller living room.

The house is on the town's bike path, and a stone's throw from the free bus to the slopes and downtown. It is walking distance to miles of hiking trails. No need to drive to a trailhead! You are minutes from enjoying all Sun Valley has to offer.

After a long day on the slopes come home and relax in the 16-person in-ground hot tub, or the indoor sauna. Play a game of pool in the heated garage, or watch a movie on 2 large screen satellite TVs.

The house has two living rooms with fireplaces, and a chef's kitchen. PLEASE READ THE RATES NOTES BEFORE BOOKING.

Keywords: vacation rental home

More Details

Owner
Susan minford
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 15, 2017

About Susan minford

Susan, along with her husband Brad turned their family home into a luxury vacation rental after the kids left the nest. When they are in Sun Valley, they stay in a condominium in town, leaving the Sun Valley Villa strictly as a vacation retreat.

Susan minford purchased this house in 1998

Why Susan minford chose Ketchum

When we're in Sun Valley in the winter, we ski on Baldy, or cross country ski on the Sun Valley lodge golf course - stopping for lunch at the Trail Creek cabin. Or, snowshoe, cross country ski on the hundreds of groomed trails just north of town. We snowmobile at Smiley Creek - just over the Galena summit. And, of course, dine out! Favorites for lunch: Apples at the base of Warm Springs during ski season, The Wine Shop, Perry's, or Cristina's for brunch, and of course the Pioneer Saloon for steak, Il Naso for Italian, Globus for Asian fusion, La Cabanita for authentic Mexican. The Ketchum Grill, The Sawtooth and Village Square Tavern all serve continental/American fare. My most favorite is Enoteca on the corner of Main and Sun Valley Road. They have wood fired pizza, extensive wines, gourmet dinners, friendly waiters and they honor reservations - although hard to get.

In summer, hiking or biking rule! There's a 17 mile gravel bike path between Galena Summit and Ketchum. After that a paved 18 mile path from Ketchum to Bellevue. Or, the paved 10 mile loop through Sun Valley village and Elkhorn. One can also hike up Baldy, have a bite to eat on top and take the chair lift down (free to those who make it to the top on foot). Outside of town, the Sawtooth mountains offer thousands of day hiking trails. Red Fish Lake is a great place to hang for the day, with a beach and paddle boats for hire.

What makes this house unique

Since we've traveled around the world with children, we've always rented houses, rather than stay in hotels, thus we've learned what's good and what's not. Our kitchen is always stocked with staples, so no need to buy that one spice that a recipe calls for; or a pound of sugar for just one cup for baking. Hairdryers are provided in all 5 bathrooms, 14 robes are available for all the guests for the hot tub/sauna use. 600 thread count sheets and fluffy towels are the norm. The beds have top of the line mattresses and there's 2 pillows for every guest (28 in all!) of top quality. There's dinner service for 24, nothing has been short changed at the Sun Valley villa, leaving you to enjoy your vacation to the fullest.

Amenities

Ketchum House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Max. adults: 15
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , bidet , steam shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , dual shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , sauna
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower , 6 spray shower
    Bathroom 6 - shower
  • 5 1/2 bathrooms!
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 4 twin/ single
    den - 1 sleep sofa /futon , queen
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (6) 5 Twin Beds, 1 Trundle, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 16 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Close to lifts! Sleeps 14 luxury home 14 person hot tub!
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
Couer d'Alene, ID
5

Our Jazzfest Weekend Family Reunion.

  • 5 of 5

House worked great, wonderful kitchen and well equipped to host our breakfasts and dinners, seating and dinnerware worked out really well. We had 15 in the house, no problem and another 6 join us for meals. Family rooms were spacious, enough room in the house to spread out and relax. Hot tub was wonderful, sauna and steam shower were great as well. Just a quick walk to Warm Springs. Brought our two dogs and the fenced yard was great for them. Brad was super responsive to a couple requests, we had a great stay! Highly recommend for a big group. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, David! You're welcome back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home, a lot of space

  • 5 of 5

I rented this home for a group of 16 performers, and we all loved it! There is so much room, the hot tub was spacious, and the home had all of the necessary amenities and more. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rawlins, WY
5

Perfect for our family reunion!

  • 5 of 5

Just wanted to give a shout out about how much we loved the house. The little kids loved the hot tub which is like a small swimming pool to them and the big kids loved the pool table so it was a win/win for all of us! Having enough seating for all of us to enjoy meals together was priceless! The eclectic style made it feel very homey and I wasn't so worried about the kids scratching or denting anything. And all the different showers got rave reviews from the adults (body jets, steam shower)! Great house for any big group gathering!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Alisha, I'm so glad you enjoyed the house!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place in Sun Valley!

  • 5 of 5

We loved Susan's house in Sun Valley! It was just as advertized, a 5 min drive/uber into the center of town. Sleeps 5 adult couples very comfortably + has a room with 4 bunk beds. We loved the hot tub and outdoor area, and house was well stocked with towels, kitchen supplies, etc.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Sveta. Glad you had a great time in Sun Valley and my home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boise, ID
5

Relay Weekend

  • 5 of 5

This is the 5th time my Sawtooth Relay team has stayed in this beautiful home, and we absolutely love it. It is well equipped, has an amazing GIANT hot tub, and the rooms are so clean and comfortable. Brad and Susan are extremely easy to work with and very responsive to any and all questions or needs.

Over the years we have seen many improvements including a new kitchen floor, new hot tub tiles and new beds. For us it is like coming home every year and we look forward to bring back next year! I highly recommend this home for all of your friend and family gatherings.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice Home... Needs some updating and maintenance

  • 3 of 5

The house was nice, spacious.. with 10 adults, 2 children.. Had some down falls.. the house needs some maintenance and updating.. the tiles in the hot tub are a safety hazard.. as the tiles are broken and can cause injuries (2 of us left with cuts on our hands or leg).. the down stairs bathroom backs up, the tub upstairs does not hold water, the lights went out in the bathroom upstairs, the queen bedroom bed broke on day one.. was still sleep able.. the house needs a good cleaning.. I would recommend the place... as it was OK.. and we made great memories there.. but not a place we would re-visit.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amanda is right about the hot tub tiles. We had the hot tub completely re--tiled last year with beautiful (and expensive) slate grey tile. I have not replaced the photo on the VRBO listing showing the new tub. However, the tilers used the wrong glue and our harsh winter caused some of the tiles around the outside of the tub to crack and break off. We did not realize this was happening until mid-March. If I did, I would have put the precarious situation in our instructions. The new tiles are now being replaced and I will post a current photo on VRBO. We use the house when it is not rented, and the downstairs toilet has never backed up with us. We do mention in the instructions that we have "sensitive" drains and not to put any sanitary products down them. There's a plunger in the garage supply closet. I don't know what she's talking about with the queen bed being broken. I didn't know the upstairs tub did not hold water, so that is being repaired. Light bulbs burn out. We replace them when they do. And, since Amanda's stay, we have also had all the trim re-painted. She was right, it needed re-freshing. But, I take exception with it needing a good cleaning. I steam clean the rugs and carpets once a month. I scrub the tile grout on the bathroom walls and floors with a toothbrush. I spot clean the walls where suitcases have left marks. I take all the pots and pans out of the kitchen cabinets and clean the inside of the cabinets, ditto the silverware drawer. I think probably the perception that it needs a good cleaning is that the house is not a brand new house with brand sparkling new and shiny everything. But, believe me, it is clean!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
SUN, Hailey Idaho
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Big Wood Golf Course
Nearest Ski
0.2 Miles
warm springs lifts
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 9.0%

Please contact owner if you're bringing a pet. DOGS ONLY!!! Additional fees apply. Pet fee applies PER PET.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties