expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Quiet & Private Guest House with Gorgeous Valley Views

Carmel Valley, CA, USA
  • Bungalow600 sqft
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths0
  • Mininum Stay2 - 8 nights

Bungalow, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Our quiet, peaceful, and secluded guest house lies less than 1/4 mile above Bernardus Lodge. It was completely remodeled in 2006. It is spacious yet cozy for two people at 600+ square feet. It has beautiful views of Garland Ranch Regional Park and Garzas Canyon.

The guest house is minutes from Leguna Seca (5), Monterey (15-20), Pacific Grove (25), Garland Park (2), Wine Tasting and Carmel-by-the-Sea (10-15). It is approximately 45 minutes to Big Sur.

Enjoy all the Monterey Peninsula has to offer or just relax and rest in the sun, fresh air, and gorgeous views from the deck!

A great value - please read some comments in the guest book below.

Click the links below for 25+ photos of the guest house and some customized Google maps for our area (recreation, dining, wine tasting).

Garage parking available upon inquiry.



Member Since 2007
Response rate:
Response time:
within one day
english, spanish
Calendar last updated:
Apr 12, 2018
About Rogers

Hello! We look forward to accommodating you at our wonderful spot in Carmel Valley. Our son, Rogers helps us manage the guest house so he'll be your primary point of contact when coordinating your stay.

Rogers purchased this Bungalow in 1989

Why Rogers chose Carmel Valley

Carmel Valley is known for its great climate, rustic feel, and beautiful scenery. We actually reside in the main house which sits lower on our property. There are no direct sight lines between the two houses and often times we don't even meet our guests (although we most certainly enjoy when we do). It has great southern exposure and views onto Garland Park, the eastern part of the valley, and the Santa Lucia Mountain Range.

What makes this Bungalow unique

There are a quite a few nice things about the guest house. Please read the guest comments in our online guest book and view the photos as they best describe the benefits and amenities that our guest house has to offer. We completely remodeled the guest house in 2005/06, and many guests have told us how much they like the 'feel' of the place. We've been on VRBO since late 2007 and have been excited ever since at having guests enjoy the beautiful place we call home.


    • Internet
    • Heater
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 1 Bedrooms, Sleeps 2
        • Queen size Beds (1)


        • 1 Bathroom
          • Slate tiled shower with views up the eastern slopes of Carmel Valley.

          Location Type

            • Mountain View


                • Away From It All
                • Romantic
                • Sports & Activities


                    • Guests provide their own meals


                        • Living Room
                        • Broadband Access
                        • Hair Dryer
                        • Heating
                        • Internet
                        • Iron & Board
                        • Linens Provided
                        • Garage
                          Available upon request.
                        • Mobile Phone
                          Good reception from most major carriers.
                        • Parking
                        • Parking Off Street
                          Guest house is located off of a private road and has no direct sightlines to any neighboring homes.
                        • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
                        • Towels Provided
                        • Wireless Internet


                            • Coffee Maker
                            • Cooking Utensils
                            • Dishes & Utensils
                            • Microwave
                            • Refrigerator
                            • Stove
                            • Toaster


                                • Dining Area
                                • comfy seating for 4 people


                                    • Satellite / Cable
                                      Comcast standard cable package.
                                    • Stereo
                                      There is a JBL OnBeat Bluetooth wireless speaker system with both 30 pin and lightning charger docks for older and newer iPods/Phones/Pads. It also has an aux 3.5 mm headphone jack for most devices.
                                    • Television
                                      There is a composite video connection from the speaker docking system if you have an iPod/Pad/Phone.


                                        • Deck / Patio
                                          Wrap-around deck on 3 sides offers an ideal spot for reading, relaxing, or taking in the beautiful view.
                                        • Outdoor Grill


                                            • not suitable for children
                                            • wheelchair inaccessible


                                                • marina
                                                • churches
                                                • health/beauty spa
                                                • library
                                                • live theater
                                                • cinemas
                                                • museums
                                                • playground
                                                • restaurants
                                                • synagogues
                                                • winery tours

                                                  Leisure Activities

                                                    • scenic drives
                                                    • antiquing
                                                    • bird watching
                                                    • boating
                                                    • horseback riding
                                                    • paddle boating
                                                    • photography
                                                    • beachcombing
                                                    • shelling
                                                    • shopping
                                                    • sight seeing
                                                    • walking
                                                    • whale watching
                                                    • wildlife viewing

                                                      Local Services & Businesses

                                                        • ATM/bank
                                                        • fitness center
                                                        • groceries
                                                        • hospital
                                                        • laundromat
                                                        • medical services

                                                          Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                            • mountain biking
                                                            • cycling
                                                            • fishing
                                                            • golf
                                                            • hiking
                                                            • kayaking
                                                            • deepsea fishing
                                                            • sailing
                                                            • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                            • snorkeling/diving
                                                            • sound/bay fishing
                                                            • surfing
                                                            • tennis


                                                                • Hair dryer and iron w/ ironing board included.

                                                                  50 Reviews


                                                                  Latest reviews

                                                                  As advertised

                                                                  Jordan C.Boynton Beach, FL

                                                                  Clean place. Gorgeous views. Private and remote enough without being too far from Carmel. Curious deer walking around the property and a chicken coup just out of ear's reach were fun perks. We'll be back.

                                                                  Spectacular views but in need of much TLC!

                                                                  Trisha B.Tijeras, NM

                                                                  Although the views from this guesthouse are spectacular and it is located in a very quiet area this rental is in need of some definite TLC which becomes obvious especially if you rent for more than a few days, we rented for two full weeks. The rental has a general musty odor that never cleared up as every day when we departed and arrived back…the musty odor was still quite apparent. There was a dank smell coming from the kitchenette sink. The refrigerator is an under counter small refrigerator that was in desperate need of the freezer section being defrosted as the ice cube trays could barely fit in it. All linens, bed sheets and towels, had a very sour musty smell that even after staying 2 weeks and being provided a second set of linens by week 2 still had the sour musty smell. The bedroom linens are in desperate need of replacement as they are worn out and barely fit the bed. The bed pillows are flat foam pillows which also have a distinct foul odor. There are no screens on the four bedroom windows making it difficult to allow fresh air in for any length of time. The lighting in the great room is not sufficient to read by while sitting on the couches nor to do computer work at the dining table. The hanging slider door to the bathroom is not easy to move and could us a handle of some sort. All carpeting needs cleaned as well as the upholstered dining room chairs. The closet has an odd cupboard installed across the middle which prevents the ability to hang a pair of slacks. The closet was stocked with only 5-6 wire hangers. Be aware that this rental is built above the owners three car garage, we were woken up by a loud racket a few mornings at 6:45am when someone departed and the garage door went up and down right under the bedroom. We did not contact the owner during our stay as we felt many of the fixes would have been intrusive and taken some time to repair. We did make contact after our stay and requested some compensation but were denied such. The owner did appreciate our feedback. Unfortunately, this rental is in need of some real attention and maintenance not just housekeeping services after each guest. We are baffled by all the positive reviews – the place has potential, its location is outstanding, but a 5-star accommodation it is not. For the past 17 years, we have rented from VRBO/HomeAway all over the USA and abroad and have left many positive reviews. However, this was not one that we could leave such a positive review.

                                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                                  This is the first overwhelmingly negative review we have ever received. We were saddened that someone did not enjoy our guest house. However, they did stay the entire two weeks without letting us know about any of the aforementioned issues. Could it have been that bad? We have always tried to take care of any maintenance or other requests made by our guests. Most of the items mentioned in the review have been addressed. We look forward to earning 5-star reviews in the future.

                                                                  Lovely romantic home with gorgeous views! Easy access to carmel, big sur and all the wineries!

                                                                  Catherine J.

                                                                  Awesome location and top notch comfy home☺️

                                                                  Nice updated guest house but some issues need to be addressed. Would give 3.5 stars if allowed.

                                                                  Mary J.Morgan Hill, CA

                                                                  Overall the place was nice, but we had some disappointing issues. The guest house is updated and has beautiful views. I emailed the owner the day of to let him know that we were looking forward to our stay. He immediately responded stating he was looking forward to accommodating us. With that said, when we arrived everything was closed up and uninviting. The rental was a little musty with lots of cobwebs and spiders. Once we opened it up and got some fresh air and cleaned up cobwebs, it was much better. The biggest problem was the rodent in the wall at night. It woke me up at 2 am on the first night and kept me up until 3 am on the second night. It was horribly loud. It was squeaking, chewing and digging all night in the bedroom. I notified the owner that morning and have not received any response since.

                                                                  The bathroom is very nice and updated. The bed is comfortable. Pillows are flat as pancakes. If you like fluffy pillows, you may need to bring your own. We rented the house to go to a wedding. We had dresses and suites and the closet has a shelf in it that does not allow you to hang a dress or suite.

                                                                  The living space is comfortable and provides amazing views. The kitchenette is nice and clean. Bring your own coffee. There is a coffee maker but limited amount of coffee grounds in a jar.

                                                                  It's a great location. It's a quick drive to the restaurants and wineries in the village. It's also a short drive to get a massage and breakfast at the Carmel Valley Ranch.

                                                                  I have rented dozens of homes on VRBO all over the country and out of the country. 99% of the time I have given extremely positive 5 star reviews. I was disappointed that I did not receive a response in regards to my sleepless nights due to the loud rodent in the wall. Had I received a response, I would have given a higher rating. I wish I could have given a higher rating and a better review.

                                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                                  I apologize for not having responded regarding the rodent issue. My wife and I welcomed premature identical twins to our family this year and I haven't been on top of my inbox as much as usual. The rodents haven't been an issue for our guests in the interim so hopefully they have left. That said, I take guest comfort and communications very seriously - I apologize for not exceeding your expectations in this regard.

                                                                  Great vacation get-away

                                                                  Rachel R.

                                                                  Wonderful location, comfortable house, great views. Best of all was the hike recommended us through the redwood canyon, only minutes away.

                                                                  Charming and wonderful view!

                                                                  Rylee W.

                                                                  My husband and I enjoyed our recent stay in this guest home and would highly recommend it!

                                                                  The house was charming and provided all the accommodations we needed.


                                                                  Carmel Valley, CA, USA

                                                                  Carmel Valley and the Monterey Peninsula feature some of the most scenic locations in California. The area has big city amenities without the congestion. There is a multitude of leisure activities to discover in this area - Cannery Row, the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Pebble Beach & the 17 Mile Drive, Wineries & Hiking, Scenic Highway 1. Annual events include the Concours D'Elegance, Pebble Beach Pro-AM golf tournament, Cherry's Jubilee, Jazz & Blues Festivals, et cetera.


                                                                  Additional information about rental rates

                                                                  Rates are subject to increase during special events and holidays.

                                                                  50 Reviews
                                                                  Wonderful 4.8/5
                                                                  Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                  For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                                  Property # 157453