Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

6 min to HOF, 9 min to Dreams Park ....... World class house and property

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Space 4,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4000sq ft, 5 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, IDEAL maximum3 couples ( 6 ADULTS) + 4 kids

THE LUCKY DUCK”

Once one of the Anheuser Bush family estates

Our beautiful 50 acre estate with a 9 acre lake Waterfront Property is only

9 Minutes to Dreams Park

5 Minutes to Cooperstown Village & Baseball Hall of Fame

3 Minutes to Clark Sports Center and INDUCTION site.

SIX (6) ADULTS and a few kids (4) works best for us.

Our home is nicer than most because we want a great group of people who appreciate getting an immaculate beautiful property.

OUR HOUSE COMES WITH ALL YOUR BED LINENS, (NEW AT THE START OF EVERY SEASON) SHAMPOO, CONDITIONER & HAIR DRYERS SUPPLIED.

JUST BRING YOUR CLOTHES, FOOD, LAUGHTER AND A WINNING TEAM.

Unlike other homes in Cooperstown our home is just for YOU the vacationer.

We do not personally live it during the year and move out when you arrive.

Neither do we rent it out cheap to someone for 8 months in the off season and move them out just prior to the in season start.

Our home is immaculate and just for you,

OUR 5 BEDROOM LAYOUT IS AS FOLLOWS

BEDROOMS # 1 & 2

TWO KING MASTER SUITES

BOTH WITH KING BEDS AND PRIVATE BATH

Two lucky sets of parents will spend the week sleeping in comfort.

BEDROOMS # 3 & 4

LOVELY QUEEN BED ROOM / FAMILY SUITE

Completely separate 1 QUEEN BEDROOM THAT CONNECTS AND SHARES A LARGE BATHROOM with the separate and complete BUNK ROOM that sleeps two next door.

A great setup for a couple traveling with 2 children.

BEDROOM # 5

Is our MAIN FLOOR HANDI CAP ROOM with 2 TWIN BEDS and its own RIDE IN private bathroom.

LUXURY CUSTOM BUILT KITCHEN

Cherry wood gourmet kitchen with Granite and Corian counters top and lots of cupboard space is well outfitted with lots of dishes, glasses, pots pans, and brand new appliances. Gas BBQ outside and A WATER VIEW LIKE NO OTHER.

Now for the story.....The “Lucky Duck” is so named because we feel that we are just about the Luckiest of Ducks on earth to be the owners of such a Glorious property. You will feel the same to be a guest here.

Our home will be your very own private retreat when you are here. It is nicer than a hotel by far.

Christmas 2007, we purchased this wonderful property from the great grandson of Adolphus Busch, the founder of Anheuser Busch (a prominent family up here as this is where are the hops for their beer were grown) He had also once owned the New England Patriots.

Sitting on 50 wonderful acres, is a lovely house but there was also a beautiful old hand laid stone based barn. The barn was in disrepair and as we felt it would have been a real shame to lose such a wonderful structure. So starting in 2008 and not finishing till Aug of 09, we decided to take from the top of the stone wall down and rebuilt it into a new a stunning 4000 sq ft 5 bedroom 4 bathroom residence.

With 5 bedrooms and 4 baths,(full description above) and huge living spaces, we have invested meticulous attention to detail in this property while succeeding in maintaining the integrity of this historical building, and creating a wonderful space for all to enjoy. Some of the original outer barn exterior wood now adorns the walls of the interior living and family room as a reminder.

Enter through the fabulous glass front doorway to a breathtaking view of the lake and perennial gardens as seen thru the floor to ceiling glass windows directly across on the other side……quite an entrance. A balcony framed totally in glass allows the beauty of the land and nature to flow right in.

25 ft high, hand honed beamed ceilings, huge floor to ceiling windows throughout allowing for amazing views of the lake, lush perennial gardens, forests, and wildlife. What more could you want?

The living room faces the lake and features, again, two huge floor to ceiling windows, a gas fireplace with a massive cedar log mantel comfortable sofa and chairs, a 50' flat screen TV, wireless internet service and an old sugaring off sled serving as a coffee table makes quite a statement.

Dinning at the 10 ft dining room table, under an old wagon wheel that has old lanterns creatively converted into modern lighting, you will experience a cross view of both sides of the property.

The lake side, the gardens in the morning on the pasture side, the fabulous sunsets at night.

The family room area has an 8 person poker table and there is additional seating for 4 at the kitchen counter.

Lovely large cedar paneled laundry room, with a washer, dryer, coat room, wet sink and cupboards completes the house.

Outdoors welcomes you with a 7 acre perennial fringed lake.

The lake is stocked with large and small mouth bass, perch, blue gills and carp that practically jump on your hook. We have a dock that you can fish from or you can stroll around to the far side and walk the board walk to Meditation Island.......

You can also walk or jog the whole perimeter of the lake on a dirt path. State land boarders our property so hiking and exploring the woods is a must do.

Kayaks and fishing rods provided for your days of fun.

Wildlife abounds, deer, wild turkeys, George the blue Heron, red tailed hawks, ducks and birds galore, so bring those binoculars. Everything to see and enjoy…..nothing here to hurt you.

We guarantee the area has so much to offer you will never be bored.

To book our home we need you to email us your home address and we will discuss sending you out a contract. Your deposit is 50% the weekly rental rate with the balance due 120 days before your arrival.

We are blessed as you will feel staying a week with us.

More Details

Owner
Kate Sullivan
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 16, 2017

About Kate Sullivan

It is just my husband and I and we still work for a living. However we have the luxury of working from home so can be around for anything you need or want.

Really important for you to know

We didnt build this home intending it to be a rental so it is built with quality. We dont sleep or live in there and move out when you want to rent it or pick up some check rental money by renting it out when out of season. It is just truly a vacation rental waiting for you to come and enjoy the area and your time here.

This is why our home is immaculate and we want guest who will appreciate this and keep it this way.

Kate Sullivan purchased this house in 2008

Why Kate Sullivan chose Cooperstown

WITHOUT QUESTION ONE OF THE NICEST PROPERTIES IN THE AREA.......I WOULD SAY ONE OF THE TOP 3 IN COOPERSTOWN. WELL KNOWN IN THE AREA. ONCE A BUSH (BEER) ESTATE.

What makes this house unique

PEACE, QUIET, LUXUARY, IMMACULATE.

WE HAVE WEEKLY STAFF TAKING CARE OF THE HOME AND GARDENS TO MAKE SURE THE MAINTANCE IS KEPT UP AND YOU’RE STAYS WITH US IS THE BEST

Amenities

Cooperstown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 9:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Smoking allowed ...
  • Leave the house in good condition. If more than a normal cleaning is needed pictures will be sent and a charge of $190 processed.
  • Rental agreement is for exactly the number of guests contracted for. Any additional will have to be approved & a nightly charge will apply if accepted
  • we have a large body of water on the property and provide kayaks and fishing poles for your enjoyment but you are 100% responsible for your safety.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Town
  • Village ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 17 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , LOVELY BATHROOM........TOTALL IMMACULATE AND COMFORTABLE
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , REALLY NICE COMFORTABLE BATHROOM.......IMMACULATE
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , WALK IN HANDICAP SHOWER.......LOVELY LARGE BATHROOM IDEAL
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , LARGE, IMMACULATE, SHARED BATH WITH QUEEN & BUNK RM
  • All our bathrooms and Large, Modern and immaculate no groddy tile work or leaky or dirty toilets and showers If you appreciate clean surroundings then you will love our home and we will love you for taking care of it during your stay,
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , WITH PRIVATE BATH AND WATER VIEW
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , WITH PRIVATE BATH AND WATER VIEW
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , HANDICAP ROOM WITH PRIVATE BATH AND WATER VIEW
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , QUEEN BED WITH JOINING BUNK ROOM & SHARED BATH PASTURE VIEW
    Bedroom 5 - 2 bunk bed , BUNK ROOM, 2 BEDS, SHARED BATH WITH QUEEN ROOM
  • (2) Two King Master suites both so comfortable you will definitely want to sleep in, (1) Queen Bedroom with a view of the pasture......truly comfy and wonderful, shares a very large bathroom with the bunk room Twin or Single Beds (2) beautiful comfortable twin bed with a trundle twin underneath that can be two single or pushed together for one king, Baby Cribs (1) Crib for young non climbing child provided upon request at no additional cost, Bunk Beds (2) single beds awesome, comfortable and clean clean clean.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
OUR PROPERTIES ARE LUXURY AND A HOME THAT AFTER A GREAT DAY OF ACTIVITIES YOU WANT TO COME BACK TO RELAX AND ENJOY IN. OUR HOME IS AS NICE AS YOUR OWN HOME AND WE WANT YOU TO TREAT AND APPRECIATE IT AS SUCH. WE KNOW YOU WILL.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
6 min to HOF, 9 min to Dreams Park ....... World class house and property
average rating of 4.814815 based on 27 reviews
Lambertville, NJ
5

Lucky Duck was Luck for us

  • 5 of 5

We were lucky enough to stay at the Lucky Duck for our Dreams Park week and it was a real pleasure. Everything, the house the property, location and especially the owners couldn't have been better and to top if off our boys did great. This was an experience we will never forget. See you in two more years when our youngest comes of age.

Thanks

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: See you in 2
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles CA
5

Thumbs Up for the Lucky Duck!

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from Cooperstown and Dreamspark, and were very fortunate to stay at the Lucky Duck. A short, beautiful country road drive from Dreamspark and Cooperstown Village, this home had all of the comforts, property, open spaces and views we could ask for. Great for families, friends, and just a fanstastic respite from the ball fields and City life. Very well appointed, and Kate and Mike make sure that we are comfortable and needs are met. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2009
  • Stayed: August 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Just the best guys........all were so great.........thanks for spending your time with us........Love to have you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Ridgewood, NJ
5

a great home for a multi-family getaway

  • 5 of 5

My family and good friends of ours spent a long weekend in Cooperstown at Kate and Mike's house. We had a wonderful time. The house is newly remodeled, clean and well maintained. We were there with 4 adults and 5 children and there was more than enough room for all of us. Mike and Kate were very welcoming and accommodating. The kids had a great time using Mike and Kate's kayaks and fishing in the pond. A very nice house. A very nice setting. A very nice weekend.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

GREAT experience

  • 5 of 5

We were in Cooperstown for my sons Dreams Park experience. The whole trip was wonderful. The park is amazing and I cant say enough things about it but what made it even better was our stay at the Lucky Duck.

The property and house are far better than the pictures show. The house is huge and immaculate and the property right out of a magazine. After a day or hanging out in the dug outs going back to the peacefulness of the Lucky Duck was just the ticket .The house is only ten minutes to the Dreams Park and it is only 6 minutes from the house to downtown. The town is small and quaint so if you are looking for a Starbucks for that morning coffee or a ripping bar to hang out in the evening you will be disappointed.

All in all i give this vacation a 10!

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks you were a great guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rockville, MD
3

Cool place but too quiet for us

  • 3 of 5

We rented the Lucky Duck for a Cooperstown week. We booked it the day our week was announced for the tournament. I would have preferred to pay VRBO online. But you have to work through the owners. I sent my check immediately, but it was not cashed for about a month - so I was a bit nervous (I found out afterward the owner was out of the country). Also, if you pay through VRBO, they remind you when the down payment is due.

The place is a renovated barn and is very cool. The place is decorated nice, there is plenty of room, it is clean and the deck is relaxing. The place is 20 minutes from Dream Park, and is very secluded. It was a bit too quiet for us. The wifi did not work. They say the wifi is not good in bad weather, but even on sunny days we could not be connect. I like to jog, and the remote road did not feel safe to run on. There are also roosters and chickens next door. The rooster will wake you up as early as 5 am, but really gets going at 7am. Lastly, there were several rules posted in the house - I am all about rules, but the rules made me feel a bit nervous all week.

Overall it was a lovely home, but for the money we paid, I had hoped for a 4-5 star. If I had to do in again, I would stay closer to town so we could walk everywhere. But if you like peace and quiet, this place could be for you.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The review from this renter is very sad . During their stay they never once spoke to us about being anything but thrilled about our beautiful home. 1. WE ARE (wish I could underline this ) only NINE miles, 9 driving minutes even in winter from the Dreams Park. We leave route instructions for guest so I truly don't know where they were going or heading from to get to the Dreams Park but if it took them 20 mins as they say, they weren't leaving from our home. 2. They had every right to book on VRBO in fact we prefer that they do. Much easier on us. 3. Yep we have 1 old rooster (cant have more than one) it is a guy thing. He is in bad shape and can hardly get a decent crow out. 4. We are on 50 beautiful lush acres with a 7 acre lake. COOPERSTOWN LIVING AT IT'S BEST. THIS IS WHAT MAKES US SO SPECIAL. NO sky scrappers, NO name brand stores. NO Starbucks/Dunkin Donuts and If you want Mc Donald's or Pizza Hut you will have to drive 25 minutes out of town. 3. What also ISN'T allowed is for people owing homes in town to do weekly rentals to Dreams Park people. Only B&B's are allowed. THIS IS TRULY SMALL TOWN AMERICA AND THIS IS WHY YOU WILL LOVE US. 4. Rules? Yep we have them 1. No team parties (for both our saftey) 2. No sniveling and if your children misbehave, they are captured, given a double espresso, a new puppy and sent home. BOY WE'RE TOUGH. 6. QUIET! YOU BETCHA.....Certainly not apologizing for this. But in 4 mins you can be on Main St in down town Cooperstown. 3 mins from us is the fantastic state of the art Cooperstown Sport Center where the HOF inductions are held. It has a world class gym, work out classes, Olympic pool, indoor running track and acres of land to jog around outside. This guest could have parked her car here and run into town in less than a 3 min run. 5. TRUE we had WiFi problems that week. Clarity Connect our service provider was waiting to install a piece of equipment on top of the tower but the weather was windy and wet for days, (not outside jogging weather for sure) for safety reasons they took days to get us back up and running. This affected 400 other customers in the area also. It started the day of their arrival and we explained this to them immediately and gave them references to other hot spots nearby if what they needed was was an emergency. This was a fluke and out of our control On parting, sadly, they never made any mention of being disappointed or upset over anything during their stay. Oh well what can you do?
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
St. Louis, MO
5

Lucky Duck

  • 5 of 5

What an incredible home!!! Beautifully furnished with every want you might have covered... Bbq, fire pit, kayaks! We enjoyed every minute... A super relaxing week of baseball!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Albany
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
lots. we are a drinking town w/ a basebal problem
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Leatherstocking and 3 others
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Albany
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Lots of them
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
hunter mtn
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
fairy springs
Car: necessary

IN ADDITION TO BEING IN THE HEART OF BASEBALL, and the Home of J. Fennimore Cooper the famous author of Last of the Mohicans........OUR HOME IS A WONDERFUL PLACE FOR ARTIST TO PAINT.......WRITERS TO WRITE......MEDITATE........DREAM......AND JUST PLAIN ZONE OUT.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $125
cleaning $190
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 4.0%

OUR RATE WILL VARY BASED ….Your final payment is due 120 days prior to arrival and our cancelation policy is refund less $125.00 admin fee if canceled 120 days prior to arrival. After the 120 days refund only if house re-rents for same time period and same price.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties