expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Trabucco Gardens *Yosemite Gold Country Stargazing Retreat*

Mariposa, CA, USA
  • Cabin1000 sqft
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths1
  • Minimum Stay2 - 3 nights

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Conveniently located off Highway 49 in California's Gold Country, on a historic parcel known as Trabucco Gardens.

During the Gold Rush days, Trabucco Gardens was a parcel of land cultivated as a vegetable garden, while Forty-Niners discovered gold in the area. The historic rock walls on property mark the perimeter where the garden once grew.

The joy of discovery continues here today. Now you can discover the vast riches our universe has to offer. Trabucco Gardens, located on 17 private acres, provides you with a grand opportunity to stargaze in privacy using high-end, easy-to-use instruments. The robotic GO-TO telescopes are provided during your stay, and are included in the rental cost. This open, rural stretch of Highway 49, which is considered 'above the fog and below the snow', provides you with many clear night opportunities, even in winter.

The Trabucco Gardens House, newly constructed in 2007, is well appointed and available year round. Mariposa, the county seat, which is 10 miles south, has many essential services, along with many wonderful dining, shopping, and historic sight-seeing experiences. Yosemite National Park's West entrance is located about 45 minutes away up Highway 140 from Mariposa.

We provide housekeeping service (not daily maid service), before and after your stay. Courtesy towels, coffee, tea, cocoa, popcorn, and guest soap are provided to welcome you on the day you arrive. Personal key code access provides you with convenience and security. Along with a fold-away sofa bed in the living room, a queen-sized inflatable Aero-Bed is provided for extra sleeping accommodations.

Because of the rural nature of the area, there is abundant opportunity for wildlife sightings, such as deer, wild turkey, coyote, bobcat, birds of prey, and perhaps an occasional bear. Seasonal creeks at the North and South ends of the property flow during winter and spring. Make sure to leave some time in your schedule during your stay for stargazing too.

Using the telescopes, beautiful views of the Orion Nebula, Andromeda Galaxy, Hercules Cluster, and many other deep sky objects are yours to behold. The telescopes offer a TOUR mode, which takes you to the best and brightest objects in the sky during your stay. Stargazing doesn't get any easier than this.

What on EARTH are you waiting for? Go mining in the INFINITE FRONTIER above! An inspiring adventure of discovery for the young and the young-at-heart is here at Trabucco Gardens.

NOTE: Please include a phone number with your inquiry in case our E-mail reply fails to reach you due to technical reasons. WE ALWAYS REPLY WITHIN A FEW HOURS.

Keywords: Cabin Home, Cottage, Yosemite Stargazing

Owner

Mike

Member Since 2008
Premier Partner
This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response rate:
100%
Response time:
within one hour
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 20, 2018

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Pets Welcome
    • Air Conditioning
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
      • Bedroom 1
        1 queen
      • Bedroom 2
        1 baby crib, 1 bunk bed
      • Convertible bed(s)
        1 queen, 1 sleep sofa /futon, Sofa Bed, inflatable mattress bed, and (1) twin roll away
      • Queen size beds (1), baby cribs (1), sleep sofa or futons (1) located in living room, bunk beds (1) in kids room, queen inflatable mattress bed and (1) twin roll away bed.

      Bathrooms

      • 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bath
      • Bathroom 1
        toilet, combination tub/shower
      • Bathroom 2
        toilet, Half bathroom upstairs in master bedroom
      • 1.5 Bathrooms

      Location Type

        • Mountain View
        • Rural

          Theme

            • Adventure
            • Away From It All
            • Historic

              Meals

                • Guests provide their own meals

                  General

                    • Linens Provided
                    • Air Conditioning
                    • Clothes Dryer
                    • Free Long Distance
                      Unlimited NATIONWIDE Long Distance Calling Included
                    • Gas Fireplace
                    • Broadband Access
                      Free Broadband Internet Access Provided
                    • Parking Off Street
                    • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
                    • Telephone
                    • Washing Machine
                    • Wireless Internet

                      Kitchen

                        • Microwave
                        • Coffee Maker
                        • Dishes & Utensils
                        • Dishwasher
                        • Ice Maker
                        • Kitchen
                          Oven / range top, microwave oven, refrigerator w/ice maker, dishwasher, small electric appliances, pots, pans, dishes, utensils, etc.
                        • Cooking Utensils
                        • Oven
                        • Pantry Items
                        • Refrigerator
                        • Stove
                        • Toaster

                          Dining

                            • Dining Area
                            • comfy seating for 4 people

                              Entertainment

                                • Books
                                  Books On Gold Country History And Stargazing Are Provided
                                • DVD Player
                                • Games
                                  Board Games Available In Kids Room
                                • Satellite / Cable
                                • Television
                                  55 Inch Curved Screen TV On Adjustable Wall Mount

                                  Outside

                                    • Outdoor Grill

                                      Pool / Spa

                                        • Communal Pool
                                          Located In Mariposa - 10 Minutes Away

                                          Attractions

                                            • cinemas
                                            • museums
                                            • restaurants

                                              Leisure Activities

                                                • antiquing
                                                • boating
                                                • horseback riding
                                                • shopping
                                                • sight seeing
                                                • sledding
                                                • wildlife viewing

                                                  Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                    • mountain biking
                                                    • cross country skiing
                                                    • fishing
                                                    • hiking
                                                    • hunting
                                                    • jet skiing
                                                    • cycling
                                                    • rafting
                                                    • rock climbing
                                                    • skiing
                                                    • spelunking
                                                    • swimming
                                                    • tennis

                                                      Notes

                                                        • Tripod-mounted robotic GO-TO telescopes provided for your stargazing pleasure. Includes eyepieces, accessories and written instructions.

                                                          House Rules

                                                          Check-in: 3:00 PM

                                                          Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                                          Cancellation Policy

                                                          100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                          133 Reviews

                                                          Wonderful4.9/5

                                                          Latest reviews

                                                          Peaceful and beautiful country setting!

                                                          Taylor H.

                                                          Our stay at Trabucco Gardens was relaxing and very peaceful. The house is immaculately clean and we'll appointed. The queen bed upstairs was very comfortable. It was really nice that they provide charcoal for the barbecue. My dogs loved running around and exploring the property and not having to be leashed. My favorite activity there was sitting on the front porch with a glass of wine, listening to the wild turkeys gobble and taking in the sunset.

                                                          The location is only 10 minutes from Mariposa, yet it feels like you are in the middle of nowhere...very quiet at night!

                                                          Mike was very responsive to my questions and booking was a breeze. I also found it refreshing that the cleaning fee was included in the already reasonable price of the rental!

                                                          If you like to thrift, don't miss the SPCA thrift store just down the road towards town. The Pioneer Market in Mariposa has everything that a big town grocery store has, including a good wine and liquor selection, and even a sushi bar, so no need to stop at a large chain store before heading up the hill.

                                                          The drive to Yosemite was only about an hour, along the beautiful Merced River and the drive to the small town of Hornitos was fun and scenic as well.

                                                          Thanks again, Mike, for a fabulous stay at Trabucco Gardens...we will definitely be back!!

                                                          Very comfortable feeling, like a home not a rental property.

                                                          Doug A.

                                                          Nice quiet escape. Everything that was needed was there. Communication with the owner was very responsive. Rain/snowy weekend but stay very comfortable in the house. Looking forward to another visit.

                                                          Telescopes didn't work!

                                                          Lisa B.

                                                          While our overall stay was very nice there are a few things you should be aware of:

                                                          Master Bed: The fitted sheet had red stains, hairs and lint. We decided to put on another set of sheets. The first two that we pulled off the shelves were covered in dog hair. We were finally able to find two that looked fine and remade the bed.

                                                          Master Bath: The toilet seat lid was up and the toilet appeared to have been used and not flushed adequately.

                                                          Downstairs Bath: We were looking for more bath towels. We found them in the dryer but everything was only about half-dried. We ran the dryer to finish but the towels we used smelled musty.

                                                          Owner's response - "I'll be forwarding the housekeeping issues to Mikayla. She is new at doing the housekeeping. I'll make sure she understands our cleaning procedure. I will be having a personal discussion with her soon."

                                                          Telescopes: This was the main reason we chose this property. We were looking forward to using the telescopes. We successfully set everything up in the observatory, were able to target our star in the finders scope, but could not get the focal adjustment for the eyepiece to work properly. We tried a number of eyepieces and only had fuzzy success with the 7.5mm but could never get a sharp focus with it and only black field with all the other eyepieces.

                                                          Owner's response - "The observatory may need a mirror collimation - I will check it when I'm there."

                                                          We got the NexStar5 running in the house but after the keypad said it found Vega it locked up and we couldn’t operate it anymore with the keypad. Even powering it off and unplugging it wouldn’t get it to reset. If it had worked we were confused as to just how and where one would use it outside (power source, stable surface??) It didn’t seem like a good idea to balance it on the porch rail.

                                                          Owner's response - no comment

                                                          The tripod mounted scope has it’s mount adjustments stripped out. We could sight just fine, but when you tried to tighten it up it couldn’t and would shift.

                                                          Owner's response - "I'll check the tripod telescope. Sounds like the tripod may be damaged and needs replacing."

                                                          While we enjoyed our vacation, we would probably not have chosen this house if we had known the telescopes would not be available. The information in the listing felt misleading. Because of the issues with housekeeping we would not choose to stay here in the future.

                                                          Owner's Response:

                                                          We are not sure why this guest did not contact us during their stay regarding the issues cited. Our contact number and the housekeeper's number can be found inside the house and also in the guest information kit we send to each guest prior to their stay. Contacting us during your stay is the best way to resolve any issue, as someone is always available by phone, or email if preferred. Most issues can be resolved immediately. As for her claims regarding the telescopes being unavailable – all telescopes were made available during her stay and were functional. We do ask that all guests read the downloadable instructions in the links we provide in the information kit and view the YouTube video prior to using the scope. Given the unsettled weather in the Yosemite area during their stay, conditions may have not been favorable for stargazing. The telescopes are available year round, but if weather is uncooperative it may impact your stargazing experience. Optimal stargazing conditions are usually experienced during summer months.

                                                          A must have!!

                                                          Dustin W.

                                                          Very easy place with directions. Awesome place, very spacious, and awesome local spots with nice people. Very amazing stay would def recommend.

                                                          Ideal Yosemite Base

                                                          William L.Song-do, Incheon, South Korea

                                                          Trabucco Gardens was EXACTLY what we were looking for as a base to explore the Yosemite Valley which is about 40 min. or so away. The cabin itself is very spacious, rustic, and clean. We especially enjoyed the fire place and coffee out on the porch in the mornings. The grounds surrounding the cabin are peaceful and very beautiful, and we also appreciated how it is close enough to the town of Mariposa for restaurants and grocery shopping yet removed enough for that country feel. We also took advantage of the grill on our last evening -- charcoal supplied which was a nice touch.

                                                          All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Trabucco Gardens. I highly recommend it if you are looking for a cabin experience just outside of Yosemite.

                                                          Cheers!

                                                          William Link

                                                          Seoul

                                                          Perfect getaway!!

                                                          Valorie Q.Sacramento CA

                                                          Staying at the cabin was perfect getaway. It's peaceful and secluded yet close to restaurants and stores. The telescopes are really fun and super cool. Mike was more than accommodating and we look forward to visiting soon.

                                                          Location

                                                          Mariposa, CA, USA

                                                          Rates & Availability

                                                          Additional information about rental rates

                                                          Pet Fee
                                                          $25
                                                          Tax Rate
                                                          11%

                                                          • $99 WINTER RATES VALID DURING WINTER MONTHS - Includes holidays within those dates • PET POLICY: A $25.00 Pet Cleaning Fee Applies / Maximum Pet Weight 40 lbs

                                                          $165avg/night
                                                          133 Reviews
                                                          Wonderful 4.9/5
                                                          Premier Partner
                                                          Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                          Instant Confirmation
                                                          For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                          Property # 171546

                                                          x