Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Full Size House Near Beach,Club,Pool,Village. Prime June 17-24 week still avail.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

BHI Club membership and departure cleaning included.

Don't be fooled by inflated prices that claim 20% discounts or third day free with two day rental. Our bottom line prices are already much lower (in some cases 25% or more then the list price). Our home is huge, comfy and up to date. Our location is great and our prices up front are lower then the competition. We do not double our rates so that we can give 20% off or through in things that make us look good. We are already good. Our guest reviews reflect that. We do not pay our guests or hold them hostage in order to get a good review. The guests have liked our home and our price to voluntarily want to leave a comment. That should be enough in itself but I will give you the guided and detailed tour anyway.

Relax, enjoy wildlife and the sounds of the nearby ocean as you sit on rocking chairs enjoying views of lighthouses and sunsets. With over 1300 sq. ft. of porches, this newly decorated 2,000 sq. ft. home features island decor and family friendly accommodations. Three roomy bedrooms with 2.5 baths plus an outdoor shower and a fish cleaning station provides for everyone.

Only 1 minute from the beach, steps away from the Newly Renovated 4.5 Star 18 hole George Cobb designed golf course, about 900 feet from the newly decorated clubhouse. Located just a short walk or bike ride from the village makes it easy to get to your boat, rent a canoe, eat at the dockside restaurants or visit and walk up to the oldest lighthouse in N.C.(Old Baldy 1817). Two golf carts, grill, beach chairs, games and movies along with cable TV in every room.

Please do not miss the 9 minute video provided on VRBO. Click on the tab at the top of the still pictures of the house. Turn up the sound and relax. If you are not convinced that Bald Head Island and Maggie's Place is not unique then it may not exist.

Important Addition: We now have included unlimited Long Distance Phone Service, High Speed Wifi Internet, Hi-Def Satellite Extended TV Service which includes all the major sports networks. Included are Sunday NFL Max Ticket (Every Game, Every Sunday in HD), Golf Channel, Fox Sports 1 & 2, Tennis Channel, CBS Sports Network, NFL Network, ESPN, ESPN 2, ESPN News, ESPNU, Regional Sports, FS South, MASN640, MLB Network, MSNBC, NBA TV and much more.

Keywords: House,Beach Resort, Island Resort, Bald Head Island, Outer Banks, Ocean front property, Beach Rental, Carolina Beaches, Bald Head Island vacations, Vacation Home, Vacation Home Rental,Bald Head Island Vacation Rentals, Bald Head Island Limited, Coastal Home Rentals,Bald Head Island Rentals, Tiffany's Beach Rentals,Wendy Wilmot Properties, Golf, Tennis, Pool, Bald Head Island Club, Old Baldy Lighthouse, Swimming, Fishing, Boating

More Details

Property Manager
Richard Walsh
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2017

About Richard Walsh

I am 68 and my wife is 66 (and getting older as I type). We are at retirement age and would rather travel then spend time at our home near Cleveland, Ohio (especially in winter).I enjoy photography, scuba diving, fishing, treasure hunting, flying and nature. My wife also likes to travel, birding, snorkeling (she's to chicken to scuba dive), walking along the beach and a relaxing diner. We have both traveled around the world numerous times and love to meet people. We love the mountains and visiting our second home on Bald Head Island. We honestly do want people to come and visit so they may enjoy what we have.

Richard Walsh purchased this house in 2005

Why Richard Walsh chose Southern Coast

My wife and I grew up near the ocean and watched our favorite places get crowded as houses and resorts brought crowds of people and the problems that go with it. Bald Head Island is what most people dream about when they look at travel magazine. The island is uncrowded and has over 14 miles of beaches which 11 miles were given back to the state remaining forever natural. Over 12,000 acres of Marsh provide the utmost in observing nature. Being that the island extends out into the gulf-stream it attracts a variety of sea-life including Loggerhead Turtles, Whales, Tuna, Dophins and many more. The geographic location along the cental coastline of the U.S. between Florida and Maine provide a phenominal means of seeing birds from the North and South as they migrate through Bald Head. The 100+ year old towering Cedar and Oak forest abutts the 50 foot + sand dunes making this island unique and not found in many other places. There are also only a few places in the U.S. that restrict travel on a protected island to electric golf carts, bicycles or walking. This is what made my wife and I buy a piece of heaven.

What makes this house unique

We love the peace and solitude and safety of this lovely place. We are nature lovers and can't resist bird watching, shelling, and turtle watching. I love canoeing, fishing and swimming which fit perfectly to the islands environment.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Hi Richard & Rose! What a nice warm house! We feel the love and care through every detail inside your home. Your kitchen and house is Perfect! We have had the best vacation ever. can't wait to come back. Thanks!
Jan 2010
  • 1 of 33

Amenities

Bald Head Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • 2.5+ Bathrooms. Master Bedroom has it's own full size bathtub and shower. The two guest bedrooms share another full size bathroom with tub and shower. Both bathrooms have blow dryers. All bedrooms and two full bathrooms are on the same floor. Half bathroom is on the upper floor with the living, and dinning room. There is also a very nice enclosed outdoor shower with seat and changing area.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom has Sitting/Changing area w/room for crib.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Has direct access to Porch.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed , Has X-Box with over 20 Games
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Two Living Room sofas are both Queen size Convertable beds
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) Two Pack and Play Bed/Cribs Provided, Sleep Sofa or Futons (2), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Cart
  • Golf Clubs
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 18 bicycles
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
2 very nice 4 seat Golf Carts, Club membership in Bald Head Island Club is included with rental. Shoals Club is $175/week for the entire household. Bicycles, beach toys, beach chairs, coolers, crab traps, and a few dozen family and adult games, Golf Clubs are provided.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(92 traveler reviews)

Full Size House Near Beach,Club,Pool,Village. Prime June 17-24 week still avail.
average rating of 4.826087 based on 125 reviews
5

Great house, wonderful island!

  • 5 of 5

We had five adults and two children staying at Maggie's Place, and found it to be very comfortable and clean. It's a lovely home! The decor has not been updated too recently, and there were some minor cosmetic repairs needed (e.g. small exterior trim spots, couple of water spots on wallpaper near windows), but the appliances were all new and worked great, the furniture was in good shape, and the motif gives a great "beachy" feel that would potentially be lost with updates. The porches with rockers were awesome for sipping coffee in the morning. We would definitely stay at Maggie's Place again. While there is no ocean view from the house itself, the beach is so close by golf cart that you can hop over to take in the views whenever you like. My dad is an avid golfer, and he was very impressed with the course. The kids loved the beautiful beaches, exploring the island, and having dinner by the pool at the BHI club (the included guest membership is great). The location is very close to the restaurants, ferry dock, and Old Baldy lighthouse, and the store/Maritime shops are an easy golf cart ride as well. Overall, this was a great experience!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Needed Maintenance

  • 3 of 5

The property needed some TLC. There was rotting wood on the deck, window frames and siding. Wine fridge didn't work, internet service was poor, lamp shades needed replacing (one fell off the top wire and another was about to). Spices in kitchen were very old. Kitchen table was filthy when we arrived. Also the golf carts are advertised as one six seater and one four seater but they were actually two four seaters.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Heather for staying at Maggie's Place. We have never had anybody that has stayed with us that has been on a witch hunt looking for so many things to complain about. The house is currently receiving a complete exterior makeover including new railings, siding and complete painting. The renter was advised that work was in progress and that we were working around our renters. We had not been advised by any of our renters that the 32 bottle wine cooler was not working. I am sorry that we could not keep all your 32 bottles of wine chilled and hope you found enough room in the huge stainless steel side be side refrigerator. The internet problem was never reported by the renter and after having AT & T look into it the problem is not within the house, but within AT &T's lines. I cannot repair something that is island wide and is beyond my control. The internet is being upgraded on the island and is waiting to get approved by the islands committees to fiber optic. Any problems with lamp shades were never reported and would have been immediately replaced. No food items are included with the rental of our home. The spices in the kitchen closet are provided by previous renters and are free of charge. If fresh spices were needed there are plenty of markets on the mainland or on the island to purchase what you need. This renter feels that we should provide her with closets full of fresh cooking items which we do not. The house is set up for 8 occupants to sleep comfortably and is provided with two - four seat really nice golf carts. I have not found anywhere which lists our golf carts as a 6 seater and we have not owned one in over three years. We always try to go beyond what our renters expect and provide many free extras. We are constantly upgrading and can only repair things that we are made aware of. If this renters expectations were not met, we would have done our best to correct them. Instead, she decided to keep them to herself and make a list of all that she could find. I hope that she finds happiness in her next rental and can assure her that all of her comments are being addressed and that our home is being made better then ever.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Apex, North Carolina
5

Had everything we needed

  • 5 of 5

Fabulous visit on our first trip to BHI! First, if you've never been, stop worrying as there is not a "bad" location on the island. Second, this house had everything we needed for our trip. Showed up with a few groceries and our clothes making travel very easy. Everything else is provided. Richard is a caring owner who wants you to be well informed. We went for the long holiday weekend so didn't take advantage of the club membership but club pool looks nice. Plus you have access to the fitness center. We preferred to bike for exercise using bikes provided. BHI is a fun and unique experience. You'll feel comfortable hanging out in this space while you're there.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice location

  • 5 of 5

Nice home, convenient to the beach, marina and BHI Club. Having 2 electric golf carts also very handy.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed Maggie's place very much. The house was well maintained and the owners were very conscientious. We loved the island. It is quaint and lovely. We all loved exploring the island on the golf carts and on bikes.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Richard was a great host

  • 5 of 5

Richard did everything possible to ensure we had a wonderful vacation- we did!! House - had everything we needed. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Wilmington International Airport (ILM)
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Bald Head Island Club Lounge
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Bald Head Island Ferry Terminal
Nearest Golf
300 Metres
Bald Head Island Club Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Hwy 133 & US 17 Southport, NC
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Bald Head Island Club Restaurant
Nearest Beach
150 Metres
West Beach
Car: not necessary

Historic guided tours, guided bird walks, turtle nesting nature tours (during season). Deep sea charters, Champion croquet courts, camp and programs for kids. Ideal for weddings.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bald Head Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Summer
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,965
 
 
Value Summer
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$349
$2,233
 
 
Fall
Sep 9 2017 - Jan 6 2018
3 night minimum stay
$296
$1,631
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$349
$2,443
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 12.75%

June 13 to August 18 is weekly only from Saturday to Saturday. No Cats are allowed. Maximum of two Dogs will be considered on a case by case basis and requires prior approval based on weight, age and temperament disclosures. Note that the island enforces leash and pet sanitation rules. If pets are not disclosed before booking a $250 charge will be invoiced for each pet found on premises. In case an animal is found to be unruly (Barks and disturbs neighbors or bites) you will be asked to find other kennel arrangements and the pet charges will not be refunded. We really love our house and all that bald Head Island has to offer. We think that it is one of the most unique places on the East Coast and we will try to do everything possible to make you love it too. Please look at all of the reviews from our past renters. These reviews are not provided, edited or paid by us like some homes are.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable