expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

A Treasure in the South .. Beaches, Restaurants, Fishing, Diving its all Here

Rock Sound, Bahamas
  • House
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay7 nights

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (1 ensuite), (Maximum 5 , people 6 on request)

This is not just a Rental but a Home with discerning guests in mind ...truly a Home from Home. A haven for visitors who wish to explore the less inhabited and most beauteous part of Eleuthera. Including an abundance of verdant Tropical ‘Natural Reserves’, Ocean Holes and a multitude of Sand strewn Deserted Beaches reached only by overgrown hidden tracks or by sea. Farthest South is the raw 'tropical oasis' of the legendary Light House Beach. At Blue Ocean you are close enough to Cape Eleuthera and Davis Harbour to enjoy a full day’s access to the best trawling ground for Game fishing on the island, while Deep Creek between the two provides exceptional Bone fishing. The Fox Diving School for both experienced divers and beginners is based at Davis Harbour while Cape Eleuthera is host to a Marine Research and Ecological Institute, the Island School which is a beacon for Alternative Technologies and sustaining the Environment within the Bahamas and for 'Shark Preservation and Tagging' internationally .

Local communities and settlements in the South are not just friendly, they are proud to welcome visitors to their modern heritage. They also know that the South has an abundance of quality local cuisine. Rock Sound, with its International Airport still shows some signs of its earlier elegance as a prime local settlement and Harbour for Eleuthera, It also has the biggest Supermarket on the island which uniquely carries a wide range of organic health foods,.

Blue Ocean itself looks over the calm waters and stunning sunsets of the Sound. The jetty makes a great spot for Bone Fishing. The patio like the bow of a ship driving into the Sound, along with the Cabana on our own sandy beach, provides a wind shield from seasonal North Easterlies. Beach Gear and Ice box are on hand, Blue Ocean Ideal is ideal for children with a large enclosed balcony/patio complete with play toys for the little ones. We also keep an abundance of beach towels and mats

The Master bedroom with a King bed and en suite bathroom has French Doors leading to its own patio area overlooking the Ocean. The two singles bedroom has two beds and a garden aspect to the front and side while the Guest room has a Queen bed with garden views and across the passage a further Bathroom has a large open shower.

The large Sitting /Dining room has easy seating for up to 6, leading to the Front Door and enclosed Porch. The Seating area has a large comfortable sofa and French Doors leading to the large protected patio virtually on the Ocean. A comfort/play Sitting room, also has French Doors to the Patio for easy outdoor dining or BBQ. The delightful fully equipped kitchen also has a dining area and views over the ocean

Blue Ocean can host five (5) comfortably but we can except four adults with two children. Ideal for a couple, two couples or two adults and two to three children

Property Manager

Peter and Pat

Member Since 2006
Response rate:
100%
Response time:
within one day
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Feb 26, 2018
Why Peter and Pat chose South Eleuthera

During our thirteen (13) years leasing out Blue Ocean, we have tried to ensure our guests (visitors) felt they were in a home from home and not a rental. Heavily involved in the local Community, we are just acutely aware how keen they are to welcome visitors. They are rightly proud to live in the most beauteous part of Eleuthera with its verdant natural reserves, ocean holes and wild deserted sandstrewn beaches (culminating in legendary Lighthouse Beach the deepest south). Add to this the best harbours for ocean fishing and diving (Davis Harbour and Cape Eleuthera), a mini port for Cruise Liners (Princess Cays) a marine ecological insitute of Intenational renown (the Island School) and an educational College of Technical Innovation, a local Eleutheran driven enterprise and you begin to understand their modern heritage, which has it roots in the Old Cotton Bay and Rock Sound Clubs. There is great talk of happenings downstream, but for now the local people still hold the key to a Hail that is louder than elsewhere on the island Below is a short resume from our Reviews of where we hope we have succeeded in our quest. "Communication was GREAT with Peter throughout our booking and planning process - he even offered to shop for a few basic essentials/snacks (frozen pizza, beer, etc...) so we had something to eat for dinner as we were slated to arrive fairly late (tired and with most everything closed for the day)" "Peter and Pat were gracious and helpful throughout the process and showed endless patience with our many questions and multiple changes. They were readily accessible during our stay and even came to help when our car battery died" "Peter and his wife Pat were lovely people. They were very accommodating, knowledgeable about the Island and very helpful. Pat helped arrange outings and helped us score some of the most awesome lobsters that we have ever eaten". Peter and his wife Pat were lovely people. They were very accommodating, knowledgeable about t

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Pets Welcome
    • Air Conditioning
    • Accessible
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
      • Bedroom 1
        1 king
      • Bedroom 2
        2 queen
      • Bedroom 3
        2 twin/ single
      • Convertible bed(s)
        1 sleep sofa /futon
      • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa (1)

      Bathrooms

      • 2 Bathrooms
      • Bathroom 1
        toilet, combination tub/shower
      • Bathroom 2
        toilet, shower
      • 2

      Location Type

        • Beachfront
          On Caribbean side of Island and therefore limited sand .....however walkway to sandy ocean bottom and since on leeward side .. avoids of westerly winds and sand in the house.
        • Ocean View
        • Oceanfront
          Looking out over Sound gives you glorious Sunsets available on Leeward side of island

          Meals

            • Guests provide their own meals

              General

                • Air Conditioning
                  In Bedroom 1 and 2
                • Broadband Access
                • Internet
                  Wifi or USB connection
                • Linens Provided
                • Parking
                  Off Street in drive for two to three vehicles
                • Parking Off Street
                • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
                • Telephone
                • Towels Provided
                • Washing Machine

                  Kitchen

                    • Coffee Maker
                    • Cooking Utensils
                    • Dishes & Utensils
                      Easily enough utensils, dishes, cutlery for all guests upto maximum of 7
                    • Kitchen
                    • Microwave
                    • Oven
                      Gas
                    • Pantry Items
                      Spices, Some Tins and Pasta, Fruit and Basic Breakfast Goods (if arriving after 5pm Monday to Thursday and Sunday and public holidays) Rock sound Market Place open to 7pm on Fridays and Saturdays
                    • Refrigerator
                    • Toaster

                      Dining

                        • Dining
                          Adjoined to one living ou area with DVD access
                        • Dining Room
                        • comfy seating for 8 people

                          Entertainment

                            • CD Player
                            • DVD Player
                            • Music Library
                            • Video Library
                              DVD/CD Player and Screen for watching DVDs in the Sitting/Dining Room

                              Outside

                                • Deck / Patio
                                • Outdoor Grill

                                  Suitability

                                    • Long-term Renters Welcome
                                    • wheelchair accessible

                                      Attractions

                                        • churches
                                        • library
                                        • restaurants

                                          Leisure Activities

                                            • beachcombing
                                            • bird watching
                                            • boating
                                            • scenic drives
                                            • shelling
                                            • shopping
                                            • sight seeing
                                            • walking
                                            • wildlife viewing

                                              Local Services & Businesses

                                                • ATM/bank
                                                • Babysitter
                                                • groceries
                                                • laundromat
                                                • massage therapist

                                                  Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                    • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                    • deepsea fishing
                                                    • fly fishing
                                                    • golf
                                                    • hiking
                                                    • kayaking
                                                    • sailing
                                                    • fishing
                                                    • snorkeling
                                                    • snorkeling/diving
                                                    • sound/bay fishing
                                                    • surfing
                                                    • swimming
                                                    • tennis

                                                      House Rules

                                                      Check-in: Flexible

                                                      Check-out: Flexible

                                                      Cancellation Policy

                                                      100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                      21 Reviews

                                                      Excellent4.7/5

                                                      Latest reviews

                                                      Serenity and solitude on the sea!

                                                      Maureen K.-

                                                      Step off the seaside verandah and you are in the crystal clear warm turquoise water with pink sand circling your toes! Casual comfort with everything necessary for a relaxing Caribbean escape! We'll be back!

                                                      Not what I expected.

                                                      Akila O.

                                                      We booked Peter and Pat' house with the understanding that there would be seven persons occupying the rental (clearly noted on the booking request). We were traveling to Eleuthera for my father's memorial and were also looking forward to a little relaxation. Weeks prior to the trip I learned that two additional relatives wanted to join us for the memorial for three days (not the duration of the trip), and I sent an email to Peter to see if this would be okay given the maximum occupancy of seven. He emailed back and appeared to be very gracious noting they would only charge at $10 per day (per person), and it wouldn't be a problem. This changed a few days prior to the trip, he indicated that his wife Pat was concerned about the amount of people in the house. I again noted that I would be totally okay if he/wife wanted to keep the occupancy at seven, to which he responded the additional two people were fine to come. When we arrived in the airport, Peter was there to greet us along with the rental car person he had previously recommended. Brief greeting aside, he repeatedly stated that he thought there were only "five plus one coming and now there are two more". He seemed irritated and began to demand information that was really none of his business, i.e. where is the memorial taking place, what do you have planned, etc. To make matters worse the rental car person also turned out to be our taxi driver and was inebriated (which Peter knew) and charged us $100 for a 10min cab ride to the house. When we met Pat at the house, she gave a flaccid welcome and I sensed it had something to do with the additional guests so I asked, to which her reply was "well I don't know how many people are coming". To make a long story short, we ended up leaving the rental earlier than rented it for; we also asked the two additional guests to find their own accommodations. We were very disappointed with our experience given the reviews, Pat and Peter showed no compassion to us given the reason we were there, and we felt scammed by their rental car guy; he also took off with our baby's diaper bag for a few days before it was returned. To add insult to injury, when we left we made sure the property was in a clean/tidy condition. Peter thanked us with a back handed compliment noting that "given your numbers" the place was left clean/tidy. Nonetheless, we are determined not to let Pat/Peter negatively color our view of Eleuthera!

                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                      This review was primarily due a breakdown in communication and a normally reliable private car rental letting itself down. As Service providers we totally accepted responsibility for what took place and were at pains to demonstrate that to the guest(s). We were plainly mortified at the perception we gave throughout their stay, since we did everything we could in good faith and no differently to the way we try to treat all our guests.

                                                      In terms of actions taken, whilst we still could house more people comfortably, we now only advertise that the rental sleeps five. It is clear three couples using the two formal double bedrooms and guest room with two singles have to be (subjectively) good close friends. It is not a large house, hence (objectively) two adult couples or four adults is the maximum we will now accept. Obviously where children are concerned one couple could take up to three children. We have also determined to always invite, you the guest, to make initial contact with local car providers (names and contact details we will provide) . We will give advice and experience and introduce, but do not negotiate (we can however help with rectification if required). We will introduce them to you on arrival (if you pick up the car at Rock Sound Airport and we know them) but we are not their agents and never have been. All you really need to know is that Bahamians are the friendliest of peoples, Eleutheran’s in particular, and in a frenetic and uncertain world they are refreshingly human.

                                                      Delightful

                                                      Martha L.

                                                      Our group greatly enjoyed our stay at Blue Ocean. Peter and Pat were gracious and helpful throughout the process and showed endless patience with our many questions and multiple changes. They were readily accessible during our stay and even came to help when our car battery died. The house comfortably lodged six adults and was a perfect base for exploring the southern part of the island. I would recommend a trip to the Spider Caves of Healing Hole (only a few minutes from the house) to everyone.

                                                      Laid back, unpretentious

                                                      Carleen H.

                                                      We have just Blue Ocean after a lovely week in Rock Sound. If you are into a laid back cottage kind of feel, this is the place for you. The swimming is great in the sandy shallows off the dock. All rooms have fan, so we never needed A/C. Cooled down nicely at night. Plenty of space. Our hosts Pat and Peter were lovely folks. Peter met us at the airport with a rental jeep as we brought a ton of gear with us. I must say one needs to be prepared for the vehicles to be In not so great condition but the folks are all so helpful that you'll never be stuck. The roads are full of crazy potholes and they drive on the left. There is a very good supermarket with prices somewhat higher than in Canada where we come from but look around for deals, no name or local brands and you'll be fine. There are a few liquor stores, a BTC office, a really nice guy named Gino who makes a killer Conch Salad and fritters at a little stand at night between the big Anglican church on the shore and the Blue Homecoming Hut. Sammy's is a great place to eat up the slope a bit. We never got to the North Side restaurant on the Atlantic side. Ran out of time. I'd encourage you to visit here. The folks would love to meet you and you'll have a great time.

                                                      3 star home with a 5 star location.

                                                      Amber S.

                                                      We stayed at Blue Ocean house January 18-25, 2017. 7 of us, including 3 young children had a wonderful time making Rock Sound our home. We had the luxury of visiting family members who were sailing the islands. They were able to anchor their boat just off the beach and bring their skiff ashore at their leisure.

                                                      We had a dolphin visit the beach twice and many other sea creature graced us with their passing bye. Snorkeling the 50ft blue hole just out front was a real treat as we speared crab and caught mackerel for dinner. We also explored some amazing caves near the Boiling Hole a short walk up the highway.

                                                      The weather was a dream for 4 days and on the 5th day we witnessed a thrilling tropical storm which caused a short power outage.

                                                      Peter and Pat were kind to checked in on us to be sure we had all we needed. The water in the house did go off one afternoon, which is common in the area, but caused us no inconvenience.

                                                      The locals were so pleasant and helpful as we enjoyed a few short walks into town for supplies. Peter set us up with a local man, Wayde Sands, whom is a sweetheart. We enjoyed a few drinks with him and he was the most amazing guide for all things Rock Sound. Thanks you Wayde!

                                                      The house had everything we needed to make an adventure to last a lifetime. It was perfect for our kids to play on the beach and enjoy fresh coconuts they picked up in Pat's beautiful gardens. I picked fresh flowers for the girls hair daily and drank from fresh coconuts each afternoon.

                                                      Although we did not eat at any of the local restaurants, Peter and Pat were very knowledgeable. Our sailing friends assured us Peter & Pat'S advice on the topic was accurate.

                                                      If I had to say anything negative about our stay it would be the sand fleas or no-see-ums. After the rain they swarmed in full force. The men didn't seem to attract them as much as myself and my mother-in-law. There seemed to be no stopping them. Evening and night were the worst! Even with 3 types of bug spray and oil and our best efforts to avoid them, we returned home looking like we had a terrible case of chicken pox. Peter & Pat did warn us of the biting pests, but being from Northern, Ontario we assumed we were veterans to flocks of giant mosquitos...turns out we were sadly mistaken and the no-see-ums were a ruthless foe. Having said that, the bites will fade, but the memories will last forever!!!

                                                      Thank you Peter and Pat for sharing paradise with us! Much love from The Slacks

                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                      The concern about no-seeums and mosquitoes especially after rain is well taken and re-iterates are warning to all. Nowhere on the island is immune although the weather plays a large part and after heavy rain and still winds (the rental is in a lee from Northerly winds) they can get quite bad for certain visitors. The wearing of Off and closing doors at dusk help but when about some can linger during the day as well

                                                      With regard Wayde Sands ... as a car rental provider he provides a service well beyond the call of duty ... although several of our guests ... especially those who have visited before do have their own favourites.

                                                      Plenty of space, privacy and cool views here!

                                                      Topher L.

                                                      Had a great time at Peter and Pat's place in Rock Sound!

                                                      Communication was GREAT with Peter throughout our booking and planning process - he even offered to shop for a few basic essentials/snacks (frozen pizza, beer, etc...) so we had something to eat for dinner as we were slated to arrive fairly late (tired and with most everything closed for the day).

                                                      We were met at an easy rendezvous point where we then followed Peter back to the house. We were given the tour by Peter and Pat and made to feel at home.

                                                      Ask for better pics.. great semi panoramic view of the sound from several rooms (including bedroom) in the house. Comfy living room, huge back patio and even bigger hangout area complete with a shady cabana and a new truck load of sand. Would be a great place for 4-5+ people, but was also fine for the two of use.

                                                      Would have liked to have a few more items of use there (easily transportable cooler, beach chairs, etc.) but understand those things tend to either go missing or be abused by some renters so it is hard to keep in stock.

                                                      Power was out about half the time we were there which was a SLIGHT inconvenience (no cooking, no wifi to look up stuff) but overall, not a huge issue as we spent MOST of our time out of the house. We actually somewhat regret not just having a hang day of relaxing on the back porch or on the little beach below...too many epic beaches, not enough time!

                                                      Location:

                                                      Rock Sound in general is definitely even MORE remote than parts North like Governors Harbour and Gregory Town. Only a handful of restaurants (sometimes just one open) and one expensive, but (by island standards) large grocery store/gas station close by. That said, it is a great launching point to hit the southern beaches (LIGHTHOUSE beach is a MUST and wasn't long drive at all... ALSO NORTH BEACH was epic, a great stretch of Atlantic coastline just past Ocean Hole (8 min drive from house). Even on a windy day, we walked down the steps at the Northside Inn/restaurant and walked SOUTH along the beach - - around the little point to a secluded and semi wind protected cove with nice snorkeling and pink sand. IF YOU GO HERE - FIND ROSE (at Northside Inn) and have her cook what will likely be one of (if not the) best meals you'll have on the island - VERY affordable, home made grub - Make sure you get her rum punch (she'll claim she doesn't know what she's doing..but its damn delicious)!

                                                      Overall: cool house for a crew if planning to explore southern part of Eleuthera

                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                      Many thanks for your kind words ... and your description of the South with its beaches perfectly captures the benefits of being away from the more visited tourist settlements on the island.

                                                      Location

                                                      Rock Sound, Bahamas

                                                      Visit the local Ocean Holes: peculiar to the Bahamas these big ponds surface from holes in the coral islands many metres below the Sea Surface. Rock Sound houses one of the biggest. You can Bone Fish in the Sound from your doorstep, although there are many very good flats within a few miles from Blue Ocean. The freshest and finest Conch Salads on the island are available at CoCo Plums, literally within walking distance of Blue Ocean Spend the day at Light House Beach on the Southern tip of the island. One of the worlds best kept secrets ......three beautiful deserted tropical beaches in one and by staying in the South of the island it does not take you hours to reach.

                                                      Rates & Availability

                                                      Additional information about rental rates

                                                      Additional Guest Fee
                                                      $20
                                                      Damage Deposit
                                                      $139

                                                      Further Payment Terms: Your deposit 50% of the total rental fee is capped at GBP 1000. and is refundable up to 60 days of your visit when the Balance is due. The Balance is refundable up to 45 days before you are due to arrive. Over Christmas and the New Year we will not except rentals for less than two weeks before the end of October and then not less than one week as normal . There will also be a small negotiable surcharge for rentals over one or both of the public holidays. Christmas and/or the New Year as well as Easter We retain our right to change these rates in accordance with any substantive increases in taxes, inflation or Exchange Rate. However, once you have confirmed your booking we are legally bound to our agreed rental fee. We will also offer discounts as we feel appropriate (i.e. last minute availability, returning guests)

                                                      $150avg/night
                                                      21 Reviews
                                                      Excellent 4.7/5
                                                      Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                      For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                      Property # 187236

                                                      x