Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Pool, Gated Estate, Quiet, 2 minutes walk to Beach, Walk to Lahaina Town

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,418 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 10 nights

Overview

About the property

Ocean and Mountain Views 4 bed, 2.5 Bath Home, Pool, Walk to Beach, Town and Harbor

Smell the Sea, Hear the Surf, Skinny Dip in the Private Pool, BBQ and Dine on a Marble Patio Table. Relax in Luxury its Maui Time.

The Lahaina Gate House is a very special place featuring a four-bedroom single family home with large underground blue swimming pool surrounded by a privacy wall and electric gate with lush tropical landscape on an 11060 sq ft lot. With 5 beds plus sofa sleeper this 2500 square foot home sleeps plenty.

Located in a quiet neighborhood across Front street from a beautiful sandy beach where you can swim, snorkel, beach comb, relax on the shore or under a shade tree. Kayak, paddle board, body board or surf at world-class surf spots. See the amazing islands of Lanai, Molokai and Kaho'olawe.

Live like a local as you walk through the neighborhood where our friendly neighbors are happy to say Aloha! Our spacious home features:

*Central air conditioning keeps you cool

* High vaulted ceilings make it seem like a palace

* Gourmet kitchen and dining room with seating for 8

* Luxury furnishings and professional interior decorating

* 55 HDTV with surround sound stereo and Blu-ray Netflix DVD player

* Time Warner HDTV w/premium channels

* Free Wi-Fi Home stereo system with built in speakersI,

* 42 HDTVs in master bedroom and guest bedroom

*High end Sealy Posturepedic king size mattresses

* 800 thread count luxury sheets towels and pillows

* Monnier white tile throughout

* Beautiful ocean and Maui mountain views. Stunning sunsets from the upper lanai.

* Secure carport covered parking in gated compound for two Large vehicles.

* The gated private and quite grounds are enhanced by beautiful seashore paspalum grass a tranquil waterfall, pond, orchids many varieties of tropical flowers palm trees fruit bearing mango papaya and banana trees. Feel free to eat the fruit when in season.

* A large private ocean-blue bottom salt-water swimming pool is easy on the skin and 14 feet at the deep end.

* We supply beach chairs, coolers, beach towels, SUP board, surf boards, beach chairs, misc. beach and sand toys.

Enjoy cooking on the gas BBQ grill and enjoy your favorite meals on an Italian marble wrought iron outdoor dining table seating for eight. As the night draws near this property takes on a whole new ambiance created by solar lighting.

This child friendly home also has beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, bikes, coolers and sand toys. Take the short stroll into Lahaina where fine dinning bars entertainment art galleries the famed Banyan Tree Park and shopping await your discovery.

Walk Lahaina Town's 31 official historic sites such as the Prison Court House and the Old Baldwin Home.

Troy and Doris Katafias, our caretakers reside in the cottage on the property. They are available if you need them for help of information during your stay and if you don't, they will not bother you.

The Lahaina Gate House Maui County permit number: STRH (STWM T2017/0015) is one of few legal vacation rentals on Maui. It took us over 4 years and tens of thousands of dollars to get our permit approved. We are most thankful to all our neighbors everyone on Ilikahi Street signed a petition saying they want our home to be a vacation rental. Some wrote letters of support and came to testify at our hearings. HAWAII TRANSIENT TAX I.D.NO. W20036630-01

More Details

Property Manager
Susan McCasland
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 21, 2017

About Susan McCasland

We love Maui! My husband and I have been coming to the island for 25 years and fell in love here. After we married in 1998, and our family began to grow, we would all come to Maui as a family and have such a blessed time. So, we thought why not try to offer this experience to other families! So, I retired from the Wine Industry and we purchased our first two homes in Maui in 2003.

Our goal was to set-up a home walking distance to a swimmable beach , have more than three bedrooms and a pool! Plus, be able to walk to a Town.

We have a beautiful property now to offer all families located the on the Westside of Maui in the Old Whaler's Town of Lahaina. Many generational families come each year to enjoy the Maui lifestyle. This is a home where larger groups can come and truly enjoy their experience on the island. We offer bicycles to cruise around town, the Lahaina Harbor is just two blocks away for fishing, snorkeling trips or cruises.

We have worked hard to make sure the home is in perfect condition upon arrival, and even have a caretaker on the property so as to take care of any need you may have. Jay and Julie can offer local tips on Restaurants and sightseeing, as well as provide Private Chef and Personal Concierge services. You can have your vacation all planned out so when you arrive you only have to relax!

Susan McCasland purchased this house in 2005

Why Susan McCasland chose West Maui

This home has a very unique and special feel. It is a peaceful retreat where you can close the gates and within the walled home, escape the world around. Lounge around the pool, practice yoga near the waterfall/ pond, pick the fruit from fruit trees or enjoy a poolside BBQ.

After a relaxing afternoon, hop on a bike and head into Lahaina Town and shop, dine by the water and watch the sunset, dance or view an Art Gallery or two.

What makes this house unique

Location, location, location! This home is located in a very nice, local Lahaina neighborhood. This is unique because the actual town of Lahaina is very small and the number of single family homes is small.

Many homes list their location as Lahaina, however very few homes are actually in the Town of Lahaina.

Feel like a local, go green! Hop on a bike or travel by foot to anywhere you want to go from this homes location.

Map

Nearest Airport
17 Miles
OGG
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
505 Front Street
Nearest Ferry
0.25 Miles
Lahaina Harbor
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Kaanapali
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
HWY 30
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
505 Front Street
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Local neighborhood/Lahaina Shores
Car: recommended

Walking distance to historic Lahaina Town and Banyan Tree Park. 32 historic sites including the old Prison, original Court house, library, Banyan Tree Park.

Many of our guests love to stay on our property and do Yoga near the pond and waterfall, relax near the pool or pick fruit from the many fruit trees. The home is very spacious so our guests never feel crowded.

Amenities

Lahaina House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2418 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • One full bath upstairs one full bath downstairs 1/2 bath ensuite in third bedroom Hair dryers provided
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Spacious room with flat screen TV.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Spacious room with flat screen TV.
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Ensuite half bath.
  • Queen sofa sleeper in room off dining area. Covered outdoor futon. 2 packnplays available for guest use.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 4 bicycles
  • 16 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Private Pool, Gated Estate, Quiet, 2 minutes walk to Beach, Walk to Lahaina Town
average rating of 4.857143 based on 28 reviews
5

this was a great house for our family in a great location with all the a menities

  • 5 of 5

the property was as promised including all the necessary items for our small babies ( pakn plays). Kitchen was well equipped and the pool was wonderful. The location was a lso good, quiet neighborhood but within walking distance of Lahaina.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely home. Upstairs was too warm most nights. Doris & Tory were very helpfull & friendly.

  • 5 of 5

Loved staying there. Pool was wonderful. Everything was provided. We all enjoyed our time there. Loved meeting Doris & Tory and owner, Susan McCasland, couldn't have been nicer.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and beautiful house

  • 5 of 5

The house was great. We felt completely safe. It was clean and well kept. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils and pots and pans. The pool was clean and used everyday. The beach was just a short walk. The water was so warm compared to California :-) It was away from all the tourist so it was nice not having to search for a place to sit. Make sure to wear water shoes as there is coral in some areas. We saw some sea lions come to shore and after talking with the care taker found out they were endangered Monk Seals. How cool was that to see 2 of the approximately 1400 left in the wild. The only thing that could have been better was the upstairs air. The upstairs did not get very cold. Probably because the afternoon sun was hot on that side of the house. The onsite care takers were friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. They respected our privacy and let us know they were there if we needed anything. If we go back to Maui we would love to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Saipan, CNMI / Orange County CA
5

Perfect in every detail!!

  • 5 of 5

The Gatehouse is well appointed and comfortably accommodates a large group (we were 10). The futon off the dining room is like a semi-private additional bedroom. Beautifully decorated throughout and with everything you need - awesome to have beach gear available (including surfboards) and bikes!! Beach access was close by.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice house but not well managed

  • 3 of 5

What we liked: Being together in a family atmosphere. Many things provided for guests to make your vacation enjoyable. Kitchen that allowed us to cook many meals at home. Close to town and the beach. The pool was lovely.

Explanation for everything below was a new manager because the owner had not been on island for a year and many things were not fixed by previous manager.

What we did not like: House was not ready at 3 p.m. (new cleaners) for check in and although we appreciated the clean house we were inconvenienced because we had several airport runs to make. We noticed the toilets in all the bathrooms were slow to flush or would not. The manager said they had been aware and tried to fix them and that they would bring a plumber in to replace the next day. Our first day of vacation was met with a plumber replacing toilets for 5-6 hours in all 3 bathrooms. THIS is my biggest issue because although some things can't be avoided in maintaining a house -- they were aware before we arrived and it was one of the few days we didn't plan anything except to hang out and settle in. I am very happy they did fix them because not having working bathrooms would have been a huge issue. Our second morning was met with maintenance cutting down trees for several hours starting at 8 am. Again, inconvenienced by chain saw noise and people in the yard for the entire morning. The majority of the beds were very comfortable, but one of the mattresses upstairs was very uncomfortable. Springs squeaked every time they moved and it was an uncomfortable mattress. The manager agreed it should be replaced (again it had been overlooked due to manager changing over) and bought a topper to make it more comfortable.

Trying to be fair: None of these things ruined our vacation, but spending that much money per night we should not have to deal with maintenance during our limited time on vacation. All of the issues should have and could have been done in advance of our stay. If any one of these things had been the only problem, I wouldn't have given it a second thought but all together it was a problem for us. Lastly, I asked the owner for one day refund for the inconvenience after paying 9200. for a week stay. She said maintenance had to be done on rentals and gave me an offer of $250 as long as I signed a NDA . I did not take the refund and did not sign the NDA. Maybe with the new mgmt it will be worthy of previous reviews.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There are several misunderstandings and inaccuracies in this review: We visit the house 4-5 times per year, and were just at the property one month prior. There is no deferred maintenance, however things sometimes break and when they do we fix them ASAP. The day the guests arrived the cleaners noticed one of the toilets had cracked and was leaking. It had to be replaced immediately, and so we decided it was better to replace all 3 at once. No trees were cut down while the guests were there. Our gardeners come once per week to do yard maintenance for about 2 hours. It's true the house was not ready by 3:00pm, however it was ready at 3:40pm. This rarely happens. We are always striving to better our home and take pride in our Vacation Rental. Our guests will be welcomed and well cared for during their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Perfect location, excellent for a large family with children, wouldn't change a thing.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $550 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.41%

Master Card, VISA

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.