Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Best Historic District Victorian Cottage in Eureka Springs

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Queen beds, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Experience Eureka Springs the same way residents did over one hundred years ago...in this lovely home in the very heart of Eureka's Historic District.

Built in 1885, this cottage is in the National Register of Historic Homes and is one of the finest examples of the many beautifully restored Historic Victorian homes of this era. It is furnished with many period antiques.

You will find that The Bodie House is a charming Victorian cottage with all the gingerbread trim, located in the heart of the Historic District. You are mere steps (next door) from the trolley stop or a short stroll to the historic downtown for fine dining, unique shops, boutiques and art galleries. Should you decide to venture out for some hiking, horseback riding, boating or fishing, all are found close by. Eureka Springs is surrounded by lakes, rivers, streams and even caves, all just minutes from the Bodie House.

This Historic Victorian cottage is beautifully furnished including a full kitchen and laundry room. Hi speed wireless internet, flat screen high definition TV, DVD, and CD/FM/AM stereo add to your enjoyment. The private deck overlooks and has a full view of the Eureka Springs Valley and the Christ of the Ozarks. A friendly front porch is perfect for people and parade watching. Or, if you like, just enjoy a quiet moment experiencing the natural beauty of Eureka Springs at the Bodie House.

A dining room offers a cozy place to enjoy your meals or a game of cards. There is plenty of room to spread out and relax at The Bodie House.

The Bodie House is a great choice for couples or families. It is the perfect choice for four. Two bedrooms with queen beds.

A stay in the Bodie House offers privacy, comfort and rest not found at bed and breakfast rentals. You won’t have anyone staying in the room next door, and you won’t have breakfast with strangers! Yet, you will find all the style and class of a bed and breakfast.

The Bodie House will complement your vacation in every way. From the quiet surroundings to the beautiful views, you will enjoy every aspect.

Rates start at $199 (off season) to $229 per night during high season, for up to 4 people, based on a 2-night minimum on weekends. Please call for rental information.

Please be advised that the maximum number of guests is four, including children (children under 12 are not permitted). The property is closely monitored by neighbors and the property manager. Violations of this policy will result in guests immediately evicted without refund. Please read our rental agreement.

Keywords: great views, privacy, cozy, historic, victorian

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About The Owner

Dr. Bodie has lived most of his life in Richardson, Texas. He attended Richardson West Junior High and graduated from Richardson High School in 1972. After graduating from the University of Arkansas with a Bachelor of Science degree in 1976, Dr. Bodie returned to Richardson. He was employed by Texas Instruments, as a manufacturing engineer, until he was accepted into dental school. He graduated from the University of Texas Dental Branch ( UT Health Science Center in Houston ) in 1981 with the degree Doctor of Dental Surgery. After two associateships in the Houston area, Dr. Bodie returned to Richardson in 1982 to associate with Dr. Alvin Foster, whom had practiced dentistry in Richardson since 1958. Dr. Foster retired in 1985. Dr. Bodie is an active member of the Dallas County Dental Society, the Texas Dental Association, and the American Dental Association, and has completed over two thousand hours of postgraduate training and continuing education. Dr. Bodie currently resides in Richardson with his wife of 31 years, Sherrill, and daughters Carlan 26 and Erin 21.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 1983

Why The Owner chose Beaver Lake

A beautiful town in a peaceful setting.

What makes this cottage unique

Outdoor wilderness, outdoor serenity, outdoor activities and old world town.

Amenities

Eureka Springs Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • not suitable for children
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Monument View
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (2) Sleeps 4 persons maximum
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Beautiful Front Porch and Rear Deck Views

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

The Best Historic District Victorian Cottage in Eureka Springs
average rating of 4.142857 based on 7 reviews
Broken Arrow, OK
5

Easy, clean amazing view!

  • 5 of 5

This house is amazing! It was extremely clean! It was easy to book and talk with the owner about items that were on the home! We didn't have any problems and all of us enjoyed our stay! Beds were great! We enjoyed be able to walk to downtown for dinner, drinks and shopping! It was a bit of a walk, but we are all late 20's and early 30's so we enjoyed it. The view put back was amazing! Sitting on the porch drinking coffee as great! This is a great place to stay!! Thanks you very much!!

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the wonderful comments! Hope you'll come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Home

  • 5 of 5

We felt right at home in this lovely cottage. The wood floors and antique furniture and decor made us feel like we had passed through time. Location was great. The beds were comfy! The porches were perfect for reading, visiting, relaxing or people watching. There were plenty of places to walk nearby- its very close to St. Elizabeth's Catholic Church with the unique bell tower entrance. We loved it!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Bodie house

  • 4 of 5

Cottage was beautiful and comfortable located in a neighborhood perfect for walking. If you love old houses with a lot of character and charm, this is the house for you. We had everything we needed for a home away from home.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Fort Worth, TX
4

Back In Time

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in this great little cottage for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. It's like stepping back in time and really experiencing historic Eureka Springs. The house is older and has old house quirks but is decorated really cute, had everything we needed, and was very comfortable. The quirks made us smile. I'll probably be a little crooked in spots when I'm over a 100 years old, too! The house does have steep, narrow stairs that might not work for everyone but they have a good hand rail. We had no problems with them and we are in our 60's. The porches have beautiful views and are great for relaxing and having a cup of coffee. It's on a lovely street with beautiful Victorian homes and not far from town. The trolley stop is right next door. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay there again if we get to come back for a visit. It was the perfect atmosphere for a trip back in time.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are thrilled you enjoyed our home! We love staying there too! Hope you come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Holladay, TN
1

Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

Rundown, stairs are scary, not appropriate for aged, bathrooms-shower unhandy, in reality did not measure up to the advertisement, we were very disappointed...

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sir, we are sorry to hear you were disappointed. We rent the house over 100 nights per year and our reviews are overwhelmingly positive. The house is over 128 years old and is in a constant state of projects and repairs. We are continuously upgrading, painting and refreshing. So I cannot be sure what rundown means, but we are always improving and the house is always clean. The stairs are common to old houses all over Eureka Springs. In fact, it is nearly impossible to find historic properties without them. Our stairs are extremely safe due to the hand rails on both sides and narrowness of them. I spoke with our property manager today and he assured me you were told about the stairs prior to your stay. The bathroom has an antique bear claw tub. I'm sorry if this was not satisfactory. The shower in the utility room should have sufficed if you were not able to use the bath. I would like to offer you or your family a greatly discounted future stay due to your disappointment. Please contact the management for details. Thank You.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
kansas
5

love this cottage

  • 5 of 5

My family loved staying at the cottage. It is larger than the outside picture shows. Parking was great. Neighbors wonderful. And at first we had concerns on the stair case since my parents are in their late 70's. But it was no problem. Place is clean. And a short walk to town. We had fun watching people and trolleys from the front porch.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Car: not necessary

The Passion Play

Photos

Rates & Availability

Eureka Springs Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$229
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $30 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.37%

The Bodie House accommodates four adults only. Children under 12 are not permitted. Children 12 and over are considered adults. Accommodating more than four adults is a violation of our rental policy. Guests violating this policy will be evicted and no refund will be issued. The property is carefully monitored at all times.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties