Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mountain View, Infinity Pool - 2 Bed 2 Bath Condo in Ocotal

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 860 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

KITCHEN RENOVATION UNDERWAY..... STAY TUNED FOR NEW PICTURES IN JUNE!!

Fully furnished and equipped 2 bed/2bath condo (860sq) with Infinity pool and beautiful mountain views located in Playa Ocotal on the northwest coast of the Guanacaste Province. Just 30+ minutes away from Liberia International Airport.

TPlaya Ocotal is located a few minutes south of the popular beach town of Playas del Coco, where you will find shopping, numerous restaurants serving fresh seafood and night-life options.

Playa Ocotal is a short walk and is famous for its sandy beach and calm, clear waters making Scuba diving and snorkeling an unforgettable experience. It's also a perfect place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. Playa Ocotal is also one of the cleanest (blue-flag rated) and quietest beaches around.

A great location to set out for numerous day trips including Playa Conchal, Santa Rosa National Park and Rincon Volcano National Park known for its amazing hiking trails and bubbling mud pots.

Keywords: Views, Walk to Beach, Playas Del Coco, Playa Ocotal, Guanacaste Province, Liberia, Beaches

More Details

Property Manager
Steven Latanville
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2018

About Steven Latanville

We are from Canada and fell in love with Costa Rica on our first visit. Buying property here was an easy decision for us and we enjoy every minute of our time there. We hope you'll consider our unit to sit back and relax.

Steven Latanville purchased this condo in 2010

Why Steven Latanville chose Coco

Ocotal and surrounding area have beautiful views, a multitude of beaches and plenty of hiking. Close to Liberia, it's an easy drive from the International Airport with a fantastic coffee factory enroute. A short 10-15 minute walk to Playa Ocotal - one of the cleanest beaches in the country - rated 'blue-flag'. A short distance to Playas Del Coco for great seafood dining, shopping and strolling along the beach. Bicycle rentals are available in town and for those gym enthusiasts, there are 2 gyms in town (daily rates range $5-6).

We have great internet and cable with many channels. In addition, we supply a DVD player with several movies to choose from.

What makes this condo unique

Equipped with a stunning Infinity Pool and magnificent views, our unit is only a short walk to the beach. A short drive into Playas Del Coco and you'll enjoy fresh seafood every night along with some entertaining night life. A fish market is enroute to our unit as is a great outdoor fruit and vegetable market located next to the school in town.

Amenities include 4 grocery stores, pharmacies and many tourist boutiques. And of course, who could resist watching the spectacular sunsets at one of the great beach bars located along the brand new promenade.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thanks so much for everything! We had a very memorable, adventurous (hiking, beaches, scary driving..), and enjoyable vacation. We will refer others to you and if we do come back some day, we will come to your comfortable, spacious, well-equipped condo, with the nice staff and neighbors, and a wonderful 'landlord'.
Apr 2015
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Coco Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 860 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Internet ...
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Clean bathrooms with all towels included.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , with ensuite bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Queen size Bed (1) 1 queen size bed in the master bedroom with en-suite bath. Safe located in closet., Double Bed (1) 1 double bed in the second bedroom with washroom in hallway
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Yard
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
16% Complete
5% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Mountain View, Infinity Pool - 2 Bed 2 Bath Condo in Ocotal
average rating of 4.638889 based on 38 reviews
5

Fourth time back to this condo and love it!!

  • 5 of 5

We love it here and keep returning! The condo is very well appointed and has all the amenities from new washer & dryer and A/C unit this year. We have already booked for next year and look forward to the renovated kitchen (being done in May 2018).

The patio and infiniti pool with the mountain view is spectacular. Great restaurants near by. The onsite management is terrific and always responds to requests no matter how small.

I would highly recommend for anyone wanting to see Costa Rica.

Cathleen

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review Cathleen and we are so happy you have decided to be our guests again for a 5th year!! As you've stated, we purchased a new washer and dryer in December 2017 and a fully renovated kitchen will be completed in May 2018 with new cabinets, quartz counter-top and new appliances. Thanks again for the kind words and we look forward to having you stay again in January 2019!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Victoria, BC
2

Don't be fooled by the pictures, as I was!!

  • 2 of 5

This unit is sad, tired and worn out. Water and electrical services in this area are unreliable as consistent infrastructure just doesn't exist this far out from the main town of Coco. Water is a scarce commodity and so during the dry season (Nov. - April) the grounds are not watered and the grass turns brown and dry. There are many for sale signs around the complex and several abandoned buildings and developments nearby, just left empty due to the lack of services and/or speculation.

This unit is at the end of the road up a very steep hill so not good for anyone with physical disabilities and you need some form of transportation since it is 'out of the way' and too far to walk to the beach or to any stores.

The 'Infinity' function of the pool is not working, again likely due to the scarce water supply. Over our month long stay we removed 4 scorpions from the master bedroom, 2 which were 5 inches long. There were plans to fumigate inside once we left but I'd be skeptical of that helping since they did fumigate outside the unit and they still showed up.

The inside requires major renos and I was told that was 'in the works' but I'd insist on current pictures if you are considering renting this unit. It has a dishwasher but it doesn't work, the fridge makes loud noises and has an ice maker, but it doesn't work. The cupboards are up so high you need a ladder to reach them. The washing machine makes strange noises and the controls don't work. When placed on a cold wash, you get very hot water and there's only 1 level of water available and that's a full tub. The couch/sofa is lumpy and saggy and there are no English TV channels as the streaming box/service is not working.

This unit may have been nice back in the day but not now.

We stayed the month of March 2018. The pictures shown and this unit need a major upgrade!!!

I fully realize Costa Rica is a '3rd world county' and so we cannot expect the same '1st world' services and that's part of the experience, but when a unit is presented and described as fully functioning in the lush green tropics then I feel that's a misrepresentation of the actual reality.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's upsetting to hear you had such a disappointing stay in our unit. We pride ourselves in ensuring our guests enjoy their stay and I regularly reach out (which I did several times) to ensure there are no issues that need to be addressed. I would however like to address a few of your comments. The photos listed on this site are a true depiction of our unit as they are recent. We are aware that renovations are required and will be doing a full kitchen renovation in May 2018 including new cabinetry with quartz counter-top and new appliances. Despite this, our unit is fully equipped with all the comforts of home as outlined on this site. Given the infrastructure in Costa Rica, there are times when water may run low (or out altogether), especially during the very dry season of November to April. However before you arrived, I did send information indicating this may happen and that if water was out for a length of time, it would be brought in by truck. I know however of one instance during your stay that the pump at the well broke and was quickly repaired. As it is currently the dry season with little to no rain from November onward, the grounds do become dry and unfortunately the lush green temporarily disappears. It is unfortunate but a way of life in the Pacific coastal region of Costa Rica. As such the grounds are not often watered to reserve water. With regard to other properties in the area, some are abandoned as they were being build illegally. These however are NOT part of our complex nor do they have any affect on our property. We do recommend a vehicle as our listing indicates we are just outside of town. However many of our guests have not rented vehicles and walked into town and to the beach (which is approx. a 10 minutes walk away). I am aware of the number of scorpions in the unit this year and we are investigating why and how they are getting in. As indicated to you previously however, they may be a nuisance but are NOT poisonous. Regular fumigation occurs however with the dry season, we do tend to get more bugs looking for shelter and water. The washing machine is new (Dec 2017). Our property manager has checked it and it is working fine. Neither he nor I were aware you were having problems with it. Nor were we aware of the fridge however he has confirmed it is also working fine (but will be replaced shortly.) .I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay in Costa Rica
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding condo and a great location!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at the condo! It was one of the best vacations we have ever had due in part to staying at the condo! The condo is beautiful on the inside and has everything you need! We were impressed at how clean it was and that everything was provided. There is a washer/dryer that we were grateful to have. The views are spectacular and at night the sky was lit up with stars! There is a wonderful infinity pool (which we used a lot!) but it is only a short walk to Ocotal Beach. It is also only a short drive to Hermosa Beach and Coco Beach is right at the edge of town. Robert is the condo manager and was so helpful while we were there. A couple of days before we left we were on our way back from Ocotal Beach and we saw a momma monkey with her baby in the tree! One of the highlights of our trip!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Florida
3

Good people, condo a little rough

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in Costa Rica. Unfortunately the condo needs some TLC and cleaning. The internet was sporadic and irritating. Steve and Tito were VERY helpful and we greatly appreciate their cooperation. If we had known about the issues we encountered, we would not have stayed. However, the issues can be overcome with a little attention to the property and upgrade/maintenance of the internet connection.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I'm sorry your stay in our unit was disappointing. With regard to the internet access, unfortunately the infrastructure in Costa Rica is not the same as North America however I was not aware of the issues you were having other than the Android box which I thought was resolved With regard to the cleanliness of our unit in very sorry it was not to your expectations. Our cleaning lady is very meticulous with her cleaning and we've not had this issue before. Had I k ow I could have addressed this issue. Again I'm sorry your stay in our unit was not as you expected. I am glad however that you enjoyed your stay in Costa Rica. On a personal note please be safe in Florida this weekend. We hope for the best for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Calm perfection

  • 5 of 5

I couldnt have asked for a better experience

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your time and look forward to hosting you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Costa Rica Tranquility

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this property. Since we were there during low season (rainy season) we almost had the place to ourselves. Tito (the property manager) was great...helped us with airport transfers, provided a number we could text him with any questions and was on time for both arrival and departure. The condo was in good condition and all amenities were as advertised (no issues whatsoever). The pool was warm and kept clean daily and the views at the time of year were beautiful, plush a green. We did get some rain everyday but it did not interfere with our stay one bit...swam every morning, afternoon and evening and enjoyed the evening thunderstorm with light show one night. Please keep in mind that this unit is at the top of a large hill and 2 - 3 kilometres from Playa Del Coco where the stores and restaurants are located. We rented a gas powered golf cart for the week and enjoyed having the freedom to come and go as we pleased. We would recommend this property to anyone interested with the above noted comments.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Kilometres
Liberia
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Father Rooster's
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Sardinal
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Father Rooster's
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Playa Ocotal
Car: recommended

hiking around a multitude of National Parks,Volcanoes,Cloud Forests

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $39.01
Refundable damage deposit $156.04

CANCELLATIONS:
A sixty (60) day notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations that are made more than sixty
(60) days prior to the arrival date will incur no penalty. Cancellations or changes that result in a
shortened stay, that are made within 60 days of the arrival date, forfeit the full advance payment
and reservation deposit. Early departure does not warrant any refund of rent.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties