Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great Ocean Views! Steps to Beach!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

If you come to the beach to be AT THE BEACH then "Cool Change" is the place for you. This delightful two bedroom Carolina cottage gives you beach views from every room. And you are just steps away from the sand and surf.

This bright, airy home has been repainted and we have installed new carpet in the bedrooms. The hardwood floors and steps have just been refinished and look great!

The reverse floor plan features an upstairs living area that includes a generous-sized living room filled with comfortable stuffed chairs and sofa. Here you’ll find a brand new 40' flat screen HDTV with DVD and a CD player. The dining area and fully-equipped kitchen are adjacent and open on to a large ocean-facing balcony with a table and chairs for outdoor dining.

The two bedrooms are on the ground level. Each opens onto the downstairs covered porch. One features twin sized beds and is next to the hall full bath. The other has a new king sized bed and adjoins the master bath with double sinks and a large shower. The master bedroom also has its own flat screen TV.

'Cool Change’s front door opens on to a small private courtyard ringed by three homes. In the garage you’ll find a four-seat golf cart, beach chairs and beach toys. Linens and departure cleaning are included in your rent. So is a temporary membership to the popular BHI Club (for week-long rentals). Daily memberships are available for the Club's fee. You can also purchase a temporary membership to the Shoals Club if you wish.

The Shoals Club is located at the eastern point of the island. It features two pools, one for small children. The Club has a private walkway to the beach. It provides towels, beach chairs and umbrellas for use at the shore or by the pool. Enjoy a light fare at the outdoor cafe adjacent to the pool. Or reserve a table inside for a more elegant meal.

The Bald Head Island Club has a wonderful 18 hole golf course, swimming pool, state-of-the-art fitness center and several dining venues.

If you’ve been to Bald Head Island, you’ll know that "Cool Change" is perfectly located in Flora’s Bluff along South Beach, just minutes by golf cart from the Club, the Maritime Market, and the ferry

If this is your first visit, you’re in for a real treat. Bald Head Island is rich in history and is a nature-lovers paradise. You’ll want to visit Old Baldy, the oldest lighthouse in North Carolina. Take the tour to hear tales of the pirates who used to sail these waters. And stop at the Bald Head Island Conservancy for information on a variety of nature programs.

Bicycles, sailboats, and kayaks are all available for rent, and some outfitters offer lessons.

"Cool Change" is a no-smoking home and pets are not allowed. We'll love to have you spend some vacation days with us.

On-Island manager is available to help should any issue arise.

Keywords: Beach house, Ocean view

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 12, 2017


Flora's Bluff House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • New King size Bed (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Crib (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
9% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Great Ocean Views! Steps to Beach!
average rating of 4.59375 based on 32 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We had a pleasant and relaxing stay at this house. It was equipped with everything we needed and is located literally steps from the beach. We enjoyed the view of the ocean at every meal, and took advantage of the many beach toys available in the garage. Truly perfect.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's always nice to hear that our guests have had a good experience and enjoyed the house and it's beach location.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing stayi

  • 4 of 5

We had very relaxing stay at Cool Change and really enjoyed Bald Head Island. The house had everything that you would need. We also enjoyed Bald Head Island Club and found the food wonderful. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful views and great area!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay on Bald Head Island! Cool change was perfect for our family, everything we needed was at our fingertips and the house was clean and roomy!

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great House!

  • 5 of 5

We loved this house.

Here are some of the highlights:

1. Literally steps from South Beach with great outdoor shower at the entrance to the path. There are lots of public beach access sites across the island but none of them have a fresh water shower. Being able to walk to the beach and have easy access to a shower made it easy to get to the beach even for a short time. It's much less work than loading up a golf cart and heading off to a public beach access site.

2. Reverse floor plan means that the living area /kitchen is bathed in light throughout the day and the bedrooms are not super-bright at 6 AM.

3. Upstairs deck has great ocean views and is perfect for watching the sunset in the evening or the stars at night.

4. Downstairs deck provides a shady place to rest outside during the mid-day heat while the strong ocean breeze keeps you cool. (There were days when we spent several delicious hours just relaxing on the downstairs deck).

5. Perfect location on the island. It's a five-minute golf cart ride to East Beach and the Shoals Club and a five-minute ride to the Maritime Market.

This house was the perfect size for my wife and I and would be comfortable for four people.

Hope you get a chance to enjoy it!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wilmington, North Carolina

Perfect anniversary getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had such a wonderful visit at Cool Change on Bald Head Island. It was the perfect getaway. The house was clean, well stocked and in a perfect location. We loved sitting on the back deck looking at the ocean while we had our morning coffee. Loved how close the beach was, just steps away. Had a great time exploring the island on the golf cart. Also enjoyed the membership to Shoals Club that came with the house. I cannot forget to mention, Mike, the gentleman in charge of the house. He was so responsive to all our questions and requests. We will definitely be back. May even bring the kids next time.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pittsboro, NC

Love BHI, not this house

  • 3 of 5

The VRBO pics are misleading as they are taken standing on the upper deck and don’t show a house that blocks the frontal view.

The location is convenient, midway from the ferry to Cape Fear. Access to the beach is steps away. We found the house very clean.

There were a number of minor and serious issues. After departing the rental agent said he could have dealt with some of the minor issues. We thought because of the remoteness of BHI this was not possible and did not contact the agent while there.

Here are some of the positives and negatives:

Good WIFI signal.

The king size bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable but our guest said the twin beds were very uncomfortable.

Water pressure is VERY high and the faucet design in the bathrooms makes it difficult to control volume.

There is no beach or ocean view from the lower level deck. What you do see is other houses and a weedy turnaround. It does provide shade though.

The upper deck has a table and four chairs, but no table umbrella for shade. There is a view of the beach and ocean if you sit in the dining chairs, but no view from the deck chairs as there is a solid wood railing.

The golf cart with a full charge could barely make it over the small hills.

Kitchen: Tea kettle with no lid knob and no whistle. No ladle for soup and large spoon to dish spaghetti sauce. Old dirty coffee maker. No dish drainer.

No end tables or coffee table in the living area. We had to use the large plastic boxes we brought with us.

No kleenex in the house.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always feel bad when one of our guests is disappointed. We could easily have dealt with many of the issues mentioned in the review had this guest pointed them out to us while he was here instead of waiting until he got home. We are more than happy to do whatever we can as quickly as we can to ensure that our guests have a pleasant stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $500

Rent includes: a fully equipped ocean front home, one golf cart, a temporary membership to the BHI Club, all linens and towels and departure cleaning.

Memorial Day, Easter, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years - $2750/wk, $425/nt.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties