Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Watercolor is an Oceanfront 4BR/3BA Bald Head Island retreat with hot tub!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 10

Notice: The Bald Head Island Club remains in the midst of the exciting facilities improvement project. The pool and the new "Peli" are open for your enjoyment. Parking is limited at the temporary facility.

Watercolor lets you create your own picture-perfect vacation!

Located on South Beach, Watercolor is ideally situated between the Maritime Market and the Shoals Club. This immaculate three-bedroom home, with an open loft (perfect for children), provides four sleeping areas. “Spacious” will be your first thought upon entering this sunny oceanside haven. The bright open floor plan, soaring vaulted ceilings, windows and skylights, warm exotic hardwood floors and cozy gas fireplace give you an exquisite and relaxing atmosphere. Snuggle in the gathering space while listening to the fully integrated sound system or enjoy a movie on the flat screen. Forgotten a movie? Enjoy one of many the homeowner has supplied.

Beyond the sitting area is the kitchen of your dreams! Channel your inner chef in this fully equipped culinary delight. The kitchen features custom cherry cabinets, plenty of granite counter tops for prepping, an oversize island with its own sink, a six-burner Wolf range, a breakfast bar that seats six and a Sub Zero fridge. There's even an additional refrigerator in the garage.

Just across from the kitchen is the dining room. Enjoy meals under the magnificent chandelier as you are seated at the beautiful table that comfortably accommodates eight. The dining room also houses the home's wet bar. (FYI-Inside the bar cabinet are the controls for the sound system.) Whether enjoying some music cooking in the kitchen, outside in the hot tub or upstairs watching the sunset from the master bedroom balcony, your audio will support your vacation frame of mind.

From the living room and kitchen, walk directly onto the covered porch and grab one of the many rocking chairs or lounges so you can enjoy the views of the water. If you prefer, step into the hot tub and relish the relaxing water while you savor the seascape!

Down a few steps from the porch is the home's private oceanfront deck with a large teak table that seats at least eight. This comes in handy when the hot dogs and hamburgers you fix at the adjacent large gas grill are ready. From here, it's just a hop, skip and jump down the home's private boardwalk access and onto the beach's soft sand and sparkling water.

Two of Watercolor's bedrooms are on the first floor. They each feature a queen bed. The one located on the oceanside of the house has its own private en suite bathroom and entrance to the front porch. The other bedroom is located just across the hallway. Its bathroom is conveniently located just outside its door. Both bedrooms come complete with their own flat screen, DVD player and VHS cassette player.

Upstairs the open loft is equipped with two twin trundle beds. These twins are ample for an adult. The loft also houses a sitting area with a large flat screen, VHS/DVD player and games for everyone to enjoy on the large sofa.

Next to loft is the master bedroom where you will awake to a panorama of the Atlantic at the foot of the bed. Enjoy the view, open the doors and walk out onto the private covered balcony attached to the bedroom. This spacious suite also boasts its own TV/VCR/DVD and a walk-in closet that is so large it even houses a full-sized crib. The en suite master bath features his and hers sinks and vanities as well as an oversize shower with a rain showerhead, shower wand and stunning ocean views.

Watercolor’s additional amenities include an outdoor shower, internet access, bikes, two golf carts (a four-passenger and a six-passenger) and a temporary membership to the Bald Head Island Club (with golf privileges). A Shoal's Club membership is available for an additional fee. Fees for cleaning, BHI Club memberships & 24/7 on-island property management services are included.

4BR - one is a loft room, 3BA, 1K / 2Q / 2Tw with trundles, Sleeps 10

NOTE: TRAM SPACE IS LIMITED - PLEASE CALL TO MAKE YOUR RESERVATIONS TO AND FRO

More Details

Property Manager
Wendy Wilmot Properties
Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
50%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

We absolutely love Watercolor. We plan on staying there at least once in the spring and once in the fall every year, if possible...
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

South Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • 1 King bed, 2 Queen beds, 2 Twin beds, 2 Other beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • 1 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
BHI Club Membership (including in rental rate) with Golf Privileges, Optional Shoals Club Membership Available for an additional fee, Two Golf Carts (One Four-Passenger and One Six-Passenger) CHECK IN IS 4PM AND CHECK OUT IS 10AM

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(52 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
9% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Watercolor is an Oceanfront 4BR/3BA Bald Head Island retreat with hot tub!
average rating of 4.769231 based on 55 reviews
Manhasset, NY
5

Watercolor Inspiration!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This home was absolutely wonderful and I hope to return next year!! Spacious, bright & happy with phenomenal views...all of which inspired me to paint 8 new watercolor paintings!! When there were minor problems (with the cart & an unlockable door) the management quickly sent reliable people to fix the problem. Wonderful Experience!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mclean, VA
5

Great vacation in a great house

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Bald head island is a unique environment and we had a great time while visiting and staying at the watercolor house. Location is excellent, the house is updated with nice appliances and the garage is full of beach toys for the kids - also lots of games, movies and books inside. Everything worked well (WiFi etc). We had a couple of issues with one of the golf carts and the property managers sent someone out to fix it within an hour.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Wesley- Thanks for your GREAT review. So glad you enjoyed your stay at Watercolor and on the Island. I hope you will let us serve you again when you next visit Bald Head. F.A. Mcleod, WWP, Marketing
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Louisville, KT
5

Family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

It was wonderful. We have already booked for next year. The support staff is very knowledgeable and helpful

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Fofo- Looking forward to having you back at watercolor next year. We appreciate your business! F.A. McLeod, WWP, Marketing
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Indianapolis, IN
5

Watercolor

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Great service. Very clean - cleaning service did a wonderful job. Terrific house on the water.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Marion- Thanks so much for your five-star review. Watercolor is a beautiful home...and its location is hard to beat! F.A. McLeod, Marketing, WWP
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alexandria, VA
3

Watercolor Vacation

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We have rented beach houses for over 25 years and owned a rental beach house for 5. This house had a well supplied kitchen. That was wonderful! Many games, movies and books also. The biggest disappointment was the condition of all of the mattresses on the beds! The king and two queens are terrible! We would never rent there again because of that. We go away to have a restful vacation and the sleeping conditions ruined that. There were roaches in the kitchen by Thursday and Friday. The two shower drains on the main floor did not drain well. We would be standing in two inches of water while showering. The dishwasher was not draining properly, but someone from the rental company came out to fix that.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry to hear about all your concerns. Be assured, I am passing this onto our rental manager as well as the heads of housekeeping and maintenance. I see you let us know about the dishwasher and we fixed it. Did you inform us of the other issues? Please, if you didn't-next time let us know. We realize this is your vacation and you want it to be terrific and we'd like to help make it that way. I hope you will let us have another chance at serving you when you next return to BHI. F.A. McLeod, Marketing, WWP
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wilmington, NC
5

Watercolors

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We loved this house! It was the perfect home away from home with a wonderfully stocked kitchen equipped with just about everything a chef would need to prepare a fabulous meal. The oceanfront, outdoor areas were also a wonderful place to sit and relax while listening to the waves crash on the shore. The house was very clean and conveniently located to everything on the island. I would highly recommend this house, the owners, and the rental company as they were all willing to work with us to create a special birthday surprise weekend! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So pleased your Island stay was PERFECT! Thanks for the great rating. Hope you will let us serve you again when next we see you on Bald Head. F.A. McLeod Marketing WWP
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Something for everyone... Climb Old Baldy Lighthouse and see it all, visit the Maritime Museum, Conservancy, many activities across all ages throughout the year, stand up paddle boarding, golf cart & bike rentals, and much more!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

You might like these similar properties