Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Watercolor oceanfront 4BR/3BA Bald Head Island with hot tub!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 10

Call for Special! Visit Watercolor and paint your own picture of a perfect vacation. Located right on the Atlantic on South Beach, Watercolor is ideally situated between the Maritime Market and the Shoals Club. This is an immaculate three bedroom home whose open loft (perfect for children) creates four sleeping areas.

'Spacious' will be your first thought upon entering this sunny ocean-side retreat. The bright open floor plan, soaring vaulted ceilings, loads of windows and skylights, warm exotic hardwood floors and cozy gas fireplace come together to give you an exquisite and relaxing atmosphere. Snuggle in the gathering space while listening to the fully integrated sound system or enjoy a movie on the flat screen. Forgotten a movie? Enjoy one of many the homeowner has supplied.

Beyond the sitting area is the kitchen of your dreams! Channel your inner Emeril Lagasse in this fully equipped chef's kitchen. The kitchen features custom cherry cabinets, plenty of granite counter tops for prepping, an oversize island with its own small sink, a six-burner Wolf range, a breakfast bar that seats six and a Sub Zero fridge. There's even an additional refrigerator in the garage.

Just across from the kitchen is the dining room. Enjoy meals under the magnificent chandelier as you are seated at the beautiful table that comfortably accommodates eight. The dining room also houses the home's wet bar. (FYI-In the bar cabinet is the controls for the sound system. Whether enjoying some music cooking in the kitchen, outside in the hot tub, or even upstairs watching the sunset from the master bedroom balcony, you will have the audio to keep your vacation frame of mind. Each zone has its own wall-mounted volume control to adjust accordingly.)

From the living room and kitchen, walk directly onto the covered porch and grab one of the many rocking chairs or lounges so you can enjoy the sounds and views of the water. If you prefer, step into the hot tub located on the porch-relish the relaxing water while you savor your view of the ocean! Down a few steps from the porch is the home's private oceanfront deck with a large teak table that seats at least eight people. This comes in handy when the hot dogs and hamburgers you fix are ready from the adjacent large gas grill. From here, it's just a hop, skip and jump down the home's private boardwalk access to the beach's soft sand and sparkling water.

Two of Watercolor's bedrooms are on the first floor. They each feature a queen bed. The one located on the ocean side of the house has its own private ensuite bathroom and entrance to the front porch. The other bedroom is located just across the hallway. Its bathroom is conveniently located just outside its door. Both bedrooms come complete with their own flat screen televisions, DVD player and VHS cassette player.

Upstairs the open loft is equipped with two twin trundle beds. These twin beds are amply large enough for an adult. The loft also houses a sitting area with a large flat screen television, VHS/DVD player and games for everyone to enjoy on the large sofa.

Next to loft is the master bedroom. This exquisite sanctuary will make anybody leave all of their worries behind as they awaken to a panorama of the Atlantic at the foot of their bed. Enjoy the view without stirring from under the covers or open the two sliding glass doors and walk out onto the private covered balcony attached to the bedroom. This spacious suite also boasts its own TV/VCR/DVD and the walk-in closet is so large, it even houses a full-sized crib. The en suite master bath features his and hers sinks and vanities as well as an oversize shower with a stunning ocean view and rain shower head and normal shower wand.

Additional amenities included with this property are an outdoor shower, internet access, bikes, two golf carts (a four-passenger and a six-passenger) and temporary membership to the Bald Head Island Club (with golf privileges). A Shoal’s Club membership is available for an additional fee.

(4BR - one is a loft room, 3BA, 1K / 2Q / 2Tw with trundles, Sleeps 10)

More Details

Property Manager
Wendy Wilmot Properties
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

We absolutely love Watercolor. We plan on staying there at least once in the spring and once in the fall every year, if possible...
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 3

Map

Something for everyone... Climb Old Baldy Lighthouse and see it all, visit the Maritime Museum, Conservancy, many activities across all ages throughout the year, stand up paddle boarding, golf cart & bike rentals, and much more! Before you book, call us at 910.470.0000 to find out if there is a special package on this property and learn how you can save on your trip to Bald Head Island!!

Amenities

South Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 10:00 AM
  • /
  • Check-out: 4:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • 1 King bed, 2 Queen beds, 2 Twin beds, 2 Other beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • tennis
Notes:
BHI Club Membership (including in rental rate) with Golf Privileges, Optional Shoals Club Membership Available for an additional fee, Two Golf Carts (One Four-Passenger and One Six-Passenger)

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(49 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
10% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Watercolor oceanfront 4BR/3BA Bald Head Island with hot tub!
average rating of 4.755102 based on 52 reviews
Indianapolis, IN
5

Watercolor

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Great service. Very clean - cleaning service did a wonderful job. Terrific house on the water.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Marion- Thanks so much for your five-star review. Watercolor is a beautiful home...and its location is hard to beat! F.A. McLeod, Marketing, WWP
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alexandria, VA
3

Watercolor Vacation

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We have rented beach houses for over 25 years and owned a rental beach house for 5. This house had a well supplied kitchen. That was wonderful! Many games, movies and books also. The biggest disappointment was the condition of all of the mattresses on the beds! The king and two queens are terrible! We would never rent there again because of that. We go away to have a restful vacation and the sleeping conditions ruined that. There were roaches in the kitchen by Thursday and Friday. The two shower drains on the main floor did not drain well. We would be standing in two inches of water while showering. The dishwasher was not draining properly, but someone from the rental company came out to fix that.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry to hear about all your concerns. Be assured, I am passing this onto our rental manager as well as the heads of housekeeping and maintenance. I see you let us know about the dishwasher and we fixed it. Did you inform us of the other issues? Please, if you didn't-next time let us know. We realize this is your vacation and you want it to be terrific and we'd like to help make it that way. I hope you will let us have another chance at serving you when you next return to BHI. F.A. McLeod, Marketing, WWP
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wilmington, NC
5

Watercolors

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We loved this house! It was the perfect home away from home with a wonderfully stocked kitchen equipped with just about everything a chef would need to prepare a fabulous meal. The oceanfront, outdoor areas were also a wonderful place to sit and relax while listening to the waves crash on the shore. The house was very clean and conveniently located to everything on the island. I would highly recommend this house, the owners, and the rental company as they were all willing to work with us to create a special birthday surprise weekend! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So pleased your Island stay was PERFECT! Thanks for the great rating. Hope you will let us serve you again when next we see you on Bald Head. F.A. McLeod Marketing WWP
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Southport, NC
5

An absolutely wonderful house

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a great weekend and loved the home. It was well appointed and kept in great condition. Our only issue is we wish the internet was a little better. All in all, it was well worth the money.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Troy- So glad Watercolor worked so well for you. Internet is an issue on several places on the Island and is actually being worked on by the Village. I hope by your next stay, it will be faster! F.A. McLeod Marketing WWP
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh, NC
5

Watercolor

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This was a birthday weekend for two couples. The house was wonderful. The house was beautifully decorated. Very clean and the kitchen had all the little items that you needed. the location was just right for enjoying the sunset. the only thing I would like to see is an updated golf cart. It was very slow and the headlights so bad that driving at night was very difficult.

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Beth- Glad this amazing home helped make the birthday weekend even more special. I am concerned about what you told me about the carts and am passing this info onto the Rentals Mgr. to be addressed. Thanks for the insight! F.A. McLeod Marketing WWP
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great BHI rental for a family with kids

  • 5 of 5

We just went for the weekend, myself, husband and 4 kids 7 and under. We decided at the last minute to go, and the rental agency was very accommodating. The house was very clean, well stocked, had lots of dishes, glasses, etc that sometimes are skimpy in rental homes. The view was amazing, and we loved sitting in the hot tub looking at the ocean. We also really enjoyed the old VHS tapes for the kids to watch movies up in the loft, and the game closet to keep us busy during the rain. We will definitely return to this house!

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Leslie- So glad your family enjoyed a great time on the Island. Thanks for the great review! F.A. McLeod Marketing WWP
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

You might like these similar properties