Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cedar Creek Cabin *Last Minute Christmas Rates!*

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-9)

Cedar Creek Cabin is where your vacation begins. Relax and take a deep, calming breath out on the private deck underneath soaring pine trees with views of the wilderness. Spread out upon two acres is our cabin, hot tub and creekbed. There is plenty of room for exploring and enjoying the outside.

Our cabin is located in the Cedar Creek Subdivision next to the Lincoln National Forest. We are only 2 miles from the town of Ruidoso and all it has to offer; shopping, restaurants, and amenities. The base of Sierra Blanca Mountain, the home of Ski Apache, is minutes from our cabin.

Our home has just been remodeled with a brand new kitchen, new flooring and carpet throughout, and we moved the stairs to create a larger, more open eating area and den!

The first thing you notice when you walk into the cabin are the large windows that give you the feeling of being in the trees. A den with a wood burning fireplace and a large flat screen TV await you. There are two bedrooms downstairs. One bedroom has a queen sized bed and the other has a twin bunk bed plus a single twin bed. Both rooms have TVs and DVD players, roomy closets and dressers. Next to the downstairs bedrooms is the bathroom with a shower and bathtub.

The upstairs holds the large master bedroom with a king sized bed with a large flat screen TV. There is plenty of storage for your things in a full sized closet and large dresser. A trunk at the end of the bed holds extra blankets and quilts. There is also a separate area upstairs with a twin over full bunk bed. The master bathroom has been redone with beautiful tile and vanity and has a garden tub and large walk in shower. The shower has a neat window that opens too.

Out of the upstairs sliding glass doors, leads to the back deck which has a private 6 person hot tub. There is rope lighting around the deck. The stars are beautiful from the hot tub at night!

The utility room has a full size washer and dryer. The brand new kitchen is stocked with everything you need to cook with. The large front deck wraps around to the front door and has a propane gas grill. It a perfect place to sit, relax and enjoy the outside.

Even though we would all like to get away from work and our busy lives, we have made our cabin a place where you can do both. WIFI is available so you can check your email and the internet while you stay. Each room has a TV with Broadband Cable. The den has a large flat screen SMART TV, you can log into your Netflix or Hulu account. You can also access YouTube from the TV too.

Ruidoso is a fabulous town with so much to do. Cedar Creek Cabin is the place for you to stay and visit time and time again!

Keywords: cabin, lodge, vacation rental, cedar creek area, hot tub, WIFI, internet, cable, Ruidoso

More Details

Owner
Amy Patton
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2018

About Amy Patton

We live in Cedar Hill, TX, about 20 minutes from Dallas. Our family enjoys going on family vacations together. My husband had a friend who owned a family home in Ruidoso and he started checking into the town. We visited several times and decided that it would make a great family vacation destination. He skiied a lot as a child with his family and has fond memories of this. We wanted the same for our family.

Amy Patton purchased this house in 2011

Why Amy Patton chose Ruidoso

Ruidoso is an 9 hour drive from Dallas. It is a close enough drive that you can do it in one day. We fell in love with the town of Ruidoso and all of it's charm. The town itself is really cool and has a lot to offer; great shops, great restaurants, the casino and horse track, and many other things to do. We brought our children here to ski for the first time this winter. What great memories we made!

What makes this house unique

Cedar Creek Cabin is an awesome place to stay. It gives you the feeling of being close to the wilderness, yet you know that you are only 2 miles from town. The soaring pine trees are one of my favorite things. My children love to go and explore on the two acres. The creek that runs infront of the house offers many exciting discoveries. The house has a wonderful deck that you can sit out on and watch the wildlife go by and see the kids play.

Amenities

Ruidoso House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower , Garden Tub, Walk in Shower
  • Both bathrooms are stocked with towels, wash rags, 2 rolls of toliet paper, shampoo, conditioner and body wash. There are windows in each bathroom that easily open.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Convertible bed(s) - 2 sleep sofa /futon
    Queen Bedroom Downstairs - 1 queen , Dresser and TV
    Bunk Bed Bedroom Downstairs - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Bunk Bed plus a Twin, Dresser and TV
    Master Bedroom Upstairs - 1 king , 1 bunk bed , The master bedroom also has a twin over full bunk bed.
  • King size beds (1) King in Master bedroom upstairs., Queen size Beds (1) Queen in downstairs bedroom., Twin or Single Beds (1) Twin bed in downstairs bedroom., Bunk Beds (1) Twin bunk bed in downstairs bedroom. (1) Twin over Full Bunk Bed in upstairs Master Baby Cribs (1) Pack-n-Play with sheets available. Side Rail for Bed also available, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen size sleeper sofas in the den.,
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Approximately 3 miles to downtown Ruidoso Shopping. Close to town but still feels secluded.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(78 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
17% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Cedar Creek Cabin *Last Minute Christmas Rates!*
average rating of 4.6538463 based on 78 reviews
3

Cabin was great except mass flies & dead bugs but not the customer service, it was horrible.

  • 3 of 5

Locating the cabin fairly easily. When we arrived however- the door code didn't work. I called, I emailed- nothing in return. Had my young son not finally climbed the hill, jumped over the balcony and discovered the upstairs glass door was open, our extended weekend would have been ruined. In fact, the upstairs glass door latch was broken. The metal connector for the latch was pulled out from the wall. I emailed again. We spent the entire time in and out of an unlocked cabin. Still no email or phone call to this day.

The cabin itself was great, as promised. It was well stocked and looked clean until you found mass amounts of flying, dead and decomp flies upstairs (a few downstairs but nothing to compare to upstairs). The master shower had 22 dead flies in it and the bathroom area had that many and more. Plus dead moths. The master shower had wads of someone else's hair in the drain to the point it had to be removed so it would drain. We found rat pellets on the pillows in the master bedroom and on the back glass door at the top there were 30 or more flies buzzing around. The master bedroom- WAS freezing cold!! No amount of blankets helped. On our last night the heater in the entire house would not work- the house was a chilly 61 downstairs (set at 70) and the upstairs was below that. I didn't call or email- why?? No one returned calls or emails previously.

Overall the cabin was good, well stocked. Loved the location- remote. Just wished we had gotten SOMEONE to call us back, text or email. Sleeping in the woods with a broken lock is less than thrilling.

The house is for sale so I believe that played into some of this..........

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I apologize for any miscommunication. I knew nothing of the door not opening. I didn't have a call or email from you about this. The door opens with a key code. My housekeeper checks on the house weekly and has not encountered any problems with the door, not even after you left. Cell service is not so good in that area, so maybe your call/email didn't go through. The only email I received from you was the one about the flies which you sent after your stay. If I would've heard from you about the door and the upstairs door, I could've done something about it. About the flies, we had the house sprayed before your stay. During this time of the year, flies and moths are bad. We knew this and that is why the house was sprayed. We just had it sprayed again this month. I'm sorry if they put a damper on your stay. The lock on the upstairs sliding glass door has been a problem. We've had it completely replaced. As for the heater, I knew nothing about it not working. We actually have just put in a new heating/ac unit this summer. It should be working great. If I had a call, voicemail, text or email from you about it, I would've had someone come out and service it. We offer our home to vacation renters as a comfortable and relaxing place to stay. We have been renting our home out for 5 years now. We enjoy providing a place for people to come and make great vacation memories. Even though we have a weekly housekeeper, maintenance, hot tub service, there are instances that will occur that will be out of my control.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful clean property

  • 5 of 5

We had a great long weekend getaway in this cabin. It has a rustic feel with the decor and wood burning stove but with all the modern amenities and updates. You will not be disappointed with this property.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A great place to relax and enjoy nature.

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time in this lovely cabin in the woods. We had plenty of room and every thing we needed!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for a family get away!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I loved staying at the house. The windows with the views of the trees was amazing. When we sat out on the deck, it was like we were up in the trees. The openness of the kitchen was great for family meals. We also loved that we had some outdoor space. I would recommend this home to anyone!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We loved it!!!

  • 5 of 5

Cabin is gorgeous, just what we expected. We used the hot tub once and let me tell you it was super relaxing after a long day of walking. Only a few miles to the closest convenience store. No complains at all! kids were able to feed the deer and loved it :)

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Terrifiic!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful cabin! Loved the location... great for a family or friends vacation. We enjoyed the hot tub and got to see deer in the yard. Lovely.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Farley's Food Fun & Pub
"Great burgers and fun pool tables."
Casa Blanca Restaurant
"Best chips and salsa in town!"
Ski Apache
"Great place to snow ski for the family."
Inn of the Mountain Gods
"Nice and clean casino and they have a good entertainment venue."
Funtrackers Inc
"This is a must when we come to town! My kids love playing putt-putt and riding go-carts!"
Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Roswell Airport
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Ski Apache
Nearest Point of Interest
Entrance to Lincoln National Forest, Smokey Bear District
Nearest Point of Interest
Casa Blanca Resturant
Nearest Point of Interest
Hall of Flame Burgers
Nearest Point of Interest
Ski Apache Mountain Entrance

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150

A valid credit card is required to hold a $200 refundable damage fee.
If you book online through VRBO using a credit card, there is an additional 4% credit card fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties