Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Casa Carolina

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

1,500 Sq Ft Home W/ 2 Bedroom, 1 1/2 Baths Nestled In The Trees

This home is located in a quiet, park-like setting, nestled between Sonoma and Glen Ellen with immediate access to all of Sonoma Valley.

This is a corner 2-story home (approximately 1,500 sq. ft). The downstairs is bright and airy with a large living room and a beautiful large kitchen with an eating area that opens up to a stunning deck and large backyard. There are new hardwood floors throughout and a remodeled kitchen. The 2 bedrooms (queen sized bed in each) are very roomy and are located upstairs. There is a full bathroom upstairs and a half bath downstairs. The open living room has a large flat screen TV with deluxe cable, music, etc.

The house comfortably sleeps 4 - 6 people. The large backyard and deck has comfortable furniture and a gas barbecue. This area is perfect for entertaining or just relaxing with a morning cup of coffee or afternoon glass of wine.

New to the vacation rental market, from top to bottom, I have purchased all brand new furnishings. Cozy beds, down comforters, 100% egyptian cotton sheets, plush towels, new appliances, couches, tables, etc. TV w/deluxe cable, Wi-Fi, washer dryer...all of the comforts of home and so much more than a hotel room.

This home shares the backyard/outdoor space with another home (also on Homeaway/VRBO). Depending on your needs, you can rent one or both homes. Renting both homes is ideal for retreats, large families or groups traveling together. If interested, please inquire

Experience the best of all possible vacation worlds where you can enjoy the privacy of your own remodeled country home. Yet, you are just a few minutes away from the heart of Sonoma Valley with wineries, fine food, art, music, theatre, spas, shops, state parks, Jack London’s home, Infineon (Sears Point) Raceway, golf courses, horseback riding, balloon flights, biking and hiking all within minutes of your doorstep. Indulge yourself with a tour of Sonoma’s world-famous wineries; luxurious spa treatments; tour the countryside on bicycles; taste the flavors of Sonoma’s award-winning restaurants; explore historic sites in Sonoma County. Best of all, meet the friendly faces of the local the open markets, at the festivals, at the museums and in the boutiques.

You’re just 5 minutes from historic Glen Ellen, 15 minutes from downtown Sonoma, less than an hour from the beautiful coastline of Northern California, and, only 45 miles north of San Francisco.

Just bring your suitcase for a memorable getaway in the beautiful Sonoma Valley.

More Details

Carolyn Carpeneti
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 27, 2017

About Carolyn Carpeneti

I've lived in the Bay Area my entire life and know the area quite well. I will interact as much or as little as requested. I love suggesting how to make the most of a weekend in the Wine Country and the Bay Area. There are so many great restaurants, wineries and fun things to do. I've been to most of them, so again, just ask.

Carolyn Carpeneti purchased this house in 2013

Why Carolyn Carpeneti chose Sonoma County

My home is clean, quiet, spacious, recently remodeled, with great indoor and outdoor living space. It is centrally located to everything in the Sonoma Valley with perfect access to everything.

What makes this house unique

I recently purchased this property because of its location and the layout of the property. There are two separate homes on a big piece of land. The peace and beauty of each home make it perfect for a romantic, couples getaway. Also, the options to rent both homes to a larger group for a wedding, yoga retreat are endless.


Glen Ellen House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sound/bay fishing


Good! 3.8/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Casa Carolina
average rating of 3.8 based on 15 reviews

Disappointing- Stay Away

  • 1 of 5

This property is in need of the following: 1. Carpet cleaning - the carpeted areas like steps etc were filthy 2. Exterminator - There were ants literally everywhere including the kitchen and even the upstairs bathroom. There were even ants on the chairs in the kitchen which were loaded with food crumbs. The downstairs bathroom was unusable since it was crawling with ants everywhere. The base of the walls outside appear to be rotting providing easy access for the ants. 3. Furniture repair and cleaning. - The ottoman in the living room was ripped with the stuffing coming out. We were told by the cleaning people that a previous renter had brought a dog who ripped the ottoman. Why not remove it or get it recovered.The kitchen chairs were so dirty we could not sit on them without covering them with sheets. 4. Heating- Every time the heat turned on there was a booming sound coming from the return which seemed to be missing any filters. 5.Stove- with the oven on the burner to the rear of the stove seemed to heat up.

We had booked the property for three nights but left the evening of the third day (Christmas) because we could no longer deal with the ants which we cleaned up almost hourly. They were getting into our clothes and belongings. We spent most of our time cleaning the house and therefore requested our cleaning fee returned. The property owner sent her cleaning people out when we complained. They were very nice and they handed us a vacuum and left. We even had to buy our own garbage bags. We also think the cleaning fee should be returned as well as the damage deposit which we received.We sent pictures to the owner documenting everything we have mentioned here. We can post those pictures if anyone is interested. This was our Christmas trip and it was not a very restful experience. In summation this property is in need of a serious overhaul before it is ready to be rented to anyone else.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mr and Mrs Goldstein, as I mentioned to you in our correspondence, I am horrified about the ant situation. It has been a very rainy season and prior to your stay, I hadn't received any complaints about ants. I do get the property sprayed every 8 weeks. I own two houses next door with guests in them and their house was fine. When you texted me, I immediately insisted that my cleaning people come out and take care of the situation. What your review fails to mention is that my cleaning people came out to fix the situation but, you told them that you didn't feel comfortable having them in the house and you were heading out to dinner. That is why they only handed you the vacuum. They were willing and able to take care of all of your issues. On December 27th I had the property sprayed again by professionals as I do not want any of my guests to experience what you went through. I am also sorry you didn't feel the house was clean enough. Cleanliness is very important to me, as I think you can see from my prior reviews. I've never had a guest tell me the house wasn't clean enough. But, I wanted you to be happy and that is why I sent my cleaning team to the house immediately when you contacted me. They would have been happy to do whatever needed to be done to make you happy, but you told them you didn't want them in the house and you sent them away. I really tried my best to rectify the situation immediately. Regarding the heater, I don't know what to say. This is the first I'm hearing of a hearing issue. The guests who have stayed in the house since your stay have not reported this as a problem and the heater sounds fine when I turn it on. I'm not sure what the issue was during your stay with the heater, but if you told me about it, I would have sent somebody out to look at it, as I did with the ants.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charmed Location in the middle of Sonoma

  • 5 of 5

Casa Carolina provides its guests an immersed sense of wine country living. Set just minutes away from the incredible tasting rooms that Sonoma is known for, and all the namesake Sonoma and Glen Ellen restaurants you've been wanting to visit. Casa Carolina sleeps 4 comfortably and up to 5 or 6 if need be. We were unable to due to weather, but the deck and communal area in the backyard looked amazing.

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quiet nice location

  • 3 of 5

The place was nice and quiet but I was not happy with:

1, I could not get in the place at the check in time because the owner forgot to call the cleaning lady.

I wanted to take a shower before going out for a 6pm dinner party but after 5 pm, the cleaning lady was still at the place.

2. My check out day was Monday but the owner thought I already checked out and sent the cleaning crew on Sunday. I got scared.

3. 32 days prior to arrival day, I reduced the days from 6 days to 4 days. The owner told me only 50 % of the cancelled days (even the cancelled 2 days were rented)is refundable and I am still waiting for that 50% refund as of today.

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately this guest arrived before my 4 pm check in time. I had another group check out the same day, so yes my cleaning team was cleaning and needed until 4:00 pm to finish. This guest arrived well before 4 pm asking for early access. Second, the guest changed the dates of her reservation and did receive her 50% refund as stated in the reservation contract. Its odd she hasn't contacted me about this. Lastly, I do apologize for the cleaning team arriving a day early. After the guest changed her reservation, I forgot to update my cleaning calendar. I think this guest got a bit angry when she couldn't check in early.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minneapolis, MN

Quiet Neighborhood

  • 3 of 5

Casa Carolina is located on a lovely, tree-lined residential street just outside of the little historic town of Glen Ellen. Not close enough to walk to shops/restaurants but just a couple of minutes by car. The house was clean and as pictured/described--two bedrooms upstairs and a full bath up, 1/2 bath down. Kitchen was well stocked and the little patio off the kitchen (with friendly resident cat) was nice. The living room was cozy but just fine for our group of four adults. We took turns sitting at the kitchen counter for breakfast--there's really no dining area indoors. Overall the place is a little dingy--mostly little stuff like paint chipping, nail holes in the walls not repaired, etc. The carpet definitely needs attention. Our biggest disappointment was the lack of air conditioning--unfortunately we didn't notice that comment in earlier reviews We were there over Labor Day week and with highs in the mid-80s, it got very steamy upstairs. Even with the windows open and the fans blowing all night it was uncomfortably warm. I would recommend Casa Carolina but only during the cooler months of the year.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amazing Experience

  • 4 of 5

There were four of us staying in the house and everyone loved it. The number one hit about the house was the patio. Very nice and relaxing area where we sat each night and talked about our day. The only recommendation I would make is that the house did not have and AC. I understand that the temperature drops in the evening but during the day in the middle of July it gets really stuffy. The fans were helpful, but was still pretty warm throughout the house. Also, the house could use some updating, like the carpet. Overall though we enjoyed our stay and it's will always be memorable.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I would just like to mention that the house has primarily hardwood floors thought. The only carpeted area are the 2 bedrooms and that carpet is less than a year old and isn't stained. Maybe you didn't like the color.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 3 of 5

This accommodation was clean and in fairly close proximity to several small towns that we visited in the Sonoma Valley. Beautiful deck on the back. Plus a neighbor's friendly cat who visited daily! I was a bit disappointed that it was in a small, cramped neighborhood (online pictures are a bit misleading) - very noisy neighbors on one side of the house (loud party one night, running power saw at 8:00 a.m. Sunday). Kitchen, living room and bedrooms were fully appointed - nicely decorated. Both bathrooms need facelifts - paint, flooring - the downstairs bathroom more so than the upstairs. Upon arrival Thursday we found that there was no water pressure downstairs. I called Carolyn (owner); she contacted a handyman immediately to make the repair on Friday. Very little communication with the owner following that. I knew that a plumber had to be called only because the handyman left an invoice with that information. Water pressure problem finally resolved on Monday. By then it was an irritant.

Glen Ellen is a nice little town - the Garden Court Cafe has great breakfasts. If you're a chocolate freak, don't miss Wine Country Chocolates. Fabulous!

I feel the owner should have kept me apprised of the water pressure issue. Seems to be a 'disconnect' by the owner with regard to how to provide really good customer service.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to the above review, Ann called me on a Friday afternoon. My handyman showed up that evening and fixed the water issue, except the pressure was still light in the kitchen. I called Ann and told her that a plumber would be by on Monday. The plumber completely fixed the issue on Monday. I'm sorry Ann feels like I didn't keep her in the loop, but I didn't feel the need to check in on Sat or Sun, especially having left the call telling her if she needed anything more to call me. Funny she would mention the bathrooms. They were painted about 6 months ago and new fixtures were put on the cabinets. I'm guessing she might be referring to the sink and shower fixtures, which could be upgraded to be more modern, but they are fully functional and everything is very, very clean. I think Ann might prefer a hotel next time, where her needs can be addressed immediately via a quick call to a front desk.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Glen Ellen House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $75
Cleaning $90

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message

You might like these similar properties