Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Vacation Home, Fantastic Views, Modern, Updated, Pet Friendly

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 11-15)

Enjoy the privacy of a gated community, without the gates. Prime Hook is located perfectly behind a wildlife refuge. Not many people know about our oasis on the bay. Close enough to the excitement, if you want it. And then come back and enjoy a bonfire on the beach.

Keywords: house, vacation, beach, dogs, cats, pet friendly, water view, updated, modern, popular, quiet, serene, kids, children, beach

Patrick Leonard
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2017

About Patrick Leonard

We are a family of 4. My wife and I bought the Beach House 17 years ago. When we bought it was a small cottage from the 50's. 9 years ago we tore down the cottage and built our beautiful, elevated dream beach home. We have had two sons since having the beach house. The family enjoys coming to the beach year round. The kids can play outside like I used to be able to do when I was a kid. We have a chocolate lab that loves the water and the beach and we take him with us every chance. The beach is hidden and has been a safe haven for us over the years

Patrick Leonard purchased this house in 1994

Why Patrick Leonard chose Delaware

We chose this location because of the privacy and lack of commercial enterprise. We are close enough to everything that Rehoboth, Lewes and Dewey have to offer, but far enough that we can enjoy the serenity of a peaceful day. We like to relax on vacation. Primehook is the place for relaxing.

What makes this house unique

The boys enjoy, kayaking and biking. The wife and I enjoy, sunning, swimming, walking the sandbar at low tide, its awesome. So much to do.

The First floor has the Kitchen, Dining room and Living room. There are also two bedrooms on this floor, each with a full bath. One king size bed and one Queen. The first deck is on this level. The washer and dryer are conveniently located on this level as well. The second floor has A full Bath, a family room and the third bedroom. The only way to describe this bedroom is HUGE. There are three full size beds and a twin bunk, and still plenty of room to spare. The Family room provides a great place to relax and for the family to spread out. There is also a deck on the second level. On a good day one can see for miles.

In nearby Milton, about 9 miles away, we have a Food Lion, a Walgreens, a Subway, a Chinese carryout, a Domino's and one of Our favorites, the Miltonian Restaurant with Greek/Italian and American cuisine.

For more shopping we have Lewes and Rehoboth Beach and (Outlets) south on Route 1.

There is the Boardwalk in Rehoboth and further south, in Ocean City as well as historic sites, theatres, amusement parks, the incomparable Henlopen State Park on the ocean in Rehoboth and all kinds of experiences awaiting you at the shore.


Prime Hook Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Two futons in living room., Bunk Beds (1) Double Bed on Bottom/ twin bed on top
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 4 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Kayaks, Bicycles, Beach chairs, Beach Umbrella, Patio Furniture, Large Private outdoor hot and cold shower


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

Vacation Home, Fantastic Views, Modern, Updated, Pet Friendly
average rating of 4.576923 based on 26 reviews

Great location.

  • 4 of 5

Nice to be able to see wetlands and ocean from the house, roomy, well equipped. Kitchen is very workable. Furniture not very comfortable, living room futons have seen better days. Relatively clean, kitchen could use a going over.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The views are amazing. The house is a nice size and set up well. The new living room furniture has been ordered for the high season. Should be in end of May. Will speak with. Cleaning company about kitchen. Thanks for the review. Peace, Patrick
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newport News, VA

Spacious House Needs TLC

  • 2 of 5

This is a spacious home, which overlooks the marsh side of the Prime Hook National wildlife refuge. Built in 2004, this vacation rental is a close walk to the beach, and stocked with plenty of games, as well as televisions and dvd players. Watch out for the over abundance of trinkets, knick knacks (candles, shells, colored glass, star fish, etc) if bringing small children! We had children ages 8,7,6, and 3, and immediately had to put these items out of their reach. The house was tastefully decorated at one time, but the throw pillows, as well as the bed pillows, were of poor quality, mostly flat, and dingy. I recommend you bring your own sheets, as the $100 linen service is a rip off! Sheets felt like they were coated in residue from overuse of dryer sheets/softener, and bath towels were old and unclean. Yuk. Aside from the linens, the floor fan in the master bedroom was filthy, and the kitchen toaster was gross.

Overall, the house needed a good dusting (under the LR futons and chairs, on top of side tables, and lamps). The bathrooms were NOT clean (especially the inside of the trashcans), and we found human hair in all of them, and a questionable substance on the bath towel in the MBR.

If we have a choice, we will look for another house to rent when we come for a visit.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have addressed the issues refereed to in this review. We have used the same cleaning company for several years and never had any kind of complaint, please see our reviews. We did contact and discuss with the cleaning company the concerns mentioned and they assured us that all issues will be addressed with their staff and the house will be as clean as it always has been in the past and even will take extra care. The sheet service is $100 for 8 beds. The sheets are replaced as worn, stained and at the beginning of each season. We recommend bringing your own sheets if you are used to a certain style or thread count. If you have any questions or concerns after reading the other reviews, please feel free to ask. We are proud of our house and the community we live. We feel like we are always on vacation. Peace, Patrick and Kim
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Right across from the beach.

  • 5 of 5

Owner was very responsive! Always respomded within an hour when we reached out for our needs

Property was beautifully decorated and very spacious with plenty of beds.

Two separate level patios and very secluded with chairs and tables.

1000 feet to the beach.

Would recommend to all for an awesome beach house.

Will rent again in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The pictures do not do this place justice!

  • 5 of 5

This as an amazing property!!! So close to the beach and on a very private road. You are not down there unless you are staying there. The house itself was in great shape and modern. The rooms were plenty big and we could have had more people in the house if necessary. The only downside was the beds as they were a little hard for my taste but if that is the only complaint we are in good shape. The two decks we amazing to relax and feel the ocean breeze. I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a quiet neighborhood with a slower pace of life. It was an awesome house to decompress from the hustle of life. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Everything as described!

  • 5 of 5

This property was perfect for our short end of summer beach visit before school started. The house is clean, in good repair, and had everything we needed for children and adults. The beach is close, quiet and relaxing. We enjoyed kyacking through the wildlife reserve. A wonderful reunion for our scattered family.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

June Visit with Teenagers

  • 5 of 5

This beach house was everything advertised and more. The pictures of the views do not do justice to the beauty of the area. The beach is a stone's throw away, and was empty on two straight beautiful weekend days in June. The house is comfortable, with plenty of room and is very clean. Everything you need is there, and shopping is a short drive away. Patrick, the owner, was very responsive. Our stay could not have been better.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Cape May Ferry
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
The Rookery Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Nearest Beach
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Prime Hook Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $400

Pets $100.00

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties