Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Famous Hal Levitt Mid-Century Masterpiece! 2017 Modernist Tour!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 4,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Famous Hal Levitt mid-century masterpiece! Known as the 'Abe Schwartz Residence (1965)'

* MARCH 2017: PHOTOS ARE BEING UPDATED...HOUSE IS EVEN BETTER NOW! TERRAZZO FLOORS THROUGHOUT HAVE BEEN RESTORED AND POURED NEW!

* Featured home for Modernism Tour Feb 2017

* One of the 8 signature homes for the 2014 Modernism tour!!

* Location of the 2015 Modernism week 'Retro Martini Party'

* Featured in catalogs for Design within Reach

* Featured in Lucky Magazine

* seen in many books!

* 'One of the top three homes in Palm Springs'

* Ask about hosting your wedding or special event at our home!

* terrazzo floors

* 4 bedroom

* 4 1/2 bath (each bedroom has its own bathroom)!

* Almost 4,000 square feet

* Private and quiet

* Mountain views!

* Large beautiful pool and spa

* Perfect location!

* One of a kind house!

1964, 'The Schwartz House' , designed by Hal Levitt, well known mid-century architect of the famous Trousdale Estates. Hal Levitt homes are popular among many celebrities including Jennifer Aniston.

This truly one of a kind house is referred to by Palm Springs experts as 'One of the top three homes in Palm Springs'. This home has been featured on the modernist tour, was in Lucky magazine, was in several 'Design Within Reach' catalogs and more. This home is truly like living in a piece of art. We know your jaw will drop and you will say 'WOW' when you enter this home!

Unlike most mid-century modern homes, this quintessential Palm Springs home is almost 4,000 square feet of living space. The walls of glass take advantage of the breathtaking views of the San Jacinto mountains.

This open floor plan home with white terrazzo floors has two living areas... the main living room and the step down groovy lounge that provides a great place for intimate conversations, to relax, watch a movie or read a book. These two areas are 'connected' by the unbelievably beautiful see-through gas fireplace from the mid-century. All living areas have jaw dropping mountain views. The home features a large floating dining area that seats 8 people for meals, drinks, games or just great conversation. The atrium also seats 8 people for eating under the stars or enjoying views of the palm trees.

The gourmet kitchen has stainless appliances and everything you need in a kitchen including pots, pans, dishes, trays., toaster, microwave, blender, coffee pot, and much more. The island offers 4 bar stools for people to keep you company while you cook or a casual place to eat.

It has four large bedrooms each with their own full bathroom, own flat screen TV, large closets, and each with access to the outside directly from the bedroom. The private outside access from each bedroom is very unique and is perfect for sitting outside for an early morning coffee or a late night drink, without disturbing the others in the house. Each bedroom has upscale, beautiful bedding...not you typical rental bedding! High thread count sheets, duvets, nice pillows, etc.

If you want a private pool with stunning views, you found the perfect house. The pool and spa were just resurfaced but great care went into saving the original 1964 pool tile. .The pool area has lots of comfortable seating for lounging or sitting. It also has a beautiful sculpture/fountain, stainless steel gas grill, fruit trees, umbrella and and the world's best pool floats. It is completely private and can't be seen by any neighbors.

Now...lets talk location! Located in the most desirable area of Palm Springs known as South Palm Springs. This home is in walking distance to the hip Ace Hotel and Swim Club and the local favorite coffee shop called Koffi. It is also very close to the main strip in Palm Springs that has lots of shops and cafes.

This non-smoking home also has high speed wireless internet, amazing stereo system, a 500 CD changer, numerous CDs, board games, 2 car garage, washer/dryer and more.

This home is privately owned and managed so you get first class personal attention during your entire rental process. We love our home and know you will too! Call us today to book your vacation.

Keywords: house, casitia, pool, private, 4 bedroom, security, mid-century, architecturally significant, modern, hip, glam, madmen, wedding venue, hal levitt, modern, MCM, Alexander, frey, modernism,

More Details

Owner
jane garrison
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2017

About jane garrison

We ABSOLUTELY love our home. We first saw it in 2004 when there were already 2 other offers in on it to purchase. From 2004-2011 we looked at dozens and dozens of homes in Palm Springs but never found one as amazing and unique as this home. We were thrilled in 2011 when the house went back on the market and we were able to buy it. If you appreciate mid-century architecture, you will see why we love this house so much. There is so much we love about Palm Springs but mostly it is relaxing by the pool, the stunning views and our morning hikes.

jane garrison purchased this house in 2011

Why jane garrison chose Twin Palms

We have been coming to Palm Springs every year and fell in love with this neighborhood. It is walking distance to almost everything yet it is so incredibly quiet. The views when you walk in this neighborhood are breathtaking.

What makes this house unique

We are close to everything, have unobstructed mountain views in a very quiet neighborhood, I love nothing more than walking to the local favorite Koffi for a coffee in the morning.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We were so fortunate to stay in this historic home. We first saw it during Modernism Week on a tour of homes. We were THRILLED it was now available to rent. If you want a TRUE mid century modern Palm Springs home THIS is the place to stay. The terrazzo floors, mid century furniture, the pool, the views, etc.

Best place we have stayed in so far and we have been coming to PS for 20 years! We WILL stay here again! Jane and Mark were also a delight to work with.
Jun 2017
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Twin Palms House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • King size beds (3), Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
pool floats,

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Famous Hal Levitt Mid-Century Masterpiece! 2017 Modernist Tour!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 13 reviews
San Francisco, CA
1

Beautiful place but beware

  • 1 of 5

Wow! This place is a stunner. The whole Palm Springs aesthetic radiates from the moment you approach the property. The inside is just as stunning. If you can see past the cat hair that can be found on most surfaces and in the sheets on the beds, you will find yourself in love with the space. However, if you are allergic to cats, do not pick this place for your stay. Evidence of a cat being in the property is everywhere.

The pool is incredible and will definitely keep you cool on those hot Palm Springs days; but don’t count on the pump actually keeping it clean. Our time by the pool every day usually started with about an hour of skimming in the mornings just to keep the leaves and berries from the trees at the end of the pool from clogging the intake.

One last caveat to mention, there is a beautiful outdoor space with a dining table. If you can figure out how to get in (we could not) it would likely be a wonderful respite from that cat hair so that you can eat in a clean space. Also, there are plants in the outdoor dining space – be absolutely sure to check (again, if you can get into the space) that they have NOT been watered when you arrive. Prior to our stay there, we believe the cleaning crew watered the plants in the outdoor atrium and the water leaked through the gray rocks and onto the floors. The owner withheld our security deposit to fix the staining even though we never accessed the room. She claimed it resulted from us being there. Our true belief is that the owner took advantage of our stay and used our deposit to fix a problem that already existed before we arrived.

Be very aware and document everything when you arrive at this home! Personally, I wouldn’t stay here – it was a stressful and unfortunate experience.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have 3 properties on VRBO and over 100 reviews that are ALL 5 star...this is the FIRST negative review we have ever received. You can check out our other reviews for this property and properties 485388 and 374784. First of all, we were hesitant to rent to this guest as it was 8 guys in the 20's and 30's but they assured us they would take care of the property. We should have listened to our gut feeling. This guest stained our recently restored terrazzo floor with red wine and was mad we charged them for the repair. We have had hundreds of people in our home and no one has caused this kind of damage. In fact, the Palm Springs Preservation Foundation used our home with 200 guests for their Retro Martini Party and did not have one stain on our terrazzo floors. When this guest was staying in our home, our security camera on the property shows them arriving many times with cases and cases of alcohol. All of the bottles did not even fit in the recycle cans and trash when they departed. Clearly this was a weekend of 8 guys partying. We have NEVER had a problem in the atrium with any guests or during any event at the home (including 2 weddings). They clearly spilled red wine (even though we highly suggest no red drinks are consumed by the terrazzo) and did not want to be held responsible. We had to hire the terrazzo company to grind out the stain. We provided the guest with the invoice and the remainder of their deposit. I am happy to send anyone a copy of this invoice. To say that the plants made the red stain is ridiculous. As far as the pool. They were in Palm Springs during a super windy weekend. If the wind blows at night leaves will fall in the pool. This has nothing to do with the pool pump. In fact, we have new equipment that works better than most filters in PS. In addition, we have our pool company clean the pool twice a week. If there was a big wind storm we will pay for an additional clean. To say there is cat hair all over the home is a lie and just a way to tarnish our reputation. These are guests who are mad that they actually had to pay for damage they caused. We have never had to keep a security deposit in all the years of having 3 vacation rental properties. Most guests are extremely careful with our homes. We were not mad that the guests spilled wine...accidents happen. We just feel that people should pay for damage they cause. I am happy to send any perspective guest a photo of the damage and a copy of the invoice from the floor company.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3
Washington, DC
5

Great Holiday with Family

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a great visit to this beautiful house. All six adults plus two children really enjoyed the house -- we grilled out, swam in the large pool, lounged in the hot tub, and picked oranges. At night, we loved the gas fireplace in the den / living room. The fire made it feel like a lodge, especially with views of the surrounding hills and mountains. We also loved the location and being able to walk to coffee shops and a few great eating options (and we were only a mile and a half from some excellent hiking trails (we did the same hike a few times because it was so nice)). All in all, a great place and great visit. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad your family enjoyed our home and its location! We agree that it is in the BEST location in Palm Springs! Come back and stay again sometime...your family was a delight to deal with!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta
5

Great Thanksgiving week

  • 5 of 5

Friends and family traveled from Atlanta for Thanksgiving week to enjoy Palm Springs and the surrounding area. This house is fantastic in that it is very beautiful yet comfortable and in a fantastic location. We walked to the center of town from the house, went on area hikes, and even spent a day at Joshua Tree National Park. You can do everything from total relaxation at the house and/or use it as a base to enjoy the area. And the owners are great to work with before your arrival and even after you are there. Highly recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2014
  • Stayed: November 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your visit. We love our location as well! It truly is perfect! We have never been to Joshua Tree National Park but you have inspired us to put in on our to do list for this winter! Thanks! Come stay at our home again...you guys were a pleasure to have.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago, IL
5

FANTASTIC Wedding Location!

  • 5 of 5

Our wedding could not have been better! This house was the perfect venue for us. We needed a space comfortable enough to hold the 40 family and friends we invited, and the house did not disappoint! The home made quite the impression on everyone as they were all absolutely bowled over by this spectacular space. The wedding flowed very nicely, no waiters got in the way, and there was enough room to spread out. Everyone had a place to eat, though we just needed a few high top tables on the patio, but most people were able to sit. We were also truly blessed with wonderful weather so everything could be outside, including the ceremony.

After the wedding, we stayed for a week and enjoyed the wonderful heated pool and weather. Being MCM aficionados, we had great reverence for the design of the house and its flowing open floor plan for daily living. One moves seamlessly from inside to outside, and visa versa. The 1965 designed sunken lounge or "conversation pit" as it was called then, was a novel item to everyone. We enjoyed the two way gas fireplace (in the living room and lounge). At one point we had 12 people enjoying "conversation."

Since we had not ever been to the house in person, we needed to work very closely with the owners over long distance (we live in Chicago). We could not have asked for any better owners than Jane and Mark. In preparation for our wedding, they completely updated their landscaping which was so beautiful and appropriate for the house. They also met beforehand with our caterer to help give him an idea of the space and suggestions on where to locate things like the buffet table, bar and high tops.

Being classic car buffs, we just had to have our 1965 Bonneville convertible there too. Mark and Jane went far beyond what normal owners would do; they kindly took delivery of our vintage car and kept an eye on it until we arrived.

This is one special house and will be remembered by many for a long long time. Thank you so much Jane and Mark.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2014
  • Stayed: November 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were honored that you chose our special home for your special day. We are so pleased that everything met and exceeded your expectations. It was our pleasure to do everything we could to assure your big day was all that you envisioned. We loved meeting both of you (and your friends) and hope to see you again soon! Come stay in our home for your anniversary next year. =)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Unique Beautiful Home...one of a kind without a doubt!

  • 5 of 5

My partner and I looked about about 150 homes when deciding where to stay in Palm Springs. We wanted a mid-century modern home with a view and in South Palm Springs (the best area of Palm Springs). As soon as we opened the rental ad we knew we wanted to stay in this home. We even changed our travel dates to be able to rent this house....we are SO glad we did. This home is unbelievably perfect! It is well appointed with the perfect combination of mid-century furnishings and modern luxury. The pictures are exactly how the home looks (which was a welcome change to other homes we have rented in the past). We have already booked this house again for next year...and we are counting the days!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You two were a delight to rent our home to...so sweet! We are excited that you have rented again. We are "punching up" the landscaping right now so it will be even MORE beautiful when you arrive!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

House, furnishings, view, location, pool..all A PLUS PLUS!

  • 5 of 5

Too many great things to list but some of our favorites about this house are: walls of glass, super light and bright, mid-century furnishings, views, privacy, large rooms, immaculate home, south palm springs location and MUCH MORE!!!! We have been coming to Palm Springs for 15 years and rent a different house each trip. However, that has now changed...this is the only house we will now rent if it is available. By far this is the nicest house in Palm Springs we have ever seen. Now we know why there is so much talk about this home! Thanks for letting us rent your home and thanks for being such a pleasure to work with!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! You are welcome to rent our home anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $250
Refundable damage deposit $1,000

All holidays including Christmas/New years weeks, Thanksgiving, Labor Day, etc are $1000 per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.