check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Four Bedroom Village Home Sleeps 12 with Hot Tub & Game Room

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 2.25 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

This newer Village home, located in the center of beautiful Lake Placid, is just a two minute walk from Main Street and access to shopping, dining, the lake, the Olympic Center and the ice rink. It also provides access to miles of hiking and cross country ski trails. The free shuttle service is also a two minute walk providing access to Whiteface Mountain, Mt. Van Hoevenberg Nordic Center, Saranac Lake, the Olympic Training Center, etc.

There are three bedrooms and two full baths, with additional sleeping areas (including a separate lower level and loft) that allow the home to sleep ten to twelve comfortably. The open, multi-level design allows for plenty of 'living space', and large furnished outdoor decks on both the front and back include a large eight (8) person hot tub that allows everyone to enjoy the great Adirondack outdoors and fresh air.

Other amenities include a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, wood burning fireplace, outdoor gas grill, washer and dryer, cable TV (five!), DVD, VCR, and CD players, and answering machine. Firewood, linens and towels are provided.

Here is a break down of the sleeping and living space:

Upper level:

One bedroom with queen, private sink and vanity.

Loft sleeping area with queen pull out and privacy curtain.

Full bath with shower and Jacuzzi tub.

Main level:

Living, dining, kitchen area, main entrance, access to decks in both front and rear of the house. Dining table which seats 10.

Mid level:

One bedroom with two single beds.

One bedroom with double bed.

Full bath.

Laundry room.

Lower Level:

Queen futon/sofa.

Two single (bunk) beds.

Private entrance.

Office and gaming areas.

Front Deck:

Seating for 8.

8 person hot tub with Jacuzzi jets.

Gas grill.

Rear Deck:

Picnic table seats 10

Casual seating for up to 12

View of lake and mountains

Keywords: Home, cabin, cottage, winter rental, walking distance to village, on bus route, fully furnished

More Details

Owner
Jay Lotz
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish, mandarin, None
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
January 17, 2017

About Jay Lotz

Family man who loves the outdoors, skiing, hiking, paddle boarding, kayaking, relaxing with the family and the convenience of having everything at your finger tips. Lake Placid has it all!

Jay Lotz purchased this house in 1997

Why Jay Lotz chose Lake Placid

Lake Placid is one of the best kept secrets in the country. Excellent skiing in the winter and beautiful lakes and mountains in the summer.

What makes this house unique

Hot Tub & game room with Foosball and Air Hockey Table.

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Four Bedroom Village Home Sleeps 12 with Hot Tub & Game Room
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 6 reviews
4

Great House for a Large Family Gathering

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here with my sister and her family AND my brother and his family and we could not have asked for a more perfect house. Essentially, each family got their own floor, and yet there was plenty of space in the living room, dining room and deck for us to be together without feeling like we were on top of each other. We ended up walking almost everywhere we needed to go--and we really felt at home. Extra thumbs up for hot tub.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Location!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stay in Lake Placid every year but it's usually outside of town. This year we wanted the convenience of being able to walk to everything and that's exactly what we got with this location! This house is tucked away in a peaceful wooded area however, within minutes we were able to walk to the main strip with lots of shopping and food, and the beach where we swam, kayaked and went on paddle boards. It was great not having to drive everywhere the kids wanted to go! The house was well kept and had a lot of space for all of us. I would highly recommend this property for your stay in Lake Placid!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Make sure you get what you pay for

  • 2 of 5

Pros:

This house is located in a great spot in Lake Placid and is walking distance from everything. Made it really convenient with a large group as we weren't dependent on cars the entire time (you do have to climb a large hill to get to the property, so if you have disabilities or are not in the best shape, this may not be the place for you). The house was also clean, with a decent common area for everyone to hang out in. We didn't do much cooking, but for what we did cook, the house was well equipped. The beds (at least mine was) was fairly comfortable as far as rentals go.

Cons:

Upon arrival we were greeted by the groundskeeper who immediately informed us that the hot tub did not work and that it had been broken for several days. This of course was frustrating to hear as the hot tub was one of the primary reasons we booked this place. After calling the owner, he seemed to offer up information that contradicted the groundskeeper saying it just broke. Bottom line - a heads up re: a broken hot tub would have been nice in advance so we could have planned alternate accommodations. Regardless, he said he'd try to fix it and was unable to. The lease clearly said that everything should be in working order, which it was not. I had requested a partial refund as a compromise, but the owner was not willing to hear it (he also kept changing his story about the situation and regularly contradicted the groundskeeper). I get it that things break, but at least adjust accordingly as a result. Based on the transaction with the owner, I would not recommend staying in this place.

Of note:

This listing indicates a 4th bedroom, which is a bit funky once you get there. It's actually a basement with bunk beds and futon. it's in the same space as the game room so if people are planning on using those beds it can be a bit of a logistical problem for some parties.

The owner also keeps the security deposit a full 30 days (I actually received mine a few days later). He stated that the reason for this was to ensure we didn't purchase movies or make phone calls. Well, this is 2015 and last I checked, that information is available online within a few days. Absolutely no reason to hold such a large sum for so long.

Lastly, the owner requires payment be made by check only sent via snail mail. If possible, make your payment electronically if you can to protect yourself in case there is a problem.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
11 1
5

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a week here, and we couldn't have asked for a better location. The accommodations were great--especially enjoyed the hot tub--and just a short walk down the hill and we were in the center of Main Street. We walked around Mirror Lake twice a day, and enjoyed shopping in the beautiful Village of Lake Placid--all without driving our car. I can't say enough about this wonderful house and the hospitality of the owner. We hope to be back again!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Recent Stay in Lake Placid

  • 5 of 5

I am only writing this review after seeing the initial one - I have to completely disagree and have enjoyed my time at this property twice. This house is centrally located in Lake Placid, allowing for easy access to restaurants, shops, the skating oval and a short drive to bobsled or ski at Whiteface. The property itself is not run down, and improvements have been made since my last visit, most notably outfitting the house with large flat screen televisions. The security deposit has never been an issue, the only thing I had to do was touch base with the owner after I visited to confirm that all was well. In summary, this is a nice, comfortable house where you can relax by a fire or in a hot tub in a great location.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Upstate New York
1

BEWARE - Very large security deposit which may not be returned!

  • 1 of 5

This listing was as described though a bit run down and with a number of non-working elements - some of which did not get resolved while we were there. My biggest complaint though, is that he charges a very large security deposit which has YET to be returned to me. It is well over a month since we stayed. We have rented many VRBO properties and I would NOT rent here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is ridiculous. I returned their damage deposit within 30 days as agreed upon even though they left the house in poor condition. Also, everything is working so I do not know what they are talking about. Ironically, they even sent me a note saying, "Thanks you for the rental of your Lake Placid House. It was perfect for us". Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
7 4

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Lake Clear
Nearest Barpub
Many
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Westport, NY
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Lake Placid Club
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Westport, NY
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
I87-Northway
Nearest Restaurant
Many
Nearest Ski
6 Miles
Whiteface Mountain
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Mirror Lake
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hillcrest House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Dec 20 2016 - Apr 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Summer
May 1 2017 - Jun 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$450
$2,500
 
 
Ironman
Jul 19 2017 - Jul 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$5,000
 
 
Summer Prime
Jul 27 2017 - Sep 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
 
 
Fall
Sep 16 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$450
$2,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Pet Fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $750

Rates above are minimum/starting rates and may vary particularly during the prime winter and summer season.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hillcrest House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This newer Village home, located in the center of beautiful Lake Placid, is just a two minute walk from Main Street and access to shopping, dining, the lake, the Olympic Center and the ice rink. It also provides access to miles of hiking and cross country ski trails. The free shuttle service is also a two minute walk providing access to Whiteface Mountain, Mt. Van Hoevenberg Nordic Center, Saranac Lake, the Olympic Training Center, etc. There are three bedrooms and two full baths, with additional sleeping areas (including a separate lower level and loft) that allow the home to sleep ten to twelve comfortably. The open, multi-level design allows for plenty of 'living space', and large furnished outdoor decks on both the front and back include a large eight (8) person hot tub that allows everyone to enjoy the great Adirondack outdoors and fresh air. Other amenities include a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, wood burning fireplace, outdoor gas grill, washer and dryer, cabl

Partner Offers