check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Spacious lakefront family fun with private dock - Bring your Boat!

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
14
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

Only 2 hours from New York City and Philadelphia

This very spacious vacation destination is situated directly on the lake. A private dock for power boats, canoes, kayaks, sailboats or jetskiis allows for a tremendous family experience. Three levels large, enjoy a spacious game room with a plenty of comfortable seating to watch movies at night. Maybe you prefer to indulge your mountain culinary flair with a fully stocked kitchen with spacious seating for the hungry pack. Not to worry, the children enjoy a very spacious loft for games, reading, cards and adventure; culminating in a camp like lodge sleeping set up for multiple kids. There are three spacious bed rooms with enough room for multiple families or a large group of friends. Step outside to the fire pit to enjoy a glorious view of the lake while toasting marshmallows or chatting with family and friends to the crackle of the fire. If you like to grill, enjoy the back deck and outdoor furniture to relax with an afternoon drink while gazing out at the adventures of the lake. With ample parking for up to five cars and a boat trailer.

More Details

Owner
Janet Hollingshead
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2017

About Janet Hollingshead

Our family has been enjoying varrious areas of the Poconos for over 30 years.

True water enthusiasts, we had rented properties in search of the perfect property for our family to enjoy year round and we have found it in this property we call Treetops.

We also enjoy snow skiing and love the fact that there are a number of great mountains locally for winter time fun including ice skateing, ice fishing, snowmobiling, and ice sailing right on the lake.

This property allows us to enjoy summer and winter activities and we are happy to share with those that will enjoy and respect a wonderful family get away.

Janet Hollingshead purchased this house in 2012

Why Janet Hollingshead chose Poconos

Situated on one of the largest lake in Pennsylvania, this property has the feel and charm of a lake house cabin with the ample space and conviences of your home.

This is a private community of 135 homes with only 6 homes available for rental. The neighborhood feel and serenity provides the ideal place to get away and recharge.

You will be hard pressed to find more beautiful views of this part of Pennsylvania with the adventure and fun of being on a lake and near to so many activities year round.

Summer boating, winter skiing, fall golfing, and spring hiking/biking make for a lot of family fun. Some like snowmobiling on the lake in the winter. If you don't own a boat, you can rent one from the local marina situatted on the lake. For kids, you might consider having them take wakeboarding or skiing lessons.

What makes this house unique

The front of the house is modest and quaint and yet as you enter the front door, the spacious layout and breadthtaking views out each of the bed rooms provide an ambience of relaxation with access to complete fun. Two of the rooms have sliding glass doors and access to the outside deck overlooking the lake.

The home is shaded during spring, summer, and fall seasons with a 'treefort' collection of beautiful trees which provides for some of the most beautiful views in the fall as the leaves change.

The firepit provides for a wonderful family experience for those who enjoy roasting marshmellows or having a 'fire side chat'.

Put your boat or canoe in at our private dock for short a canoe ride away to a small island which has charcoal grills perfect for an afternoon adventure and cookout. Fishing is bountiful and the lake holds many variety of fish.

Improvements in 2014: Twin Waverunner floating docks (waverunner not included) allows for easy parking for two waverunners/canoe/kyack.

New Master bedroom windows and new sliding glass doors for all rooms and gameroom allow for a beautiful look at the lake.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

Spacious lakefront family fun with private dock - Bring your Boat!
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 24 reviews
5

Great Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

Lots of fantastic amenities, including a well stocked kitchen, including spices and lots of plates/cups/cooking items. There is a large table with extra chairs around to easily seat 10-12 people, plus additional deck seating. Basically, it's three bedrooms with a MASSIVE loft, that will sleep as many as you want, seriously. There are 4 beds up there, but room for numerous air mattresses. Nice foosball and TV in the basement, awesome fire pit with copious amounts of seating and wood to burn. LOTS of parking, even for a trailer or two, and a nice street facing porch to boot! You will not regret booking this house.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Stephen - We are thrilled that you enjoyed the house and hope you can come back again next year. We will have an even bigger dock as well as other improvements to enjoy! Janet & Stewart
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brooklyn/Philadelphia
5

Great place for a quiet retreat on the lake

  • 5 of 5

The property was excellent--exactly how it is described on the listing. Spacious and more than enough room for our group. Outdoor space is great for sitting around the fire and eating outside. We had a blast swimming off of the dock. Host had excellent communication throughout process. Would recommend this property to all my friends and family.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house was right on the water. Great location

  • 5 of 5

Big house that can accommodate plenty of people

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home, great location, best vacation this year with the family.

  • 5 of 5

The home was beautiful, clean and definitely stocked with all the appliances you would need. Some of the most comfortable beds. Not to mention the owners were very easy to work with and very informative. Will definitely book here again. Thank you for a great end if the season vacation

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Dominique and we are so happy that you enjoyed your time up at the lake. It gives us great pleasure to provide our guests with a memorable experience. We look forward to having you up again next summer! Janet and Stewart
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Scenery and setting is beautiful but the cleanliness of the house was disappointing

  • 2 of 5

I never write reviews (this is my first one). I wouldn't have even written this review except for the property owner's dispute of our complaints about the house. A woman in our group told the property owner about the cleanliness issues of the house in case she wishes to inform her cleaning company. Her response was that without photographs to back-up our complaints, she has to take the work of her house keeper!

So here goes:

- Dirty cobwebs everywhere in the house

- Master bedroom smells of dog and has a large stain in the rug and the bathroom door does not close.

- The big dining room window, and the sliding doors were very dirty.

- There was a huge amount of dog hair in the creases of the basement stairs, under the furniture, under the upstairs T.V. table, and all in the main sliding door track. The carpet doesn't end at the sliding door and space between is full of dirt and hair.

- The basement smells bad!

- There was a 5 gal bucket up in the loft full of empty beer bottles, and a drawer full of empty peanut shells.

- There was used disposable diaper style underwear in one of the bedroom drawers.

- There was a mouse running through the living room one night and ran through a hole in the sliding door frame.

- A lot of siding rot at the bottom edges around the deck.

- We tried to play some of the games available in the house and all the games are not complete and should really just be cleaned out and most thrown away, they were all unable to be used.

- Refrigerator was dirty

- There are cameras in the house at strategic locations - who is watching us and why??

- The advertisement claims towels are available, but there was not enough for our party - -there are no hand towels or wash cloths

- Every shower and dishwasher use created an awful disgusting septic smell

On the plus side (yes there is a plus side):

- The size of the rooms are comfortable

- The location is great

- The dock is great

- The rear patio and fire pit is great

- Lake Wallenpaupack is a beautiful place and this house is right on the lake with easy access

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We welcome our guests suggestions and try our very best to make the experience up at the lake as pleasant as possible. This depiction of the cleanliness of the property contradicts 4 years of positive feedback and enjoyment from our renters........... The dispute Karen refers to is her demand of a return of the full cleaning fee as well as a partial refund of her weekly rent without offering any evidence with pictures. As promised to Karen, we contacted our property managers to see if her demand for a significant refund was warranted......................... The cleaning crew is a husband and wife team who serve as our property managers and are on call to address concerns for our guests in a timely fashion. Our guests are provided with both our direct number as well as the direct number of our property managers if there are any issues. Had Karen called us with her concerns at check in or at any time, we would have had our team over to the house immediately........................ The floors are professionally cleaned at the beginning of the season and we have had them cleaned again since Karen’s review. We are in the process of putting in new floors in the fall which should alleviate most of the wear and tear issues in the review. The septic system was serviced. The security cameras (3) are only used for security when the house is empty and never used during our guests’ stay. Incomplete games were removed and we added a few more fun ones. The outside top of the refrigerator under the cabinet had some dust and was cleaned.................... We enjoy using this family property and take great pride in maintaining and improving the property and offer many amenities not found in other rentals. We routinely call our guests when they first arrive to make sure the accommodations are to their liking and to ensure that there are no issues from previous renters. During Karen’s stay there were no issues brought to our attention and only after her full week were we told of any concerns with her request for a significant refund which we investigated promptly. Our phone number is also programmed into the phone at the property. The scenery and setting is beautiful.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

The property was beautiful! There was plenty of room for all 14 of us. The kitchen had so many dishes, glasses, pots and pans, etc, we did not have to bring anything. We enjoyed sitting around the firepit roasting marshmallows; swimming and fishing off of the dock, relaxing in the hammocks. Everything was wonderful, highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Deb, We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves up at the lake. I stocked the kitchen as I would like so I'm glad you had everything that you needed for large family dinners. We also love sitting around the fire at night and relaxing in the hammocks in the trees! We hope you return next year! Janet and Stewart
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
22 Miles
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton International Airport
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
The Newfoundland Hotel Restaurant
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Skytop Lodge
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Rt. 80
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
John's Italian Restaurant
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
Ski Big Bear
Car: necessary

For families needing more than one home, we can coordinate a co-rental with our next door neighbor. See VRBO #454640.

Local Claws and Paws zoo is a 10 minute drive away.

Boat rentals through several local marina including Sterling Marina which is 1.2 miles away.

Many fun and fine restaurants nearby.

Winnery, antiquing, hiking, sailing, waterskiing.

Short ride away from the island proected home of the American Bald Eagle (and family)! Easily viewable by boat.

Wintertime activities include snowmobiling, ice fishing, ice sailing on the lake. 45 minute drive from a number of excellent Ski Mountains.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Greentown House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Early Summer
May 27 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,800
 
 
Summer
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$400
$1,750
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $200 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 9.0%

If furnture not returned to original state, there is an additional $25.00 fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Greentown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower
    Main Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located on the main floor with easy access to all rooms
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower , Great way to cool off in the summer.
  • The two guest rooms have vanity sinks which provides for more private experience.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • The Victoria Room - 1 queen , Hanging Closet, Breau, night stand, private sink
    Camera a castello - 2 bunk bed , Two single over twin beds, hanging closet with private sink
    La Chambre Soleil - Master - 1 queen , Seperate Bathroom, Hanging Closet, Rocking Chair, and Bureau
    Kids' Fort - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed , Loft Studio perfect for kids with seperate TV and play space
  • Queen size Beds (1) Master room - 1 Guest room - 1, Twin or Single Beds (1) Loft has two single beds., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Loft has one single futon., Bunk Beds (1) Guest room #2 has two double/single bunk beds that can sleep up to 6. Loft/Studio has a bund bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Popcorn maker, griddle, hammock, outdoor dock area lighting, located in a private community.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties