check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

North Carolina Cabin / Private Rustic Ski Lodge

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
lodge
Sleeps
15
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Mars Hill Lodge Rental Photos and Description

Rustic Log Cabin Beauty with Warm Ski Lodge/Chalet Charm

3 story Antique Log Cabin built with Luxury and Contemporary Amenities. Featuring an updated kitchen, Grotto Shower made with River Rock from the Creek below, and overlooks an audible Waterfall and stocked pond that gives you a 24hr tranquil backdrop to your family getaway.

Just 20 minutes north of Asheville,NC and the Biltmore Estate. 3 miles before the Tennessee border.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 8, 2016

Why The Owner chose Blue Ridge Mountains

We provide linens, towels, a fully-equipped kitchen with quality pots and pans, microwave, toaster, crockpot, gas grill and electric grill, coffee maker, condiments and spices, salt, pepper, and delicious well water! Just bring your food!

What makes this lodge unique

Located just a half mile outside the gates of Ski the Wolf and Wolf Laurel Ski Resort, Appalachain Hiking Trail, and 20 minutes to Asheville and the Biltmore Estate.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our family was very pleased to find that your cabin greatly exceeded the beautiful pictures and write-up we saw on-line. Our first visit was so awesome that we promised ourselves that we would come back next year. And that is exactly what we did! Our second stay was even better than the first because everyone knew what to expect. Now when we talk about next year our choice for our next vacation is unanimous- your cabin!!

Everyone loved the views from each side of the cabin. The kids enjoyed sitting upstairs so they could watch everyone down below from the large balcony. The women loved the large, modern country kitchen where they prepared our meals (but they still got us to go out to some of the great local restaurants you recommended!). The guys enjoyed keeping a large fire in the massive stone fireplace and watching sports on Direct TV.

Our time on the front porch was relaxing and rejuvenating. We enjoyed just taking in nature's sights, sounds and smells!

The only problem with writing a review like this is that other folks are going to discover our secret vacation spot! Oh well! As long as we can return when it is available, we will be glad to recommend it to others!!
Jan 2016
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(60 traveler reviews)

North Carolina Cabin / Private Rustic Ski Lodge
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 61 reviews
4

A great place for a weekend getaway!

  • 4 of 5

We were only able to stay for a long weekend, but we loved the setting and location of the cabin. It felt remote, but was within easy driving distance of the main highway. We were able to make a day trip into Ashville very easily. The cabin was well appointed and really is big enough to sleep 15. We did have one small issue with a fuse blowing, but the owner was quick to send someone over to fix it for us. Other than that, it was a great choice for our getaway weekend.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cabin was beautiful.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time. The cabin was fully stocked and decorated really neat.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Unforgettable getaway!!

  • 5 of 5

I had 10 people that were coming with us to Asheville for a birthday weekend and I was a bit overwhelmed trying to find the perfect place to say the least. Oh my gosh, this house was beyond anything that I'd of ever imagined! Ive traveled all over the world and definitely top 5 homes! They literally have everything you'd need. I brought a lot of stuff with me assuming that there was going to be stuff that they wouldn't have and I was completely wrong, they had everything! Everyone had an amazing time and were already planning a time we can all go back very soon! Jeanine, the owner was beyond awesome and had unbelievable communication the entire time, though we had no issues at all. We were only 25 min (beautiful drive) from Asheville. We followed all house rules and quickly received our security deposit. Thank you Jeanine for an amazing stay!! Your home was beyond anything :)

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wodreful Cabin

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay, the cabin is very well equipped to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. The views from the terrace are great. We highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We were very impressed with the up keep of the property. Everything was clean and perfect.

  • 5 of 5

We were very impressed with the cabin. It was so relaxing and peaceful. The area was gorgeous to sit outside and take in the scenery. We want to definitely come back and stay again.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice place, but a few troubling issues

  • 3 of 5

The home is very spacious and pleasantly rustic. Lots of nooks for relaxing. As has been mentioned previously, the third bedroom is accessed through the ground level garage.

That said, we spent a good deal of time and effort keeping rainwater from pouring out of the fireplace onto the floor during a moderate rain event. The gas grill was built up with so much grime and food residue that it was nearly useless. The downstairs toilet leaks around the base. Most concerning, however, is the ongoing difficulty in getting responses from the rental agent. As of two weeks after our stay, I have not received contact regarding these problems, nor have I received a refund for my security deposit. Not good.

All in all, I regretfully advise all to find another place to stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The first thing I will say is that you should have contacted us while you were there, not a week later. We would have immediately sent someone out to remedy the situation. Your stay was Oct 7 - 10, 2016 which was Hurricane Matthew. Anyone can google the dates. You wrote this review on Oct. 21, 11 days after checkout. Not 2 weeks... We are very sorry you felt this way because in speaking with you on the telephone you acknowledged it had rained for 7 hours straight and this was in the middle of a Hurricane. Hardly a moderate rain. We have never had anyone complain about rain coming in thru the fireplace before you , so it was not a neglected issue. It has been fixed after you notified us of the problem. We are in Northern Florida and had our hands full with Hurricane issues ourselves. Your one email regarding your deposit was replied to within a day that said ... "please be patient we will get back to you after we check out these issues". At that point someone else was already staying and it created a service call during their stay instead of yours. It does take several weeks for refund deposits to go through. We must get the cleaners report, the hot tub report, the wood report, and we do verify that no addtl phone and tv charges were made during your stay. This all takes time and in the midst of a State of Emergency in both of our states, a two week turnaround on your deposit is really not too much consideration to ask. We try to make ourselves very accessible during your stay and you should have picked up the phone to tell us while you were there so that we could have made your stay more enjoyable. That is always what we strive for.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Asheville
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Wolf Laurel Golf & Country Club
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Wolf Laurel Ski Resort
Car: necessary

Come enjoy the Spring and Summer in the cool Mountains !

Stay 6 nights - get the 7th FREE !

Located in the Blue Ridge Mountains, this breathtaking 3500 sq.ft. cabin is more like your Private Ski Lodge. Snuggle up in front of 1 of 2 fireplaces or grab a blanket and relax on 1 of the 2 wrap around porches. The peaceful sound of the waterfall is divine after a dip in the hot tub or after a day of skiing and tubing.

Tastefully decorated with primitive antiques, yet all the comforts of home like 2 jacuzzi bath tubs, dual shower heads, comfy mattresses, new appliances and laundry.

1st floor quarters are separate enough that the kids can have their own bedroom,living room, and flat screen tv. And you don't have the noise !

Love the Mountains and the City? We are just 20 minutes North of Asheville,NC and The Biltmore. It is daytripping distance to the Harrah's Casino in Cherokee. Very close to the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Appalachian Trail.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mars Hill Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
$7,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Wood Del per load (opt) $75
Pet Fee $75
Hot Tub Fee $75
Tax Rate 11.5%

Our nightly rate is $300. Min. 3 day stay.
Stay 6 nights and the 7th is FREE = $1800 for 7 nights

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Mars Hill Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • King size beds (1) Vera Wang Mattress Ultimate Comfort = Sleeps 2, Queen size Beds (1) 2 Queens in the largest bedroom. Sleeps 4, Double Beds (1) 2 Full over Full Bunk Beds = Sleeps 4, Twin or Single Beds (1) 1 Twin Memory Foam Mattress open into the 2nd floor Living Room area (limited privacy), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) 2 Queen Ikea Futons in the 1st Floor Living Room. With Stone Fireplace
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Just minutes from the Appalachian National Scenic Trail and Wolf Laurel Ski Resort you can spend your day hiking, skiing or just snuggling.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties