Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Historic ~A~.Charles Weiss Home...only 3 blocks away from Lakewalk!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Space 6,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Lots of rooms to choose from! Inquire today for individual room availability!

UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP as of July 2017.

Built in 1895 and beautifully restored, this grand Victorian home is the perfect getaway. The home is located close to Downtown Duluth and only 3 blocks from Duluth's Lakewalk and 1.7 miles from Canal Park. The second floor hosts 5 bedrooms, each with its own bath. King Suite has an attached bedroom with a queen sofa sleeper. The main floor boasts a grand dining room, parlor, library, billiard room, music room, and an eat-in kitchen. Whether you're enjoying a classic novel in the library, watching cars roll by on the front porch, or preparing a gourmet meal in the eat-in kitchen, this home has it all. Each room brags its very own detail right down to its individual woodwork and style. This is truly a must see. Please call today to book your room. etc. License #PL-13-018


Owner
Bryan & Gina
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2017

About Bryan & Gina

Bryan & Gina

Bryan & Gina purchased this house in 2017

Why Bryan & Gina chose Endion

We began making regular visits to Duluth years ago and fell in love with the landscape, city and all there is to do here - from hiking, sailing, camping and skiing to simply enjoying the sounds of the waves and ships. Our kids fell in love with Duluth on our many adventures here over the years as well and now attend UMD. We knew that someday we would have to eventually call this place home. While maintaining our current home and this home in Duluth we are finally making it happen.

What makes this house unique

When staying at A Charles Weiss Home, the original woodwork throughout the home, along with the antique furniture and decor give you a sense that you have been transported back in time. If you have an old soul, this place is for you!

Amenities

Endion House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , 1/2 Bath on Main Level
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Adjoining jacuzzi bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Suite facing lake side of home. Sleeps up to 4 people.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 3/4 bath adjoing
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 3/4 bath adjoining
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sofa sleeper - located in king 2-room suite
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Check-in 4:00 pm (sorry, no earlier without prior authorization) Check-out 11:00 am This allows our cleaning staff only 5 hours to prepare for the next guests. Its a very large house...thanks in advance for your understanding. Additional fees will apply for late check-out (after 11:00am and addition $50.00 charge will be assessed automatically) $100/hour for every hour after. Early check-in and check-out requests must be pre-authorized by property manager. The maximum allowed amount of people is 12...this includes children. The house is not to be used as a party house. Absolutely no smoking. We reserve the right to retain guests cleaning fee if the home is smoked in. During the winter months, the windows are to remain closed (additional fees may be assessed for open windows). Please be respectful of our beautifully restored home. We reserve the right to cancel reservations and return any deposit.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(63 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
22% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Historic ~A~.Charles Weiss Home...only 3 blocks away from Lakewalk!
average rating of 4.4920635 based on 63 reviews
5

Weekend Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We rented the A. Charles Weiss Home for the Thanksgiving weekend (also my birthday) and it was truly wonderful! The house is awesome! We enjoyed the antiques, pool table, grand piano, the space the house has to offer, and the beds were extremely comfortable. Truly an amazing time!

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cori, we are so thrilled that you were able to celebrate your birthday in Duluth at our home and that it was wonderful! We hope you were able to create memories that last a lifetime. Thanks for the great review and hope you come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Enjoyed our stay!

  • 3 of 5

The best amenity in a old house is plenty of bathrooms, and this house didn't dissapoint! The ensuite bathrooms in multiple bedrooms were perfect! We actually spent little time in the house as we were in Duluth for a family wedding. And my immediate family totals 34! So we had multiple VRBO accommodations around town. We did have much of the clan to our house one evening after dinner - and this house easily accommodated all, from the six-year-old twin nephews to my 90 year old Mother. We didn't do any cooking, but we could have with no problem. The list of house rules got a bit of a chuckle from many: don't sit in the antique furniture? It all appeared antique! 😀� It was like coming home again - we love Duluth, and everyone had a spectacular time. As we drove to the house, my husband realized he lived in the brownstone across the street foe 3 years in college!

The house was very comfortable and helped make a special celebration even more special.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words regarding the home and choosing our home for one of the places your family stayed while in Duluth! Knowing our home met all of your needs and was able to be enjoyed by your large clan is wonderful! We are a little confused about the comment about not sitting on the antique furniture though. Everything, including the furniture, is usable and not off limits. The only restrictions are the fireplaces since the chimneys are closed. However, there is one house rule regarding the antique furniture that says, "A lot of our furniture is antique. Please utilize the coasters on all of the furniture and placemats or tablecloth on the dining table." Again, a little confused, but understand that there can always be different ways of interpreting information. So glad you had a great weekend!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tucson, Arizona
5

Duluth Historic Home, highly recommended!

  • 5 of 5

Our whole family, visiting Duluth for our son's wedding this past weekend, was able to stay together in this wonderful home. Full of antiques, beautiful, unique, the home was mysterious, and gave a taste of life at the turn of last century. It was also very comfortable and fun, with excellent beds, plenty of bathrooms, a pool table, and a piano that the several musicians among us enjoyed playing. While many of the furnishings were appropriately "old" the kitchen had modern appliances that made it pleasant and easy to prepare meals for our big crew so we didn't have to try to find restaurants to accomodate all of us (including a rowdy 3-yr-old!) Being from AZ, we were concerned that it would be cold and drafty, but even with the surprise winter storm, the home stayed warm and cozy. The house is downtown, convenient to many of the tourist sites we wanted to visit. Parking was never a problem for our 3 vehicles. Gina was an excellent and very understanding host who went out of her way to assure that we were having a good stay. Definitely recommended!

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was our pleasure to have you stay in our home for your son's wedding and we are so glad you were comfortable here. That winter storm took us all a bit by surprise and I'm sure it felt cold coming from Arizona, yet was fun to experience all the snow. Wishing your son and new daughter-in-law many years of wedded bliss! Thank you for the wonderful review! Come visit us again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great rental

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much! The house is amazing and close to everything in Duluth. I would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here at our home and that it was close to everything you wanted to do while in Duluth! Hope to have you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Wedding in Duluth

  • 5 of 5

There were 12 adult family members and 1 baby at the Charles Weiss house. It met all of our needs and we were able to spend time together in the house in between wedding events. The house itself was so much fun to look through, lots of antiques and memorabilia. The beds were comfortable and bathrooms all worked out for the 6 couples. We never did figure out the tv but we were too busy to use it. Some were disappointed there was no wifi, but we managed without it. The pool room was really fun. We couldn't all gather in any one room, but there were 12 of us.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Gail for the wonderful review! We are very happy that the house accommodated all of your needs! As for the Wi-Fi; we do have Wi-Fi in the home and the password was provided in the Welcome email that was sent to you prior to your stay. It is also in the information book on the hospitality desk. However, knowing that it may be easily missed, going forward we will make sure that it is displayed more prominently. Thank you again and we hope you find your way back here soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

This house is a great 1970s-1980s home that has not moved beyond 1970. what u see is not what u get

  • 1 of 5

Pros

1. Very old house with rustic feel. If you want to experience history 1950s house with 1980s comfort. its your right choice.

2. The owner was very responsive since beginning. my interaction with property owner was very smooth

2. no hassle. Property owner repaid the full security deposit without any follow-ups.

Cons - Not sure where to start

1. The house advertises 6000 sq ft.. hardly 2000 is accessible.. lot of closed rooms.

2. The 3rd floor of the house.. from where we expected a glimpse of Lake superior is not accessible from the house. It was completely close out.

3. The backyard of the house if not accessible. It seems to be rented out. Consequently out of the 5 parking lots only 3 is accessible as the renter always double parks

4. If water comes in one bathroom it will reduce pressure in another bathroom.. so you will have fun taking bath

5. None of the bathrooms have a lock :) - so you will need to sing

6. Most of the lights do not work. Its a crystal maze to identify which switch is for which light

7. Owner could have replaced some of the old and broken furniture. Few of the dining chairs are totally unusable

8. overall the house was not clean. including bedding, kitchen utensils, mittens and dish rags. The rugs and upholstery were so dirty we literally had to keep the kids off them. This I believe contributed to the unpleasant smell every time we entered the house. Would recommend to have your bedding handy.

9. The bedding is really bad and screams 1980s all the time. The comforters are totally not usable. Would recommend to have your bedding handy.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry the house did not meet your expectations & would like to address each of your concerns. *You are correct it isn’t 6000sqft. According to the appraisal, inspector and insurance company the entire home is over 6000sqft. Had you rented the 3rd floor in addition to the 2 floors you did rent, access to everything except a few locked closets is possible. *We strive to provide our guests with as much privacy as possible and reserve the small backyard for personal use so we do not interrupt your stay. Guests can use 4 of 6 parking spaces. During your stay, we left one vehicle in the parking lot while we were away for the weekend. If we had double parked, you would still have had 4 spots. The lot is viewable on Google maps if you would like to look at it again. The ”X” is one of the 6 spots. *A hot, full pressured shower is great, we agree! 8 bathrooms throughout a 120yr old home and several people trying to bath at the same time is a large demand and can impact water pressure. Still, we do marvel at how well our water heaters keep up. *Since each bedroom has its own bathroom, having a lock hasn’t been a concern. We will certainly consider adding some locks to the bathrooms. *Most light switches are easy to find, but given the home’s age, finding some of them can be an adventure! It’s so neat to use light switches used 120yrs ago & even more amazing that many of them are original. *The home is filled with authentic antique, vintage furniture & décor. We appreciate when guests let us know if a piece is broken or needs repair. Except for a leg on a dining rm chair that needed tightening, we are unsure what furniture you are referring to. *We take extreme pride on the cleanliness of the home and wash & disinfect ALL the bedding & towels, scrub ALL the floors & ensure each room meets our high standards between guest stays. Had you notified us immediately that something was missed, we would have been happy to remedy it. *The “bedding screams 80s” is not the era we strive to replicate. I'll seek options to make it an even older look & feel for an old Victorian home. Speaking of old homes, it isn't stuck in the 60s-70s. The pictures of our property represent exactly what you get; a beautifully maintained, elegant, turn-of-the-century Victorian Mansion. Again, we are sorry it was not what you expected; yet feel we provide beautiful accommodations for people that appreciate this kind of home. Best of luck!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Duluth Aerial Bridge
Pickwick Restaurant
"Excellent food!!!! Historic and upscale. This is a great place for dinner."
Burrito Union
Great Lakes Aquarium at Lake Superior Center
Valentini's Vicino Lago
"This is a family favorite of ours. The staff is wonderful and so is the cuisine. Do not fo..."
Mexico Lindo
"Our favorite for Mexican Cuisine!"
Black Woods Grill & Bar
"Excellent food...excellent service. A great view of Lake Superior from the dining room."
UNCLE Louis Cafe
"Small (sometimes crowded) seat yourself type café. Great breakfast with huge portions but d..."
Clyde Iron Works
"This is the perfect family/group stop! Wonderful food with plenty of room for the whole gan..."
Anchor Bar
"A must stop....best burgers in town!!!! Try the Olive Cream Cheese Burger!! Featured on Di..."
Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center
"Right in Canal Park and FREE admission. This museum caters to both kids and adults. Learn a..."
Fitger's Brewhouse Brewery and Grille
Thirsty Pagan Brewing
"Unique atmosphere....and the best pizza "hands down", in our opinion. Worth the trip over t..."
Black Water Lounge
"Perfect stop for couples (adults only). We cannot say enough about this place!! This is on..."
Nearest Airport
6.5 Miles
Duluth International Airport, Duluth
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Many
Nearest Golf
2.7 Miles
Northland Country Club
Nearest Train
1.9 Miles
The Duluth Depot, Duluth
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
I-35W
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Many
Nearest Ski
11.6 Miles
Spirit Mountain, Duluth
Nearest Beach
6.1 Miles
Park Point Beach, Duluth
Car: recommended

You are invited to experience a return to Victorian Duluth at the Historic A. Charles Weiss Home. This 1895 Victorian Colonial is filled with classic decor throughout and heavily adorned with woodwork. The A. Charles Weiss is a stately Victorian home located in Duluth, Minnesota. The Lakewalk, which leads to the charming Canal Park Area, is a short three blocks from the home's front porch.

Duluth is a vibrant city set on the shores of Lake Superior. Home to a busy port and wealth of industry because of its location on the lake, Duluth is also a popular vacation destination. There is beautiful scenery and loads of activities to keep everyone in the family entertained.

Lake Superior is the natural attraction of Duluth. There are many cruises that run throughout the year. You can enjoy lunch, dinner or just relax as you enjoy the view. The Edge is a giant Polynesian-themed water park filled with thrilling water slides and loads of splashy entertainment that even older and adult kids will enjoy. The Timber Twister is unique roller coaster ride that runs through the forest. Sharp hairpin bends and a 3,200-foot descent down the mountain make it a thrilling ride.

Lake Superior Zoo is set on 16 acres of rocky hills covered with tall pine trees. The Kingsbury Creek runs through the zoo, creating a wonderful natural environment in which to view the bears, lions and wide variety of animals. The Great Lakes Aquarium can be found on Duluth's waterfront. This incredible hands-on discovery center allows visitors insight into the underwater realm of the lakes. Daily shows have divers interacting and feeding fish in a giant water tank. There are more than 70 different species of fish, amphibians, mammals and birds housed at the aquarium.

Duluth has a rich cultural heritage and there are many museums, historic homes and estates that are open for public viewing. Historic railway tours make for a fun excursion for the whole family. Learn about the early pioneers, the history of the region, and enjoy the spectacular scenery. There is also an opportunity to spot birds and wildlife in the forest.

In the wintertime, the Spirit Mountain Recreation Area has 22 ski runs, a super pipe for snowboarders, and 22 miles of cross country skiing. A perfect place for both beginner and advanced skiers, the ski runs and lifts are well maintained and the resort is said to have some of the best skiing of the region.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Optional Towel Service $30 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.38%

Rates are subject to change until deposit and agreement are made.
INCREASE on rates during HOLIDAYS and CITY WIDE events. Deposit and agreement required to secure reservation. No pets or smoking. Shorter stays possible, depending on schedule & month. We do reserve the right to withhold the cleaning damage deposit if the property is left in unsatisfactory conditions. Additional cleaning fees may apply and are at the owners discretion. Please read in-full the Vacation Stay Checklist for reference. Full refund with cancellation notice of more than 60 days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties