Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded, Modern House Featuring Spectacular Mountain Sunrises, WIFI and DirecTV

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Space 3,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Secluded 5 bedroom, 5 bathroom House with Amazing Mountain Views From All Rooms!

Welcome to 'On The Rocks'! A spectacular 5 bedroom, 5 bathroom house situated at the pinnacle of the Coolfont Mountainside community featuring amazing views of the Cacapon mountains. The property is surrounded by distinctive rock outcroppings which lend their name to the house.

The location is very private, tucked deep inside Coolfont. The property borders Cacapon State Park which is comprised of over 6000 acres of wilderness. Walk out the back door and you are in the park! The natural environment envelops the house from every direction. You will feel like you are in your own private nature preserve.

The kitchen was completely remodeled from top to bottom in 2014. It features a custom slate floor and new stainless steel appliances. The kitchen is stocked with all of the essentials you would expect, including complete sets of dinnerware (plates, bowls, wine glasses, flatware, etc.), as well as all necessary cooking supplies (pots, pans, baking dishes, casserole dishes, utensils, etc). The kitchen also includes a flat-top range, wall oven, built-in microwave, dishwasher and two sinks. The adjacent dining room can seat up to 10 people.

The main living room is styled with beautiful rustic maple floors, 20 foot ceilings and large bay windows that get amazing natural light. It is the perfect space for large family gatherings or to sit around the slate hearth with a roaring fire on cold winter nights. In the summer, open all seven sliding glass doors to cool mountain breezes coming up from the valley.

The living room is equipped with a 46 inch LCD TV including DirectTV HD satellite service as well as a DVR. The house has broadband internet service with WIFI to keep you connected with all of your internet ready devices. Additionally, in the living room, there is a stereo with bluetooth support. Easily sync your laptop, tablet or phone and play music.

Every bedroom has its own attached private bathroom, which provides all guests in your group the privacy and comfort of their own master suite! The two top floor suites are styled with Brazilian Walnut hardwood flooring. Additionally, they each have their own private balcony perfect for watching the sunrise with coffee, or having a cocktail under the stars. The deck on the main floor is extremely spacious and has two charcoal grills for barbequing. This deck also features seating for outside dining as well as multiple Adirondack chairs. The house has 4 decks in all, with amazing views of nature and the ridge-line. On top of this, attached to the main deck, there is a screened-in porch with a bench swing, table and seating area.

'On The Rocks' is a convenient 5 minute drive to downtown Berkeley Springs featuring artisan shops, top-notch dining, the world-famous hot baths and much more. In very close proximity to Berkeley Springs, there are hundreds of miles of hiking trails in Cacapon State Park and Sleepy Creek Nature Preserve. Other activities in the area include horseback riding, world-class golf, fishing, kayaking, etc. The list of activities is limitless.

The Coolfont community amenities include a swimming pool, hot tub and tennis courts which are available to all guests. The community area includes a playground with a jungle gym, slide and swings as well as a large field for the kids to run or play frisbee in.

We offer flexible check-in and check-out times to suit whatever needs you may have. Just ask!

Come, relax and get away from it all in this one of a kind home. We guarantee you will completely enjoy your stay at 'On The Rocks'!

More Details

Property Manager
Sarah Bax
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 21, 2017

About Sarah Bax

When not in Berkeley Springs, we live and work in Annapolis, Maryland. We first visited Berkeley Springs in 2009 for a friend's wedding in Cacapon State Park. We fell in love with the area and came back numerous times over the subsequent years. In 2012, we decided we wanted a place to call our own.

Sarah Bax purchased this house in 2012

Why Sarah Bax chose West Virginia

After seeing 'On The Rocks', we knew immediately it was the place for us. The expansive views, open space and amazing sunrises sold us on it instantly. We are very happy to be able to share our beautiful house and the Berkeley Springs area with others.

What makes this house unique

One of the most unique aspects of 'On the Rocks' is its combination of a woodsy setting yet amazing views of the mountains and valleys. It's rare you find a cabin which is both nestled in the woods but also has great natural lighting. It is the best of both worlds!

Amenities

Berkeley Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(71 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Secluded, Modern House Featuring Spectacular Mountain Sunrises, WIFI and DirecTV
average rating of 4.8450704 based on 71 reviews
5

Spacious home with lots of thoughtful touches

  • 5 of 5

Our family enjoyed our stay at On the Rocks. Having bedrooms, each with its own bath, and decks on all three levels gave lots of privacy and room to spread out for our three-generation extended family. The two-story wall of windows provides light and openness to the living area, with a lovely view to the valley. When a minor maintenance issue arose, the property manager and owner were immediately responsive and kindly addressed the matter fully. The kitchen was very well equipped and stocked. And the association's pool and tennis courts were a nice plus. A lovely home and getaway.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely stay with extended family

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time celebrating my daughter's first birthday. Eight adults and one baby stayed comfortably, and there was plenty of space to spread out in the kitchen and common areas. We were very pleased with the house. The house was secluded but not too far from town for groceries, etc.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Washington, DC
5

Great place for families

  • 5 of 5

A total of three families stayed for an extended weekend. Great house with more than enough space. Everybody could be all together and also have separate areas as needed. Loved being be able to go on hikes without having to drive anywhere.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We also love that the house has access to hiking trails outside the back door! We are happy you were able to take advantage of this during your stay. Please come back and stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Home for Reunion of College Friends

  • 4 of 5

The accommodations, amenities, cleanliness, furnishings of the interior of the home are excellent. We would have liked to have had a going over of the exterior decks and screened in porch before our arrival - lots of pollen to deal with before we could use those areas, but with a great group of 60 something women and communication with the property manager we were able to rectify that in no time. Exterior was not something the cleaning people thought of when they had prepared the property earlier in the week. Actually, the screened in porch could use a good spring cleaning to get that pollen off the fans, carts,etc. Also, both of the charcoal grills could have had the old coals and ashes dumped before our arrival as well. We did not use them, as it was a little chilly out. I would suggest a few taller table lamps or pole lamps in both living areas to facilitate reading. Kitchen is fully equipped and modern. The owners have thought of everything. Kitchen needed a more workable coffee pot and the property manager pulled through with getting a new one to us. This is a very secluded area of Berkley Springs. We had to remove a tree that fell down on the road before we could get up to the property. Driveway is steep and making the turns in and out can be a little tricky. While instructions said we could park 4 cars, we were glad we only had 3. The turn around area takes some maneuvering. Upon arrival we realized that we would not be making a lot of trips back and forth to town, and strategized for that. Bath towels could be a little fresher, but this could be lime or something in the water...The kitchen was very nice and it was great to have adequate seating at the table for nine of us. Screened in porches are ideal at rental properties because you never know what the weather will be like. This a nice feature and the furnishings were comfortable. Our group had an excellent time and the home served our purpose. Thank you to the owners for the opportunity to stay at "On the Rocks". Oh, and thanks for the bear advisory!!!

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for writing such a detailed review. We are always able to assist if something comes up not to your liking during your stay. Thank you for bringing the issues to our attention so we could fix them while you were still staying. Regarding the pollen, we will have our housekeeper attend to it immediately. Thanks for choosing to stay with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
mercer,pa
4

Good weekend

  • 4 of 5

Basically nice property, one bathroom had leak that dripped into the lower level bathroom and the dish washer did not work. Otherwise nice weekend

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for choosing to stay with us again. Thank you for reporting the leak and issues with the dishwasher. Both have been repaired!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spacious and secluded!

  • 4 of 5

Had a wonderful stay with my sisters. Plenty of room and beautiful bathrooms. Would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. We are always looking to improve and give our guests the best and most relaxing stay possible. Do you have suggestions for making On The Rocks worthy of 5-stars? We are always open to guest recommendations for improvement! Please come back and stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $133
Damage Deposit $300

Rent 6 nights and get the 7th night FREE!
Discounts Available for Return Guests and Last Minute Bookings!
Holiday rates may vary.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties