Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded, Modern House Featuring Spectacular Mountain Sunrises, WIFI and DirecTV

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Space 3,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Secluded 5 bedroom, 5 bathroom House with Amazing Mountain Views From All Rooms!

Welcome to 'On The Rocks'! A spectacular 5 bedroom, 5 bathroom house situated at the pinnacle of the Coolfont Mountainside community featuring amazing views of the Cacapon mountains. The property is surrounded by distinctive rock outcroppings which lend their name to the house.

The location is very private, tucked deep inside Coolfont. The property borders Cacapon State Park which is comprised of over 6000 acres of wilderness. Walk out the back door and you are in the park! The natural environment envelops the house from every direction. You will feel like you are in your own private nature preserve.

The kitchen was completely remodeled from top to bottom in 2014. It features a custom slate floor and new stainless steel appliances. The kitchen is stocked with all of the essentials you would expect, including complete sets of dinnerware (plates, bowls, wine glasses, flatware, etc.), as well as all necessary cooking supplies (pots, pans, baking dishes, casserole dishes, utensils, etc). The kitchen also includes a flat-top range, wall oven, built-in microwave, dishwasher and two sinks. The adjacent dining room can seat up to 10 people.

The main living room is styled with beautiful rustic maple floors, 20 foot ceilings and large bay windows that get amazing natural light. It is the perfect space for large family gatherings or to sit around the slate hearth with a roaring fire on cold winter nights. In the summer, open all seven sliding glass doors to cool mountain breezes coming up from the valley.

The living room is equipped with a 46 inch LCD TV including DirectTV HD satellite service as well as a DVR. The house has broadband internet service with WIFI to keep you connected with all of your internet ready devices. Additionally, in the living room, there is a stereo with bluetooth support. Easily sync your laptop, tablet or phone and play music.

Every bedroom has its own attached private bathroom, which provides all guests in your group the privacy and comfort of their own master suite! The two top floor suites are styled with Brazilian Walnut hardwood flooring. Additionally, they each have their own private balcony perfect for watching the sunrise with coffee, or having a cocktail under the stars. The deck on the main floor is extremely spacious and has two charcoal grills for barbequing. This deck also features seating for outside dining as well as multiple Adirondack chairs. The house has 4 decks in all, with amazing views of nature and the ridge-line. On top of this, attached to the main deck, there is a screened-in porch with a bench swing, table and seating area.

'On The Rocks' is a convenient 5 minute drive to downtown Berkeley Springs featuring artisan shops, top-notch dining, the world-famous hot baths and much more. In very close proximity to Berkeley Springs, there are hundreds of miles of hiking trails in Cacapon State Park and Sleepy Creek Nature Preserve. Other activities in the area include horseback riding, world-class golf, fishing, kayaking, etc. The list of activities is limitless.

The Coolfont community amenities include a swimming pool, hot tub and tennis courts which are available to all guests. The community area includes a playground with a jungle gym, slide and swings as well as a large field for the kids to run or play frisbee in.

We offer flexible check-in and check-out times to suit whatever needs you may have. Just ask!

Come, relax and get away from it all in this one of a kind home. We guarantee you will completely enjoy your stay at 'On The Rocks'!

More Details

Property Manager
Sarah Bax
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 28, 2017

About Sarah Bax

When not in Berkeley Springs, we live and work in Annapolis, Maryland. We first visited Berkeley Springs in 2009 for a friend's wedding in Cacapon State Park. We fell in love with the area and came back numerous times over the subsequent years. In 2012, we decided we wanted a place to call our own.

Sarah Bax purchased this house in 2012

Why Sarah Bax chose West Virginia

After seeing 'On The Rocks', we knew immediately it was the place for us. The expansive views, open space and amazing sunrises sold us on it instantly. We are very happy to be able to share our beautiful house and the Berkeley Springs area with others.

What makes this house unique

One of the most unique aspects of 'On the Rocks' is its combination of a woodsy setting yet amazing views of the mountains and valleys. It's rare you find a cabin which is both nestled in the woods but also has great natural lighting. It is the best of both worlds!

Amenities

Berkeley Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(69 traveler reviews)

Secluded, Modern House Featuring Spectacular Mountain Sunrises, WIFI and DirecTV
average rating of 4.8405795 based on 69 reviews
Washington, DC
5

Great place for families

  • 5 of 5

A total of three families stayed for an extended weekend. Great house with more than enough space. Everybody could be all together and also have separate areas as needed. Loved being be able to go on hikes without having to drive anywhere.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Home for Reunion of College Friends

  • 4 of 5

The accommodations, amenities, cleanliness, furnishings of the interior of the home are excellent. We would have liked to have had a going over of the exterior decks and screened in porch before our arrival - lots of pollen to deal with before we could use those areas, but with a great group of 60 something women and communication with the property manager we were able to rectify that in no time. Exterior was not something the cleaning people thought of when they had prepared the property earlier in the week. Actually, the screened in porch could use a good spring cleaning to get that pollen off the fans, carts,etc. Also, both of the charcoal grills could have had the old coals and ashes dumped before our arrival as well. We did not use them, as it was a little chilly out. I would suggest a few taller table lamps or pole lamps in both living areas to facilitate reading. Kitchen is fully equipped and modern. The owners have thought of everything. Kitchen needed a more workable coffee pot and the property manager pulled through with getting a new one to us. This is a very secluded area of Berkley Springs. We had to remove a tree that fell down on the road before we could get up to the property. Driveway is steep and making the turns in and out can be a little tricky. While instructions said we could park 4 cars, we were glad we only had 3. The turn around area takes some maneuvering. Upon arrival we realized that we would not be making a lot of trips back and forth to town, and strategized for that. Bath towels could be a little fresher, but this could be lime or something in the water...The kitchen was very nice and it was great to have adequate seating at the table for nine of us. Screened in porches are ideal at rental properties because you never know what the weather will be like. This a nice feature and the furnishings were comfortable. Our group had an excellent time and the home served our purpose. Thank you to the owners for the opportunity to stay at "On the Rocks". Oh, and thanks for the bear advisory!!!

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for writing such a detailed review. We are always able to assist if something comes up not to your liking during your stay. Thank you for bringing the issues to our attention so we could fix them while you were still staying. Regarding the pollen, we will have our housekeeper attend to it immediately. Thanks for choosing to stay with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
mercer,pa
4

Good weekend

  • 4 of 5

Basically nice property, one bathroom had leak that dripped into the lower level bathroom and the dish washer did not work. Otherwise nice weekend

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for choosing to stay with us again. Thank you for reporting the leak and issues with the dishwasher. Both have been repaired!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spacious and secluded!

  • 4 of 5

Had a wonderful stay with my sisters. Plenty of room and beautiful bathrooms. Would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. We are always looking to improve and give our guests the best and most relaxing stay possible. Do you have suggestions for making On The Rocks worthy of 5-stars? We are always open to guest recommendations for improvement! Please come back and stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful mountainside home!

  • 5 of 5

There were ten in our group, four small children and six adults, and this spacious, well-equipped home located near the top of a mountain outside Berkeley Springs was just perfect for us. There are two televisions, one upstairs and one downstairs. We are all related, but with two bedrooms downstairs, one on the main floor, and two on the third floor. it would be perfectly feasible for two, or even three, families to share the space. Each bedroom has a full bath attached. There is a pellet stove downstairs and a fireplace on the main floor. The kitchen was fully equipped for ten people, including a toaster and blender, and we could all fit at the dining room table. The driveway is quite steep, but we were able to manage without any problem. Backing in resolves the problem of having to turn around at the top or backing down. Parking is available for four cars. We enjoyed sitting together on the balconies, and also the fact that we could retreat to the privacy of our rooms if we wanted to get away from it all. We were careful to follow the owners' instructions, in particular about avoiding bears! This was an all-around positive experience for all of us.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're delighted that you had such a wonderful stay at On The Rocks. Thank you so much for the detailed review. We have had many multi-family retreats at On The Rocks and you summed it up perfectly about how the house has a great layout for more than one family. Comfort and privacy are the two refrains we always hear. Please come back and stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best in Berkeley Springs

  • 5 of 5

My group has been having an annual girlfriend getaway in Berkeley Springs for 5 years. On the Rocks is definitely the nicest property we've experienced. The remodeling that's taken place is quite tasteful, the kitchen is nicely stocked, and having five bathrooms is awesome. The owner and Sarah, the property manager, were very accommodating of our group's needs. Excellent experience and we'll gladly stay again!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We strive to make our vacation property the most comfortable and nicest in the Berkeley Springs area. It's great to hear feedback that we are doing the right things. Please come back and visit again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Berkeley Springs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Summer 2017
May 26 2017 - Jun 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$335
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,905
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 30 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
From
$335
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,905
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$290
From
$325
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,845
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$290
From
$325
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,845
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $132.5
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rent 6 nights and get the 7th night FREE!
Discounts Available for Return Guests and Last Minute Bookings!
Holiday rates may vary.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties